We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A little corner of Wales”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Chapel House

Chapel House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Chapel House
View from Chapel House Chapel Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
18 reviews
Chapel House
View from Chapel House
Chapel Living Room
Master Bedroom
Fireplace
Upstairs Bathroom
Chapel Porch
Kitchen
Landing
Second Bedroom
Newgale Beach
Chapel sign
View from Master Bedroom
Chapel House
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Converted chapel -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Penycwm, Pembrokeshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
150jenm19...
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“A little corner of Wales”
Reviewed June 2, 2017 for a stay in October 2016

A great stay at Chapel House. Spacious, great kitchen and fab master bedroom. Love the artwork!
Almost private beach a short walk down the hill opposite and the brilliant Newgale beach just down the road - you can walk between the 2 at low tide. Perfectly located to explore Pembrokeshire. We will be back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Volksrus
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“not the best”
Reviewed May 7, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Booked for a family get away for a few days. the house is located on the main road. We stayed in the front bedroom, the noise from the road is unbelievable, did not get a good nights rest. The blinds in the room do not work properly so the light shines through in the early hours of the morning.the house was not clean, we clean a bit when we arrived and vacuumed the lounge etc. the smell from the vacuum cleaner clearly lets you know that the house has dogs in it.the place is very tied and in need of updating. the TV does not receive any channels, but there are DVD's to watch.
The house has WiFi, Kitchen well equipped, but not clean, the house is spacious. Plenty of games to play.
The house was located less than 10 minutes to Solva and about 15 minutes to St Davids. a bus stop across the road.
As a family we had a great time, but would not book this property again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 May 2017
I am saddened by this review as had the guests contacted myself or my cleaner all points could have been resolved. We discovered on there departure that the aerial was not working for the TV which has now been repaired, the blinds which sadly appear to have been damaged by the guests are now replaced. We do allow pets at the property and the vacuum bag has been replaced - my cleaners use their own equipment.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate A
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Spacious and characterful place really near beautiful coast”
Reviewed February 18, 2017 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Spacious rooms, gas fire stove in the living room most cosy. Lots of beams and a good sized finding and breakfast area in the kitchen. The location is fabulous very near a beach and Newgale a fifteen minute walk. Great views and relaxing place
Only criticism is that it needs more thorough cleaning and new cutlery as some rusting on this which is disappointing. In terms of cleaning obviously had been some indeed just not thorough enough. Cobwebs in corners and toilets not spotless. Some flys a problem in main room on first day may have been time of year but when renting a holiday place I expect it to be very clean. Otherwise very well ejquipped and truly wonderful place to stay indeed. We want to rebook only hesitation is cleaning. Fabulous information on local destinations and places to eat. Superb place to stay

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stopusing...
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great -”
Reviewed October 12, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

I am glad I ignored the one review I'd read (elsewhere) on this property before booking as it was great. Okay, the grill pans in the ovens weren't clean, but this is down to the cleaning company, not the owner & I shall be letting her know about that (we just got on and did it ourselves.) The property had everything you could need (except towels) and was very comfortable and spacious. The shower was great and it was lovely to have two bathrooms. The kitchen diner was a good size and well equipped (including TWO ovens and a freezer and washing machine) The extras (including a drinks cabinet, toys for children & DVDs) were all very thoughtful and I had nothing but lovely dealings with the owner beforehand. If we were to come back to the area again, I would definitely want to stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Large space indoors for young children
Liked least: Dirty grills on cooker (we cleaned ourselves so owner wasn't aware)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KSVance_2...
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Within minutes of arrival we knew we had made a mistake!”
Reviewed July 15, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
5
people found this review helpful

We wrestled with a rusty iron gate to get in up some steps to an uneven concrete area which forms part of the patio area (almost entirely taken up with a picnic table and benches).
To the side of this area is the 'garden' a tiny patch of grass surrounded by overgrown fuchsia bushes with the remaining three sides of the property completely closed in by high walls and hedging.
Having gained access we were taken aback by how dingy the living area is and it soon became apparent that it was also grubby with stained rugs, tired furniture, soft furnishings thick with dust and spider webs everywhere.
There is almost no natural light into the kitchen/dining room as a result of the walls/planting outside close to the windows and, again, we had issues with cleanliness.
All the bedrooms look tired and in need of a deep clean but it was particularly disgusting to find a large brown stain on the mattress cover in the main bedroom which must surely have been seen by the person changing the bed linen.
The description of 'stunning views' is tenuous to say the least. The coast is some distance away and can only properly be seen from the high window in the main bedroom but even that is restricted because part of the glazed unit has failed and the window is 'misted'
The description of a 'secluded location' is also arguable as the property is just feet away from the busy A487 which,from our point of view, rendered the outside seating area unusable.
My wife and daughter in law spent some time to carry out a clean on arrival which should not have been required but even after that the dust issue was so great that my son had a violent histamine attack which would not abate and resulted in him, daughter in law and grandson returning home after 2 nights.
All in all not the holiday we had planned for.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Nothing. For us Chapel House has no redeeming features
Liked least: Cleanliness
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia...
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“So very disappointing”
Reviewed August 4, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
3
people found this review helpful

Not in good shape from outset. Very dirty, had to clean cooker, bathrooms, bedrooms and living areas. Change soiled mattress and put new bedding on. Stove filthy and again had to be cleaned before use. Several items in kitchen soiled etc.
Tried to correspond with owner upon early return to be met with spurious counter claims.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Not much
Liked least: Staying there
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morrisville
Reviewed June 10, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Access to the Pembrokeshire coastline
Liked least: Staying at Chapel House
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
18 Jun 2013
I was very surprised to read the review - the shower is new in the downstairs bathroom and has always provided a hot shower - I wonder if the guests did not switch on the power shower - there is a cord that controls that and as it is a power shower it always provides plenty of hot water. The fireplace has a gas stove with clear instructions to work and again has not caused any problems and the oven like all ovens has 2 heat control buttons for the two ovens and again hasn't caused any problems if the guests had called me or my cleaning team I could have talked them through the instructions and was unaware of any issues until reading this as they never contacted me. I have a 24 hour service if there is a problem and will always do my best to resolve any issue that the guests may have.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing