We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A perfect base to explore the northern highlands.”
Lodge with large balcony to view the mountains of Sutherland
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lodge with large balcony to view the mountains of Sutherland
September sunset from the Lodges Jump for joy
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
Lodge with large balcony to view the mountains of Sutherland
September sunset from the Lodges
Jump for joy
Sango Bay
Local wildlife
Sitting room
Lodge site
Glenmorangie distillery
Bedroom
Duncansby Head cliffs
Can you count the stars?
Kitchen
View from the site
Salmon Leaping Shin Falls
Dornoch beach and sky by Keith Kerr
From the rope bridge
Pony Trekking Brora Beach
The Big Burn, a favourite walk
Royal Dornoch golf course
Winter stag
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Rogart, Caithness and Sutherland, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Brian H
Pershore, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A perfect base to explore the northern highlands.”
Reviewed July 18, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

With the lodge having fantastic views, perched on the hillside, we found it to be the perfect base to explore the northern highlands. It's central location allowed us to take in all the stunning scenery with most of the roads meeting at Lairg, which is just down the road.
The lodge itself is modern and very comfortable and has all you need, and has that incredible view...
Thank you Adrian and Trude, we had a lovely holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Aug 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to review our lodges and it is great to know you enjoyed your stay. The lodge's location makes it an ideal base to explore the Northern Highlands and we do hope you will return one day so that we can suggest other little gems for you to visit.
Kind regards Adrian & Trude
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darren B
Dewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Plenty of R and R”
Reviewed May 28, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

How to explain the excellent week we had, dramatic views, sunny weather, fabulous walks, welcome greeting from both Adrian and is Wife Trude. We had to think long and hard to really try and give a flavour of our time at the Highland Glen Lodges.
We have travelled to Scotland for the past 6 years as a family staying in lodges in various parts, from lowlands to highlands and one thing we all agreed on, was that this was the very best by far.
The pub / restaurant in Pittentrail was excellent with Hector dishing up fabulous local cuisine.
The Lodges perched on the edge of a valley were amazing, extremely comfortable with a very high standard of décor with all the comforts of home. Hugh patio doors onto the patio framed the views down the valley to the local town of Pittentrail about a 10 minuet drive. The wildlife was amazing with rabbits, and wild mountain goats, to entertain our beast (Frasier the westie).
Every day was an adventure and we drove to all the well known spots John O Grouts and many more. The Lodge is fully stocked with an array of books on local tourist hot spots so your never stuck where to go and Adrian is a great source of knowledge on the rare occasion you did get stuck. The species of bird which came to snack on the bird feeder was a source of great entertainment for all of us and the bird books also stocked made it easy for us to identify. With out a doubt this is a stunning location, with fantastic lodges and excellent hosts. Thank you Adrian and Trude for a great time. Darren, Karen, Olivia (11) and Fraser the westie.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything, exceeded our expectations
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to review our property and delighted to read what a great time you had. The North Highlands are a superb place to visit. The walks, beaches and wildlife are amazing and it is always a pleasure to suggest the best places for visitors to explore. We can not guarantee the weather but always try to make our guests time at the lodges as memorable as possible. Once again we thank you for your comments and hope that you may stay with us again on another visit to the area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marion U
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a view!!”
Reviewed May 21, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Adrian, the owner, might have been explaining the facilities when we arrived, but all I could look at was the view! Sat on the top of the hill above Rogart the Lodges look right across the glen to the hills and it is spectacular! Sunrises, evening sunshine (yes, we were lucky to have both!) meant a huge pile of photos but you just had to keep taking! Even the dog sat agog at the window trying to take it all in! Lovely lodge with all the facilities you would need and great that you can take dogs too. They do have cream carpets in the living room/bedrooms which means you feel obliged to take your shoes off at the door every time you come in so take slippers or something similarl! Limited Sky tv package but wi-fi available and worked fine. Not sure how I'd feel about driving up or down the hill in winter - it is steep in places and one of the access roads is not for the faint hearted. However the second road along is much more user friendly so if you are of a nervous disposition go to that one! I can highly recommend these Lodges.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: nothing - all good!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 May 2014
So pleased you had a great time and many thanks for taking the time to send in a review. All of the lodges are slightly different so furnishing do change but what does not change is the spectacular views! Winter can be a challenge but the more gentler access road is gritted daily so normally open to most types of cars but do bring some extra milk and other provisions then if you do get snowed in you can just sit snugly in your lodge and enjoy the peace and tranquility!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregg W
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Quality, quiet holiday lodge with view across the glen”
Reviewed May 3, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

My wife and I stayed at Highland Glen lodges for 3 nights at end April / start May 2014. We were in lodge 5 of the 5 on site. We have stayed in many self catering properties in Scotland and abroad and what immediately struck us about this place when we arrived were the high quality of the lodge and the attention to detail. It's in a really peaceful setting with each lodge overlooking the glen. The interior of the lodge we were in was very clean and well equipped including dishwasher and wifi, and a very comfortable living room area with large windows making the most of the great view. The beds were comfortable (not a given in our experience) and even had electric heating blankets (nice touch when the weather turned colder).

The owners Adrian and Trude were very helpful with information and everything was well prepared and thought out. There was a play area for children, an enclosed area for dogs and on site laundry facilities. Also, we don't consider ourselves as birdwatchers but couldn't help but notice the great variety of birds.

If you would like a quality lodge in a quiet scenic area of Scotland then we would recommend this place. It is one of the very few places we would like to return to.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 May 2014
Thank you so much for your comments and pleased you enjoyed you stay. We would love to welcome you back again and look forward to helping you explore other areas of the Northern Highlands. Kind regards Adrian & Trude
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martinozw
Larbert, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect getaway holiday - for peace and tranquility”
Reviewed March 3, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Thanks Trude - We really enjoyed our stay...even though the weather wasn't to nice to us. I really liked the fact that we had wifi in the middle of nowhere !!!!

The lodges were smart and maintained to a high standard.

We will certainly come back soon

God Bless

Martin, Nyasha & Tino

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Mar 2014
Thanks for taking the time and trouble to do a review. We appreciate that. You will be most welcome at the Lodges again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidandJ...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Wonderful”
Reviewed November 16, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We were lucky enough to stay for 2 weeks in August . We were given a lovely welcome from Adrian who had already printed us out local information and where the best places were to see the wildlife. We followed Adrian and Trudies advice on many of our trips and always felt that we had seen the true Scotland. Our son had a wonderful time with the other children exploring the site and playing in the dark !!! (Something he loved doing as in London he doesn't get as much freedom ;). ) As with the other guests we found the lodge extremely clean and sheets towels and bath mats were changed regularly over the 2weeks. The view is glorious and even more impressive when the rainbow appeared across the glen and also even if it's cold remember the stars at night are worth getting cold for. Our daughter has already said it's somewhere she will take her children when she has them in the long long future !!!
Dornoch beach,Durness drive and beaches are fantastic ,Ullapool the gift shop/tea room brought our tea and cakes out to us while we sat on the wall by sea that was lovely ,Golspie for a local 15min drive for beach and lunch is nice, we went to John o Groats and followed the map and did lots of stop offs there and back ask Adrian for advice ,we stopped so many times but well worth the trip. La Mirage was recommended by Adrian and yes it was a absolute feast YUM the meringue and breaded fish .... We also had crab sandwiches that tasted of crab something we don't seem to be able to find in London Trude knows where !
We also found the Loch behind the lodges unlike the gentleman in lodge 2 !!!!!! Hahahahaha

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Nov 2013
Thank you so much for your review and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the lodge and would be delighted to see you again if you ever decide to visit the North Highlands, there is still plenty to see so we could happily organise plenty of trips for your second visit. We also look forward to the next generation visiting the lodges but not for a few years!
Kind regards
Adrian & Trude
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sparkymar...
cleveland
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“excelent”
Reviewed November 3, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Second visit to here. Had a great time. Very clean. Trude and Adrian made us feel very welcome. The property was lovely and clean. No need to take towles etc as they are all provided. even washing facilities too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: very homely
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Nov 2013
Pleased you had such a great time! It is always nice when guests return and we do hope to see you back at our lodges soon. Kind regards Adrian & Trude
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing