We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect weekend”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
49 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
7 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Glendaruel, Cowal Peninsula, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
isobel p
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Has potential, unfortunate experience”
Reviewed March 20, 2013 for a stay in February 2013
1
person found this review helpful

The estate is lovely with its buildings and surround forestry. The beds ( I had a small double) was very comfortable with dressing gowns provided too. These were great for popping to the sauna, hot tub or even the jacuzzi bath (all recommended). All buildings ( I think about 40 + people on site) were booked out for the weekend - and there was always a supply of hot water. Unfortunately the out buildings did not have the underfloor heating working. (I spoke with next door to see if it was just us) Upon arrival we were told that it took 24 hours to warm up......and that it had been switched on that morning. First evening was pretty cold. I stayed in the end room of the house where the cold had made its mark on the external walls. The hot tub and sauna were lovely to use. Some of the shared facilities were not quite as luxurious. Inside you can see that an effort has been made with nice big sofa's, lamps, big TV with Sky and childrens play room. A small but easy improvement would be to have more portable heaters available and draft excluder's on the external doors. Oh and there is limited mobile signal in the property. WIfi access would be useful.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Luxury facilities available to use i.e hottub, sauna for private use & comfy bed.
Liked least: Cold & bits of building work which appeared to be unfinished.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Mar 2013
I am glad they appreciated our facilities, including the new hot tub and dressing gowns, but obviously disappointed that we only merit three stars. The underfloor heating did have a wee problem that weekend, and we supplied portable heaters. We had more available. We'll get some additional draught excluders. We'll keep trying to justify more enthusiastic reviews...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samhall1
1 review
“Perfect weekend”
Reviewed March 12, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

My friends an I stayed in the old barn for a weekend in February and had a great time. The living area was spacious and comfy. The kitchen was well equipped with everything we needed and there was plenty room for everyone to come and go. Out the back door there is a hottub which was heated the whole length of our stay. The weather was sunny which meant we were able to enjoy walking and cycling in the beautiful area. As it was February in was cold so coming back to underfloor heating was lovely. The staff were very helpful and nothing was too much bother. Overall it was a great place to come together with friends and I wouldn't hesitate to go back.

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2013
Thanks so much. Even at a time when we had some difficulties with staff we were still delivering a 5 out of 5 experience to some guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pegada
Tavira
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“get away from it all.....”
Reviewed March 6, 2013 for a stay in February 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This was our 3rd visit to Ormidale - been to Mill House & the main house - so now stayed in each of the larger properties. We love the area - the children can run about and still use the pool in winter! Despite the cold! The rooms were warm & comfortable and plenty of space in sitting room for lounging adults....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: kitchen equipment
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
No1blacks...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cold.dirty and uncomfortable!!!”
Reviewed February 12, 2013 for a stay in February 2013
5
people found this review helpful

After driving 175 miles of winding roads to get to Ormidale I was so looking forward to relaxing with friends for the weekend...big disappointment! The first thing you notice is there are no outside lights so unpacking in the dark is not the best but also how cold the house was too, it just never heated up the whole weekend, the only heating were two plug-in heaters that had to be moved from room to room to keep the kids warm, bedrooms freezing too! The house was not kept to a high standard of cleanliness either with grubby carpets and floors throughout! Kitchen cupboards dusty and dirty, dishwasher broken, coffee machine filthy, no protectors used on bed linen (pillows and dovets stained), extractor fans clogged with dust, rips in furniture, kings size beds=two singles pushed together, downstairs shower a trickle, swimming pool cold...the list goes on and on! I was actually glad to get back home to spend some time in my own house relaxing before going back to work. I found Ormidale a huge disappointment with all its potential wasted! Avoid if you are looking for high end luxury, probably good for lad and ladet hols as I suspect it is more commonly used!

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Mar 2013
We had real problems with this party - it is fair to say that they were not easy to deal with at any stage of the process. There were problems with the heating system (which gave them a legitimate grievance) and which have since been resolved. We gave them a very substantial discount and refund to reflect their dissatisfaction. This is a house that most of our guests absolutely love, and we get loads of repeat business. At any time of the year the house is toasty warm with underfloor heating on both floors. This review really doesn't reflect the quality of the house or the care and attention with which it is treated by the owners and staff. I am very sorry that they had a bad time, but can assure the TA community that their experience is a long way from typical. Two more recent visiting groups have offered to post positive reviews but neither of these have appeared, for some reason.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing