We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Once again the Salt Pond beach amazes me

Iwent 2 days to this great beach. Water beautiful and hiked the Rams trial. one day only ones there.

Reviewed August 27, 2018
floridalin
,
St. Petersburg, Florida
Secluded beach and great hiking

Easy to get down to beach; challenging to get back up hill to parking, but worth it. Rather... read more

Reviewed August 12, 2018
James C C
Read all 603 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Virgin Islands National Park
from US$89.00
More Info
from US$49.00
More Info
from US$24.00
More Info
from US$89.00
More Info
Reviews (603)
Filter reviews
598 results
Traveller rating
398
147
45
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
398
147
45
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ram's head picnic tables fish sea turtles great snorkeling small hike nice beach both sides parking area north shore beaches favorite beach hiking trail parking lot off the beaten path great spot worth the effort trail head
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 598 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2018

Iwent 2 days to this great beach. Water beautiful and hiked the Rams trial. one day only ones there.

Thank floridalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 12, 2018

Easy to get down to beach; challenging to get back up hill to parking, but worth it. Rather secluded beach with excellent hiking to Drunk Bay (rough surf; great rock throwing for kids) past actual salt pond with salt to pick up at the right time of year.

Thank James C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 30, 2018

This is one of my favorite stops in St. John! It is about 1/3 of a mile walk (downhill on the way there) and parking is not great but it is worth the hassle. The beach is beautiful and the snorkeling is fantastic. We swam to Ram Head Trail and saw a beautiful and lively reef. I called it the "Shopping Mall" because it was so busy with fish coming and going. We also saw several turtles, a sting ray, squid, and an octopus. If you stay near the beach, you might see some turtles, but if you swim out to Ram Head Trail you will see the "mall," but it I do not recommend the swim if you are not a confident swimmer.

Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 29, 2018

What more can you want that listed above? It is one of my favorite snorkeling places. I usually go way out to the little knobs that are towards the end of the inlet. There is some great sea life and beautiful coral. It usually is a little bit choppy going out and coming in so take your time and relax. I also love the Rams head hike which you catch on the other side of salt pond. It takes about 30 minutes one way, but the view is spectacular.

Thank sdamron2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 24, 2018 via mobile

Parking limited, but you can also park on the road by the entrance. Short hike in. We enjoyed hiking the trails (even with our 6 yr old child). Wear sneakers and bring water. Don’t forget your camera! Beautiful breathtaking views. Also great snorkeling spot. We saw a variety of fish including squid, sting rays, barracudas, lobster, turtles and the reef shark. Few areas of shade.

Thank Pocono5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 19, 2018

This is a bit of a drive to get here from Cruz Bay, but well worth the drive. If you swim out to the reef it is well worth it. Closer to the beach we encountered many turtles and some cuddle fish.

Thank stpetefisherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 20, 2018

A little walk from parking but well worth it. Pick nick tables awailble as well as some shade - hard to find after hurricanes. Great snorkeling to the left side of beach out to point . Saw a barracuda and lots of colorful fish. The corral has taken a beating but fish are back. You can snorkel right out from beach

Thank CamillaR892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 19, 2018

On early visits to St. John, Salt Pond Bay seemed rather remote. This time we stayed about a quarter mile from the parking area. The gravel parking lot held 4-6 cars on most days. From there it's about a quarter mile to the beach. There is a toilet and picnic tables but not much shade. The beach is about 20 feet of sand with easy entry into the water. Most people seem to prefer snorkeling out on the left side. But we have also gone to the right and found it enjoyable. Lots of rocks provide suitable habitat and foraging for fish. Water clarity improves further out. It's become one of my musts for snorkeling on St. John.

Thank Cooke2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 2, 2018

There is a salt pond is isolated from the bay itself. The bay is a large, expansive bay. The water is calm in the area. The bay is a great place to snorkel and view various types of coral. The area is also a good place to spot wildlife in the shallow areas, especially in the sea grass beds, but the wildlife was not so abundant after the hurricanes.

Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 14, 2018

Salt Pond Bay is a large, white sand beach, beautiful as just about every St. John beach that we visited on our vacation. If you're staying near Coral Bay this would be a short drive - longer if you're staying closer to Cruz Bay.

Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews