We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, quaint, and clean!”
Review of Estate Lindholm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Estate Lindholm
Ranked #1 of 5 Cruz Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 November 2011

The owner, Lauren, was gracious, welcoming, and full of good tips. She happily volunteered to drive us to the ferry at 5:45 AM so we could catch our early departure flight! We loved the comfortable bed, in-room kitchenette, harbor view from our balcony, and being able to access happy hour, breakfast, and small pool all at the bottom of the stairs. Grounds are lush with beautiful gardens (and geckos!). Room was clean, with fresh linens daily. AC unit worked great. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Kiddel room is on the 3rd floor (highest level) - so unobstructed view of the harbor was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Julia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (437)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

311 - 317 of 437 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2011

My wife and I just finished a 5 night stay in mid November. EL is a very quaint B&B with a wonderful view overlooking Cruz Bay. Lauren is a wonderful host and the grounds are very well kept. Beach chairs, coolers, and towels are available for guests when heading off to the beach. I would strongly suggest renting a car while on the island. EL is located right by the cruz bay nightlife and restaurants but the hill to get into town by EL can not be walked at night. You need to take a taxi (tons available) or drive down yourself. You will also need to drive several miles to the best beaches (hawksnest, trunk, maho).

As for tips......we thought Trunk Bay was by far the best beach (we like wider beaches and white sand). We also spent a day at caneel bay which was pretty nice. For eats.....loved zozos and ocean grill, liked la tapa and lime inn, as well. Also make the trip to Skinny Legs for happy hour following the beach (coral bay on east side of island).

Estate Lindholm is perfect for couples looking to stay at a very nice place in a good location and not looking to break the bank at Caneel Bay/ Westin.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kkodiak12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

We too were greeted at the ferry which made finding the Lindholm stress free. We enjoyed the amazing views and peaceful private retreat. We agreed with another reviewer that breakfasts were a bit repetitive but for continental breakfast were fine. Lauren went out of her way to make our visit fun with access to coolers, beach towel & chairs, recommendations for lunch/ dinner and the honor bar. We will stay here again on our next trip to St. John!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RandR10210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

My wife and never expected to stay at Estate Lindholm. Our original plan was to stay at the Westin St John but a simply terrible experience at check in there led us to Lauren and Brion's amazing island retreat. When researching St John it had come down to these two hotels and my Starwood points, and the waterfront Westin location, swayed us to book there. We are very glad things did not work out at the Westin as we would not have had the opportunity to experience the charm, grace, and beauty that is Estate Lindholm.

We called the hotel from the lobby of the Westin at around 5. Lauren picked up the phone and immediately offered to drive over and collect us up even though she was in the middle of making dinner for her family. She arrived 10 minutes later and in about 30 seconds, the stress and anger from our bad previous experience melted away. She is so warm and friendly!

We arrived and were shown to our room--a harbor view room on the second floor. It was well appointed with a fridge, microwave, queen sized bed, satellite TV and a spacious terrace overlooking Cruz Bay. What a view! In fact--my wife and I couldn't get over the spectacular vistas from each part of the hotel.

Each room has air conditioning and a walk in shower and features tile throughout. This is important in the tropics, as Lauren explained, because it prevents the musty, moldy smell so prominent in many Caribbean hotels. We found the room clean, comfortable and practical.

The hotel is a family estate that has been in Brion's family since the end of the second world war. His family built each building over time and he and Lauren, along with their family, live on the compound. It is built on the side of a hill overlooking St Thomas and has multiple levels and many stairs. This is not a hotel for physically impaired guests as the breakfast area, small pool, and other amenities are located down several sets of stairs from the majority of the guest rooms.

Each morning Lauren sets out a continental breakfast that is serve yourself on the terrace. It is standard simple fare--english muffins, cereals, hard boiled eggs, and fruit--along with juices and coffee. There are also beach towels, coolers, and beach chairs to borrow for your day's adventure. We took advantage of this valuable amenity often during our stay. One of the best parts of our day was sitting with Brion or Lauren and discussing our plans. They know everyone and are happy to make a call to set up whatever excursion you'd like.

If you appreciate gardens, be sure to peruse the hotel grounds. Brion and his gardeners have spend hours turning the hotel into a showcase for the local natural plants, flowers and trees of the islands. It's truly beautiful and very special when the night jasmine blooms outside your terrace on a warm, breezy tropical evening.

Honeymoon beach is a 10 minute hike--yes it's a hike down the hill on a trail, not a walk in the woods--from the hotel. It's spectacular, deserted, and the snorkeling on the left side of the beach is some of the best we did all week. If you are able, do trek down for a swim but wear sneakers or hiking shoes--something a little more sturdy than the flip flops we had on!

All in all, we could not have a better vacation at Estate Lindholm. I want to comment on the type of hotel this is, though. It is not a Westin, chain hotel type experience. In fact, it's not really a hotel experience at all. It feels much more like staying at the (large) home of dear friends. The informality, charm and casualness are part of the experience here. You will be treated as family and that can be good or bad--depending on the type of stay you are expecting. We truly loved it and are already planning a return visit.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a harbor view room to enjoy sunset over St Thomas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank jcontre1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

We arrived on sweltering Wednesday. Lauren met us at the front desk and helped carry our luggage up to our room. We were instantly at ease. She gave us useful information about rental cars, directions, and where our best food options were. The first night we were there we spent our sunset hours at the pool. The view from the pool is a like an impressionist painting. Full of light and colors that words cannot describe. In the kitchen which is adjacent to the pool and where they have an "on your honor system" bar, we had a couple of Coronas and truly found our beach. After the sunset we walked next door to Alosare the restaurant which feature a very diverse cuisine. We enjoyed our culinary delights and watched the crescent moon dip into the bay. (cue Arthrur's theme). The next day was a trek along the trail in the National forest to Honeymoon Bay, one of the most beautiful beaches you will ever encouter. The beach was ours alone and if I could offer one piece of advice, I'd say to buy the Deep Forest Off instead of the regular Off bug spray. It really does make a difference. The beach itself is beyond description. The setting was very Blue Lagoon without Brook Shields and Christopher Atkins. The sand was soft and lush, the water was crystal clear and warm. Bring snorkel gear to snorkel to Soloman Beach, the beach adjacent to Honeymoon, also only accessible by trail. The sea life we found to be rich, and very colorful. We found a small reef shark on the shoreline. It was worth the hike for sure. Make sure you visit the local bars and interact with the locals. Jeep rentals are the way to go for sure. The island is beautfiul and pristine. And remember to drive on the left Mon!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank amy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Fist off we need to thank the owners Brion and Lauren, we couldn't have asked from more. From being picked up by Christi at the ferry dock , to the great beach chairs, cooler, Frisbee, and even a pool float to take to explore the beaches! What a wonderful vacation. We loved the honor bar after a long day at the beach and the location is perfect for a walk into town ( but make sure you take a cab back as its dark and scary with the drivers at night) or a 20 minute hike to honeymoon beach, fabulous!!!!!! We stayed in the "cruz " room which was efficient and had a partial view of the ocean, as some of the beautiful garden trees blocked the view a little. The balcony was wonderful with 2 great rocking chairs for afternoon cocktails. Over all all we can say is service service service at its best! We have one complaint, since we feel in love with the island and plan on coming back with our children The Estate Lindholm does not accept children, which we understand and respect, were just being selfish since we loved it so much! Thank you again for a wonderful vaction!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank yngmichcpple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

We stayed at Estate Lindholm in Feb. 2011, I am a bit late with this review. Everything was wonderful and beautiful grounds. We were picked up at the Ferry Dock by the owner which was very nice. The next morning we walked into town to get our rental jeep. Every evening we walked down the hill (a short walk) into Cruz Bay for dinner but, definitely took a taxi back up the hill. The views from Estate Lindholm were spectacular. Every day we went out in the jeep and explored the island and beach hopped. We stayed at Estate Lindholm based upon all the other reviews we saw on Trip Advisor. Also, this was a spur of the moment trip and the owners were very accomodating with our juggling our dates. This was our first time visiting St. John but, definitely won't be our last! We plan on returning next year!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank byphx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cruz Bay
0.8 km away
St. John Inn
St. John Inn
#1 of 4 in Cruz Bay
496 reviews
1.6 km away
The Westin St. John Resort Villas
0.6 km away
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
#3 of 4 in Cruz Bay
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 km away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
0.8 km away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#2 of 4 in Cruz Bay
859 reviews
1.2 km away
Caneel Bay Resort
Caneel Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Caneel Bay
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estate Lindholm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estate Lindholm

Address: P.O. Box 1360, Cruz Bay 00831-1360, St. John
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Cruz Bay
Price Range: $357 - $657 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Estate Lindholm 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic small inn within the VI Nat'l Park, overlooking picturesque Cruz Bay harbor - walking distance to gorgeous white sandy beaches and the shopping and restaurants of town. Modern, comfortable rooms, with all amenities. Charming old-world ambiance with beautiful gardens. A rare property, with very personal attention. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Estate Lindholm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estate Lindholm Hotel Cruz Bay
Estate Lindholm St. John/Cruz Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing