We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The absolute best vacation ever!”
Review of Fowl Cay Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Great Exuma
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fowl Cay Resort
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The absolute best vacation ever!”
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Our trip to Fowl Cay was absolutely the best vacation we have ever taken! Let me say, that if you are looking for excitement, crowds, noise, and adrenaline, this is not the vacation for you. However, if you are looking for serenity, beauty, no clocks, no responsibilities.... you've found it here. The setting is a gift from the universe; the resort, a perfect compliment; the staff is the final, and perfect, last piece to this amazing place. From the moment we were met on Staniel Cay, to the time we reboarded our plane, our vacation was truly a break from the pressures and worries at home. There was nothing we wanted for or lacked. The food was delicious! (Thank you, Chef) Every request met! (Thank you, LisaAnn) And every need satisfied (Thank you, Y'ves, Marta, Grant, and Nichole) Even Ruby, the island dog, contributed to the joy of our stay on Fowl Cay. The icing on the cake was the discovery of our lost camera 6 months after we left paradise. Y'ves and his team immediately notified us, documented its hiding place, and sent it safely on its way back to us in the States. Needless to say, we were overjoyed and extremely grateful. If the opportunity to return ever presents itself, we will be return for Fowl Cay Vacation, part II, and recommend it to everyone without hesitation!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arenthc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    6
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
39
47
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

We have traveled quite a bit over the years and this is the most incredible resort we've ever been to. The surroundings are sublime, the staff is beyond friendly, the villas are beautiful and you even get your very own boat.! The whole trip was amazing and we can't wait to visit again as soon as we can.

There are 6 villas on the island and we stayed in the 2-bedroom house called "Birdcage". It is a large home with the master quarters on the main level and two twin beds and a bathroom downstairs. It is surrounded on 3 sides by water including a small dock to swim from or park the boat. We did not look inside the other villas, but this one appeared to be the nicest of the lot. The front porch came stocked with incredible views of the bay and a small private plunge pool large enough for 2 or 3 people to sit comfortably.

The food from the Hill House was magical, though we only ate there in the evenings. We spent our days on the surrounding islands and the staff on Fowl Cay packed us a lunch to take with us every morning. A light breakfast of fruit and fresh pastries was also delivered to the house each morning. In addition to all of this, before you arrive you can make requests to have your villa stocked with your favorite food and drinks.

The boat you receive with each villa is included in the nightly price and comes refueled and cleaned each morning. We received a 17' Angler with a 70 hp Yamaha motor, the 3 bedroom houses receive a slightly larger model. The 17 footer was plenty big to get us around the neighboring islands, in and out of the local marinas, and the wife was even able to get up and water ski behind it. Even if you are not an avid boater the staff is patient and the boats are very easy to operate. It takes about a day to get the lay of the waters around the islands, but once you know where you are going it's very easy to navigate.

Lastly, the staff was incredible. The island is run by two South African couples and the staff is rounded out with Bahamians from Nassau and Black Point. Every single person on the island could not have been friendlier. They answered all of our questions with a smile and even shared dinner with us (at our request) on our last night. We felt right at home from the moment we set foot on the island and the warmth we felt during our entire stay was fabulous. Spending time with these amazing people was one of the best parts of our stay.

Getting there: We arrived from Nassau via chartered seaplane (Safari Seaplanes). It was the most beautiful ride and we would certainly do that again. Otherwise you can charter a flight from NAS to nearby Staniel Cay or take regularly scheduled service from NAS via a small Bahamian airline. You can also take regularly scheduled service to/from Ft. Lauderdale via Watermakers. We went home via Watermakers and it was a very easy trip.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Okie86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales uk
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

What a place we went 07/09/2011 for 10 days ,we met a lovely family from chicago whilst we were there ,we stayed in lindon , clean comfortable ,loads of food, private beach, perfect, we ate in the big house at an evening ,food unbelievable ,furnishings amazing , service best ever, our trips out on our own boat ! saw lots and more, the staff grant ,nicole, lisa, sionedd, wilson, and some that we didnt get to meet all so accomidating, also i would like to mention the destination lounge ,jake who organised our trip from start to finish as we are from wales so had to also take a chartered flight from nassau to sataniel cay was perfect , even the weather was good apart from the last day but we did take a chance with hurricane season, i dont think you need to be honeymooners to go to this place as its perfect for anyone looking for peace and a relaxing time with the added bonus of sightseeing at your own pace.

Room Tip: plan in advance as there a only a few villas on the island and it does get booked up , also take som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julieWalesUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

I had the great fortune to visit Fowl Cay with my family in July 2011. We all had such a wonderful time! This island is very secluded and quiet, yet with plenty of entertainment options so you will never be bored. We enjoyed the pool, beach, paddle boards, tubing, wakeboarding, sailing, tennis, bicycles, and more.

Our favorite island-hopping adventures included: feeding the pigs on the nearby “pig island”, Staniel Cay, the natural sea aquarium, snorkeling in Cannonball, and visiting the nurse sharks right on the dock at Compass Key.

We stayed at Sweetwater and it was nice. Everyone was comfortable and enjoyed the amenities. I specifically loved the Molton Brown bath products!

The best thing about Fowl Cay is the excellent staff. They were all so accommodating and warm. We got along so well with Yves, Marta, Lisa Ann, Grant, and Nicole! They really help make your trip the best it can be.

One other thing I wanted to mention: I saw a previous comment about a few dogs on the island (from 2009). While we were there in July, there was only one dog (Ruby?) and she was very, very calm and sweet. She never jumped up on anyone or even barked really.

Overall, I highly recommend Fowl Cay. I think it would be a lovely honeymoon destination, but also nice for families.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rszj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2011

What a gem. It's the kind of place you don't want to tell too many people about because you want t make sure there's availability for when you want to go. The island is picture perfect with a staff to match. There were days when we were the only people on the beach with the staff ready to serve us when needed. The highlight, however, is having a boat. We took an excursion every day to some small beach or snorkeling spot. My kids said it was the "best vacation ever" - and I must agree.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lavendermary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2011

I have been to many places all around the world. Stayed at very good hotels but this resort is outstanding. First of all the location. The island is in the middle of the exumas islands and sorrounded with almost unreal blue water. It seems like painted.
In addition to that unbelievable nature, you have your own golf car, which you can use everywhere on the island what is very convinient. You have also, what is for sure one big highlight, a own pretty good motorized boat. After a short instruction everyone is able to drive this boat without any problems, so you are able to go to a lot of other cays by your own.
We stayed in the seabreeze villa, which was excellent. It was of course clean and the fridge was always filled with food and drinks.
The food in the restaurant was very good and there was a good atmosphere. Everything was included so there was no need to take money anywhere.
The staff was fantastic. Everyone beginning with the manager and ending with the housekeeping was very nice and it seems they enjoyed their job a lot. The service was great.
I just can recommend this resort. We stayed eight days there and I still didn't want to leave when it was time to go. The atmosphere is very private and one can do tons of things.
All in all it was one if not the best vacations I've ever had.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank leuchtturm208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanover, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2011

Everything about Fowl Cay is first class. The staff were fantastic! We were at the resort the second week of February and had the island almost entirely to ourselves. We stayed in the Seabreeze villa which is actually three rooms, one main house with sitting area, tv and kitchen and two detached bedrooms all connected by decks. Fowl Cay is quiet, low key, yet offers luxurious accommodations, great food and each villa is assigned its own golf cart and boat. We took trips to other islands for exploring and snorkeling every day. There is no need to bring anything with you (including money-everything is included), they have thought of everything a guest might want and they provide it for you. If you want to get away, love the water and friendly people, Fowl Cay is for you.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lesliewilliamson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Exuma hotels
103.9 km away
Club Peace & Plenty Exuma Island
84.0 km away
Grand Isle Resort & Spa
Grand Isle Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Great Exuma
922 reviews
84.2 km away
Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
82.5 km away
Paradise Bay Bahamas
Paradise Bay Bahamas
#1 of 15 in Great Exuma
186 reviews
101.9 km away
Augusta Bay Bahamas
Augusta Bay Bahamas
#1 of 4 in George Town
298 reviews
101.7 km away
Hideaways at Palm Bay
Hideaways at Palm Bay
#1 of 2 in George Town
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fowl Cay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fowl Cay Resort

Property: Fowl Cay Resort
Address: Fowl Cay, Great Exuma
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Great Exuma
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Great Exuma
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Fowl Cay Hotel Great Exuma
Fowl Cay Resort Great Exuma, Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing