We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Cove Eleuthera(Gregory Town)
US$406
US$379
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Island Seaside Suites(Governor's Harbour)
Book now, pay at stay
US$180
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Surfers Manor(Gregory Town)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$165
US$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Unique Village(North Palmetto Point)
US$125
US$120
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cape Eleuthera Resort & Marina(Rock Sound)(Great Value!)
US$300
US$203
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hut Pointe Inn(Governor's Harbour)
US$235
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Tally(Eleuthera)
US$425
Booking.com
View Deal
French Leave Resort(Governor's Harbour)
US$599
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Romora Bay Resort & Marina(Harbour Island)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$313
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveller rating
21
10
4
1
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
21
10
4
1
5
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 41 reviews
Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

Ms Jean Davis is a sweet bahamian lady who knows everyone in Eleuthera. Staying at her place for 5 days gave us an insight into Eleuthera we would not have had otherwise. Walking distance to bakery, grocery, restaurants, Cupid Cay, souvenir store, police station, beach. Located in the quaint and colonial Governor's Harbour. We drove the whole island in search of secluded, idyllic beaches and that we found " A Lot ". Eleuthera is for adventurous lovers....
I felt like I stayed at mom's for a simple, relaxed and lovely time...

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aidita's C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 23, 2013

April 2013

We stayed at the Laughing Bird for 9 nights this April. It was a wonderful place for us as a base from which to explore Eleuthera. The small apartment was roomy for the two of us with a small kitchen, a bathroom and a living/bedroom large enough to include a chest of drawers, chairs, a love seat and table. Most of our time was spent in the pretty gardens right outside our sliding doors. We ate outside all the time, surrounded by flowers and a few chickens with their chicks. Though not directly on the ocean it felt like it; we could see it through the trees and could hear the waves at night. The rooms were clean and the bed was very comfortable. Best of all no bugs. Ms Jean, the owner, was always very helpful and full of information about the island and its history. She helped us rent a car and arranged for a fisherman to take us on a snorkeling trip. The Laughing Bird's location could not be better. It was with in walking distance of a good bakery, liquor store, gas station, library, grocery store and restaurants. We enjoyed being able to walk around the town and Cupid's Cay and to feel a part of the local neighborhood. We will definitely return to the Laughing Bird.

Room Tip: Try for # 4
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CarolSJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We had never been to the Bahamas and were unprepared for the more simple apartments in Governor' Harbour. After fleeing from one very dirty and insect infested hotel room that we booked months in advance we found The Laughing Bird with the help of the extremely kind local citizens.
It was cleaner, less expensive, and the hostess (known to all as Nurse Jean) was very friendly and went out of her way to make the remainder of our stay on Eleuthra as enjoyable as possible. However, as prior reviews read, the interior suites could use a make-over. The mattress springs on my bed poked into my back and I tried to remedy this with towels between the sheets and my spine. The apartment in general was clean yet looked dingy due to stains on the tile flooring, counter, and sinks. The towels were very worn and could use replacing but compared to our initially booked suite this bathroom looked like a palace. Hot water was always available. We never had to try out the air conditioning unit. Regular room service is nonexistent and fresh linens/towels were available on request. The surrounding gardens were peaceful, well maintained and just off the main road/drag. The view of the caribbean water (not the beach) on the small ground patio made one forget you were in the middle of a small town and within walking distance to grocery stores, banks, bakeries, and local restaurants. A collection of chickens wandered around the property and caused no problems except on a few early mornings when the roosters made their presence known!
The best part of the stay was the local people who were the most gracious I have ever met on my numerous travels. The Atlantic beaches were fantastic with the pink sand and if you yearned for more trendy bars/restaurants they were not far away. Rent a car as there are few places to hike other than the beaches. Roads are narrow but when you choose to tread on them you will receive countless offers for a free ride from the locals. We took a taxi tour of the island with a driver recommendation by Nurse Jean and received an excellent review of the islands history.
If you don't want to spend loads of money and don't expect The Sands Resort- like amenities then the Laughing Bird will accommodate you.

Room Tip: Word of mouth
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank robinson_705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 14, 2013

I have been living on the south end of Eleuthera for 6 months, and had family visit for the first time last week. As a 20-something with a family who likes to see the local sights, we wanted to stay at a place further north on the island, so that we could hit up the tourist spots that central and north Eleuthera have to offer (e.g., Glass Window Bridge, Hatchet Bay Caves, Harbor Island and Spanish Wells, beaches in Gregorytown and James Cistern). I had never stayed at a hotel outside of South Eleuthera, but I was pleasantly surprised by what Laughing Bird apartments had to offer.

Miss Jean is extremely hospitable. One reviewer mentioned that it took them an hour to check in because she was so chatty. News flash- this is the Bahamas! People are personable and like to chat and share life experiences. I rather enjoyed hearing about how the island used to be when Miss Jean was a young girl. There is wi-fi, but it wouldn't reach to our room. Miss Jean said she had "extenders," but I just used the internet in the adjacent room (we rented a 4 person apt and an adjacent 2 person apt). For 6 people it totaled a little less than $300/night, which is not cheap, but not unreasonable. If you find somewhere touting rates cheaper than that in Eleuthera, then don't be surprised if you drive up to a dilapidated building in the brush, far off from the beach.

The beach was a 1 minute walk (if that) across a back road, and you have a beautiful ocean view from the back patios of the apartments. We had fun times beach combing (found some antique glass bottles) and fishing (got some amber jacks and barracuda). For dinner, you can purchase lobster off the pier right down the street, and Miss Jean has a grill available for use (although we had to purchase the charcoal). The grocery store is really close, along with the liquor store, though I would recommend going by rented car rather than walking (if you plan on picking up a lot of food or beer!). You can cook right in the rooms, which have full kitchens. My one suggestion is to check the temp setting of the fridge/freezer. Ours was set so low our beer wouldn't get cold!! (I know, such a tragedy). There is also a lovely bakery just down the road open early morning that the family loved.

I would highly recommend Laughing Bird apartments, because they are straightforward with what they have to offer, and they have a nice quiet location off the main road in Governor's Harbor. Thanks for reading! :)

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We arrived at LB and were greeted by Mrs. Jean. She drove us around some to show us where a few things were. Our apartment was clean and decorated nice with fresh flowers. Our entire trip was great anything we needed we simply asked. We are so excited to loan a trip yo return one day. Thank you Eleuthera for being so nice and beautiful. It was hard to leave so coming back is a must!

Room Tip: All rooms face the bay.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank SCMT80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews