We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A stunning house”
other travellers have booked this property
Luxury, comfort and style in Eilean Dhu.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Luxury, comfort and style in Eilean Dhu.
Luxury open plan living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Luxury, comfort and style in Eilean Dhu.
Luxury open plan living room
Cosy wood burning stove
Spectacular viewsd from balcony.
Open plan dining for 10 guests
Entrance hall
Luxury king bedroom with ensuite
Luxury king bedroom with ensuite
King bedroom
Twin bedroom
Lovely enclosed gardens with views
Outside enclosed gardens
The famopus Colintraive pub within easy walking distance
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Colintraive, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
isablue66
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A stunning house”
Reviewed November 2, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I have just returned from a weekend here to celebrate my sister's 40th birthday and it was perfect from start to finish. The house was just beautiful, so clean and tastefully decorated. It just had a lovely 'feel' to it. The bedrooms were spacious with gorgeous crisp bed linen and so comfortable. It was an ideal place for the whole family to get together to celebrate this special occassion. The living room area was so roomy, more than enough space for us all to enjoy a boogie! We all enjoyed every second we spent there, we were sad to leave. We also ate at the hotel right next door and the food was delicious. All and all, we found this is a brilliant place to go for our special family get together, a special memory in a special house.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Nov 2014
Thank you very much for your kind remarks. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at Eilean Dhu Country House and the wonderful location. We look forward to you visiting again soon.
Kind regards
Chrissie ... Argyll Self Catering Holidays.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jl21675
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed September 14, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Fantastic stay here for 60th birthday surprise. Beautiful house with breathtaking views. Everything we needed was available - dinner in Hotel one night was excellent. Patricia is a lovely friendly host and nothing was too much trouble - we'll be back next year definitely.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Sep 2014
Thank you very much for your kind remarks. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed Eilean Dhu and the beautiful surrounds. We look forward to you visiting again soon.
Kind regards
Chrissie ... Argyll Self Catering Holidays.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catrionac...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful stay - couldn't fault it - exceptional place, food and welcome”
Reviewed August 30, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed with my parents, adult children and cousin from New Zealand. A party of 8 in all. For my parents it was a very special trip since they were born and grew up in the village. From the first phone call Patricia the owner couldn't have been more friendly or helpful. The house is stunning, warm, comfortable, spacious, immaculately clean and appointed with absolutely everything needed for a great break. We ate dinners in the hotel and can thoroughly recommend it for quality of fresh Scottish seafood and produce, fantastic service, welcome and surroundings. Patricia went to great lengths to make our stay special, rounding up old friends to meet my parents and even recommending and excellent eateries for our journey home to Ayrshire. We will definitely be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: great location, lovely property, friendly welcome
Liked least: can't fault anything
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Sep 2014
Thank you very much for your kind remarks. We look forward to you visiting again soon. Please spread the word.
Management at Argyll Self Catering Holidays.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dilys F
1 review
“A Place To Make Wonderful Memories”
Reviewed August 11, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

This was a wonderful place to stay and ideal for exploring so many places from. We were 8 adults, a toddler and a dog and there was plenty of room for all of us. The house is fitted out to a high standard, good kitchen appliances, very comfy beds and excellent bathrooms. The enclosed garden was great with the toddler and dog and we enjoyed using the BBQ. These are just a few of the places we went to -
We walked to the Caol Ruadh Sculpture Park where they made us so welcome. It has many fine sculptures spread throughout the extensive grounds. An added bonus there was being able to sit on the shore rocks and watch the many seals basking in the sun.
We took the ferry to Bute and explored its coastline ending at Ettrick Bay which has a sandy beach, café and a childrens play park.
We drove to Tighnabruaich and on the way enjoyed the amazing views. Once there much fun was had fishing off the pier and crabbing. We went onto Kilbride Bay which was quite a walk from the lane where you can park your car but it was well worth the walk. At low tide the sands are extensive with warm sandy pools dotted here and there which our grandson really enjoyed - and so did I !
Eliean Dhu's owner also has the Colintraive Hotel which is just about 100 yards from the house. The food is excellent and as we had a toddler we didn't really want to stay out in the evening so Patricia very kindly agreed that if we helped to carry the food we could order from the hotel and eat in the house. We did this once and it worked really well and was enjoyed by everyone. The road that goes in front of the house is single track and goes on for about 6 miles. Its a lovely walk no matter what the weather. Do make sure you explore the community gardens and go onto the viewing platform to see the waterfalls. Can't wait to go back :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house was very comfortable and cosy
Liked least: Having to go home !
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2014
Thank you very much for your kind remarks. We look forward to you visiting again soon. Spread the word. Iain ... Argyll Self Catering Holidays.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMT655
Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful house in a stunning location”
Reviewed June 24, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Fabulous house for a stay with a group of friends or family. The owner has decorated the house very tastefully and to the highest standard. The views from the first floor deck across to Bute are fantastic, with plenty of yachting activity, as well as the local ferry chugging back and forth throughout the day, providing an ever-changing tranquil view to gaze at. The convenience of the excellent Colintraive Hotel next door for delicious food is an added bonus.

Nearby attractions include a Sculpture Park and a quick jaunt across on the ferry takes you to Mount Stuart House & Gardens which are well worth a visit, with a very pleasant cafe.

Very friendly owner, who couldn't have been more welcoming.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jun 2014
Thank you very much for your kind remarks. We look forward to you visiting again soon. Spread the word. Iain ... Argyll Self Catering Holidays.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmen K
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent place”
Reviewed June 19, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a very nice and relaxed time while we stayed there for nearly a week at Easter.
Pleasantly surprised by the high standards, the house is lovely, modern and well decorated. There was no Wi fi in the house and we didn't have phone reception either only on Vodafone but we didn't mind that in the end.
Patricia is a very good host, she looked after us very well making sure we had everything we needed, even more the extra little touches made our stay extra special.

We definitely recommend this place and hope to go back there again soon. Thank you Patricia.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jun 2014
Thank you very much for your review of Eilean Dhu Country House and look forward to visiting again very soon. Kind regards Iain.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scots_tra...
scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very comfortable”
Reviewed January 10, 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Newly built house beside local hotel/pub which is ideal if you are too lazy to cook. All fittings of high quality and many bedrooms are ensuite. Ideal for a relaxing holiday away.

Make sure the owner shows you how to boost the hot water to ensure that it doesn't run out! Colintraive is a lovely village with a lovely outlook over the Kyles of Bute.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing