We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Food on the Island!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Andros The Fish Fry

Andros The Fish Fry
Ranked #21 of 272 Restaurants in Nassau
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Bar, Seafood, Bahamian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best Food on the Island!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013 via mobile

We searched high and low for authentic Bahamian food. The food at Atlantis was over priced and run of the mill. We tried Twin Brothers- Fish Fry and was met with just "OK" food. We ran into a guide named Patricia who sent us to Oh Andros. We were skeptical because it looked a bit run down but to our delight it was a diamond in the rough. The seafood was great, fresh, well seasoned and plentiful!!! The portions were awesome and the price was refreshing!! Please visit Oh Andros if your on Paradise Island!!! It will be our first stop on our visit back!!!!!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Raldiswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    279
    201
    48
    26
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Osgoode, Ont. Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“You have to eat here....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

The food here was so good (yummy) we went back a second time for lunch. The snapper, grouper, conch chowder were outstanding. We randomly chose this place, & felt good about our choice when we saw the local police & many locals there having lunch to. Many choices on the menu with very reasonable prices. My whole snapper with salad, coleslaw & rice with beans was $10.00. A great place to eat.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JudyM281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monument, Colorado
Level Contributor
81 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Lets have a day the LOCALS way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013

There are endless places to eat in Nassau, few that are within a pennypocket budget and even fewer with a true taste of the Bahamas. If ypu are not afraid to stare your food in the face (quite literally) then fish fry could possibly make your day that muxh more authentic. For the bahamian way of service... on island time, this staff MOVES! You can be in and out within the hour if you chose, having sampled freah deep fried snapper, conch fritters and one of their famous local coctails bahama mama or the crazy johnny! located to the right of the cruise ship pier past senor frogs down from junkanoo beach.

Helpful?
Thank dancinjess416
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Lunch In Nassau”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013

Wanted to try a lunch in Nassau away from our all inclusive. Hotel staff told us the 'Fish Fry' was the place to go. We got talked into the Andros by the waitress outside. We were not disappointed. My wife and I split a conch salad and the broiled sea food platter (Shrimp, grouper lobster, peas and rice, cole slaw and baked mac and cheese). I was the right amount for a lunch (maybe a little too much, but that's OK.)

Service was good and the food great! A quick review of neighboring resistants showed the cost at Andros more than competitive.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ken_McP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“authentic and delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

Wandered here while checking out the fish fry. Plenty of restaurants to choose from but the food here was superb. Get the conch salad. Worth the wait as its freshly plucked from the ocean and chopped up on the spot for you. I ordered hot wings with grilled lobster, plantains, rice and peas (pigeon peas) all my favorites on one plate and so well made. So many locals, always a good sign. The staff was accommodating and gracious. Go here. You won't regret it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EdnaMarisela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Andros The Fish Fry also viewed

Nassau, New Providence Island
Nassau, New Providence Island
 
Nassau, New Providence Island
 
Nassau, New Providence Island
 

Been to Andros The Fish Fry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing