We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our 3rd visit to GBTS!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cruz Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Garden by the Sea B&B
Ranked #2 of 5 Cruz Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 31 January 2017

We just returned from our third visit to St. John and Garden by the Sea. Once again, the atmosphere is laid back and welcoming. The grounds are perfect if you want a place away from the large hotel scene, but with lush tropical plants, birds, and iguana sightings. Breakfast is a hot dish each day served along with fruit, coffee, juice - and well-prepared by our hosts. They went out of their way to help me deal with gluten and lactose issues and always with a smile. Our hosts this time were Dave and Lyndell, who were just as professional, friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable as owners Nancy and John, and former hosts Frank and Mickey.

GBTS is well-positioned in Cruz Bay in a quiet area with an easy walk to downtown's restaurants and shops. You can easily grab a taxi in town that is heading to one of the beaches. We have rented a Jeep each year so that we can be on our own schedule and head out to Coral Bay for the day and/or make stops at various beaches or shops that are further out of town. Beaches are great - our favorite is Maho Bay where you can snorkel along the rocks and see fabulous fish or head to the center of the bay and see large sea turtles in the grasses.

We have stayed in all three rooms at GBTS. The Garden Suite and Wild Ginger rooms have great bathrooms - the shower area is filled with tropical foliage and shells and open to the sky (but screened from critters). The Terrace View room is up a flight of stairs, has its own little balcony, and offers great views of the nearby Audubon pond and the bay. But the views are always great from the common room and the veranda, where breakfast is served. So there's not a bad room in the place! All rooms get a refrigerator shelf, use of the microwave, kettle, and sink, and access to the honor bar in the common room.

Check out the hand tiled floors with scenes of ocean life, the four poster beds with mosquito netting, and tiny lizards that visit the veranda. Altogether a relaxing and renewing experience!

Room Tip: The Terrace View room is the most private. The Garden Suite and Wild Ginger rooms have the unique b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandl0ve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 213 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2017

Garden by the Sea has everything you’ll need for the perfect St. John vacation: beautiful accommodations and lush grounds; excellent, home-made breakfasts; quiet location within walking distance of the center of Cruz Bay; gorgeous sunset views; attentive owners, Nancy and John; and welcoming and knowledgeable on-site hosts, Dave and Lyndell. This was our 10th visit to St John (3rd time staying at GBTS) – and this is our favorite place to stay on the island.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank cbcant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

We had the pleasure of spending 5 terrific nights in the Wild Ginger room over the holidays and could not have been more pleased with our selection. We enjoyed getting to know Dave and Lyndell, who treated us like long lost friends. Breakfast was exactly right and served on the deck each morning. We are looking forward to our next visit.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2017

This bed and breakfast is nestled in a private niche between a bird sanctuary and Cruz Bay, the main town on St. John. Beautiful, this b and b has a secluded, private feeling while being a 10 min walk into town on a good path. There are only three rooms in the B and B, so the breakfasts were a fun affair with great food and conversation. The breakfasts were held on a wonderful wrap around porch with view of the bird sanctuary and ocean. We also made a habit of a watching beautiful sunsets with a drink on the porch daily. The B and B itself is very beautiful with white wood ceilings and fans that are a hallmark of Caribbean architecture. The hosts are great with wonderful suggestions, and are willing to help you with everything from ferry times, restaurant reservations, to the nearest pharmacy. This is one of my best experiences in a B and B and everything from the wonderful room, breakfasts, to the terrific hosts helped this visit to St. John become one of the best vacations we have ever had. Thanks!!

Room Tip: I love the garden suite!! When we return I will be reserving it again!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile

This was our 4th trip to St John over the last 20 years and our 1st stay at Garden by the Sea. I wish we'd found this gem earlier! Tucked away in a tropical garden with its resident iguanas and hummingbirds, walking distance to town, the best breakfasts you could ask for, beach chairs and coolers available for use, a wrap around deck with views of the ocean past the salt pond, and the coolest private "outdoor" shower. We stayed in the spacious Garden Suite, next time we might try the Terrace room I think, my husband would like to try out that private balcony one floor up. We communicated with the owners Nancy and John via email and they were extraordinarily helpful. But what made the visit extra special were our hosts Dave and Lyndell. Their tips on restaurants and snorkeling spots, and their instinctive hospitality made the trip. My husband and I are not big on Bed and Breakfasts in general, as I am not a morning person and socialization with strangers before coffee typically gives me a headache. But I could stay here forever. Plenty of room for all!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Moofassi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2017

We spent 5 fun and relaxing nights in the Ginger room and could not have asked for more! The room was incredibly clean, spacious, great decor, well equipped and comfortable. The bathroom and the "outdoor" shower were such a nice bonus despite having to be very conservative with water usage. The property itself is as island life as it gets and a short walk to town. Colorful, beautiful natural surroundings, tons of unique artwork, great music, maps & tourist info and more. We especially loved having snorkel equipment, backpack beach chairs, coolers, beach bags, sunscreen and bug spray available. The breakfast on the deck each morning was delicious and a true highlight! Our stay was made even better by our incredible hosts Lyndell and Dave who together with their little buddy Max provided top class hospitality, great company, and the perfect mix of availability and privacy and they even brought us into town to catch our boats when we had extra baggage. While we were there we shared the b&b with another fantastic and friendly couple who were on their 5th trip to GBTS. Communication with Nancy was fast and helpful. Thank you so much to Lyndell and Dave for everything and to Nancy and John for all the work you've put into this gem. I work at a 4* hotel in Amsterdam and noticed every detail- bravo!!

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Molly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2016

We traveled to St John over Thanksgiving to attend a wedding. It was our first visit to this amazing island, but it won't be our last. Garden by the Sea was a great location, close enough to walk to town, but situated in a quiet, residential neighborhood. We stayed in the Terrace View Room. It was clean, spacious and private with great views of Audubon Pond and the Sea just beyond. All of this would have been more than sufficient; however, what put Garden by the Sea in a class by itself were the hosts, Nancy and John. They are knowledgeable and friendly - no request was too large too small. They answered any question, and helped with everything from reservations to tips on beaches. They dropped us off and picked us up both upon arrival and departure, as well as for our cruise to the BVI. Breakfast each day was a fabulous home cooked meal that made lunch optional. Fresh fruit and smoothies, beach chairs and snorkel gear were all made available at no additional charge. Garden by the Sea was truly our 'home away from home.'

Room Tip: Terrace View Room is large with views and privacy, but the other two rooms have a totally cool open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ecurran52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cruz Bay
0.5 km away
St. John Inn
St. John Inn
#2 of 4 in Cruz Bay
500 reviews
0.1 km away
Sea Shore Allure
Sea Shore Allure
#4 of 4 in Cruz Bay
129 reviews
0.3 km away
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
#3 of 4 in Cruz Bay
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
The Westin St. John Resort Villas
0.8 km away
Estate Lindholm
Estate Lindholm
#1 of 5 in Cruz Bay
442 reviews
0.2 km away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#1 of 4 in Cruz Bay
862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden by the Sea B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden by the Sea B&B

Address: PO Box 37 | Enighed, Cruz Bay 00831-0037, St. John
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Cruz Bay
Price Range: $201 - $345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Garden by the Sea B&B is a quaint colorful Caribbean home with gingerbread trim nestled in lush gardens with coconut and banana trees; nesting birds, iguanas, and peacocks. We are located in Estate Contant and Enighed – a neighborhood just a short walk to Cruz Bay and 1 block from Frank Bay Beach. We offer three private rooms ,each with its own personality , all with individual air-conditioning and bathrooms . Our beautiful outdoor living room is for all to enjoy whether reading a book, listening to music or just relaxing with a sunset cocktail. Every morning, wake up to a full hot homemade breakfast served on our tropical Terrace, surrounded by nature . Once your belly is full, head off for a day full of adventure. We lend beach bags, chairs , snorkel equipment and towels along with coolers and Metal water bottles for your convenience. After a long day of sun and fun, enjoy a good nights sleep in our cozy beds and make Garden by the Sea your carribean home away from home! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Garden By The Sea Hotel Cruz Bay
Garden By The Sea Bed And Breakfast
Garden By The Sea B&B St. John/Cruz Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing