We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice get away” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island
Ranked #1 of 37 Hotels in Nassau
Certificate of Excellence
toronto
1 review
“A nice get away”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

This was our first time at a Sandals resort, but not our first trip to Bahamas. We travelled the first weekend in April to celebrate my birthday with another couple (a four day get away from the kids and work). Resort was very clean and well kept. Did have plans to eat on the island one night but a storm kept us away and the next 2 days rough waters stopped boats from traveling to the island for day time visits. Staff as a whole were very friendly and accomodating. Tough to get reservations at any restaurant; thankfully our friends arrived 3 days before us and pre-arranged dinners for us. I agree with the other reviews on the difficulty in finding a chair at the pool or on the beach, would love to see them increase the number of the cabanas on the beach; there is no reason why there are only 3 or 4 of them for the whole resort.
My only complaint is in the food quality. Very disappointing for a 5 star resort. I fully expected to have lots of seafood to choose from at the buffet and the restaurants but no, very minimal. The best and most consistent food was found at the pizza bar (which has to tell you something). Dinner at Baccarat was good but took the better part of 3 hrs from start to finish... The food and dinner service didn't ruin the trip at all, but I wouldn't go back.
Last tip, don't pay the extra for the concierge it isn't an advantage that I could tell. Butler service seemed to only come into play if you wanted to reserve your beach cabana or lounger.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jenn b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,568
    1,984
    880
    488
    392
See reviews for
205
6,579
23
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,949)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Crossville, Tennessee, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

We can not wait to go back again. Everyone at sandals treated us like family. Everything was just perfect. Great restaurants with outstanding food. Service was awesome. One of our waiters Phidalia at the crystal room was so impressive with the way he took care of us. Tatiana, Denver and Tiko were all great great as well. The entertainment was top notch. Again we can not wait to go back to Sandals. All you have to do is show up and they do everything else.

Room Tip: We stayed in the balmoral tower and all the rooms were super nice. Go for ocean view rather than ze...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

We booked a week in March for our 30th anniversary. Kensington oceanfront concierge room. It was amazing there. They cleaned the beach every morning, rooms were immaculate, people were amazing and friendly. Latoysa and Arizona were our favorites! Restaurants were all good, reservation restaurants were the best. Make reservations when you get there, restaurants fill up quickly. Bars everywhere. Fridge in rooms stocked daily. Loved the island, beach was very nice and restaurant was very good. We want to go back!

Room Tip: The Balmoral tower is the quietest area. Pool rooms tended to be noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jami S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mbd33
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

We visited this property on April 18, 2012, as day pass visitors, a special shout out should be given to Hilary of Trips Ahoy......they are wonderful. We are Sandals Select members and wanted to experience the Royal Bahamian first hand. First let me state that this resort was booked to capacity and yet at no time did it ever feel crowded. We found seating around the pools easily and we did not arrive until 11:00 am. The grounds were first class and the resort was beautiful and relaxing. The ferry to the offshore island was quick and we ended up in our own private gazebo. Lunch was fabulous and the staff were wonderful, a special mention to Gareth. The Spa on the off shore island was peaceful and relaxing and we had a wonderful day and were reluctant to leave. I met with the Manager, a wonderful gentleman, and was allowed to view some of the rooms.....both butler and non concierge level, they were all great.....Would we book a full week at this resort? Absolutely with no hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mbd33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

My first time at a Sandal's and I was very impressed. The hospitality is outstanding, the quality of the service, food and drink outstanding as well! The island beaches, pool and restaurant really make this very special and increases your options for swimming and dining with shuttles on the hour.
My only negative comment was the excessively loud Friday night poolside BBQ party, I would avoid Friday evening if I were to visit again. The party could be a lot more fun if it was half the volume (still loud enough to have a normal pool party) so people could at least talk as well as dance and would help conserve the peaceful relaxing nature of this resort.

Room Tip: I would recommend a ocean view room with a balcony but not necessary at all, just makes the stay eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wecanreviewu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Northport, NY
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

This my wife's and my first Sandals resort and it was our first time to the Bahamas. Last October, we were married at Almond St. Lucia with our parents in attendance. So the two of us wanted to get away to enjoy a vacation from work before the arrival of our first baby in a couple months. So this was a honeymoon and babymoon rolled into one.

We booked a garden view room and had the agent added a comment that this would be a honeymoon. The Sandals staff did upgrade our room to have a patio and they gave us a special room service menu. We enjoyed the room, the patio, the mini-bar and the room service. We could only see the gardens from our room but we, quite frankly, spent most of our time at the beach, by the pool and on the private island. All of the latter were very nice. The water was an amazingly beautiful turquoise color.

The food was good but it wasn't extraordinary. The dinner at the Crystal Room was very nice. Also, we enjoyed a nice sunset dinner on the beach. We had some very good Caribbean lobster and the dessert on the beach was great. However, our meals at Almond in St. Lucia were better (including a private dinner on the beach).

The highlight of this trip was definitely being on the private island, Sandals Cay. The waters were stunningly beautiful and the bar was very good. The restaurant for lunch on the island was very average and salty. However, having some food there was definitely better than nothing. The island was very relaxing and there are some nice waters to snorkel in. A searay swam by us close to the beach on the resort side of the island. Just make sure you take some towels from the resort before you get to the island; they don't have any there.

All in all, the trip was nice and relaxing. As was reported elsewhere, the staff were friendly and the food was okay (but not great). The ulimited drinks were well-made and none of the waits at the bars was too long. We enjoyed our trip but probably will not go back to this property.

Room Tip: If you are doing this trip for a special purpose (e.g. honeymoon, birthday, etc.), be sure to add a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

A quick review of our recent trip to Sandals Royal Bahamian:

Booking: Booked a last minute 4-night trip using Mike McHugh at Dream Makers Vacation Services. Mike has been a great help and also helped us book an upcoming trip to Sandals Royal Caribbean. Attention military members and veterans …. Mike can make sure you get your 10% discount on any Sandals package INCLUDING their “last minute” sales! More to follow on Mike / Dream Makers….
Travel: Booked our own air using FF miles. Flights were on time and uneventful.
Arrival: Despite the construction at the Nassau airport, arrival was smooth. From parking at the gate, through customs and immigration, finding the Sandals desk and boarding a van, travel, check in, a quick property tour, and leaving our room to explore the resort was just under one hour. Amazing!
Room: Were upgraded NINE CATEGORIES from a basic room to a Concierge Level ocean view room. There was a note in the room (followed shortly by a phone call from management), saying that Mike from Dream Makers had contacted the resort in advance to ensure say that we were VIP customers and to take care of us … and the resort sure did! Thanks again Mike! The room was nice. We were in the Windsor building which has not received the major refurbishment that the Balmoral Tower rooms have, but the room was spacious, well equipped, and we had a great view from our balcony.
Restaurants/bars: A lot of GREAT meals at the resort. We weren’t able to get reservations to Baccarat (all full until after we left), but found plenty of other options, with the Crystal Room being our favorite for décor, atmosphere, menu, and service. The only disappointment was the Gnocchi entrée at Casanova, however there were so many other great options that this didn’t detract at all. The bars were all great with top shelf liquor available.
Pools: Great pools, with the Windsor pool being the warmer of the two. Lots of chairs available. Yes, we are some of those that put towels at our favorite places on our way to breakfast, BUT we also are IN those chairs by 9 (and usually among the first people actually laying out at the pool). The “towel game” was not a problem at either of the main pools or on the beach as there were plenty of chairs available, but WAS a big problem on the island where “claimed” chairs went unused for hours.
Beach: great loungers with plenty available. Didn’t spend all that much time on the beach due to the winds the first two days of our trip, but loved the time we DID spend on them. The staff was constantly raking/cleaning/ensuring the facilities were great.
Island: Closed first day for weather. Open other days. Went once and enjoyed it, but hard to find a place to lay down as loungers were all claimed (despite no one being in them) almost the whole time we were out there. We went “old school” and spread our towels on the sand and enjoyed our time on the island.
Playmakers: Not normally our thing, but we found ourselves very entertained by the Playmaker staff.
THE ONE ISSUE: on our first full day a construction crew started setting up temporary walls next to the Windsor pool, and soon a Jackhammer went to work. No explanation, but LOTS of noise that forced us to move from the Windsor pool. We pitied the folks in the walkout suites as their view was ruined AND they had to deal with the noise from close range. We asked the Concierge what was going on and they had no idea but went to check. They returned to say that there were repairs being made and that “all of the noise would be done today …the next few days would just be shoveling up the debris and laying new concrete”. At dinner time a letter from management finally appeared in our room stating that there were “emergency repairs to the pool deck”. An “island beach party” and extra city and shopping tours were being added to make up for the inconvenience. That said there was never any more word or evidence of a beach party on the island (no announcements, extra shuttle boats, etc) so un sure if this actually happened. AND the noise did NOT stop the first day… loud cement saws and the occasional jack hammer continued almost non stop the next few days which drove us away from the Windsor pool (which had most of the loungers). Spoke with the construction workers….. they said that there were NO “emergency repairs”, but that they were replacing the old walks with the newer cement walks similar to those at the Balmoral tower. Bottom line: POOR COMMUNICATION and BAD INFORMATION from management.
OVERALL: We will definitely be back! The resort facilities, staff, and dining were all top notch and we look forward to our next visit. We will DEFINITELY use Mike at Dream Makers Vacation Services again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pmv1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nassau
8.9 km away
Atlantis, Royal Towers, Autograph Collection
9.2 km away
The Reef Atlantis, Autograph Collection
9.4 km away
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
#4 of 14 in Paradise Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Breezes Resort & Spa Bahamas
1.1 km away
Melia Nassau Beach - All Inclusive
6.3 km away
British Colonial Hilton Nassau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island

Property: Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island
Address: West Bay Street, Cable Beach, Nassau 13005, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Nassau
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nassau
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nassau
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Nassau
#2 Family Hotel in Nassau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island 5*
Number of rooms: 404
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•New, extra comfortable, ultra luxurious Day Beds added poolside on Sandals Cay •Sandals Cay now has Zen Spa and Fire Pits.-----•Butler Service, 24-Hour Room Service, and Rolls Royce or Mercedes Transfers for select suite categories. •Over 10,000 sq. ft. of the Island’s most impressive Freshwater Pools•Sandals Cay – Nassau’s only resort with Private Offshore Island & Restaurant.•Ten Dining Options featuring an array of cuisine from French to Bahamian. •Minutes away from excellent duty free shopping in Downtown Nassau on Bay Street and world class gambling on Paradise Island.•Weekly Late night decadent Chocolate Buffet offering specialty coffee •Voted Sandals Resorts “World’s Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row. •Voted Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row. •Voted Sandals Royal Bahamian “Bahamas’ Leading Spa Resort”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island Hotel Nassau
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort And Offshore Island
Sandals Bahamas
Sandals Royal Bahamian Cable Beach
Sandals Bahamian
Sandal Resort Bahamas
Sandal Royal Bahamian
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island Bahamas/Nassau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing