We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the snorkeling here”
Review of Leinster Bay

Leinster Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A rocky, windswept bay on the northern coast of St. John.
Albany, California
Level Contributor
94 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Love the snorkeling here”
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We almost always have seen turtles and rays at this location. The water is clear and the beach is nice (though not huge).
Keep an eye out for the mongooses, they're trouble!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank mms_nj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    40
    14
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“The Best Snorkeling, Hands Down”
Reviewed 18 March 2012

My husband and I snorkeled in over a dozen spots on our latest trip to the USVI, but the snorkeling by Waterlemon Cay was by far the highlight of our entire vacation.

If you're able, rent a car on St. John and enjoy the curvy and crazy roads out to Annaberg Sugar Plantation. Arrive early, and start at this end of the island. Take a quick tour of the ruins, get in your history, then start out on your hike along Leinster Bay to Waterlemon Cay.

It's a bit of a trek, over some small stones and some dirt (or mud), but it's nothing too treacherous given a few one-way paths. Plus, it's a pretty view and you can stop a few times along the way to check out the starfish beneath the waves. But keep going - all the way out to the actual beach. Then, throw on your mask and snorkel, fins too, and get in the water!

My husband and I were out for a few minutes when we saw the highlight of our trip - a 6 foot sea turtle! It was incredible, feeding on the grasses beneath the waves. The largest sea turtle either of us have ever seen, and he's been snorkeling and scuba diving for a dozen years across the globe. It surfaced twice for air, which was adorable honestly, before going back to enjoying its meal. WOW is all I can say, for I was just starting to whine that I could see nothing but boring old sand...

Just a quick swim away, we saw a sting ray and flounder beneath the sand, moving about. And an upside-down jellyfish too! Not to mention some other fish that I'd honestly only ever seen in the aquarium. It was the most incredible snorkeling - ever.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank ChellyNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
82 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The best snorkeling”
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Pretty longish hike but relatively flat, the coral and starfish are what people come for

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Duece1623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Thomas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Flippy Floppy Friendly Hike”
Reviewed 2 March 2012

You may have forgotten your sneakers at home or your feet may have become hobbit-like from all of your time outdoors and they no longer fit into shoes. You want to hike…what to do? Everyone knows hiking without proper footwear is a bad idea, right?

Blog readers have figured this out, we do things a little differently here. We have flip-flop friendly hikes. Not kidding, yes, even you. If you throw on a pair of flip-flops for a day of running errands or touring on an island, you can do this.

*NOTE* – We do NOT recommend doing a hike in cheap, plastic flip-flops. Your feet will get sweaty /wet and the plastic can tear your feet up. Those leather Rainbows you have…perfection.

This flip-flop friendly trail is on the hiker friendly island of St. John. Right next to the Annaberg ruins there is a hike along the water called Leinster Bay. You won’t do the entire hike pictured on the map, just up until the point closest to Waterlemon Cay.

This is your big, scary trail. See? Fairly clear of debris, no overhanging or pricker bushes and it’s flat, flip-flop hiking land.

The best part…it is almost impossible for you to mess this hike up. Stay on the trail until you run into a beautiful beach. That’s all to it. No crazy switchbacks, no trails going in all directions to confuse you and best of all, great views of crystal clear water and the B.V.I.’s for the entire way.

If you did some planning and brought snorkel gear you are in for a treat. Snorkel around Waterlemon Cay (go East to West so you’re not working against the current on the backside). Keep an eye out for eels, large snapper, barracuda, puffy starfish, large hard and soft corals and whatever else that’s passing through (I once saw a big eagle ray, so cool!).

What’s your favorite part of hiking to Waterlemon Bay? The ruins at Annaberg? The snorkeling? Relaxing on the beach?

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank CoconutWireVI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice easy hike with a great reward”
Reviewed 24 February 2012

If you park at the Annaberg Plantation parking area, you can take an easy hike down the Leinster Bay trail to the beach. Great beach, good snorkeling.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank ldarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Leinster Bay also viewed

Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
 
Caneel Bay, St. John
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
 

Been to Leinster Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing