We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sandals Grande Emerald Bay - The Best of the Best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Great Exuma
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Over the last 3 years, my husband and I have become very loyal customers of Sandals Resorts International. We have had the privilege of staying at four resorts and dining at 7.

In the past, when we were posed the question of which Sandals Resort we admired the most, we were never able to answer the question, as they were all beautiful and unique in their own special way.

As of today, we can firmly answer that our favourite resort is Sandals Grande Emerald Bay. Why you may ask.... the answer is simple...

o This resort has the most beautiful beach and body of water we have ever seen
o The quality, presentation of food and service is outstanding
o The rooms are elegant and extremely proper
o The pools are cooled, very clean and large
o And the EMPLOYEES MAKE YOU FEEL LIKE FAMILY. Special thank you to Derise (Front office), David (Loyalty Manager), Vinette (Red Lane Spa), Arlene ( Housekeeping) & Jeremy (GM) for making our stay extra special.

Please take the time to look at our pictures, as I believe that they capture the essence of this timeless resort.....

If you have any questions on this resort or other Sandal properties please feel free to contact me.

Amelia Salerno

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank emilysalerno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,035)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,379 - 3,385 of 4,035 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2011

After Checking with Sandals on the Status of their Emerald Bay facility on august 25th they informed us that the facility was still open and it was OK to travel there on the 26th. When we arrived on the 26th a Sandals agent meet us at the Airport and informed us that they decided to close the facility that morning and we had to leave. This left several couples stranded some from as far away as Italy and the agents attitude was it's not our problem, just leave. I understand weather situations, and the need to be flexible at times but the way the Sandals people handled this situation was unprofessional and uncaring and not the mark of a quality Hotel / Resort chain

Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
6  Thank 940Gene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

What's good: THE BEACH is completely private and as gorgeous as the pics. No vendors, no resort guests from other resorts. Sandals guests only. WATER SPORTS included. Most resorts charge for what is free at Sandals Emerald Bay. THE POOL has an enormous space around it, lending itself to room for everyone. No need to wake at 5 am to claim your space. THE FOOD is excellent. 5 a la cartes to choose from. Great variety. The buffet was also good, but smaller than most resorts which makes it better quality. THE DRINKS as promised are premium, the bar staff moves a little slower than most resorts, they are on island time. This would normally bother me, but it seemed like a small sacrifice to wait an extra minute. THE STAFF is most professional, extremely polite and most accomodating. THE GROUNDS are immaculate and beautiful. It is obvious they take pride in their resort. There are not questionable areas like most resorts. CHECK IN was smooth and as you would expect. Greeted with a smile, a welcome and a glass of champagne. THE ROOM-we had the basic room that was surprisingly spacious, very clean. THE ATMOSPHERE-quiet and relaxing. Music playing loud enough to hear but not distracting.
ONLY COMPLAINT-our room smelled a little funky and it did not go away. We got used to it and if I had to deal with it again to stay here, I would. And I would bring air freshener.
ALL IN ALL-this was the most beautiful resort we have been to. If you are looking for a party, this is not the place. This struck me as a place for people who just needed to get away and relax.
ON A SIDE NOTE-was there leading up to the hurricane. The staff were calm and professional. The front lobby was quite chaotic while we were trying to get out, the staff remained helpful and kind, never losing their cool. It was quite clear that their number one concern was our safety and comfort.
AIR CANADA on the other hand should BE ASHAMED of themselves for leaving us all hanging until late afternoon without a word, when other airlines had already committed to coming in to assist us. It seemed many of the resort guests had flown down with AC and were all trying to call them and ask for assistance to get off the island, or at least out of Miami. Only to be told we could take a flight the next day for close to $1800. Nothing like trying to make a buck in the middle of a natural disaster.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank 41LUV2TRAVEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We just got back from Sandals Emerald Bay.
The resort was amazing altough we had to leave due to Hurricane Irene.
I will talk about the resort later on but have alot to say about AIR CANADA VACATIONS!! (Not good)
We left the island Tuesday morning due to the increasing threat of hurricane Irene. (only there for 2 nights)
Sandals arranged transport via American Airlines for all guests that wanted to leave. They also picked up the tab, because Sandals' main concern was for the safety of their guests and staff which was very apperent and appreciated.
AIR CANADAN VACATIONS knew nothing about the hurricane apperently, when contacted buy us and several othere guests!!!!! There were no plans to pick up any their people.
After numerous calls to AIR CANADA VACATIONS AND TO AIR CANADA, ALL THAT WAS OFFERED WAS SEATS OUT OF MIAMI ON WEDENESDAY FOR $1800.00 PER PERSON.
And at 4:00pm just prior to boarding the American Airlines flight, we were offered a flight from Air Canada which would arrive at 11:30pm!!!!
There was also a waiver that was to be signed stating that if we took another airline, Air Canada would not cover any other travel costs from Miami!! We refused to sign as well as most other people.
After 2 days in Miami a flight was arranged by Air canada for us, although I encountered over $300 in hotel costs, over $200 in meals and probably $600 in shopping (my wife).
We are totally disappointed that Air Canada abandoned us!!!
Sandals were the heros of the day and ensured that all their guests were safe and off the island. They also covered all lond distance charges prior to leaving.
We are planning on going back during the Christmas break to continue our vacation and heres why:
The beach beautiful with no other resort properties around. There were numerous gazebos and chairs for your comfort. The staff was extremely courteous and friendly and went out of their way to accomodate any needs that you had. The rooms were beautiful and very spacious with all the amenities that you could want including a bar fridge stalked with beer, chanpagne, juices, wine, water and pop. There was also vodka, rum, gin. There was a coffee maker and an expresso machine too.
As for the rest of the property , it was amazing too!! The main pool was great with lots of gazebos and umbellas to provide shade. It also had a nice swim up bar.
The resturants had great food with a selection the would accomadate all pallets. We really loved IL Chello the Italian resturant (I hope I spelled that right). The food was amazing both for dinner and breakfast. Never had a chance to try the French resturant but heard the food was real good from some other guests that we had met.
Our experience was amazing for the short time we were there. We can't wait to go back.
We hope that all the staff and guests that decided to stay are safe and that the resort didn't sustain too much damage.
Thanks Sandals for taking good care of us.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Hungry_Harley_Guys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Without a doubt the most over the top resort we have been too - and we've been to quite a few! The food was beyond incredible (Especially the il cielo restaurant) - the staff so polite, courteous, helpfuly - can i say more - definitely worth its 6 star status

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank vikkif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Unbelievable sights, extraordinary service, perfect waters, and the perfect beach.

We opted for the villas on the shoreline, with butler service.
The Room was very nice,and the butler service was unbelievable. The butlers (Quinton,Adeep,&Garth) were outstanding. You are given a cell phone and anything you need, just hit the auto dial and the butler on duty would do everything in there power to accommodate.

Even if you dont get a villa on the beach, or butler service, this is an awsome property.
Every worker you speak to is extra nice, you can tell they like there jobs, and there proud of what they do. This is a must do, sometime in your life,(ours was 14th anniversary).

There are several options to do, or adventures to see, or just relax on one of this planets best beaches.

It is all inclusive, with plenty of entertainment, wheather just a vacation or just a long weekend, this has to be the best place on Earth.

Room Tip: All the properties / rooms are great but I highly reccomend the villas w/ butler service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank E-W-25601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

I just wrote a trip report in the Great Exuma forum, so look for the long version there, but the resort and the staff were fab. Don't hesitate to stay here. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Building 5 is optimal for equal parts quiet and easy access to the amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mooralez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Exuma
19.9 km away
St Francis Resort
St Francis Resort
#2 of 2 in Stocking Island
175 reviews
0.5 km away
Grand Isle Resort & Spa
Grand Isle Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Great Exuma
959 reviews
17.6 km away
Hideaways at Palm Bay
Hideaways at Palm Bay
#1 of 2 in George Town
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 km away
Augusta Bay Bahamas
Augusta Bay Bahamas
#1 of 4 in George Town
309 reviews
17.7 km away
Exuma Beach Resort
Exuma Beach Resort
#5 of 13 in Great Exuma
104 reviews
20.2 km away
Regatta Point
Regatta Point
#4 of 13 in Great Exuma
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort

Address: Queen's Highway, Emerald Bay, EX29142, Great Exuma (Formerly Four Seasons Resort Great Exuma at Emerald Bay)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Great Exuma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Great Exuma
Price Range: $774 - $2,140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•NEW!! Jogging Trail on property - 2.6 miles long •Greg Norman designed 7,001 yard golf course with 6 signature oceanside holes•Three fresh water pools including the Caribbean’s largest zero entry pool with a central fire pit•24 hour room service to all rooms and suites•Seven exciting dining options to choose from•Red Lane Spa with sixteen extensive treatment rooms•Personalized off resort excursions arranged by our Island Routes Tour specialists•Sits on 1 mile of the Exuma’s best powdery white sand beaches•6 Har-Tru tennis courts including a sunken stadium court•Voted Sandals Resorts “World’s Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row•Voted Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand”, 18 years in a row•Voted Sandals Emerald Bay “Caribbean’s Leading Luxury All-Inclusive”•Awarded #9 spot in the 2012 Readers' Choice Awards "Top 12 Resorts in The Atlantic" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Unique Vacations Inc, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com, Prestigia, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Emerald Bay Hotel Great Exuma
Four Seasons Great Exuma
Great Exuma Four Seasons
Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis And Spa Resort Great Exuma, Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing