We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,071)
Filter reviews
1,071 results
Traveller rating
823
175
48
13
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
823
175
48
13
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews palapa grill bedroom villa golf cart liquor store washer and dryer high end appliances rented a car top of the line emerald bay three bedroom full kitchen ocean view paddle boards pool staff on site restaurant infinity pool exuma market
Filter
Updating list...
387 - 392 of 1,071 reviews
Reviewed March 27, 2016 via mobile

Beautiful views, beautiful war, great rooms, clean will campgrounds. The pool and the beach were great fun . This was especially so, because of the staff entertain the kids. The restaurant and the boar staff took care of you and did everything they could to meet special diet needs. I recommend that you make reservations for early in the evening. The food is good and the staff is very friendly, but the service is island time. If you're in a hurry to go.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
2  Thank Nickcoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SGC-Exuma-LIFE, General Manager at Grand Isle Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2016

Dar Nickcoll,

Thank you for the review! We will share with the associates who will appreciate the your compliments and I know will help encourage them to get off the island land time when at work (:>>.

Hope to see you again soon,

Sandra Grisham-Clothier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 26, 2016

Stayed one week at the Villas March 2016. Wonderful condo with good appliances. Staff at the resort are very nice and always helpful with a smile.. Best way to enjoy is to cook meals in the condo as there is only one restaurant at the resort which is expensive with OK food. If you cook in your condo need to plan as the only real grocery store is in Georgetown.. Need to have a rental car (old with lots of miles) as Georgetown is 30 minutes away. Beaches and the water are the best you will every see. Golf course at Sandals is spectacular and it is easy to get a tee time .The course goes around the villas with many ocean holes with great views. Drove to Georgetown and rented a 15 foot boat from Minns for one day.. Boats are easy to use and it is wonderful to go on your own to islands across the bay...Make sure you go on a sunny day with no wind...Lots of fun. The water can be very shallow and sandbars are everywhere. .Airport is small with the lounge across the street outside . Very quiet island difficult to get around with no car.. Lots of great beaches and water..Few places to eat outside your condo....Would recommend Grand Isle Resort as a true island experience with great beaches and water, but realize this is a sleepy quiet island .... Did drive to Santanas for the grilled lobster ( very good !!). Takes about a hour to drive from the villas on the left side, but very easy with few cars..

Stayed: March 2016
6  Thank Bruceermd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SGC-Exuma-LIFE, General Manager at Grand Isle Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2016

Dear Bruceermd,

Wonderful informative review thank you! It sounds like you found the really fun things to do on our sleepy island! We will share your review with all the associates, especially our new chef whom I know would like to WOW you on your next trip.

Sincerely,

Sandra Grisham-Clothier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 25, 2016

An amazing resort on a very quiet beach on a beautiful island. The villas were very clean and had everything you needed. The staff was excellent and some of the nicest people I have ever met. Enjoyed some of the local cuisine close to the resort. Be prepared for expensive food but worth the price.

Room Tip: Ocean view is the only way to go.
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank gmeljensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SGC-Exuma-LIFE, General Manager at Grand Isle Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2016

Dear Gmeljensen,

So pleased you enjoyed your stay at Grand Isle Resort! We await your return (:>.

Cheers,

Sandra Grisham-Clothier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 25, 2016

The Grand Isle would be most accurately described as "high-end self-catering rental villas with access to a pool, beach and restaurant," not as a "resort." If you go with that in mind-- and are willing to cook your own meals or find sustenance elsewhere on the island-- it's a relaxing and lovely place to spend a week.

The good:

The villas are lovely, with good quality construction and amenities. The kitchens are fully functional: you get a proper stove and fridge, not miniature ones, and enough utensils to get by just fine if you are cooking for a family. Beds on the hard side, as others have said, but for me this is a plus: I hate soft and squishy hotel beds. Jacuzzi tub, good shower, spacious bathroom, washer/dryer, nice view over the marina. Comfortable and pleasant living room. Wifi not great but fine for email and web.

The pool is very nice-- great view, pleasant temperature. View from the restaurant is over the pool and ocean. The beach is also lovely and calm, with glittering turquoise water; another ocean beach is a short walk away. The whole resort is peaceful, quiet and pretty; staff are friendly and everything is very well maintained.

The bad:

My biggest criticism: The food is mediocre and wildly overpriced, especially at dinner. ($30 spaghetti bolognese? This should have been the best spaghetti bolognese this side of Bologna. It was more like spaghetti-os.). Also, as others have said, the service is painfully slow: after waiting 15 minutes, standing in the hot sun, for a table to be cleared, for instance, you can end up waiting an hour or more for your food to come-- and this is in an uncrowded restaurant. The Grand Isle badly needs to hire a decent chef and some additional cooks and servers.

We did what the high prices, poor service and mediocre food drives many Grand Isle guests to do: went food shopping in George Town and ate most of our meals in our villa or outside the resort, I don't mind paying extra for excellent food and good service, but when a dinner for four runs you $250-300 (without any alcohol), it needs to be good. If it's not, the supermarket beckons. If I ran this resort I would be concerned about losing profits because the restaurant drives people away.

Aside from that, my only criticism is a very mild one: everything at the Grand Isle is pretty and pleasant, but if you come here expecting a full-service resort, you will be disappointed. There's just one pool and it's not huge; there are never enough beach chairs at the pool or the beach; the beach toy hut is usually out of pool floats and boogie boards; if you want a snack or cold drink at the beach you will need to bring it yourself (there is no beach service). If you want an after-dinner swim, you will need to return to your room, get a bath towel, and bring it with you to the pool, since the little poolside towel stand closes at six. There's nowhere to sit if you don't want to be in your villa or outside: there is no indoor eating area and no real lobby area. There were exactly as many towels as people in the room, no bathrobes, and no one ever replenished the little shampoos and lotions.

For us, none of these things mattered very much: we don't mind relatively minimalist service. Just be warned that if you are expecting the kind of five star resort where staff set up your beach chair for your and someone comes by every ten minutes to offer you a drink or a menu, this is not that kind of resort. Aside from its very high-end villas it is pretty basic.

Room Tip: Ocean view may mean marina view.
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank RBMtheyear2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SGC-Exuma-LIFE, General Manager at Grand Isle Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2016

Dear RBMtheyear2015,

Thank you for taking the time to post and review Grand Isle Resort and highlighting our lovely villas and amenities. It is true we are a small resort with one pool, one restaurant and mile long beach for beach combing which is just want most of our guest look forward to. Service during your stay should have been picture perfect and you should not have waited long for food in Palapa Grill for this I truly apologize.

I did want to thank you for highlighting the pool and beach chairs as this will be the first year we have had a few days with all the chairs full. Normally guest seem to be out fishing, diving, snorkeling and visiting the pigs but this year during Easter break we seem to have attracted many of the guest to enjoy pool side and beach services. Saying this I guarantee you when you come back we will have additional lounge chairs in place for your stay.

Have a great year and please come back and visit us in the near future,

Sandra Grisham-Clothier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 23, 2016 via mobile

Great stories about how this resort's owners refused to let the recession take it down. The rest of us should be grateful! Lovely location on the bay. Small resort means you don't feel rushed or crowded but if you came to party, well, there are lots of places for you in the Caribbean other than here. Beach is pristine, pool is pretty, staff is so gracious even the 14 year old commented on how nice everyone is.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
4  Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SGC-Exuma-LIFE, General Manager at Grand Isle Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2016

Dear Denise B,

We are pleased you enjoyed Grand Isle and all our associates!

Hurry back and thank you for the review,

Sandra Grisham-Clothier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews