We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (29)
Filter reviews
29 results
Traveller rating
21
6
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
21
6
2
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 29 reviews
Reviewed December 29, 2016 via mobile

If you are looking for a clean and safe vacation in an authentic Bahamian setting, look no further. With a setting at the bridge over Stafford Creek the views couldn't be better, looking out to the ocean. The beach is about a five minute walk away and is totally secluded - saw two boats in two days of swimming and snorkeling. Be sure to try snorkeling in the creek during high tide or as the tide is going out - parrot fish, sergeant major, gar, barracuda, jack, flounder, bone fish, and many more.

Sheila, the owner is a fantastic cook.

Also of note - one of the guys here caught 16 bone fish today.

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank phoebeselden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 19, 2016 via mobile

We spent four full days here and it's been wonderful. The staff cooked us fresh meals, sometimes with fish other guests caught off their deck. They treated us like family and went out of their way to be accommodating. It's a different pace of life, it can be hard to find the local attractions or get good directions but It's worth it (if you have a sense of adventure).

It's a journey getting here, we rented a car a that seems like the way to go. My suggestions for attractions are:

Kayaking next door at the fourfar field station, you can go out to small cays and snorkel off them. Cost is about $40-65.

Driving to the north east corner of the island and going to conch sound. There's a blue hole off the beach the locals call Charlie's and it's full of marine life. It's about 20 yards from shore and easy to get out to.

If you're a diver go to Small Hope Bay about 830 am and ask to go on a dive. The crew there is incredible. Available spots go to their guests first but I imagine they're usually open. Cost is about $150 for a single dive. The diving here is aces.

Blue holes national park.. We're on our way to go as I write this. It's midway between Andros Town and the hotel and highly recommended. There's trails and a dive platform into the fresh water below.

Love these guys I'll be back again. Not a Starbucks on the island.. Also not a clear sign haha but YoY adjust to the Andros way pretty quickly!

Date of stay: December 2016
2  Thank Avery B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 16, 2016

Just returned from a week of bonefishing with friends , and stayed at Love at First Sight Hotel . Aside from being the best cook in the Bahamas , Sheila takes lots of pride in her hotel and making sure her guests are happy . She prepared us some delicious meals when we returned back from a long day on the water . Sheila even baked me a cake when she found out I was having a birthday during my stay . Rooms were clean , and neat and beds are comfortable . The hotel grounds are well kept , and the pool is a great way to cool off after a long day on the flats .

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mvalbies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 14, 2016 via mobile

I recently visited for a week to do some guided and unguided bone fishing throughout North andros. This is the best place to make a home base operation for the following reasons:

1. Sheila is an amazing cook and will cater to your diet and schedule. We were worried about having to be back at a certain time when she was going to make dinner, but she was very flexible. She also made sandwiches for us to bring out during the day. She really is an incredible cook. Won't find a better meal on the island.

2. The location is fantastic for exploring the area in a rental car. Tons of flats close by. And you don't see many people up there at all-you won't feel too uncomfortable about doing bonefishing yourself where it has become less and less acceptable it seems. The dock on Stafford creek has great fishing after dinner too.

3. The grounds and rooms are clean and well maintained. Sheila takes a lot of pride in her place and it shows. Well kept, air conditioned rooms with refrigerators and a nice pool. Such a pleasure to come back to after a long day on the flats

4. Sheila's cooking

Date of stay: May 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
3  Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 5, 2016

Love at First Sight, aka Sheila’s, is a unique, special place. It is located within sight of the ocean on Stafford Creek as it moves inland from the sea. The creek is wide, resembling a river, as it passes by Sheila’s restaurant deck where we ate our personally catered breakfast and dinner each day. (A beautiful beach is available to Sheila’s guests within easy walking distance.)

Most reviews mention Sheila’s superb cooking skills and attention to each guest’s personal likes and dislikes but few mention her personal interest in your recreational goals and her willingness to assist you in attaining them. Her concierge skills may equal her cooking capabilities but they all stem from her genuine caring for every guest.

The motel is bright, cheerful, clean and meets all basic needs. No TV reception but there was a DVD player and a large DVD library upon request. (We took our own.) Internet is available. The room air conditioner did the job as did the large half-size refrigerator. No microwave was available in the room.

The motel is located in the quietest part of Central/North Andros. Peace, quiet, relaxation, “back to nature” all describe this lovely place. Plus it is convenient to great fishing, the Blue Hole National Park and other great blue holes and coppices. It was perfect for us.

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rick s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews