We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Candlelight dinner on the beach at Sandals Royal Bahamian”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Nassau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 April 2012

This was our first trip to a Sandals property! It was a wonderful vacation---just not long enough--so we will be coming back again. We had a very romantic evening with dinner on the beach served by a white gloved butler---it was wonderful, our butler was Vivek. He was so attentive and made us feel so special, the entire staff was outstanding--one of the other butlers Christopher who was not really our server for the evening took time out also to talk with us and he remembered a conversation he had with my husband the prior day. Vivek and Christopher made our Candlelight dinner on the beach at Sandals Royal Bahamian an anniversary celebration to remember. Our Concierge was Ms. Charlie. She was so helpful setting up our reservations and answering questions. Damien took great care of us in setting up our next Sandals vacation! On arrival Markel brought us cool scented towels, champagne and handled our luggage. He made us feel like we were so special and that no worries would be had while at this property. There were many other people we encountered on this vacation, everyone was so helpful and cheerful. I would recommend SRB to anyone who wants to be pampered and feel like your "couples event" is the most important one ever! Thanks to Sandals and all their wonderful Staff. Y'all are Great!!!!!

Room Tip: we had a concierge level room--well worth the value. nearly all rooms have some view of the pools o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (8,913)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,208 - 5,214 of 8,913 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2012

We just got back tonight from a week stay at the Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa and Resort. It was our 10 year wedding anniversary and we really wanted to make is special. We were first placed in the Windsor Hotel. It was a HUGE room, but the decor was old and dated and the view was awful (they called it oceal view, but it really was a view of the alley and dumpsters). We asked to be changed to the new building after the first night and we were VERY PLEASED with the new room. It was much smaller, but it was beautifully decorated and we had an amazing view off our balcony on the 6th floor. We had a butler, which was a nice extra...but if I go back I will request EVERETTE...He was the butler of our friends and he was AMAZING. I watched him in awe and wished he had been assigned to us...he often brought us drinks when our butler was not around. On the "party" side of the resort they have Jason...the playmaker. He was so much fun and made the days more interesting! My only suggestions...A coffee bar and ice cream spot...other than that the food was pleanty with tons of great choices...I would go back again!

Room Tip: The best rooms are in the newly rennovated building (not the Windsor and not the villas). Request a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akillinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We stayed at the Royal Bahamian Resort from March 24-31st, 2012. From reading the prior reviews that were negative, I was a bit scared but figured we would go try it out. This was our first trip to a Sandals resort and I can honestly say I don't think we will ever stay with another company of hotels again! They have thought of everything and anything you could want they make happen.

The resort grounds themselves are beautiful. There are 2 pools, both offer a different atmosphere. The one is kind of the entertainment/party pool. This is fun to sit next to and some of the entertainment things make for some funny moments. The other pool is quieter and a nice change of pace as well. This pool is kept cooler, but it's refreshing on a hot day! The beach is lovely too. The sand is always raked and smooth. The ocean is great to take a swim in as well. Over on the private island there are many secluded spots, but the cabanas are normally reserved already by people who have butlers. We went over to the island for a day but spent the rest of the time on the main resort property. It is worth checking out though!

The restaurants were good for the most part. Baccarat was great for supper! Kimonos was a lot of fun and if you get "Tiny" the chef, he is quite entertaining. We enjoyed Spices for breakfast, and the guy that makes omelettes there is very nice. The pizza place is the best for lunch! I think we ate pizza every day except for one when we were there. The private island restaurant is romantic to go over to as well for dinner, although make sure you wear bug spray as the sand flies bite in full force when the sun goes down! We also ate at the Crystal Room. The food was okay here (not great) and the service was slow. Not a huge deal, just was probably our least favorite of them all.

We stayed in the Windsor building on the 6th floor (top floor). We faced the outside of the resort and although people complain of the eye sight next door, it really isn't that bad. We were able to sleep with our patio door open and could hear the waves crashing. On the top floor you also get a view of the ocean so you can easily look past the property next door! The room was spacious. The bathroom was a bit dated but nothing that is horrible. We were more than comfortable for the week we were there and for how much time you really spend in your room, it is great. The newly renovated building looks gorgeous although we didn't personally get to see any of the rooms in it.

We went to Atlantis for a day and couldn't wait to get back to Sandals! Atlantis was expensive, crowded, full of families with screaming children, and it reminded us of Vegas. We love Vegas, but when you go to the Bahamas, it wasn't the type of vacation we want! Glad we saw Atlantis, but wouldn't go back there!

Overall, our trip to Sandals was great! The service is fantastic, concierge was great, the resort is relaxing, and we wished our vacation didn't have to end. We will definitely be back and recommend this resort highly!!!

Room Tip: Rooms in the Windsor building are older but top floor rooms offer an ocean view no matter what side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suzyrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

My stay last week at the Royal Bahamian was my fourth Sandals vacation and my second since being diagnosed with Celiac Disease. I require a strict gluten free diet, free of any cross contamination. My wife, Leslie, also adheres to the same diet.

My travel agent, Lesley Hayden Hock of Travel Leaders Travel Agency in Framingham, Massachusetts arranged our vacation and a meeting with the head chef upon our arrival.

While my wife and I were in the process of checking in I informed my host that I was to meet with the head chef regarding our dietary requirements. Within minutes the Executive Chef, Seanett Cooper, arrived at the reception area to meet with us. Seanett explained how she and her staff are experienced handling the varied special dietary requirements of guests and that they have had many who have required a gluten free diet. She explained how our meals would be prepared separately to avoid cross contamination. She further explained how all the soups are made using cornstarch to replace flour, thus eliminating gluten. She informed us that she had on hand gluten free waffle and pancake mix, cake mix, pasta, bread, crackers and even pizza crust. Seanett then discussed each restaurant with us and then made our dinner reservations for each night. Seanett further explained how she would have a gluten free meal prepared for us at the returning guests’ dinner. She explained that our only job would be to inform the hostess or waitress upon arrival of who we were and that we are gluten free.

Upon arrival at each restaurant for breakfast, lunch or dinner, I would inform the hostess, waiter or waitress that we were gluten free. Then they would inform the chef who would prepare our meal separately to avoid any cross contamination. It was not uncommon for the chef to personally appear at our table to explain our menu options, discuss how the meal would be prepared and take our order. The extra care that Chef Jeffery of the Crystal Room, Chef Roman of Casanova, Chef Paul at Goombay, Chef Tommy at Baccarat and Chef Leroy at the Royal Café was very appreciated and eliminated any anxiety that we had.

At Kimono’s our Chef cooked our meal first to avoid any cross contamination.

Working in New York City for 32 years I ate pizza constantly. Since being diagnosed with Celiac Disease two and a half years ago I only ate a gluten free pizza once. I was impressed with the care that Shaffavia and Kaychell took when preparing our first gluten free pizza at Bella Napoli Pizzeria. It was really a treat. I was back for more a few days later.
At Spices Donnell and Dephanie always took the time to help me navigate the buffet. One afternoon for lunch Donnell took the time to make me a special dish of sautéed shrimp and vegetables that was fantastic.

At dinner we were also provided with specially prepared gluten free deserts.

Christina from the Concierge Service always checked up on us and sent a special gluten free platter of snacks to our room.

All our meals were all five star from presentation to taste. The meals that we were served were delicious and we were not restricted to a limited menu. This is very rare even when we dine out locally when home.

Throughout our stay Seanett would either call our room or approach us when she saw us and inquire as to how we were being treated. She even prepared us a lunch to take with us upon our departure. Seanett is one of those few special people you meet in life that makes you feel like you are family. The extra efforts that Seanett and her staff made to accommodate my special needs ensured our enjoyment of all the Sandals Royal Bahamian had to offer.

Room Tip: Concierge Service is a definite plus
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank CeliacTravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We came here for a short vacation with another couple and were very happy with this resort - it is a beautiful and well-maintained property, and being all-inclusive frees you to eat or drink whenever, where ever - very liberating once you get used to it! Our price was deeply discounted from their original (old?) prices, and we were upgraded significantly on arrival. We loved the private island, where you really feel like you're in another world, but the beach at the main resort is also very nice and very handy to the hotels, pools, and restaurants. The staff is charming and accomodating, the many pool bars and other access to drinks was really handy (just be sure to ask for "doubles"!), the piano bar was so much fun, and the free snorkling was a real treat. The food at the breakfast and lunch buffets was good and varied, but the dinner menus are pretty limited and not too original (also no real "local" flavor...) - we enjoyed Baccarat and Gordon's (butler service customers only) most. The other patrons were couples of all ages, and were generally quite friendly, respectful, and easy to be around - and yet with the uncrowded beaches, you could always get away alone. Going into town wasn't really worth it to us (tons of cruise tourists) and traffic was bad.

Room Tip: the properties in the front are much closer to the action and feel more resorty than the garden sect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank momjoPhila_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

My wife and i stayed at Sandals Royal Bahamian from Feb 7- Feb 15 , 2012. The room had a view of a parking lot i have that at home. It is our very last and only trip there . Took over an hour to get our bags once we arrived there. On the lat day it took over an hour to cook to small steaks at a restaurant called the cricket pub . Had to keep asking the staff at the varoius resort restaurants we went to about our coffee and tea and one restaurant they forgot about us and were closing up but we still got what we ordered eventually. We found out on the last day there the people at the desk would go into town with you so you can shop . A big waste of money will never be back ever but little did we know till i read it in the paper there was a labour dispute going on between staff and management . Service overall was terrible . Do not encourage anyone to go there for a vacation .

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BrianSusanC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

My partner and I just returned from a week in Nassau, where we spent a few days at the Sheraton and a few days at Sandals. We were a bit worried about Sandals as it is geared towards couples, and we are a female couple. We know that Sandals has a history of not welcoming gay couples until they received pressure from advertisers to change the policy a few years ago. Well, from the moment we arrived we were treated so well by the staff. Nobody batted an eye, and everyone went above and beyond to be helpful and welcoming. I can't stress this enough - customer service at Sandals is five star. The food was diverse and plentiful and the grounds were well-maintained and beautiful. We would definitely love to visit other Sandals locations in the future, if only they were in countries (Jamaica, Antigua, St.Lucia) where being gay wasn't illegal.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TorontoCouples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nassau
9.9 km away
Atlantis, Royal Towers, Autograph Collection
1.1 km away
Melia Nassau Beach - All Inclusive
1.9 km away
Breezes Resort & Spa Bahamas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Grand Hyatt Baha Mar
Grand Hyatt Baha Mar
#1 of 37 in Nassau
250 reviews
8.4 km away
The Cove Atlantis, Autograph Collection
6.5 km away
British Colonial Hilton Nassau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island

Address: West Bay Street, Cable Beach, Nassau 13005, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Nassau
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Nassau
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nassau
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Nassau
#2 Spa Hotel in Nassau
Price Range: $707 - $1,518 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island 5*
Number of rooms: 404
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•New, extra comfortable, ultra luxurious Day Beds added poolside on Sandals Cay •Sandals Cay now has Zen Spa and Fire Pits.-----•Butler Service, 24-Hour Room Service, and Rolls Royce or Mercedes Transfers for select suite categories. •Over 10,000 sq. ft. of the Island’s most impressive Freshwater Pools•Sandals Cay – Nassau’s only resort with Private Offshore Island & Restaurant.•Ten Dining Options featuring an array of cuisine from French to Bahamian. •Minutes away from excellent duty free shopping in Downtown Nassau on Bay Street and world class gambling on Paradise Island.•Weekly Late night decadent Chocolate Buffet offering specialty coffee •Voted Sandals Resorts “World’s Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row. •Voted Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row. •Voted Sandals Royal Bahamian “Bahamas’ Leading Spa Resort”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort And Offshore Island
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island Hotel Nassau
Sandals Bahamas
Sandals Royal Bahamian Cable Beach
Sandals Bahamian
Sandal Royal Bahamian
Sandal Resort Bahamas
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island Bahamas/Nassau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing