We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise Found, it felt like home”
Review of Swain's Cay Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Swain's Cay Lodge
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Andros
Reviewed 24 November 2011

A friend and I stayed at Swains Cay November 2011. Although we both fish, we didn't necessarily come for the fishing. Everything was beyond our expectations! The food, amazing staff, delicious food, activities and of course fishing, were wonderful! In fact, everyone on the island we met were lovely. I hope to return sooner than later.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laurenbrownphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2011

Great location! Nice new buildings and well appointed. Service and food are excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smitto1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2011

I was one of a group of four anglers who stayed at Swain's Cay Lodge in May 2011. Swain's is a vacation destination but is also an excellent choice for anglers as it is ten minutes from the bonefish departure dock and has an excellent flat in front of the lodge where anglers can wade and fish. Swain's is newly built and has excellent double rooms. The furniture and beds are top quality. The bathrooms are well appointed and, being new, all the equipment works as it should. Rooms have modern air conditioning but breezes from the ocean are a fine alternative for sleeping. Swain's is a small lodge and you get to know the excellent service staff on a personal level if you choose. The overall service level is very good. Food is as well. The main house holds an attractive dining room surrounded by an outdoor porch where you can watch sunrise in the morning or have drinks at night.
Swain's is an excellent price/value lodge.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boneman_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

We have been coming to Mangrove Cay for a quarter century. This new hotel is a wonderful find. Bonefishing at the front door literally, quiet family atmosphere, great value, surprisingly good food, welcoming staff.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank attfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2011

My wife and I stumbled onto this quiet resort by sheer dumb luck. Once a year we manage to escape the dreary North for a week or so, usually in the Bahama "out islands." We do some internet research, focusing on some fishing,outdoor exploring, and reading; however it's really a roll of the dice. So, seeing that Swain's Cay was a new operation and Bahamian owned, we decided to give it a try. The visit was so pleasant we were moved to write a review (never done one before) about our experience.
The staff struck just the right combination of attentiveness while simultaneously respecting privacy; elegant yet informal. Truly accommodating: On arrival, we realized we'd forgotten to pack a critical camera part. After a brief explanation of the particulars, the owner, in Nassau at the time, picked it up and had it flown over the next day.
The food served at the restaurant was delicious and the menu had surprising variety. Emphasis is on local seafood, local spices. Cooked full breakfasts, lunches at the dining room or packed to go.
A short walk out our door was a flat leading to Swain's Cay itself which teems with roosting egrets, herons, and bitterns at sunset. As the flat deepens to the North, their are 3 small "blue holes". I did manage to catch some baby barracuda, but the only bonefish I saw were the ones I spooked. They were consistently big fish - I saw one pair I'd guess to be 26" to 30" long. The resort can make seamless arrangements for a guide, and by all means I'd recommend it. On Andros they're the best. We were picked up after breakfast, and within 30 minutes (via Lisbon Creek or the South Bight) we were casting over fertile bonefish flats in the midst of a vast, wild backcountry, all connected by that neon turquoise water. And my non-fishing wife considered those boat trips some of the best photo jaunts she has ever been on.
In the rural Bahamas as any non-urban destination, establishments tend to come and go. So I'd (despite my secretive nature) like to let others know about Swain's Cay in hopes that it continues to attract guests and remain a going concern to which we could return next year.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank riones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2011

Great lodge to use as a home base for Andros bone fishing! Convenient to Mangrove Cay where Captain Marvin Miller runs his guide service from. The lodge offers very comfortable accommodations, solid Bahamian family style cooking (grouper, minced lobster, etc) and a fantastic beachside location from which to dine and enjoy icy Kaliks. Will definitely stay here again when I return to Andros to fly fish.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank telwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2011

I love to go Bonefishing and Andros Island is probably one of the best locations in the world for that sport. However, many of the fishing lodges do not have satisfactory accomodations or other activities for a non-fishing partner or family. Swains Cay Lodge satisfies all of the needs for the travelling group or family.
The lodge is top notch with excellent, clean rooms and service. It's located on a beautiful white sand beach and very relaxing. I love to visit the Out Islands of the Bahamas. Life slows down. If your looking to get away from the stereotypic money draining resorts, this is your kind of vacation. No nightlife except rest, romance and conversation........darn!! One can snorkel, ecotour etc. The food is excellent!
This is my favorite location in the Bahamas for a flats fishing location. Great for small and moderate size groups. Cheryl Bastion is a great owner and host. She can set you up with top Bonefishing guides.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fowl03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Andros hotels
0.0 km away
Love At First Sight Hotel
9.1 km away
Tiamo Resort
Tiamo Resort
#3 of 9 in Andros
285 reviews
56.2 km away
Small Hope Bay Lodge
Small Hope Bay Lodge
#1 of 9 in Andros
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.4 km away
Mount Pleasant Fishing Lodging
0.0 km away
Andros Beach Club
Andros Beach Club
#1 of 23 in Andros
195 reviews
0.0 km away
The Pointe Resort
The Pointe Resort
#2 of 5 in Andros
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swain's Cay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swain's Cay Lodge

Address: Mangrove Cay, AN 023802, Andros
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Andros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Andros
Price Range: $227 - $360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Swain's Cay Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swain's Cay Lodge is the perfect island retreat on Mangrove Cay, Andros Island, only a a 20 minute flight from Nassau. Newly built in 2009, Swain's Cay is located on the beach. Kayaks and bikes are available for guest use to explore the island, our bonefish flat, reefs and blue-holes. The ideal location for the world's best bonefishing or to escape from it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Swain's Cay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swain`s Cay Hotel Andros
Swain's Cay Lodge Andros, Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing