We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (235)
Filter reviews
235 results
Traveller rating
213
19
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
213
19
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden suitecommon roomfrench toastoutdoor showerbird feederseach morningthree roomssalt pondpina coladahonor barother guestsfrank bayopen airgracious hostshome cooked breakfastb bsst john
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 235 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2017

Eileen and John were excellent hosts. The homemade breakfast every morning was spectacular. The rooms were everything we needed. The "outdoor" shower was incredible. The view was exceptional. The entire place was very relaxing. A short walk into town allowed us to experience shopping, dining and listening to music at some of the local bars. After a trip into town, we headed back to the B&B for a relaxing night in the open common area to watch the beautiful sunset. Can't wait to go back and experience this jewel on the island of St. John's again.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank DKtravelfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eileen C, Owner at Garden by the Sea B&B, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2017

Thank you for you lovely review! So glad you enjoyed our B&B and all the wonderful things it has to offer! We'd love to host you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 16, 2017

We are not the type of family to fly to a beautiful location, far away from home, only to sit by a hotel pool. That said, Garden by the Sea was such a beautiful, relaxing and comfortable place that we almost wanted to spend our days just lounging around, hanging out with the Inn Keepers, Eileen, John and their two puppies, Fiona and Cooper. The property is beautiful, perfectly maintained and situated in a tropical bird sanctuary with a view of the Caribbean.
Each morning, Eileen prepared an amazing, scratch made breakfast with fresh fruit and even offered us smoothies. Each breakfast over the course of our seven day stay was better than the last! My favorite was the banana foster French toast. Amazing! It was great to discuss the prior day’s adventures with Eileen and John and to get their insight and assistance in planning what to do that day. They were knowledgeable and helpful with whatever we needed.

Our group had had access to two rooms and both were perfect. At the end of a long day of snorkeling (they have equipment for guests to use on-site-free), swimming, eating and drinking the rooms felt like paradise! The beds were super comfy and I have no idea what kind of sheets they have but they were super soft and felt great on our sun soaked skin. The A/C in each room was easy to work and made for a deep sleep so we woke up refreshed and ready for another day of adventure.

Overall, Garden by the Sea was a GREAT choice. While we didn’t want to leave, we were super relaxed and rested at the end of our trip. Isn’t that what vacation is for?
We will definitely be back again!

Room Tip: We loved the two rooms that our group had and the Third one that we didn't stay in was actually the premier room.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eileen C, Owner at Garden by the Sea B&B, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2017

Thank you, Terry F for you stellar review! We are so glad you found our piece of paradise relaxing and comfortable ... sounds like you love it here as much as we do! We so enjoyed time shared everyday reviewing the events of your trip!! We look forward to your next visit with us! Thank you!!! And see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 9, 2017

John and Eileen made us feel at home and cared for. There was nothing that we needed that they were not willing to help with. We felt like family.
The rooms are comfortable and cool and the atmosphere was supreme. We loved exploring all the free beaches for fresh new snorkeling spots. Never underestimate the quick and local walk to Frank Bay for wonderful snorkeling and sunset views.
We can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natali B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eileen C, Owner at Garden by the Sea B&B, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2017

Thank you for you stellar review!!! We are so glad you were at home in our home! Looking forward to seeing you again in October!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 7, 2017 via mobile

I thought it was a very excellent trip with great service and breakfasts! I would also definitely recommend to friends. While we were staying there was another couple right upstairs and we still weren’t bothered. FIVE STARS!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Hannibal_Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eileen C, Owner at Garden by the Sea B&B, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2017

Thank you for your review... I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and will be visiting us again in the future..;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 27, 2017 via mobile

Small B&B located very close to all of Cruz Bay's amenities and activities but a world apart at the same time. Property is located in a secluded bird sanctuary with its own private ocean view.
Eileen and John are very gracious hosts and are very accommodating.
Eileen prepares a great and healthy breakfast every morning. The day we left, she kindly arranged to have a to go breakfast for us even if it was an hour early. Loved the B&B resident pups. Cooper and Fiona...ps try to get the Terrace Room. Views are killer.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank malatestiano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
letsgoawaynow, Owner at Garden by the Sea B&B, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2017

We loved having you two as guests! We are so glad you enjoyed the room, the location, breakfast but most important, the pups! We look forward to seeing you in the future... til then, eat your bananas!!! Lol
Eileen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews