We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“It doesn't get much better than this!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kuredu Island Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kuredu Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kuredu
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“It doesn't get much better than this!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

My husband and I stayed on Kuredu Island for our honeymoon from 18th January - 4th February 2012. This place is truly amazing.

After a long (but smooth) trip with Emirates and exciting sea plane transfer, we were greeted by Laura the rep who sat us down and gave us the low down on the island whilst we sipped an ice cold mocktail and freshened up with a refreshing towel in the Akiri Bar. We were then shown to our Jacuzzi Beach Villa located on the south side of the island (number 220). The room was spacious and attractive with a massive 4 poster king bed with mosquito nets surrounding it. The bathroom was outside and included a day bed and jacuzzi in the garden, fantastic shower, his and hers sinks and a loo (obviously!). We had a great view of the beach (in fact we were on it), but were far enough from the shore to not be too bothered by the sea planes or the waves crashing on a choppier night.

Our room was kept beautifully clean by our lovely room boy who even did a fabulous floral display with the bed sheets and petals one evening. We also received fruit, sparkling wine and tee shirts as a honeymoon gift on our second day.

Our allocated restaurant was Koamas, and although we could eat in any other of the others if we reserved, we honestly liked the Koamas the best. We were looked after by our lovely waitress Maryam (who was one of only 2 waitresses on the island, all the other waiting staff were men, talk about outnumbered!) who was really friendly and remembered our names and our likes and dislikes. The food was exceptional and it was so nice that my hubby and I simply had to have a bit of everything. Needless to say the scales were not our friend when we returned! The desserts were gorgeous too.

We usually spent our evening in the Babuna bar which was the main and biggest bar on the island. The staff in there were out of this world, and we built up a fantastic relationship with a few of them. In particular we must mention Jewel and Sarath who made us feel really special and had a real laugh with us. Jewel really is a 'diamond geezer' (if you see him say this to him, he loves it!) and loves practicing his London accent. He is genuinely the sweetest guy and deserves recognition for his amazing customer service. Sarath was fantastic too, and also spent time chatting to us and making us feel really welcome and special. I can't think of a bad thing about a single member of staff in fact. They all work 12-13 hour days but never stop smiling, and I really can't praise them enough. We miss them a lot.

We went on an excursion to another island including a trip to the only factory in the Maldives which happened to be a tuna canning factory!! It was something different to do and was funny seeing boxes of Waitrose and Princes tuna stacked up there, so look out for where your tinned tuna comes from next time you go shopping! It was interesting to see schools, a hospital and Mosque and how Maldivian people live on the trip and shows you that it's not all luxury.

We visited the over water spa (at the O resort) and had the honeymoon indulgence package which was worth every penny. You can see fish swimming past when you are having your massage as there is a glass window in the floor of the spa room It was also incredibly relaxing sitting in the bath tub on the balcony of the spa and looking out to sea whilst drinking a fruity mocktail surronded by flowers in the bath water.

One of the island's greatest features was the sand bank at the Sangu resort area. It really is beautiful and makes you feel like you're on a desert island. You can walk out for what feels like miles and look back at the island and all its beauty.

As others have mentioned there is lots of interesting sea life and the fish are not bothered by you at all. If you like snorkelling, you will love it here.

Evening entertainment is pretty low key, but the White Party was lots of fun. Make sure you pack an all-white outfit so the UV lights make you glow! The Maldivian evening was interesting too, and the staff will make you something special from coconut leaves!

As someone else mentioned, you do get a few creepy crawlies in the bathroom, particularly at night, including the massive ants that seem to love hanging around in the toilet. I made my poor hubby accompany me to the loo if I needed to get up in the night!! We had a massive flying beetle in our room very early one morning and suddenly couldn't find it, and reception sent 2 security guards to our room at about 5am to help us as we couldn't sleep not knowing where it was! Sadly, we still didn't manage to find it, but they spent a good while helping to try and find it. We gave them a little tip for their troubles.

In summary, we would recommend a trip to this fabulous island, you will not regret it, and you will be hard pressed to find anywhere as beautiful with such amazing staff and food.

Tip: Avoid taking a trolley bag as hand luggage as you will have to be seperated from it on the sea plane at best or it could end up coming seperately on a speed boat. This is because they don't allow them as hand luggage on the sea planes as there is not enough room.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Beach_Lover_2508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,083 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,714
    1,007
    241
    70
    51
See reviews for
772
4,479
58
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,403)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

Highlights if you don’t want to read everything…

Sea plane transfer
Excellent service from all staff
Best beach I’ve experienced
Bathwater Temperature Sea
‘O’ Resort bar – relaxed with a more exclusive feel to it
Babuna Bar – great entertainment and atmosphere
Golf course – great laugh and they had the football on
No need for footwear at all for the entire stay
Food of the highest standard
The spa treatments – had 7 hours worth in total… amazing
Wildlife – Vegetarian sharks, Fruit bats, rabbits, hermit crabs, flying fish and didn’t see any flies or spiders which pleased the wife

In more detail…

We arrived at Kuredu for our honeymoon on the 12th January 2012 for 14 days and we loved every minute.
Upon arrival we were greeted by Fikry and the team who looked after us throughout our stay on the Island, they made us feel at home as soon as we stepped of the sea plane

Our first few days on the island we stayed in a beach bungalow on the North side of the Island. It is quite basic inside which isn’t a problem as it has everything you need with a large bed, air con, wardrobes, radio and the bathroom which is out the back open air! They also have a veranda area at the front with your personal sun beds and as you stop off the veranda you land on the beach with only a few steps to the sea/lagoon where you can spend hours watching the sea life including the vegetarian reef sharks… The allocated restaurant for the bungalows is Bonthi where we were received excellent service from Adam who was very attentive and catered for every need. The food here is of a very high quality, there is something for everyone and the deserts are a must!

After our stay in the bungalow we went on a 3 day cruise onboard the ‘Fatima’ which we both enjoyed immensely. The cabins had air con and all of the staff were excellent,
Whilst on board we went on many snorkel adventures, saw turtles, got left on desert islands where we were free to explore, visited local islands, night fishing and had such a great time on the last night which was the Maldivian night where we danced well into the night to the sound of the beating drums. Highlights were the sunsets, flying fish everywhere and dolphins swimming along with us.

When we returned to the Island for our last week we stayed in the ‘O’ Resort which is more for the adults as there are no children allowed and it has more of an exclusive feel about it. The ‘O’ beach villas are beautiful, there is a large bed, air con, flat screen tv, iPod docking station, desk, wardrobes, a large open air bathroom and a veranda with another bed and ceiling fan. Again stepping off your veranda on to the beautiful beach where the water temperature is just perfect.

We took full advantage of the spa treatments and highly recommend the following… Honeymoon Indulgence, Full Moon Body Magic, Stress Reliever and we spoke to someone who thoroughly enjoyed the hot stone massage.

The Babuna bar is great fun there is always something happening there, we enjoyed (as many others did) the white party and the Maldivian night.

The Island itself is true paradise which takes just under an hour to walk around but can take longer as you stop to admire all of the beautiful scenery and fascinating wildlife.

Again I can't thank all of the amazing staff enough for everything that they did for us
Fikry
Adam
Sajan
Rafiquk
Haja
And many many more

We hope to return as soon as we can to see you all again

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Ant F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, England
Level Contributor
98 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

My friend and i stayed at Kuredu 10th - 20th February. When we arrived it had just stopped raining and had been raining for two days , however we were lucky enough not to have any more rain through the day for our whole ten days.It rained once in the evening and that was it. A fairly constant 36 degrees for the rest of our unforgettably fantastice holiday.
This was our first time at the Maldives but it wont be our last, from start to finish we just had the best time ever and we hate sand, sea and intense heat !!
On arrival from our fab seaplane taxi we were greeted and in our O resort beach villa within around half an hour. Our beach villa was just the tops and we were very well looked after by the fabulous Fawwaz. That man knows how to work, he never stops and in such heat i don't know how they do it. Fawwaz kept out villa immaculate, the bathroom is amazing and we were lucky enough to have fruit bats who came to eat the bananas off our tree at the bottom of the bathroom. Piping hot fast water from the shower, clean towels when you wanted them. A tv that showed movies at night with CNN and BBC world news as well as other music channels etc. loads of wardrobe space, a free safe, a fridge for water ( no free alcohol but $8 for a 70cl bottle of wine in your mini bar). Few creepy crawlies in the bathroom that you get used to but saw none in our villa. Fab blinds that keep the sun out and great windows with views straight out to sea. We were in 276. Just the right amount of distance from pool , restaurant and over the water spa. Fantastic.
We ate all the time in O resort restaurant .We were allowed to eat in others. however we never felt the need. We were looked after for our whole stay by the handsome and respectful Rameez who is now an expert at putting just a drip of milk in my morning tea..... the staff in the restaurant are brilliant. special mention to Sajan best egg fryer, they work so hard and the food is just delicious. Curries, fish, meat, sushi, fresh veg, barbecue, cheese , salads, dressings of every description ( chilli jam mmmmmmmm ) desserts to die for steamed orange cake and custard, creme brule, need i say more. The evening meal finished at 9.30pm and sometimes just so that you can get the last rays of the sun 10pm would have been more appropriate.Although the food was taken away from 9.30pm we never felt under pressure to leave the room until we were ready.
We were panicking before we went about what to wear in the evenings. Worry not casual as you like. Dress code is tropical casual which means a tidy pair of shorts and a nice top will do. Most people just wore cut off pants and a pretty top , maxi dress or leggings and a top. Anything goes as you either wear flip flops or bare feet. Heels are no good here. Breakfast and lunch was either shorts / beach dress / or bikini and adequate sarong....
Spa is fantastic. We had a two hour treatment which cost around 100 gbp, around what you would pay at home. The staff are great in the spa and part of the treatment was a tropical bath which was on an outside platform overlooking the sea. We were so lucky to see a school of dolphins putting on a show as we were in the bath. I've never felt so pampered.
We normally love to have quiet days and rowdy nights however if your looking for rowdy the o resort is not the place ( thanks goodness ) It was just great to chill all day , have a fab meal and then chat to all the other people lucky enough to be staying at the O resort end. Then bed for around 11 - midnight and an hour or so watching a movie. All inclusive drinks are extremely palatable with good red and white wine, vodka and lion beer. ( as well as other drinks ). So expensive to eat and drink here if you are not all inclusive.
The snorkelling is great here, the sand spit where you can walk for ages in sea that is only ankle deep, the people, the views , the food. We thought we would be bored as we just wanted to tick off the maldives as a place to see before you die however we were there for 10 days and never had time to go to the sunset bar , the kai satori bar, the golf course ,wind surfing, kayaking. Many great reasons why we will be returning to this unforgettably fantastic place.

Room Tip: 276 O resort beach villa, good views, good shade with trees, good sun, right on the sea front, 5 min...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank gatesheadgirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thrapston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

We decided to taker our last trip to the Maldives in November as we were expecting a baby in February. We thought we take a trip to Kuredu as we had heard good things about it. We arrived on Kuredu to a lovely warm welcome and the obligatory fruit cocktail.

Accommodation:

Our travel rep came to see us and informed us that the hotel had been over booked and our room was not available until the following day. To be fair they did offer us a free upgrade to the Ovillas but the rep did say that due to us having our daughter with us it made it difficult to put a third bed in the Ovilla (you couldn't move around the room very well) she also informed us that due to the bad weather the Maldives had been experiencing, the water was very choppy around that side. With this information we said we would wait for our room that we had originally booked (Room 110) Just for your information, try not to stay this side if you can help it. The sea planes start landing at 7 in the morning, there not the most quietest of planes!!
The room was adequate for our needs it wasn't the most luxurious of rooms compared to other islands we have stayed on. Our room was cleaned every day and the bed was turned down for us every night. We were left bottled water every day and the mini bar stocked every day. As with most Maldivian accommodation the bathroom is outside, its clean and modern but the only problem with this is the creepy crawlies!! if your anything like me make sure you take some bug spray with you! and your husband or significant other in the night if you have to get up because i guarantee you there will be something out there!!! We had massive Ants all in the toilet every night so check the seat before you sit down!

Swimming Pool:

Just a heads up here, there are no parasols with the sun beds!! There are a couple of sun beds that are shaded by palm trees but you have to be up with the larks to get one of these. What did annoy me, is that the same people would reserve them every day then sit at the bar drinking all day. *rant over*

Food:

The food was good although there was not a lot of choice. There was a different theme every day, some days better than others. There was a salad bar every night and if you like Tuna you'll love it as there was fresh tuna on the griddle nearly every night.
personally i don't like having cooked meals at lunch time so i used to make myself a sandwich
up from the bread counter and salad bar. On one particular day there wasn't anything i could put in a sandwich so i asked for some cheese. Now, they serve sliced cheese every morning and have a cheese cabinet at night and yet when i asked for some they said i couldn't have any!! i was a little shocked, you think the money you pay and they say no to a slice of cheese for a pregnant woman. They do have great breakfast chefs especially the guy who does the eggs, he was great, he remembers your name and says hello every morning and makes you what ever you want ...with eggs!!

All in al,l it was an ok holiday for the Maldives, but if your looking for something special and you've been to the Maldives before this is not the place. We have been to two other islands and they were both amazing, see my other reviews if you are looking for locations to travel to.
We spoke to other couples that were staying on Kuredu and had never been to the Maldives before and they all seemed to love it. I think its just that i have been spoiled on my other visits. I am not saying that Kuredu isn't nice, im just saying that there is better islands to go to. I also think that the weather wasn't the best during our visit which also contributes to my perspective of this trip, basically it rained nearly every day!!!

Happy Holidays x

Room Tip: Get an O villa if possible or room that side of the island!! The family side has sea planes landing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

Wow. After a pretty rubbish part 1 of our honeymoon, we were greeted with Kuredu.

What can I say? The weather was perfect. The food was delicious. The staff were great. Everything, and I mean EVERYTHING, was brilliant.

After landing at Male airport, we got a small shuttle bus to the island water plane airport place. You have to wait for the next chartered flight to your island, and I was a little disappointed to see that we had to wait for 2 hours. But, the lounge was air conditioned and there were free drinks and snacks to nibble on. There was a jetty type balcony to sit out on, and they had nice comfy loungers. So we sat back and chilled waiting eagerly for our "taxi". The staff brought out food to us, a nice hot tuna panini. We were very well looked after. Finally the plane was ready and we had an awesome ride to the island.

The island has one vehicle on it, and its a small minibus/taxi thing. A short meeting with the island reps and we were off to our room. We booked a water bungalow (it was our honeymoon after all). It was a very nice room, with double doors out to two level decks with a view of nothing but sea. Lush.

Your bags arrive separately by speed boat and ours arrived at the room during a crazy heavy rain shower. The poor bag boy was soaked through, but he ran all the way so our suitcases didn't get too wet. Gave him (Ali) $20 for his troubles.

The island is split into 3 or 4 categories of rooms. Staggered by price I would assume. Ours was the second most expensive so we got exclusive use of a really nice restaurant. I don't normally believe in that sort of thing, but I soon forgot all about it when I tried the food.

There was a different theme of food every night. And every night, the food was outstanding. And I mean, outstanding. One night they had fillet steak. But it was cooked (and even filleted) to order, by the chef. And he was a good bloody cook.

You get assigned a waiter for the week, and ours was called Shentil, or something. Annoyed that I can't remember his name, because he was so nice and friendly. Couldn't do enough for us. Got us drinks whenever we wanted, sorted us out a table for dinner on the beach one night. He was just a top bloke.

WEATHER.

The weather was amazing. Apart from a couple of late night rainstorms, the sun shone every day, and was bloody hot, every day.

SEA.

The sea was crystal clear. The clearest water I have ever been in. You could see most fish and sharks, rays and turtles quite clearly. Yes sharks. Baby sharks swam up and down the beach (about a foot long) and one day a 6 footer swam past our bungalow as we were sun bathing, but I didn't have the camera on me, and was a little gutted I missed a photo.

The sea was also like a warm bath.

We went snorkling on a paid activity. That was great, I swam with big old sea turtles which weren't scared so didn't swim off at great speed. I bought an underwater camera but my wife managed to get a photo of my feet, and none of us (me and the turtle) together... :(

The beach was proper, white sand. There were barely any sand flies or any flies at all to be honest. There were a few fruit bats, and many many lizards that pottered around.

One day though, we found a large black pipe across the beach, and we thought it was a sewage pipe as it went into the sea. But it turned out that because of the tides, they had to move sand from one side of the beach to the other every couple of weeks!!!

Overall, we both wished we had spent the whole honeymoon on Kuredu rather than the first half in Sri Lanka. But there you go.

Amazing. Will definitely come back.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank el-tato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

This was our first time to the Maldives and I had done so much homework before we booked Kuredu that I felt confident that we would enjoy it. Well, I could not have imagined how much we would enjoy it.

After delays at heathrow due to poor service by Srilankan Airlines (would never use again) we set off 5 hours late. By the time we arrived at male airport we had missed the last seaplane transfer so had an overnight stay at a hotel the other side of the airport. We got to the airport early the next day to be transfered to the seaplane terminal and then our holiday really began.

After a 35 minute flight by seaplane over the most fantastic views I had ever seen we arrived on Kuredu at 11.15. We were greeted by drums, singing and a refreshing cold towel and cocktail. The famous Fikry was our host for the duration of our stay and quickly went through the the important stuff before showing us to our beach villa (109).

Wow! The villa was amazing, right on the powder soft sand to the right of the jetty. The views were out of this world, I've never seen so many different shades of turqouise. The villa was very spacious with everything we could need. A lovely four poster bed, two chairs and a table, a dressing table and chair, cabinet with tv (never used), and a cupboard that included hanging space and shelves as well as fridge (mini bar). The bathroom was very spacious with double sinks, Toilet, Shower (power shower I think) and a lovely garden area with clothes line. Abdullah looked after our room and did such a good job. He decorated the bed for both our birthdays and for Valentines day. He was always happy to chat and was more than willing to teach teach us some Maldivian. He is a credit to Kuredu and I think of him as a friend not a room boy (which seems a rather rude term).

As we were in a beach villa we were able to use all bars on the island and eat in any of the restuarants apart from the a la carte ones. The restuarant for our evening meals was the Koumas but we could book to eat in any of the others which we did only once for a birthday meal on the beach at the Sangu. Other than that we did not feel the need to eat other than in Koumas as the food and service was so great. Our waiters for our stay were Mondy (Mohammed) and Shifau. They were outstanding! They helped us learn some Maldivian and told us about their way of life and some of the differences between our country and theirs. They were always smiling and always happy to have a chat. Mondy even made me a hat and handbag out of palm leaves.We miss them very much. The food was plentiful and such a great choice. I am a very fussy eater and thought I may struggle at meal times but I couldn't of been more wrong. I eat three times a day and always had three courses ( now dieting!). Ali at the pasta kitchen was my favourite and the Maldivian curries were the best I've ever tasted. They knocked spots off the best curries over here. They had fish, meats, pasta, noodles, curries, salads, terrines, sushi, soup and other delights (too many to mention) on a daily basis and the desserts were to die for, I could never choose just one!

The island is spotlessly clean due to the ladies who raked the sands daily and everywhere is sand. No need for shoes or even flip flops! It takes about an hour to walk round slowly and there is plent of opportunity to swim with fish of all kinds. On the north of the island in front of the beach bungalows there is a laggoon that we could walk with the baby sharks and other fish such as Titan triggers, Jacks etc. On the south side we could swim with Green Turtles to the left of the jetty along with Parrot fish, Unicorn fish more Triggers and many others that I don't know the names of. Along the sand split on the south west we even swam with a Sting ray. The sealife was just out of this world. The fish never seemed to mind the fact that we were there although we were very careful not to touch! Walking along the jetty we could see lots of different fish and even saw an eagle ray one evening. At the end of the jetty is the Tea house that had lights underwater so that at night you could sit and watch to see what came by. We didn't see them but others told us that they'd seen Manta's there.

All the room types looked lovely and clean and all had great views. The garden bungalows didn't have sea views but the greenery was lovely to look at and they are only a few feet from the shore line. The last of the beach bungalows look out to the water villas but still had great views. The 'O' villas looked out over the lagoon on the north side and were on the outside of the Atoll as were the GB, BB and WV. The south side is facing the the inside of the Atoll and had the BV and JBV. The sea was calmer on the south side and the sand was a bit softer but I would of been happy in any of the accomadation.

The weather was fantastic. We had one afternnon of rain in two weeks and even that was great to see as we've never seen rain like it. It rained for a couple of hours but stayed hot and did not stop us doing anything. The temp. was 30-35 for two weeks and the sea is bath warm! The staff thought we were joking when we told them that it was -7 at home. They didn't think temperatures could drop that low!

There are two Spa's and we used the one in the centre of the island. I had a facial and we also did the Full Moon Package. Both were fantastic and so relaxing. I would definitely recommend treating yourself. The coconut cocoon was so nice and did wonders for my skin.

All the staff on the island are so friendly and helpful. They always greeted you with a smile and asked if you were enjoying your holiday or just said hello. I have never met such nice people and other places I have stayed could take a note of how to treat guests. Honestly, the service was that good. Not once did we meet any rude member of staff and all were happy to assist you. I have holidayed in the Caribbean and Europe and this place and it's staff knocked spots off of those holidays.

I can honestly, hand on heart say that I can not fault this island or it's staff at all for anything. It was truly the best holiday either of us had ever been on. We went for a once in a lifetime holiday and have come back eager to rebook for next year!

A quick word about the famous Fikry! I had been in contact with him through the Kuredu Facebook page before we went and it was great to finally meet him and a bonus to have him as our host for our stay. This guy works his socks off to make sure that everyone staying on the island has a great vacation. He checked with us regularly to ensure we were enjoying the island and that we wanted for nothing. He is a credit to the island as were all the staff.

Shukuriya (thank you) to Fikry, Mondy, Shifau, Ali and Abdullah for such a wonderful experience. We hope to see you all again next year!

If you are considering Kuredu for your vacation, what are you waiting for!!

Room Tip: No room will disappoint!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank rocky056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

It's a while since we visited Kuredu and I always planned to leave a review, so here it is (albeit a bit late!). Firstly if you haven't had the pleasure of visiting the Maldives before then I'm sure you'll enjoy Kuredu. We knew it was a budget choice for us but I wanted to give my 13-year-old son the opportunity to experience the beauty and total relaxation that my husband and I had experienced the year before. Trouble was, we'd been to the five star Conrad Rangali - so I tried to manage my expectations before I went.
Even so, my first impressions weren't very good. On arrival our room wasn't ready and it took at least three hours before we could get into it. We were eventually given a key and some directions to the room - there was no-one to take our luggage or show us round the room. We were walking across the beach with our suitcases while people sunbathed....I should have been more pushy but hey!
We were in a beach villa and ate in the Koamas restaurant. The food was good and there was plenty of choice. The staff in the restaurant - chefs and waiters were all friendly and polite but they didn't want to chat. One of the things that stood out for us at Rangali was the friendliness of the staff - always chatting and keen to tell you all they know about their culture, food and, of course talk about football and cricket! There was none of this at Kuredu, sadly. That said, they were attentive and did their jobs well.
The room we had was lovely - modern, clean and spacious. I didn't like the look of the bungalows but if you're on a budget and only there for the sun and sea then they will suit you fine.
Kuredu felt too big, busy and loud for me. The bar was bustling every evening, and the music cranked up a few evenings for a lively disco - but somehow it took something away from the chilled out Maldivian experience I was looking for. I go on holidays with the girls for that! Once, during the day we were walking through the main bar and there was a large group of new arrivals being given a welcome talk by their tour operator. Perfectly fine and normal but suddenly it started to feel a bit like (dare I say it?) Benidorm! Albeit a Benidorm in beautiful surroundings.
The best part came when we were given the opportunity to move to their sister island, Komandoo. Now this was more like it. We were very lucky and I was very grateful to be able to move. We spent four days there and it was worth packing up and unpacking again. We were greeted off the boat, given a coconut drink, the band played a song for us and we were then escorted to our room and shown where everything was. My son still remembers the Komandoo song the band played and it's little things like this that stay with you.
As I've said we did book Kuredu because it was more affordable - and my son was full adult price. But there are other islands that can meet or beat Kuredu prices. I've learnt that just choosing the Maldives won't guarantee that exclusive, chilled out, paradise holiday we all crave. All islands are different so my advice would be to really think about what you want from your Maldivian holiday and do your research - don't leave it to your travel agent to advise you. Adrian Neville's book is a good starting point and of course read the reviews on here.
Once you've visited the Maldives it hooks you in. For our holiday this year I've been looking at the Caribbean and Thailand but I know these places won't offer us what the Maldives can. So we're going back in May. But not to Kuredu - it's a pretty island but it just wasn't for me.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ifoundnemo1900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuredu
21.0 km away
Cheval Blanc Randheli
Cheval Blanc Randheli
#1 of 1 in Randheli Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
26.8 km away
The Sun Siyam Iru Fushi Maldives
7.8 km away
Komandoo Maldives Island Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 km away
Palm Beach Resort & Spa Maldives
Palm Beach Resort & Spa Maldives
#1 of 1 in Madhiriguraidhoo Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
24.8 km away
Atmosphere Kanifushi Maldives
Atmosphere Kanifushi Maldives
#1 of 1 in Kanifushi Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
4.8 km away
Kanuhura - Maldives
Kanuhura - Maldives
#1 of 2 in Kanuhura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kuredu Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kuredu Island Resort & Spa

Property: Kuredu Island Resort & Spa
Address: Lhaviyani Atoll, Republic of Maldives
Phone Number:
Region: Maldives > Lhaviyani Atoll > Kuredu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kuredu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kuredu Island Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kuredu Island Resort & Spa, surrounded by a beautiful lagoon and long stretches of white, sandy beach, is the only Resort on the island of Kuredu, in Lhaviyani Atoll. Your seaplane transfer from Ibrahim Nasir International Airport is a scenic, 40 minute flight The 383 Rooms include 10 Sultan Pool Villas including 1 Villa Family Suite, 50 Sangu Water Villas including 1 Honeymoon Suite, 100 Jacuzzi Beach Villas, 93 Beach Villas, 90 Beach Bungalows & 40 Garden Bungalows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Kuredu Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kuredu Island Hotel Kuredu
Kuredu Island Resort And Spa
Hotel Kuredu Island
Kuredu Island Maldives
Kuredu Maldives
Kuredu Island Resort Maldives
Kuredu Island Resort & Spa Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing