We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best Place to stay in Bequia..Shades of Blue”
A Shade of Blues Apartment - Bequia
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A Shade of Blues Apartment - Bequia
A Shade of Blues Apartment - Bequia A Shade of Blues Apartment - Bequia
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
A Shade of Blues Apartment - Bequia
A Shade of Blues Apartment - Bequia
A Shade of Blues Apartment - Bequia
A Shade of Blues Apartment - Bequia
A Shade of Blues Apartment - Bequia
A Shade of Blues Apartment - Bequia
A Shade of Blues Apartment - Bequia
A Shade of Blues Apartment - Bequia
A Shade of Blues Apartment - Bequia
A Shade of Blues Apartment - Bequia
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Port Elizabeth, Bequia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Donna C
2 reviews
“Best Place to stay in Bequia..Shades of Blue”
Reviewed March 11, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We stayed at Shades of Blue in the studio in early Feb for 7 nights. When we entered the studio, we were amazed of how beautiful the apartment was decorated. All the beautiful details were amazing. Our view from our bed and deck was stunning, overlooking lovely Princess Margaret Bay. Monica and David were absolutely amazing. They welcomed us immediately and answered all and any questions we had, where to eat , swim, dance, and we got to meet so many of the locals that made out trip that much more special. Monica and David opened up their beautiful home and even had a wonderful BBQ that we were fortunate to attend. We had some wonderful local dishes, and the best BBQ’d chicken. The pool at the house is a wonderful treat to jump in after a day at the beach and the walk up to the house. After 7 days in the studio we moved into the upper level 2 bedroom apartment. As much as we loved the studio, we were again amazed at the comfort and stunning views that we had from all the rooms and deck. It was such a treat to be able to spend 10 days at their beautiful home and get to know both of them. As you walk even further up the property, they have another stunning view of the bay and Admiralty Harbor from the gorgeous gazebo. All the bougainvillea was blooming with colors of red, pink orange and white. Papayas and banana trees were everywhere. Jack’s restaurant is just below the house, where you can have a wonderful lunch and dinner and dance the night away. When you head down to Princess Margaret Beach, dont forget to stop and say hello to Faye, where she has cold beers and wonderful jewelry , and clothes. Willy, makes beautiful handmade jewelry out of coconut and coral. This was a trip of a lifetime , and we cant thank Monica and David enough for sharing their beautiful home with us. We would highly recommend staying at Shades of Blue and A Night Ashore. We will definetly be coming back. " One Love , One Heart, Let's Get together and Feel Alright"....Miss you Monica and David. Can't wait to return
Donna and Mike Crivello

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aidlin201...
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A month on Bequia”
Reviewed November 2, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed in Shades of Blue apartment for the month of October. The view from the balcony is incredible and you can never tire of waking up to Princess Margaret beach. The apartment is high up on the hill so will only suit reasonably fit travellers as there are a lot of steps up to the property but once there it is worth it. The Belmont walkway is a bonus for walking into Port Elizabeth and is by far the prettiest walk into a town that we know of. If coming back if loaded with shopping a taxi was a good choice. October was extremely quiet and only a couple of restaurants were open so we self catered for nearly all of our holiday. Lots of options for interesting meals from Barracuda bought on the beach to anything you could ever require from Doris's, but at a price. We shopped at knights grocers and Darkes fruit and veg stall. The apartment is lovely with wonderful comfy beds and luxurious cotton sheets. 2 outside showers which were a lovely treat. The infinity pool is just gorgeous and a very welcome treat after managing the steps. Princess Margaret beach awaits you at the bottom of the steps and the lovely Fay who sells drinks, souvenirs and t shirts will watch over your bags whilst you swim. On cooler days we walked to Friendship bay, Paget Farm and also Crescent beach. You can use the taxi services which are quite unusual and driven by some wonderful characters Elvis, Fatman and Elson to name a few. Most charge 20 ECD (£5) for the short ride out of town and the nominated taxi driver for the apartment Julian charged 25ecd and on our departure 40ecd as it was a 6 am pick up. We used the ferry to St Vincent 25 ECD per person each way. An interesting tip we heard about but would consider is to hire a car in St Vincent as it is cheaper and you can stock up at the supermarket before the ferry across. The staff Cass and Ottley at the property are lovely and are very knowledgable. The garden is fascinating with lots of different fruit trees, mangoes. plantain, passion fruit, pomegranate to name a few. Thank you to Monica for sharing her home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: access/ steps, no air conditioning
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travellin...
Regina, SK
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“The best rental on Bequia!”
Reviewed February 5, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I searched diligently for the nicest place within our price range on this charming and exotic little island of Bequia. A Shade of Blues was absolutely the best choice I could have made.

We have walked around a lot and noticed the views of the other apartments, and A Shade of Blues has the best, unobstructed view of Princess Margaret beach and the lovely contoured coastline.

It is very quiet and private - we loved being perched up in the trees, and the fact that there are only two other properties on this road.

We are so close to Princess Margaret beach, the nicest beach on the island IMHO.

The apartment which we have has two lovely bedrooms, a very well appointed kitchen, and a wonderful patio where we spend a lot of time just relaxing and admiring the fabulous view. Everything is new and very charming - beds are superbly comfortable, the kitchen is perfect for cooking full meals, and there is a big table in the kitchen and out on the patio.

We especially enjoy the two hammocks! The decor is whimsical and charming and the whole 'sea' motif really lends itself to a perfect house near the beach.

Be prepared for steep climbs and steps down to the beach - we are fine with it and enjoyed it, as well as the great newly renovated Belmont walkway into Port Elizabeth.

We loved our dinner at Fernando's Hideaway - it was such a delightful authentic Caribbean experience to dine at a quaint little spot up in the trees and eat whatever happens to be on the menu - there was a choice of chicken, fish or lamb, but the fish was perfect as well as the callaloo soup, excellent bread and fantastic Heineken chocolate cake.

I am writing this review while still on the patio, watching the sunset. If you want the best spot for a vacation rental on Bequia, this is it! We love it here - and the owners are so friendly and helpful with whatever you may need. Monica gave us a sample of the great smoked fish available, and some extra bananas as well!

Bequia is indeed an exotically lush and tropical place - with a very intimate village atmosphere to it. It's been a great pleasure being here and we still have a few days to enjoy it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view from the patio!
Liked least: Nothing! It was all fabulous!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pashonet
devon
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Quality accommodation on the best beach in Bequia”
Reviewed April 5, 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Thoughtfully designed with delightful artistic touches. Superior beds and linen regularly changed during our fortnight's stay. Sunsets from the balcony over a bay full of constantly changing boats were a highlight. Be prepared to walk steep slopes to and from the beach.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate B
liverpool
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Heavenly Peace”
Reviewed July 17, 2011 for a stay in November 2010
6
people found this review helpful

Our 3 week stay here was ostensibly to celebrate our Silver Wedding. We followed the suggestions of other visitors to Bequia and didn't hire a car, as we would usually, but used the services of Julian, the husband of the property's housekeeper Cas.
Cas & Julian were absolutely fantastic and even if we weren't going anywhere, we saw them both every day.
One important thing that is missed off the info, are the number of steps, from the "lane" to the apartment. I had just had surgery to my foot and had only been off crutches for 3 days before we came away. There are 78 steps from the apartment to the lane and a further 78 to the beach, if you go down via Jack's Bar. There are no steps if you go along the lane a little and through the trees to the beach. A good way to keep fit and there are convenient placse to stop on the way up!!! A bit of a hike with a case of wine or crate of beer, though we did manage!! Ask Julian about getting the beer from the beer factory and getting wine from the Welshman, Richard.
The Friendship Rose trips are great, we did one to Tobago Cays and one to Mustique. We also took the Fast Ferry - Jaden Sun- to Union Island, calling at Canouan & Mayreau on the way.
The outside showers are simply wonderful.
The terrace is a great place to watch the bay from and each morning and evening we counted the vessels in and out.
Wi-fi works best on the terrace.
Princess Margaret's Beach really is the best one on the island.
We were just at the start of the season, so some places weren't up and running.
Fernando's Hideaway was great, but booking is a must.
Can't believe it's taken me this long to write the review!
Would certainly go back again.
Bequia is no good if you want "everything on a plate". It is a small island, so the produce you can buy is dictated by what is shipped in!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Families with teenagers Tourists
Large groups Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing