We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very nice....Potential to be great” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Nassau
Certificate of Excellence
toronto,
Level Contributor
106 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very nice....Potential to be great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

This was my second time at a Sandals in one year. Having stayed at Sandals Emerald Bay in Great Exuma, I expected this Sandals to be on par with it, but it was about 1 star below it. we went as a group of 8 women, choosing a couples resort as they are quiet (no kids) and no Spring Break groups. It was very peaceful and spacious. One building was just opening when we arrived after construction, and although not filled, I found the resort quite full, especially in regards to beach/pool chairs and wait times for restaurants. We were only able to book 1 meal as all places were full.We did discover that the Crystal Room and Italian restaurant did not require reservations. There is a gorgeous island you can hop on the boat and go for the day with lovely beaches and restaurant. The beach is small, not great for beach walking, and the swimming area is small. There is always someone coming to ring you a drink. Staff were extremely friendly and accommodating. Lovely afternoon tea served in the piano lounge and fabulous breakfast in the Baccarat room. Food was excellent all around. Resort is a good size for walking to an fro...easily manageable for those with limited mobility. We stayed in the older building which needs an update. Rooms were clean and spacious. Full size bottles of shampoo, conditioner, lotion and aloe are provided. No robes. After Emerald Bay, I expected a down duvet and pillows and was disappointed in the bedspread and shams (pet peeve of mine, I like something that is laundered each time). Pillows were awful, but I requested two more and got lovely comfy feather/down pillows. Internet was bad for first two days and we had to go to the lobby for a connection. After that it was OK. 2 pools, one was a bit cold, other OK. Hot tub way too cool, especially since we had several days of cooler weather. Took a bus tour around the island with Vivian (ask at security desk) who showed us the real, non touristy deal. We had an issue one night with securing a table because we were 8 and were left until everyone else was seated or left, we spoke to the manager who assured us, we would not have an issue the next time. Next day, they had a table ready with everyone trying very hard to please us. Our waiter was a young fellow who obviously took Service seriously. His level of courtesy and service was exceptional. It was a birthday dinner and he made sure it was very special. Credit to Jakeel Smith in the Crystal room. He really knows fine dining service. Our housekeeper Anya was fabulous and kept up with our rather messy room. The Bahamian people are lovely. Proud and friendly and the ones on staff at the resort take their jobs very seriously. They are well educated with regards to tourism and deserve to be treated with respect. Over all. Food 4.5 Room 3 Staff 4.5 Resort/beach 4.

If I had to choose between Royal Bahamian and Emerald Bay Sandals, I would choose Emerald Bay. That was a notch up from this one. I think RB has the potential to raise the level a bit, sort out the little things and it could be on par with Emerald Bay. Emerald Bay was exceptional for the money. Royal Bahamian was very good value for the money. Sandals does a good job.

Room Tip: Ask for the newly renovated building ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chaniagrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,941 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,349
    1,899
    839
    470
    384
See reviews for
186
6,264
22
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,870)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

I went 2/25-3/2 and cannot get over how I thoroughly enjoyed the resort. This was my first Sandals and came away impressed. The grounds are kept pretty much impeccable. I typically like lower rise buildings and this fit the bill being that it is only 6 floors. The staff are very friendly and seemed to be everywhere.
My wife and I enjoyed the various restaurants. Spices is great for breakfast. It is a buffet. They have so many items to choose from and you can sit outside if you'd like. We tried Baccarat, Crystal Tea Room and the Italian restaurant as well. Baccarat is great - we got the view of the pool and had lobster and steak. We didn't have too much of a problem getting reservations for those that required them. I tried the Pub but it didn't seemed to be as popular or happening as it seems it could be. The concept seems great but not as big a crowd using it as you would think.
The best part of our stay was visiting the private island. It is a world on to itself. It wasn't crowded at all. They had many huge covered wooden mini-gazebos (don't know what they are called) with built in chairs that were great to relax on.

Pools and jacuzzis were great. More than enough room to relax without bumping into people in the pool. The beach had limited swimming areas roped off but it was fine. They have kayaks and sailboats. Many people used the sailboats. We went on the shark dive ($105pp extra) through their watersport desk. They take a dilapidated bus to a canal area where a boat met us. The shark dive was great. They had a staff photographer that took great pictures that we bought back at the resort ($16/per; they have packages if you buy 5+).

On thing I was curious was whether the fact that one of the two buildings was closed for renovation until our last day caused the resort to be even better as it cut down on the amount of people. It obviously had to but the resort seems to be so large that I've got to believe it wouldn't be overwhelming once they are closer to capacity.

One very minor complaint is the Wifi connection. I paid for a week (42.99) so that I could use my Kindle Fire and phone. We got limited connectivity and it would disconnect all the time. I mentioned it to the concierge and he said they were working on it and that I should sit in the Manor lobby since the connection is stronger there. That wasn't very conducive. You might want to see how it works for a day ($15) before committing even thought it isn't as cost effective.
Overall, I'd have to say that I've been to more than a few 4 star-type Carribean resorts and believe this one was the best. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Was on 5th floor with oceanview. Most of the floors above 3rd should. I was told that the redone bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank WilliamKL26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

We stayed at Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort and Offshore Island from Feb 20 to 27th 2012 for our honeymoon. It was our first trip to The Bahamas and also our first time at a Sandals. We would definitely recommend it to honeymooners or couples wanting to spend some romantic time together.

Overall it was a fantastic week and a perfect honeymoon. Sandals Royal Bahamian is romantic and couples oriented. The resort itself and experience were beyond expectations. We took advantage of Sandals massive 65% off sale but even so our week was still more than double what we would normally spend for a week's vacation. To pamper ourselves on our honeymoon the price was no concern at all but because of price alone we won't be back.

THE ROOM: We stayed in the St. James Grand Luxe on the 6th floor of the Windsor building. We rquested a top floor with an ocean view and did get both however our room overlooked the neighboring property when looking down. It was not nearly as nice a viwe as the rooms on the other side of the hall that overlooked the Sandals pools and courtyards. Our room was kept stocked and several times we were treated to towel creations left for us on the bed and one time the radio was turned on for us and his and hers robes were waiting for us on the bed. Our first night we were also surprised by champagne on ice and two glasses.

THE RESORT: The resort is laid out almost like a little village which is very nice when wandering. The overall attitude of the staff was genuinely frendly and helpful. Everything was clean, empty drinks and plates were cleared away promptly. The drinks were generous but we ran them out of tequila then Crown Royal at the bar in the back of the theater. This bar was popular but also the slowest service, sometimes it took a while to even get noticed. The pizza counter is located here as are the resident peacocks, peahens and the firepits. The firepits were popular, sitting on the loveseats, warming your toes by the glow of the fire, listening to live romantic music under the stars and the sound of the waves in the darkness with the ocean liners all lit up leaving port in the distance.

THE BEACH: The water is a beautiful turquoise and the beaches are creamy coloured sand and mostly free of bits of vegetation as they were raked every morning. There was only one vendor that was selling beach cover ups and jewelry. She made her presence known but was not too pushy.

THE OFFSHORE ISLAND: It really is everything the other Trip Advisor posts say it is. It is a different flavor than the resort so do not miss it, more secluded, more romantic. Go sooner than later as the last day of our stay the boat did not run because of choppy water. We had the nicest couples massage we have ever had on the private island looking out on the beach. We enjoyed the Grouper Wrap and Conch Fritters at Cafe Goombay on the island.

THE RESTAURANTS: We tried them all except Gordon's since we were not butler guests. All the restaurants were at least very good, The Crystal Room was exceptional with some of the best prime rib we have ever had. Baccarat was also exceptional with French cuisine. Kimonos was fun but honestly we have had a more entertaining time at a teppanyaki here at home where the chef would flip whole eggs up into his hat or build a smoking volcano out of onion rings but none of these fun visuals happened at Kimonos.

Room Tip: Get a top floor for a view of the ocean. Rooms overlooking the Sandals property have a nicer view t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JayAndEmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOVER
Level Contributor
384 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

We are just now leaving the Bahamas today. So I will tell all the positive and negative. We got a beautiful brand new room on the third floor ocean view of the new building they finished it the day we got there. It was very nice to have a brand new room, it smelled a bit strong like paint, but room was gorgeous. Because the building was just finished it had lots of problems. The elevator broke down 3 times so we had to take the stairs which were covered in saw dust and nails. The resort is very compact which we liked, everything is right close so there is not a lot of walking. Not to be ugly the food is horrible, we actually walked across the street to get dominoes and subway because we could not stand to eat the food anymore. It is very hard to get reservations so make them early before you get there. Also there Re two pools, and the atmosphere was very boring, we made friends with other couples so there was about 12 of us that asked the pool boy who has a microphone and dj system to play some music and he said management said they can't because the older people will complain and they get in trouble. All in all, it is beautiful, ocean is beautiful, but I bet someone could find a better choice than this sandals!

Room Tip: Get an ocean view room in the new Ballamore building
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CAROL L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at this resort from 2/29-3/5. We both had a great time and were very pleased with the service we received.

If you're looking for a beautiful resort with all the bells and whistles, this is the place for you...

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tjdchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milledgeville
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

Our trip to the Royal Bahamian was excellent. The food was great as were the accomodations. The service was the best we have ever encountered at any of the Sandals resorts, with personal service from the hotel management that was over and beyond our expectations.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henry V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wiltshire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

We have stayed at a few sandals and thought this would be one of the best however needs a bit of a face lift. We stayed in the windsor building overlooking a carpark, The room needed attention. The beach is quite small, It took us a whole week to get a reservation in any of the Resturants, however when we finally got booked the food was extremely good, the french & japanese resturants very good and gordons on the pier is excellent however it will cost you $140.00 per person only problem is that the menus do not change so if you go for more than a week it gets a bit boring. The bahamian people are great very friendly and if you want to pop down town just go to the front gate and catch the No10 bus for a $1.25 it takes you straight to market street right on top of all the shops. They do some fantastic trips to exuma and harbour island worth going. you can catch the boat across to the island during the day for some snorkling we love the bahamas however not the best sandals not 5 star

Room Tip: Higher floors overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trowbridge9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nassau
8.9 km away
Atlantis, Royal Towers, Autograph Collection
9.2 km away
The Reef Atlantis, Autograph Collection
8.1 km away
Compass Point Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Melia Nassau Beach - All Inclusive
1.9 km away
Breezes Resort & Spa Bahamas
6.3 km away
British Colonial Hilton Nassau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island

Property: Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island
Address: West Bay Street, Cable Beach, Nassau 13005, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nassau
#1 Spa Hotel in Nassau
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Nassau
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nassau
#2 Family Hotel in Nassau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island 5*
Number of rooms: 404
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•New, extra comfortable, ultra luxurious Day Beds added poolside on Sandals Cay •Sandals Cay now has Zen Spa and Fire Pits.-----•Butler Service, 24-Hour Room Service, and Rolls Royce or Mercedes Transfers for select suite categories. •Over 10,000 sq. ft. of the Island’s most impressive Freshwater Pools•Sandals Cay – Nassau’s only resort with Private Offshore Island & Restaurant.•Ten Dining Options featuring an array of cuisine from French to Bahamian. •Minutes away from excellent duty free shopping in Downtown Nassau on Bay Street and world class gambling on Paradise Island.•Weekly Late night decadent Chocolate Buffet offering specialty coffee •Voted Sandals Resorts “World’s Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row. •Voted Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row. •Voted Sandals Royal Bahamian “Bahamas’ Leading Spa Resort”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort And Offshore Island
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island Hotel Nassau
Sandals Bahamas
Sandals Royal Bahamian Cable Beach
Sandals Bahamian
Sandal Resort Bahamas
Sandal Royal Bahamian
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island Bahamas/Nassau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing