We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Rachel R
Needham, Massachusetts

Amazing place, food could be better

Review of The Other Side
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jun 29, 2019
We just returned from a wonderful stay at the Other Side. The Other Side is just as beautiful as the photos. We loved the quiet laid back atmosphere and took full advantage of the amenities such as paddle boarding (with sea turtles swimming alongside), games, and ability to use the chairs/umbrellas of the sister resort on Harbor Island's gorgeous pink sand beach. We also used the jeep offered to guests complimentary to explore the island one morning and found one of the most beautiful beaches I've ever seen, which we had all to ourselves.

This area of the Bahamas is beautiful and we highly recommend exploring the area by boat. We did a half day tour with Salty Pig and it was a highlight for us.

While we had a wonderful time, we did leave feeling as though the resort (particularly the food) is overpriced for what it is. The nightly rate was higher than the Four Seasons on Nassau (and many other 5 star resorts), but the quality was not 5 star. For example, the food was disappointing. The first night we ate onsite and were charged 80 dollars per person for a three course meal that was not good. In fact, the first course was supposed to be an asparagus tart, but after we sat down they told us they did not have the tarts and simply served the garnish (some greens with citrus). While food on the islands is expensive, we found the price point at nearby Harbor Island restaurants to be the same but much higher in quality. They also charged us 24 dollars for penne pasta tossed in butter for my young son, but removed the charge from the bill without issue when I inquired about the high charge. I note a review from 2018 said the dinners were 46 dollars per person. I wonder why they have almost doubled the price since then? I would have felt much better about the meal if we had paid 46, instead of 80 per person. The website also says breakfast is included. We were surprised to learn that certain breakfast items are complimentary, but there is a charge for most hot items - 20 dollars for pancakes and my daughter had a single egg and single slice of bacon for a 10 dollar charge.

The honor bar was a cool concept, but also felt lacking in quality. Mixers were canned pineapple and cranberry juice as well as sodas. The only fresh ingredients for drinks were citrus. I think they had fresh mint upon request. Wines (16 a glass) were not kept at the proper temperature, and the heat ruined the red wines that we tried. Again, at this price point, you would think the resort would maintain the wines in a proper wine fridge. I love that the resort is solar powered, and support conservation, but the price point should reflect what it is.

Overall, we loved our time at the resort, the remote/laid back atmosphere, and friendly staff. We have great memories of our time at The Other Side.
Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
cmoceanview, General Manager at The Other Side, responded to this review
Responded Jul 1, 2019
Thank you for the review. We are happy to hear that your overall stay was enjoyable, and that you connected with the island and all that it has to offer! We are sorry to hear that the dining and bar experience was less than you expected. The $46 price is actually a one course meal, the $80 is a three course meal. But, even with that distinction, if the meal is not good, the price is pointless. We do offer a continental breakfast that is complimentary, but have hot food options available for an additional price if the guests would prefer. I do want you to know that we take your review seriously. I will meet with our chef and Ben and Charlie, to see what actions we can take immediately to correct some of the issues you experienced. Thank you so much for your honest feedback, and I hope your next visit, will show a vast improvement in the dining and bar experience!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Priceline
C$139
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    C$275
  • Vio.com
    C$128
  • Expedia.com
    C$281
22.7 km from The Other Side
Free Wifi
Free parking
Complete! Casita’s closest to the open are 1&4!
Priceline
C$588
C$308
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Expedia.com
    C$588
  • Booking.com
    C$308
  • Hotels.com
    C$588
40.1 km from The Other Side
Free Wifi
Free parking
Room
Priceline
C$205
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    C$205
  • Vio.com
    C$205
  • Lol.travel
13.9 km from The Other Side
Free Wifi
Free parking
ZenHotels.com
C$398
No prepayment needed
  • StayForLong
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
55.4 km from The Other Side
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
C$313
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
55.6 km from The Other Side
Official Site
C$682
  • Priceline
    C$682
  • Booking.com
    C$682
  • Vio.com
    C$682
8.8 km from The Other Side
Free Wifi
Free parking
Autograph
C$1,431
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Hotels.com
    C$1,431
  • Expedia.com
    C$1,431
  • Tripadvisor
    C$1,431
49.1 km from The Other Side
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hot Tub
StayForLong
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
44.5 km from The Other Side
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    C$341
  • Vio.com
15.4 km from The Other Side
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$141
  • Vio.com
81.1 km from The Other Side
View more hotels in Eleuthera
Reviews (22)
Filter reviews
22 results
Traveller rating
13
4
1
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
13
4
1
3
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 22 reviews
Reviewed April 28, 2019 via mobile

We loved our stay at the Other Side. It was the perfect place to get away from it all and just enjoy peace and quiet. It is very remote, there are only six rooms at the resort, and with many resort guests opting for day excursions we were often the only people by the pool and beach. We stayed in a “tent” and loved being right on the beach. The resort is simply gorgeous, pictures don’t do it justice. It is a very low key resort. As others have mentioned, they have an honor bar so you can make your own drinks at any time. Beach towels are available in a shack for you to help yourself, don’t expect beach/poolside service, this isn’t that type of resort. It was windy the first few days, which prevented us from doing any water sports. Thankfully the wind calmed down for the end of our trip and we enjoyed taking out the paddle boards and kayaks. I definitely recommend taking the hotel Jeep out to explore nearby beaches and have some local food. The food at the hotel restaurant is very good but after a couple of days it is nice to mix it up. We took the hotel boat a couple of times to Harbour Island for dinner and to check out the beautiful pink sand beach. They give you a golf cart to use for free on the island. Note you can use their sister property’s beach chairs and towels. We also did a half day excursion on the Salty Pig and enjoyed going to a gorgeous sandbar, having conch tacos on the Spanish Wells and swimming with the pigs (just a 30 min boat ride from the Other Side). A few of the guests we talked to were repeat visitors. Most guests were couples but there were a couple of families during our stay as well. We definitely hope to return to The Other Side someday. If you want a relaxing getaway away from the crowds I highly recommend The Other Side!

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4  Thank Amy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
cmoceanview, General Manager at The Other Side, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2019

Thank you for the review! So happy to hear you enjoyed your stay, we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 22, 2019

This place is truly amazing and worth every penny.

LOCATION: luxuriously secluded and a quick complementary tender (chic boat) ride away from Harbour Island so you get the best of both worlds. The beach is beautiful, truly, but not the pristine pink sand you'll find on the main side of Harbour Island (again... quick boat ride away). Take a quick ride around the undeveloped island while you're there.

DECOR: Very considered. Super Chic yet natural and unpretentious. Super Beachy.... obviously. We stayed in the tents which is the way to go if you can swing it. They have three sections; main sleeping quarters that are super open but protected with screens (and doors if you choose to use them), a breezeway with a fab tub and dressing area, and separate structure with the most spectacular 6' x 6' shower I've ever seen. Gorg.

SERVICE: Perfect if you're relaxed and casually minded. Loved making my own drinks at the bar.

AMENITIES: Nearly perfect.... would love a proper gym and bigger/better beach towels.

DINING: Solid and accommodating. We ate 1/2 the time on Harbour Island which was good to mix things up.

GETTING THERE: We flew from NYC to Nassau then a jump by plane on Pineapple air to Eleuthera. NY to Miami or Ft. Lauderdale then direct to Eleuthera seems like a better way to go. If you fly into Nassau there are limited options for getting to Eleuthera so longer layovers...

SUMMARY: If you want a relaxed experience and a gorgeous environment you won't be disappointed. I will go back again and will stay here over Harbour Island every time.

Date of stay: January 2019
2  Thank Anthony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed December 13, 2018

Beautiful setting with laid back but exceptional service. Staying at The Other Side basically gives you the freedom to completely escape and relax or to get out and explore without any effort. Every morning you wake up and decide what you want to do that day. One day my wife and I took a jeep (which the hotel lends you without extra fee) and drove around the island. Sure, we got lost but that was kind of the point. Everyone on the island wanted to help point us in the right direction. Another day we took a boat (again included in price) over to Harbour Island where the hotel had a golf cart waiting for us to explore that island. They set us up with reservations and really made the whole process quite easy.

We stayed in one of the beachfront tents but I think if we go back we will go for one of the huts up the hill. The huts offer a little bit more privacy - the glamping tents literally open to the beach so you have to make sure to cover the windows when changing etc. I also think the huts would be little quieter. We noticed that at night when the wind really picked up the flaps of the tents could be a bit loud. If you do choose a hut though you will lose out on the tents huge amazing bathroom with walk in rain shower and outdoor bathtub as well as the experience of literally stepping out onto the beach from your front door.

The food is provided right there on the property and we ate most meals there. There is enough variety to where you don't have to have the same thing twice in a three day stay. Drinks are on an honor system so you can literally walk to the bar anytime and get a beer or make your own Rum Punch with fresh fruit. The kitchen staff will make you a drink of your choice anytime if you prefer a more experience hand.

The cove where the hotel is had good snorkeling as well. Make sure to ask Chino to take you to the various reefs nearby and look for sea turtles, eels, grouper, lion fish, etc.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Samuel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 17, 2018

My husband and I took a four-night getaway to The Other Side in early August. It was less than an hour flight from Miami and worlds away. Every aspect of this property was absolutely perfect for us: the location, the decor, the staff, the overall vibe... Every single person at the property was delightful, from the two managers, to the boat captains, to the restaurant/housekeeping staff. They were all friendly, professional, and very helpful. We rented a shack and had our own piece of paradise - we so needed the tranquility and the gorgeous views ! We ate breakfast and dinner on property; the food was always delicious. We toured the island on one of their jeeps, went swimming and paddle boarding. We absolutely fell in love with this place. The decor and philosophy is exactly what we look for in a vacation. So happy to have found this gem; can't wait to escape there again...

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Madelyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 7, 2018

I really never had a desire to visit the Bahamas until I discovered this hotel and neighboring Harbour Island. The beautiful design and small size sold me, and I almost immediately booked a stay here. I couldn’t find a lot of information or reviews about TOS so I was a little nervous about staying in a tent encampment, but it exceeded any expectation that I did have.

Room:
There are only 6 “rooms” on the entire property consisting of 3 tents (located beachfront) and 3 shacks (on the hill about the tents). The tents also had small huts with children’s beds for families.

We stayed in one of the tents which was very spacious and beautifully decorated. The only time we really felt like we were in a tent was when it stormed. Within steps and with a view of the beach, the entrance to the tent was a set of french doors with screens and curtains that could be pulled to for privacy. Inside there was a large comfy bed, two couches, tables, a chair, and an amoire for clothes. There were also kitschy details like a record player and books you could borrow for the beach. Our visit to TOS was at the end of July so it was very hot outside, but we were comfortable inside the tent with two A/C units and ceiling fans.

The back of the tent had two sets of doors that led to the outdoor bathroom. There is a lovely soaker tub (bubble bath provided) in the open air and in a covered structure a shower with rain showerhead and two sinks. There is also a water closet that is enclosed with its own door. The outdoor bathroom was quite novel, but was slightly inconvenient when it was raining because you had to take a few steps in the open air to get to the water closets or sinks. There are also two doors from the bathroom that lead to the tent’s porch so when you come in from the beach, you don’t have to walk all the way through the tent to get to the bathroom.

The hotel has wifi; however, while we were there it was not working. On the second day they gave us a cell phone to use as a hotspot that worked very well though.

Food:
The food at TOS is outstanding. There is a kitchen right behind the dining tent with three ladies whipping up lots of tasty food and some amazing homemade bread. They have a garden onsite where the pick their own produce and herbs.

Breakfast is included with the room rate. Every morning there were a few breads, muffins, and cereals out, but you can order any hot foods from the kitchen that you desired. For lunch there is a small menu to choose from of salads, sandwiches, burgers all in the $14-$20 range. There were also a few mains for about $30 each. Dinner is a set menu but if you let them know you preferences or allergies ahead of time, they will work around it. The price for dinner was $46 per person for a salad, main, and dessert course.

Dining is very casual. You are told the time range that meals are served, and you can seat yourself whenever you are ready. Sometimes we dressed up and at other times we wouldn’t wear any shoes.

Drinks:
The bar situation at TOS is very casual as well. There is a beautiful bar in one of the tents and you are the bartender. Every time you make a drink, you note it on a page in the bar tab book. There is a pretty good array of options for alcohol and tools needed to mix cocktails. It was fun pouring your own drinks, but they could have had a few more high end mixers and syrups for making cocktails. You could request other ingredients from the kitchen and herbs from the garden so that was helpful. Mixed drinks, cocktails, and wine by the glass were priced $10-16.

Activities:
We were only at the hotel for 3 nights so we didn’t do a lot of sightseeing; however, the hotel has a vehicle that you can borrow to explore Eleuthera as well as a boat that will take you out for watersports or shuttle you over to Harbour Island. They also have several paddle boards and kayaks out on the beach. Between the beach and the pool there are plenty of chairs for everyone so no need to run out first thing in the morning to claim a chair like at most large resorts. When you need a break from the sun or when it rains there is a pool table, board games, and cards in the communal tents.

Overall:
I highly enjoyed my visit to TOS and would love to visit again in the future. As long as you know what to expect you will love this place. If you are looking for lots of people, nightlife, and someone to wait on you hand and foot then look somewhere else. If you are looking for a quiet getaway, appreciate design and good food, enjoy the novelty of glamping, and don’t mind pouring your own drink then run don’t walk to TOS.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank MegTollett
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews