We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Modern cottage with tradition included”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cozy dine in kitchen with open fire and modern appliances Open fire in the kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
23 reviews
Cozy dine in kitchen with open fire and modern appliances
Open fire in the kitchen
Upstairs bedroom
Triple bedroom
Double bedroom
Cosy lounge with cable TV games, DVD's or just relax
Christmas at Barneys
The stunning Mourne Mountains in Winter
Nearby Tollymore Forest Park
Tollymore Park
View to the private garden
Private garden great sunny spot
View from first floor
Close to the beach
Newcastle
Game of Thrones Country
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Dundrum, County Down, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Sandra L
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Modern cottage with tradition included”
Reviewed August 28, 2018 for a stay in August 2018

We really enjoyed our time at this beautiful cottage. Very clean and well kept. Modern large kitchen. Cosy living room. Very comfortable beds, very fresh and clean. Plenty of towels for all but a bath mat would be fab for the shower room as doors don't quite close. Only 1 TV in the cottage isn't quite enough. We had gran parents, parents and gran kids so after busy days out it would have been nice for gran parents to watch news etc and kids their own programmes... maybe extra 1 in main bedroom or kitchen. Would have been nice for lawn to have been mowed too... overall a beautiful cottage, good value for money.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pat F
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed August 16, 2018 for a stay in August 2018
2
people found this review helpful

Having stayed in this cottage in the past the only good thing about it now is that was it was clean.
TV didn’t work, no answer to the numbers given except the ex housekeeper who tried to help us. The owners didn’t answer their phones or reply to text.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2018
Dear Pat - thank you for your review we always welcome feedback. I am concerned about its accuracy however. The housekeeping number is in the arrival instructions the same one that you gain access through . We have checked with our housekeeper and no calls were received. If you would like to provide some more information on the TV we will look at a partial refund but again it did seem that the plug wasn't turned on .
It's always a shame if someone isn't 100% satisfied and we understand holiday time is precious. Please feel free to contact . Chris and Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanetDBel...
Belfast
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Luxurious but cozy cottage between the sea and the mountains”
Reviewed February 26, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Barney's Cottage is nearer the village of Maghera than Dundrum, in a beautiful setting near the foot of the Mountains of Mourne. The cottage has a few others around it, including the 'big house' but apart from that you would not have known anyone else was there. The accommodation was extremely good - very warm, comfortable and good quality. It was more like a home from home. I loved the big kitchen, the facility to light a fire, the relaxing lounge, and 7 (!) beds, but spread apart, if you need some quiet time to yourself. There was a double with bathroom on the ground floor, which would be handy for anyone with an older or disabled member of the family. Only complaints, the overhead light and lamp in the kitchen had no bulbs in them, which made the room quite dull, and the inside door shelf on the fridge was broken, making it a bit awkward for storing bottles. There is a lovely view of the Mournes from the front, with a spacious garden to enjoy in better weather. Lots to do in Dundrum and Newcastle, even on a dismal day. Recommend the chippie in Dundrum and the wonderful Mourne Seafood Bar. Hope to be back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Mar 2018
Janet thanks for the fab feedback and for the couple of bulbs always useful to know we will get those seen to. Look forward to welcoming you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vonne155
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love this cottage”
Reviewed January 9, 2018 for a stay in December 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Another lovely time here at Barneys Cottage.Lovely to be so near the beach.Cottage clean and everything you need to cook or plenty of nearby eating places.Thankyou Julie Regards Yvonne

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Feb 2018
Thank you for feedback we are really happy you had a great holiday
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin O
1 review
“Lovely”
Reviewed November 3, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Great time , the perfect cottage ; particularly easy for my wife who has a disability with her knees . All on one level and the Kids upstairs , magic.Castlewellan Forest Park is a joy . We shall return!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Nov 2017
We are so glad you had a great time and look forward to welcoming you back Julie and Chris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 13, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Trail5575...
2 reviews
“Lovely cottage set in beautiful countryside”
Reviewed August 4, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Great location for a family holiday. Barneys cottage is the perfect base to see Northern Ireland. The cottage is spacious, well equipped and very comfortable to accommodate our group of 5 adults and 3 children. It's a short distance from Tollymore forest park and Murlough Beach, which our small children really enjoyed.
We would most definitely stay again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing