We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful home from home plus”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Herne Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Downstairs
Second bedroom
Bathroom
BBQ cabin interior
Places nearby - Solva harbour
Places nearby - St Davids Cathedral
Places nearby - Newgale beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Solva, St Davids Peninsula, Pembrokeshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Reviewed September 19, 2018 for a stay in September 2018

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
19 Sep 2018
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are really pleased you enjoyed everything about your stay. We would love to welcome you back again in the future.
Michelle x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 30, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
13 May 2017
What a lovely review thank you. Really pleased you had a fab time with us and made use of all the facilities. We look forward to seeing you again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
rajbunger
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Magical week in sunny Wales at Hendre House Cottages”
Reviewed June 12, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This was our first visit to Pembrokeshire and we were ready for a break! The booking was handled efficiently and we were given detailed instructions on how to find Hendre House Cottages. When we arrived we were met by Michelle who welcomed us and helped us settle in. The owners (Michelle and Andy), live close by and are very friendly and helpful, but also kept their distance so we could enjoy our holiday.

We stayed in Herne Cottage, which is one of three Cottages at the location. It was perfect for our needs as we have a four year old daughter. The accommodation was fantastic and beautifully presented with all the required amenities. There were also pleasant personal touches everywhere where the owners had clearly spent time and effort on making this the perfect holiday accommodation. Everything was new and we were not left wanting throughout our stay.

The Cottages also have access to the swimming pool and hot tub which was fantastic as our daughter is still learning to swim. There were also swings and a climbing frame for our daughter to try and plenty of books and DVDs for her to use. We didn't try the BBQ shed during our stay but would have liked to.

Since the weather was wonderful all week, we spent a lot of time exploring the area. The beaches at Newgale and Whitesands are a must. Whitestands is just beautiful and well worth the journey. Solva and Porth gain are worth a visit too as was the Hilton Court Gardens. St Davids was also good to visit and the Cathedral is stunning.

The owners came up with a number of recommendations for visiting and places to eat. On their recommendation we tried out the Cambrian in Solva. The food is fantastic and worth trying, as were the fish and chips from the Shed at Porth gain.

Even though it was the holiday season there wasn't that sense of crowded areas which you can often get when visiting holiday locations. It was nice not to have to fight for parking spaces anywhere. Everywhere we went there was a sense of calm and it really helped us relax during a much needed holiday.

In summary, we had a magical week in Wales thanks to the wonderful holiday accommodation at Hendre House Cottages. Everything about the week was perfect and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Hendre House Cottages or Herne Cottage to anyone considering a visit.

Raj and Lucy

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was perfect
Liked least: Cannot think of a thing!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Nov 2016
Sorry for such a late reply just seen I hadn't responded. What a lovely review. Thank you for taking the time to write it. We are So Pleased you enjoyed your holiday with us. We look forward to seeing you in the new year.
Michelle x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linzi1912...
Tredegar, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed January 7, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

The Cottage was in a good location, the grounds were kept really nice, the pool was ideal a nice size for me to do a bit of exercise. The Cottage was lovely, everything you needed was in there, it was well equipped and very clean. The owners Michelle and Andy were lovely and friendly and kept checking if everything was okay. I would definitely stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jan 2016
So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your kind words. Hope to see you back again.
Michelle
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shane B
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Absolutely beautiful place”
Reviewed September 27, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

The Herne Cottage was clean and beautiful. Was a great central location for our week in Pembrokeshire.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wood burner
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jan 2016
Glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
F S
Nantwich
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely accommodation in a nice part of west wales”
Reviewed July 24, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Her eyes cottage is a lovely place to spend your holiday. It is extremely well equipped and decorated to a high standard. The owners live nearby and are friendly and helpful but not intrusive. The swimming pool is great and the barbaque hut a real winner.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cottage, swimming pool and barbaque hut.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jul 2015
Thank you for your review we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed the pool and BBQ cabin!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emski017
Near London
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage, Michelle and Andy have thought of everything! Thank you for a wonderful week, highly recommended.”
Reviewed June 18, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Thanks Michelle and Andy, we have loved our stay at Herne Cottage. The cottage is lovely, VERY well equipped and you really have thought of everything. The bed was so comfortable and Tess loved it too having somewhere to run around outside without being in anyone's way.

Michelle and Andy are always there if you need anything but also respect the need for space and privacy. This really has been a lovely stay 3 miles from Solva and we would recommend it to anyone who loves a quiet place in nature in a great location.

The only downside for us has been having to get in the car to go out but this really has been minor given how lovely the cottage is and how welcome we were made to feel. AND Michelle's Welsh cakes on arrival are lovely. :-)

Recommended places to visit: Solva Woollen Mill (wonderful), Melin Tregwnt Woollen Mill and the lovely walk to Abermawr beach, Cwtch restaurant in St David's for a lovely meal, The Shed in Porthgain for fabulous fish and chips and of course, the beautiful St David's cathedral and surrounding beaches.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Being in nature, comfortable bed and very well equipped cottage.
Liked least: Having to drive but then we knew this at least.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jun 2015
So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us thank you for your lovely review
Michelle
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing