We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another pearl in Sandals string”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Great Exuma
Reviewed 6 October 2010

The good:
Philippe and his staff at the Bahama Bay Restaurant
(missing my morning omelets!)
Kerry and her staff at the Drunken Duck ... great bartenders
Keicher (the better of the Duo of our butlers )
Bubble Bath ... Towel Animals ... full bar in the room.
Room Service. faster than you'd think and well presented.
Swim up bar (except when there were no blenders the last three days-Unacceptable)
Il Cielo (men need trousers, no shorts) lovely meal, very romantic.
Cabanas (go early, put your stuff down and go for breakfast)
The returning Guest dinner and Farewell Dinner
Choose Bldg one, 2nd floor ... nice view

The Bad
the Second Bulter (vino) ... slower than a train coming from a Mets game...a waste of breath)
sloppy seconds for pool floats (came from a closed resort, no doubt)
the photographers on staff are weak at best.
If oyu are picking a room... third floor porch has no covering ... bad for sun or rain.

Other Stuff
The golf course is still 'finding it's way' ... still needs rehab since being idle for quite a few months. pricey for 18 holes, but AMAZING view.
Internet is not free $42 week / fair signal at pool, good in room
Full service spa.
take a free golf cart tour with Ivanetta ... she's a DOLL.
Airport is a joke ... and bring something with you ahead of time to eat on departure day.
the sandwiches they made and were sitting out on a table were only ham/chz/mayo (not a big fan of unrefrigerated mayo. Kermit's bar across the street is gross.

Any other questions ,,,let me know!
my FB pix
http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=2093916&id=1293609740&l=e960d6162a

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hazmat1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,768 - 3,774 of 4,169 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2010

My wife and I stayed at Sandals Emerald Bay on Great Exuma Island in the Bahamas from Sept. 26th to Oct. 3rd, 2010.
Being that it was hurricane sason the weather was a little rough at first but improved as the week went on. The resort was only at half capacity so it had a real intimite feel to it and we met a lot of amazing people that we partied with all week!
The resort is a little on the small side but absolutely beautiful. The pool is huge and the beach is amazing although it was covered in a lot of garbage the first few days because of the high winds blowing everything ashore.
Our rooms were spotless and the staff were the friendliest I've ever come across in any of my travels! Jerome, Deangelo and Tash who are the entertainment crew were awesome and a big reason we had such a great time!
The resort could use another resteraunt or two as by the end of the week we were getting a little bored of the food although it tasted just fine more options would have been nice.
Everyone gets a butler at this Sandals but we never used ours once, we wanted to but could never figure out a reason to, I guess we're just not that needy?
Not a lot to do at the resort except relax, swim or play volleyball and even less to do off the resort as the island, although beautiful is pretty baron.
We did a 007 Grotto tour of the Cays and I would highly recommend this tour but not through Sandals as they charge more than double. We booked our tour through Four C's Adventures and they were awesome!
The waters of the Bahamas are unreal, I've never seen water so clear and blue in my life!
Service at some of the resteraunts was a little shakey some nights. We waited several times for our drinks and meals for more than a half hour. All those times it was the same waiter and I think he was new so we cut him some slack.
All and all a great time and a beautiful resort!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BfamilyKitchener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2010

This was our second trip to this resort this year. For full details - see my other review posted in May - I break it down by service, beach, rooms, etc. That review still stands up!
We love this resort.....

Still some good and bad.

The service is beyond good.....its excellent. Yes, sometimes its still slow (island time) but overall everyone is helpful, pleasant, and will do whatever they can for you. Our server at dinner actually left the restaurant to go to another bar to get the drink I asked for - she knew the only bartender who could do it!

Overall - the service, room, and beach are fantastic. Its the best beach at any resort I've been to.

Here is the bad: This is our 2nd trip this year to this resort and 11th trip to Sandals. I had only 1 request - which was for a specific butler. I requested when booking, then thru my travel agent, and also when the Sandals Select rep called me and asked if I had any preferences during my stay. Hello? I had only one and it was not fulfilled. Im not a Sandals snob....we never ask for much....but now that I've visited 11 times and Sandals has gotten a hell of alot of money out of us....wouldnt it be nice to get what you ask for at this point? I found the butler I wanted and he was confused that he was not assigned to us - by the way, he was servicing the room next to ours. Extremely disappointed!!!!
Guess I should have gone to management on the first day, but I shouldnt have to!

Our butlers were fine - one was good and did the extras you expect...especially since we were there for my birthday. The other butler sucked.....my husband had arranged with him a birthday breakfast in cabana on beach....butler screwed that up completely - ordered breakfast to be delivered by 7 am one day as we were heading out for a day trip...he screwed that up too - had to call him at 7:30 and he rushed to get it sent up to us. And he did nothing extra for us the whole week.

Only 2 other complaints - the music! When walking thru a tropical oasis I want to hear island music - not adult contemporary mixed in with a bit of country! And the main pool is all hip hop all day - where is the island feel?

Last complaint is beach maintenance. There were alot of storms out at sea and seaweed was deposited on the beach. At other sandals they rake this up everyday. For some reason it was left most of the time - or they used a tractor to rake it but right in the middle of the morning....dont want to hear a tractor or inhale those fumes while on the beach. And the beach staff left dirty towels on the beach for 2 days.....Several staff saw them but never picked them up.....expect more from Sandals when it comes to that! If you dont believe me - I have proof! See the pics.....

Overall this is an excellent resort - and we will most likely return - hopefully we will start feeling like Select Guests.....trip #12 is next spring.....

Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
2  Thank doglover0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2010

Me and my wife made the decision to spend our honeymoon at SEB based off of all of your help, so I will try my best to not repeat what has already been said.
Traveler Profile
26 and 23 years old traveling on honeymoon.
Cancun - Riu Palace and Riu Cancun
Jamaica - Riu Negril
Riu vs. Sandals. NO COMPARISON Sandals Wins (and Riu was nice!)
We chose this place because this was our one chance to spluge on a vacation and it seemed like the perfect place. We were right!
Everything was perfect, we booked a coral reef oceanfront and we were upgraded to a bahamian oceanfront honeymoon suite. It was a corner room on the second floor of building 1. It was amazing. Our butlers were Carlene and Anthony. We could not have asked for more from either one of them. If you need something, don't be afraid to call. They are there to help and they will not say no. If you need a drink on the beach, call them, if you are hungry, call them, if you need some bug spray, call them... You get the idea. The food, butler service, grounds, drinks, beach and enterainment have been well described in the past few reviews, so I will skip over them and just provide some tips that not many people may know about. (I have read every single review since opening day and appreciate all your help).
We were dissapointed the seafood buffet was replaced with an asian buffet so we asked our butler if we could still get crablegs and lobster. No problem, what time do you want them! We had crablegs and lobster one night and crablegs alone another night. ...you do have to eat them at Il Cielo so if you plan to eat lobster or crab legs, bring "evening casual" clothes.
We were both craving some shrimp coctail on the beach so we asked our butlers. No problem, 20 minutes later, we had shrimp coctail.
I could go on forever, but if you want something, ask for it. If you like another kind of beer, liquer, food, ect. ask for it.
Take a walk to the golf course or go to the pro shop and ask for a tour. Its free and they will take you on a tour on a golf cart. If you walk to the golf course, you will walk through the condos. Ask the front desk for a tour of the condos. They are nice!
Carry your cell phone with you, your butlers like to know where you are for a few reasons... You will find out when you go.
The butlers will not say no to you, we asked ours for a picture while sitting on the couch by the pool. Problem is, there is no way to get a picture without getting in the water (we were not thinking). She started taking her shoes off to get in the water... We quickly realized what she was doing and told her we would be OK with a picture where she didn't have to get in the water. Be fun with your butlers and let them know they can relax around you and they will be much more fun and eager to serve you.
Ask one of the watersports guys to take you out on the sail boats. He will take you out and teach you to sail. He will then hop off and let you go on your own.
Bring plenty of supplies. (sunblock, shaving cream, toothpaste, ect) The prices at the resort shop are very high.
Order breakfast in bed. We did every morning. You just fill out a card with your choices, and hang it on the door before 2am and it will be there. You get to choose the time in half hour ranges. We just wrote the exact time we wanted it and they were within 5 minutes of the exact time every morning! ...tell them you want mimosas!
Take a tour of the spa. There are many things that are complimentary that many people don't know about. There are also some secluded pools and spas you can use too.
Leave the resort for a day. We called Roberts Island Adventures and he helped us line up with 3 other interested couples to go on an excursion. We did the full day 007 tour. It was amazing. Total price we paid including taxi, lunch, tips, and exursion was $450. Island Routes wanted $750. Don't go to this island and not do this tour. It is a must! We were very sceptible about it since we are not used to paying so much for a tour.
Everyone, and I mean everyone was willing to help, friendly, and willing to make your vacation/holiday the best ever. You will not be dissapointed unless you are going to party.
** A side note. Kerry the pub manager has been mentioned in nearly every review. She was there during our trip, and she was an amazing person. We had a lot of fun with her, BUT.... She left for a 2 week vaction the same day we left. (Sept. 26th) She hinted around that she may be going to St. Lucia after her vacation to manage the pubs there. If you have any questions, feel free to send me a message. I am ready to go back!
Thanks again for all your help!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank York42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2010

We just returned from 1 week at SEB to celebrate our anniversary. This is our 5th Sandals - best facilities of al the properties we have stayed at so far. Here's a breakdown of our review:

Check In - Arrived mid afternoon after 10-15 min drive from airport. Waited just over an hour for our room, however check-in in the Bahamas is typically about 3pm so no big surprise. Welcome drink, lunch and strolled around grounds until room ready. Beautiful foyer/entrance area with an upscale beach theme combined with tradional Sandals plantation style.

Room - All butler, all ocean-facing suites. We had corner room 3rd floor with balcony in building 3. Good location, close to main buildings, pool, beach, etc although overlooked pub where most entertainment was centralized therefore could be heard at night (but was over by 11pm usually). Room was very large with luxurious bathroom, plenty of towels, super comfortable bed, his/her closets and well-stocked bar and fridge. Our room was tidied and refreshed several times a day by maid and butler. We booked the lowest category room and it was probably the best room we've stayed in across all the Sandals we've been to (bear in mind this is a new location). Note: on a couple days washcloths were scarce/MIA but this seems to be more of a Caribbean thing not a Sandals thing.

Pool - One main central pool (open 24hrs) and a quiet pool. Main pool was great - lots of chairs, umbrellas and cabanas - most days we had no problem getting a poolside cabanna but resort was at half capacity ... plan to throw your book on the premium spots early. Two large crescent-shaped hot pools (one warmer than other) surrounded the main pool. On one zero entry side of pool, 4 large couches with cushions were in the water for lounging. Other than arrival day, there were plenty of towels and terry lounge covers to cover around. Not enough floaties though. Probably the nicest pool we've enjoyed at a Sandals.

Beach/Water Sports - There were 5 covered pavillions (they go fast) and lots of beach chairs under thatched umbrella stands. A bit of walk to bar/bathroom ... butlers/wait staff will bring you drinks/snacks though. Water was amazing and beach was a wonderful long deserted stretch for walking. Although a tractor plowed the beach several times per day, we were disappointed that no one was raking up the seaweed and trash (plastic, fins, shoes, etc) that washed up (and there was lots of trash). Six of 7 days were red-flagged and all water sports cancelled due to high winds. Diving and snorkling trips leave from marina not resort (we didn't get to go).

Bars - Sandals got it right with their great big drinks! How often have you had to get a whole tray of drinks in those cheesy little plastic cups just to quench your thirst? At main swim-up pool bar, premium liquor, Heineken draft, Kalick and Sands (local brews), other brands in cans available. Lots of frozen drinks, mojitos with real mint, and drinks of the day. And did we mention they came in huge glasses! Other bars within restaurants served same beverages.

Food - No reservations requried at any of the a la carte restaurants.
Bahama Bay Buffet - beautiful beach cottage decor - 3 meals available daily. We only had breakfast and lunch. Don't expect garish, huge buffet - offerings were adequate and healthy in our opinion - if you want monster buffets, go to Vegas or on a cruise.
Drunken Duck Pub - just pub grub. Some loved it ... it was okay, no real healthy choices.
Barefoot by the Sea - lunch (burgers etc), snacks, dinner (seafood etc). All good.
Il Ceto - Italian, dinner only. Lobster available with 24hr notice - not well advertised, not on menu, not sure if extra charge.
Ballrooms - Sandal Select guest cocktails/dinner and 1 weekly all-guest dinner. Set menu. Food okay, band too loud to have conversation.
Room Service - 24 hrs, we only had breakfast once. It was standard.

Entertainment/Fitness - This location did not have an Entertainment director when we were there - in process of hiring. One lounge act was quite dated (50-60's music), nightly DJ at pub (never went), one major act was good but cut short due to rain. Lots of games and activities all day at pool (aquasize 3x week) and beach. We didn't use the fitness centre but Mighty Mike Fitness Coordinator did daily 8am walks around the golf course and beach. Awesome Greg Norman golf course (didn't use but other guests enjoyed). Half price fees due to recently completed aeration on greens.

Staff/Service - All guests assigned 2 butlers (8am-10pm) and on-call afterhours - a cell phone is provided for you to contact them. Butlers check in with you periodically throughout the day to see if you need/want anything. The butlers can't reserve beach or pool chairs, but they will bring you snacks, drinks, items from your room, make arrangements for you, pack/unpack your stuff and will leave really cool towels animals on your bed. Each day, we returned to a different treat: hibiscus floating in a hot bath, cheese trays, cookies, candles, etc from our butler Ainsworth. This was our first time with a butler and we didn't use them much, but appreciated the convenience of served drinks/snacks occassionally. Other guests had their butlers reading menus to them, walking them to restaurants and other requests that seemed over-indulgent to us. Recommended tipping is $20 per day for butlers. Overall, all staff were exceedingly helpful and polite.

Miscellaneous - Bring bug spray and Afterbite! Use it! May be just the time of year. They are similar to mosquito bites, mostly out at night.
There is nothing much to do on the island, a taxi into town (no real shopping at all) is about $100US return - we rented a car for $80 (plus gas - drive on left side, with roundabouts. We had no problem). Island is 80km long we drove to end and had lunch at roadside seafood stand, Santana's. The seafood was incredibly delicious and fresh, served up by owner Denise. Get her to show you her Johnny Depp photos from when he was there making Pirates of the Caribbean! You might get to meet some other great locals like Harold who are happy to chat or show you around. This was the highlight of the trip for us.

If you're looking for a luxurious resort away from it all, this is the place to go. If you want nightlife and shopping stay in Nassau.

We would definately go back!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rob_DebBarrieOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2010

We went to celebreat my husband's 60th birthday and chill and wow what a time we had! This was our 2nd Sandals vacation(St LUCIA at The GRANDE)....We loved this resort even more than that.

The butler's we were assigned were Keischa and Vino and they both went out of their way to make our whole holiday fab,and the birthday was fantastic..It started with Keischa bringing our pre-orded breakfast to eat on the balcony(room 1209 with a view of the beach)We had an amazing dinner overlooking the pool in the Sandals' Tower.One on one service ,a special celebratory 4 course meal with wine and champagne...Yummy...Then Vino suggested we see out room,well the whole place was decorated with balloons+ candles and a birthday cake+ bath tub full of bubbles and flowers....What a treat..

We loved the property,I'll Cielo was my fave place to eat for dinner+ breakfast,the lamb was amazing+ Jerome was lovely and the best server was Tommasina..her attention to detail was flawless.

Kerry the manager at a the pub was fun and challeneged my husband to have his toes painted purple for his first ever pedicure at the spa..He enjoyed the whole experience and also had a lovely haircut....He painted only one toe purple to Kerry's delight ! I had a wonderfual massage too...The spa is awesome and we felt like celebs..

We also had wonderful contact with a lot of the manager's ,Patrick and Florian were particularly nice and very visable....The staff is great and we really felt comfortable the whole time,the resort is cosy and not not too big....

I can't tell you how much we enjoyed it all.We are from Canada and came down on a straight through 3 hr flight with Air Canada,, + 8 minutes from the airport to the hotel...what more could you ask for?

We hope to return there as soon as we can and would highly rate this location..What a special place.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Grammie-1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2010

Background
-This was our 6th Sandals location, second time with butler service.
-We booked our trip through Dream Makers Vacation Services.

The Good
-beautiful resort. Flowers and the grounds were well kept.
-overall the food was good. Barefoot by the Sea was closed the latter part of our stay. Drunken Duck opened earlier for lunch. Had lobster twice and crab once at Il Cielo.
-staff was extremely pleasant. Shout outs to: Bartenders-Denrick, Garfield, Ghiovanni, Helen, Neco; Servers-Johanne, Danelle; Butlers-Henry, Tony; Soon Come Back-Patricia; Island Tours-Reba
-management was visible and helpful; Alberga (Food/Beverage), Florion (Asst. GM), Patrick Drake (Hotel Mgr), Phillip (Bahama Bay) and Keri (Drunken Duck)
-great Gala Dinner menu and Returning Guest menu. Lamb chops, sea bass, beef tenderloin were all excellent.
-great Red Lane Spa facility and fitness facility. Staff at Red Lane Spa were very helpful.
-room was excellent. We were upgraded to a one bedroom suite thanks to Dream Makers Vacation Services (Mike McHugh)

The Bad
-with the island being remote and not having any local fruits/vegetables they did not use real bananas at the bar to make Dirty Bananas or BBC; or limes to make margaritas (lemons instead); and lack of real Caribbean hot sauce (only had tabasco)
-resort tours were very expensive and could be had for cheaper by using off-resort tour company (Robert's Island Tours)

The Ugly
-wedding group came to the resort on the Wednesday and turned the resort from a quiet and relaxing vacation to Club Med. Many guests and even hotel staff were appalled by the drunken behaviour. One of the wedding guests decided to come into the Bahama Bay restaurant for lunch without a shirt on and mosey up to the buffet.

All in all a great week and would recommend Sandals Emerald Bay.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank googaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Exuma
21 km away
Lumina Point Resort & Spa
Lumina Point Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Stocking Island
67 reviews
19.9 km away
St Francis Resort
St Francis Resort
#2 of 2 in Stocking Island
181 reviews
19.8 km away
Club Peace & Plenty
Club Peace & Plenty
#2 of 3 in George Town
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Grand Isle Resort & Spa
Grand Isle Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Great Exuma
994 reviews
17.6 km away
Hideaways at Palm Bay
Hideaways at Palm Bay
#1 of 3 in George Town
567 reviews
17.8 km away
Augusta Bay Bahamas
Augusta Bay Bahamas
#1 of 5 in George Town
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort

Address: Queen's Highway, Emerald Bay, EX29142, Great Exuma (Formerly Four Seasons Resort Great Exuma at Emerald Bay)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Great Exuma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Great Exuma
Price Range: $721 - $2,232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•NEW!! Jogging Trail on property - 2.6 miles long •Greg Norman designed 7,001 yard golf course with 6 signature oceanside holes•Three fresh water pools including the Caribbean’s largest zero entry pool with a central fire pit•24 hour room service to all rooms and suites•Seven exciting dining options to choose from•Red Lane Spa with sixteen extensive treatment rooms•Personalized off resort excursions arranged by our Island Routes Tour specialists•Sits on 1 mile of the Exuma’s best powdery white sand beaches•6 Har-Tru tennis courts including a sunken stadium court•Voted Sandals Resorts “World’s Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row•Voted Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand”, 18 years in a row•Voted Sandals Emerald Bay “Caribbean’s Leading Luxury All-Inclusive”•Awarded #9 spot in the 2012 Readers' Choice Awards "Top 12 Resorts in The Atlantic" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Emerald Bay Hotel Great Exuma
Four Seasons Great Exuma
Great Exuma Four Seasons
Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis And Spa Resort Great Exuma, Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing