We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,506)
Filter reviews
4,506 results
Traveller rating
2,600
1,120
491
183
112
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,600
1,120
491
183
112
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdrunken duckfrench restaurantbutler servicequiet poolmain poolil cielopiano barthe publa parisienneemerald baycafe de parisbutler suitered lane spaisland routesswim up barjeremy muttonocean safari
Filter
Updating list...
3,825 - 3,830 of 4,506 reviews
Reviewed August 26, 2011

After Checking with Sandals on the Status of their Emerald Bay facility on august 25th they informed us that the facility was still open and it was OK to travel there on the 26th. When we arrived on the 26th a Sandals agent meet us at the Airport and informed us that they decided to close the facility that morning and we had to leave. This left several couples stranded some from as far away as Italy and the agents attitude was it's not our problem, just leave. I understand weather situations, and the need to be flexible at times but the way the Sandals people handled this situation was unprofessional and uncaring and not the mark of a quality Hotel / Resort chain

Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
6  Thank 940Gene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 26, 2011

What's good: THE BEACH is completely private and as gorgeous as the pics. No vendors, no resort guests from other resorts. Sandals guests only. WATER SPORTS included. Most resorts charge for what is free at Sandals Emerald Bay. THE POOL has an enormous space around it, lending itself to room for everyone. No need to wake at 5 am to claim your space. THE FOOD is excellent. 5 a la cartes to choose from. Great variety. The buffet was also good, but smaller than most resorts which makes it better quality. THE DRINKS as promised are premium, the bar staff moves a little slower than most resorts, they are on island time. This would normally bother me, but it seemed like a small sacrifice to wait an extra minute. THE STAFF is most professional, extremely polite and most accomodating. THE GROUNDS are immaculate and beautiful. It is obvious they take pride in their resort. There are not questionable areas like most resorts. CHECK IN was smooth and as you would expect. Greeted with a smile, a welcome and a glass of champagne. THE ROOM-we had the basic room that was surprisingly spacious, very clean. THE ATMOSPHERE-quiet and relaxing. Music playing loud enough to hear but not distracting.
ONLY COMPLAINT-our room smelled a little funky and it did not go away. We got used to it and if I had to deal with it again to stay here, I would. And I would bring air freshener.
ALL IN ALL-this was the most beautiful resort we have been to. If you are looking for a party, this is not the place. This struck me as a place for people who just needed to get away and relax.
ON A SIDE NOTE-was there leading up to the hurricane. The staff were calm and professional. The front lobby was quite chaotic while we were trying to get out, the staff remained helpful and kind, never losing their cool. It was quite clear that their number one concern was our safety and comfort.
AIR CANADA on the other hand should BE ASHAMED of themselves for leaving us all hanging until late afternoon without a word, when other airlines had already committed to coming in to assist us. It seemed many of the resort guests had flown down with AC and were all trying to call them and ask for assistance to get off the island, or at least out of Miami. Only to be told we could take a flight the next day for close to $1800. Nothing like trying to make a buck in the middle of a natural disaster.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank 41LUV2TRAVEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 25, 2011

We just got back from Sandals Emerald Bay.
The resort was amazing altough we had to leave due to Hurricane Irene.
I will talk about the resort later on but have alot to say about AIR CANADA VACATIONS!! (Not good)
We left the island Tuesday morning due to the increasing threat of hurricane Irene. (only there for 2 nights)
Sandals arranged transport via American Airlines for all guests that wanted to leave. They also picked up the tab, because Sandals' main concern was for the safety of their guests and staff which was very apperent and appreciated.
AIR CANADAN VACATIONS knew nothing about the hurricane apperently, when contacted buy us and several othere guests!!!!! There were no plans to pick up any their people.
After numerous calls to AIR CANADA VACATIONS AND TO AIR CANADA, ALL THAT WAS OFFERED WAS SEATS OUT OF MIAMI ON WEDENESDAY FOR $1800.00 PER PERSON.
And at 4:00pm just prior to boarding the American Airlines flight, we were offered a flight from Air Canada which would arrive at 11:30pm!!!!
There was also a waiver that was to be signed stating that if we took another airline, Air Canada would not cover any other travel costs from Miami!! We refused to sign as well as most other people.
After 2 days in Miami a flight was arranged by Air canada for us, although I encountered over $300 in hotel costs, over $200 in meals and probably $600 in shopping (my wife).
We are totally disappointed that Air Canada abandoned us!!!
Sandals were the heros of the day and ensured that all their guests were safe and off the island. They also covered all lond distance charges prior to leaving.
We are planning on going back during the Christmas break to continue our vacation and heres why:
The beach beautiful with no other resort properties around. There were numerous gazebos and chairs for your comfort. The staff was extremely courteous and friendly and went out of their way to accomodate any needs that you had. The rooms were beautiful and very spacious with all the amenities that you could want including a bar fridge stalked with beer, chanpagne, juices, wine, water and pop. There was also vodka, rum, gin. There was a coffee maker and an expresso machine too.
As for the rest of the property , it was amazing too!! The main pool was great with lots of gazebos and umbellas to provide shade. It also had a nice swim up bar.
The resturants had great food with a selection the would accomadate all pallets. We really loved IL Chello the Italian resturant (I hope I spelled that right). The food was amazing both for dinner and breakfast. Never had a chance to try the French resturant but heard the food was real good from some other guests that we had met.
Our experience was amazing for the short time we were there. We can't wait to go back.
We hope that all the staff and guests that decided to stay are safe and that the resort didn't sustain too much damage.
Thanks Sandals for taking good care of us.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Hungry_Harley_Guys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Without a doubt the most over the top resort we have been too - and we've been to quite a few! The food was beyond incredible (Especially the il cielo restaurant) - the staff so polite, courteous, helpfuly - can i say more - definitely worth its 6 star status

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank vikkif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Unbelievable sights, extraordinary service, perfect waters, and the perfect beach.

We opted for the villas on the shoreline, with butler service.
The Room was very nice,and the butler service was unbelievable. The butlers (Quinton,Adeep,&Garth) were outstanding. You are given a cell phone and anything you need, just hit the auto dial and the butler on duty would do everything in there power to accommodate.

Even if you dont get a villa on the beach, or butler service, this is an awsome property.
Every worker you speak to is extra nice, you can tell they like there jobs, and there proud of what they do. This is a must do, sometime in your life,(ours was 14th anniversary).

There are several options to do, or adventures to see, or just relax on one of this planets best beaches.

It is all inclusive, with plenty of entertainment, wheather just a vacation or just a long weekend, this has to be the best place on Earth.

Room Tip: All the properties / rooms are great but I highly reccomend the villas w/ butler service.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank E-W-25601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews