We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riu Palace”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Paradise Island
Northbrook, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Riu Palace”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Long weekend work recognition trip for about 25 people. I've been to a couple of all inclusives, while not the best, for the money I thought this was a very good resort. Very nice lobby. I was in an upgraded suite for the room which was great. The food was OK. Excellent beach and the proximity to the Atlantis added a nearby casino and many other options. Overall a great vacation.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mckayb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,741 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    967
    1,785
    975
    557
    457
See reviews for
1,015
2,089
97
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,165)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Enjoyed the dining room atmosphere and cuisine. The beach was lovely crowded at times but we all were busy soaking up the sunshine. Entertainment at pool area in the afternoon could be spruced up as the male leader was a bit vulgar for young kids in area. Sometimes moves were likened to male dance revue! Other than that really really nice. Service excellent!!!!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Footmassager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
None
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We have been to several all inclusives. I loved the lobby area of this resort. Great bars everywhere. The front desk people were very accommodating. If possible come in on a Tuesday or Wednesday. Less crowded and more likely to get a room upgrade. The buffets were actually as good or better than the specialty restaurants. Speaking of them you need to be up at 8 am to book and can only book two days in advance. OK ,on week days, but wait in line on weekend and may be filled before you sign up. Pool area was huge. For some reason we only heard the daily schedule on Monday morning even though we were there for a week. Looking for cab service? Check out JJ. He's parked out front and will negotiate rates. Beach area is great, but we had quite a bit of wind so stayed up by the pool most of the week. Glad we went, but probably won't go again. Atlantis Casino within walking distance it that is of interest to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with Oceanview at least 8 floors or higher. Less noise from pool area and great views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SKT509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
101 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

This all inclusive resort is not that bad it is small campari to cancun and punta cana but not bad at all the food is realy good they change it every day the resturant are good aswell the beach is very clean the location is A+ all the way rigth next to atlantis,the rooms are very clean the two beds are together i don't know why they did that,they have music by the pool,(the buffet have 2 rooms the breakfest is at room 2 and lunch is by the pool and dinner back to room 2)the riu have good shows at night,the drinks at all of the bars are NOT water down they have the real good strong stuff and havana club rum,i think if you go to this resort for 5 days you will have a very good time,i will go back in the future for 5 days and do 1 or 2 tours.

Room Tip: If you want to go to the 4 resturant the resort have before you go to the breakfest buffet,go to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vincent1182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

I cannot believe that this place got any bad reviews. We just returned back from our 7 night stay that the RUI PI and it was exceptional to say the least. My wife, my son and I travelled here to get an all inclusive feeling in one of the most luxurious Carribean islands. The food was amazing. Lunch was my favorite at the Rui, as everyday they had new dishes to try and was always fresh. The staff was very courtiess and accomodating. It's not a super club resort so if you're looking for that, look somewhere else. The only complaint that I would have with the hotel specifically, was the Japanese restaurant.....food was tasteless but the service was amazing. The hotel was nice because it was close enough to Atlantis but far enough away to get away from the hustle and bustle of Atlantis.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good but I would try and get a full suite the next time we visit as they are much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

I went to stay at the Riu on Paradise Island and can honestly say that it's the worst resort I have ever stayed at. I went for a destination wedding so it was a ton of fun because of the people that were there but the actual resort is horrendous! Our room had mold on the walls because there was a leak and when we called to tell them about it, they didn't care and proceeded to come by and wipe it off. The service was also horrible with most of the staff being very rude and not helpful at all! When we went off-resort, people were so much nicer. The pool was okay but nothing special. The one good thing is that you are right beside Atlantis so you can go to the casino and check out the property pretty easily. The food was okay although everyone had some stomach issues and the drinks also seemed watered down. This resort is definitely not worth the money they are charging!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DeeS_89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paradise Island hotels

Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We spent one week at this hotel. We had heard such great reviews of the Riu chain and thought we can't go wrong with an Riu on Paradise Island. Meh...

We had a difficult time getting decent service from the front desk staff. We had requested adjoining rooms on our reservation and when we arrived they had us on the same floor but about 6 rooms apart. The weekend desk staff told us that the hotel doesn't have adjoining rooms. By looking at the fire escape map on the back of our room doors, we quickly discovered that's not true. We asked again, to the weekend night staff. They wanted $200/night/room extra for the 'upgrade' of adjoining rooms. The next day, we tried again, it was a steal at $125/night/room. Each day we asked until we were finally willing to pay $50 for the upgrade. Please understand we were two families travelling with infants and wanted the adjoining rooms so we could take care of each others babies and allow for some date time for each couple. It was an essential part of our holiday. Once that was settled we were able to enjoy it more.

Our room was a suite attached to a standard room which was great as it allowed a living room area for the adults to hang out in and two closed bedroom doors for the babies to sleep. We ended up having a cock roach in our room and the air conditioners leaked on the floors so the rooms were very musty smelling and damp. You always felt sticky. All of the rooms in the hotel have ocean views, but we were on the side not overlooking the pool. We were directly above the main air conditioner unit and it was too loud to enjoy sitting out on our beauiful, but tiny decks. Pool/ocean view side is a much better option. We were also frustrated at that the only place you could get Wi-fi in the hotel was in the main lobby. It is NOT available in your room, not even for an additional charge.

We ate at every resturant at the hotel and then came back down for a late night snack at the buffet. We couldn't help it, the food was amazing! Buffet or resturant, you won't be dissapointed. The best hotel food I've ever eaten. We found the bars a little difficult to get speedy service from, even if you are a good tipper.

The property really is just a hotel with a pool on the beach front. We were disapointed there were no grounds to walk, however with Atlantis right next door we explored their resort in the evenings with the babes. We got severe resort envy from walking their grounds but we were glad to be paying Riu prices for all-inclusive rather than Atlantis prices.

I hated swiming at the beach. The sand and water were beauiful, but they had outside venders renting jet skis and they didn't keep a safe distance from swimmers. They would be zipping around much too close to people in the water and when they were done they'd beach them anywhere on the sand. Most times very close to families playing in the sand. We found them very unsafe and they ruined our time on the beach, we were all a little too nervous to be around them. They are not associated with the hotel, but I do think the hotel should put up swimming bouys and force them stay clear for everyones safety.

With all the resorts in the world, I won't go back to this one. I'm not even sure I'd go back to Nassau. It's so expensive and you can find equivilent beauty so many other places at more economical prices.

Room Tip: Book on the pool view side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank b0jean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paradise Island
0.5 km away
Atlantis, Royal Towers, Autograph Collection
0.3 km away
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
#5 of 14 in Paradise Island
2,564 reviews
1.1 km away
The Reef Atlantis, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 km away
Melia Nassau Beach - All Inclusive
7.8 km away
Breezes Resort & Spa Bahamas
0.2 km away
Atlantis, Beach Tower, Autograph Collection
Atlantis, Beach Tower, Autograph...
#11 of 14 in Paradise Island
3,767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island
Address: 6307 Casino Drive | Paradise Island - Bahamas, 6307, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Paradise Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Paradise Island
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Paradise Island
#9 Spa Hotel in Paradise Island
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Paradise Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island 4*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on Paradise Island (the Bahamas), 3 km/1.8 Miles from Nassau * 100 m/328 ft from "Atlantis", the largest casino in the Caribbean * 14-story building * On the beachfront * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 3 km/1.8 Miles to downtown Nassau * 200 m/656 ft from various shops * 25 km/15.5 Miles from the airport * 200 m/656 ft from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Discover ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and RIU Hotels and Resorts so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Paradise Island Hotel Paradise Island
Riu Hotel Paradise Island
Paradise Island Sheraton
Paradise Island Riu Hotel
Riu Paradise Island Bahamas
Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing