We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem....”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Dundee Bay Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dundee Bay Villas
elmont
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A gem....”
Reviewed 26 February 2010

I think this hotel was a very good choice for me and my friends. It was 8ppl and we all stayed in there 3 bedroom suite that they offered. The rooms were very clean and the hotel staff was very very helpful. The helped us to get a personal driver who took us sightseeing and to the local clubs, the square and the fish fry's. We only payed $50 per person for the whole week that we were there. The hotel was located by a gate community which made all of us feel a little safer since the hotel is kinda tucked away from civilization. That was my only problem. The hotel is like around nothing except for the gated community and Xandu hotel. Overall my stay here was very nice. We meet up with some local staff members at the Xanadu Hotel and we all had a blast. If you every stay in Freeport i would suggest you stay in something that is around more people if that is your type of hotel if you like to rest and have piece and quiet this is the perfect hotel for you.

  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bigk189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    13
    3
    1
    4
See reviews for
10
17
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Denver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2010

Staci and staff are terrific. Very nice apartment style units a very short walk to the beach. If somewhat off the beaten path is OK, you'll love this place, its exactely what we were looking for and its very reasonable. Recommend you get a car. If staying close to home is for you this place is home. You will know everyone by name within hours and they will know you too. Big living area and bedroom with good sized kitchen and full sized stove and refrig. Spa tub in the bedroom along with the bathroom shower in our 1 bedroom unit was wonderful.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gredon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moodus, CT
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2009

When we arrived we were graciously treated. Our room was lovely and the facilities were in good shape. It was nice to be right across the street from a beautiful beach. It was about an 7-minute ride from Lucaya Marketplace to get there and there aren't many choices for restaurants since it's out of the way. There are some that deliver (Chinese and Dominos Pizza). If you don't have a vehicle you might have to pay extra for taxi service or use the bus if you want to wander. Not a big deal. Overall for the cost, a terrific value.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank atd817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaco, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2008

Nice, hotel, great price.

The rooms are comfortable and you can really relax in the jacuzzi
The staff helped me with everything, Special Thanks to
Stacy.

If your are planning to go to Freeport , I really recommend this place

  • Liked — The comfort and the staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Katia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2007

I was disappointed in the location of the villas. It was far away from everything. The beach was across the street and not very nice. never cleaned up from the hurricanes. The beach at Xanadu was very nice. You could walk there. Room had a moldy smell when you first enter it. The master bedroom didn't have a shower only a jacuzzi which was not very convenient for us as we were with another couple so we had to share one shower. Also the second bedroom has twin beds in it . Also they only give you three towels for two people and they don't replace them until Wednesday which meant that we had to use the same towel for four days. There is no elevator so if you have heart trouble and can't climb stairs carrying a suitcase make sure you ask for bottom floor.Best thing about the place was the manager.

  • Liked — helpful manager
  • Disliked — needs u[pgrading
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bdollConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2007

We enjoyed our stay at Dundee thoroughly. Staff were very hospitable. Location was very much to our liking. You may want to rent a car or any cab driver will give you their personal number to have you as a customer for the duration of your stay. The resort will also have recommendations. You will need transprtation to get to any supermarket in Freeport or the shopping, restaurants & casino in Lucaya. The beach was just steps across the street. This location backs onto a canal & is adjacent to the entrance of a gated beach community. There was hardly any traffic to speak of. Accomodations were very comfortable. We reserved a one bedroom unit & were upgraded to a 2 bedroom unit so that a guest requiring assistance could stay on a ground floor 1 bedroom unit. (staff was so accomodating) The stretch of beach extends a nice walking distance down to Xanadu beach resort. We did have dinner there one evening. It wasn't extraordinary. Also Dundee offered a meal service provided by an island resident for a reasonable cost. We did not take advantage of it but other guests who did had good comments. Just seeing how the island is slowly recovering from the 2 hurricanes, Dundee Bay Villas was diligent in their renovations. We visited at a slower tourist time of year. It gave us more opportunity to become acquainted with management & learn of the recovery process. The before & after photos of the resort made us apprciate it more. We have reservations again for this November & are bringing another couple with us. We were fortunate to see the vacant units during our last stay (they were so accomodating) we decided to reserve the 3 bedroom unit. Views are wonderful from this multi-level unit. Don't forget your beach towels. Beach chairs are available for minimal rental fee.(they have to leave the property) Check out things-to-do on the island. Make any inquiries at least a day before. Staff will assist in any reservations. Also, the oceanside breeze didn't require us to use our airconditioning at all in November. It's available if you need it on. Looking forward to our stay.

  • Liked — Away from busy resorts. Quaint & personal
  • Disliked — Needed transportation to get everywhere
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CTMAmherstburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2007

Small resort with friendly and helpful staff. It does have a home-like feeling. The big sized rooms were clean and it has a full kitchen. We made breakfast there every morning so that saved us some $$. Our bedroom had a jacuzzi and it was a bonus! Beautiful white sandy beach just right across street.

We defiantly would stay again at Dundee Bay Villas. It is a great place for a single, couple or family.

  • Liked — Large room with a full kitchen
  • Disliked — A little distance from main tourist places
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank butterfly623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Freeport hotels
6.7 km away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#3 of 14 in Freeport
227 reviews
7.5 km away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
6.8 km away
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
#2 of 14 in Freeport
2,955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 km away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#1 of 14 in Freeport
963 reviews
12.2 km away
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
7.6 km away
Taino Beach Resort & Clubs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dundee Bay Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dundee Bay Villas

Property: Dundee Bay Villas
Address: 20 Dundee Bay Drive, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dundee Bay Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and enjoy the "Feel like Family" atmosphere created especially for you at Dundee Bay Villas in tropical Freeport, located on Grand Bahama Island. Relax in the natural beauty of brilliant sunrises, golden sunsets, palm trees swaying in the gentle ocean breezes, miles of private pristine white sandy beaches and turquoise waters. Units features furnished terraces with an on-site swimming pool and villas with hot tubs.Dundee Bay Villas offers daily maid service as well as 24-hour front desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, HRS, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dundee Bay Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dundee Bay Villas Hotel Freeport
Dundee Bay Villas Bahamas/Freeport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing