We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (62)
Filter reviews
62 results
Traveller rating
23
26
5
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
23
26
5
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mosquito net full kitchen belmont walkway almond tree small kitchen central location bed was comfortable fans porch bay bequia coils bath tranquility ferry taxis paradise
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 62 reviews
Reviewed February 4, 2018 via mobile

We were very happy with our stay at the Gingerbread Hotel. We spontaneously booked a suite after coming off of a 7 day TradeWinds Catamaran trip. There was plenty of room for our 2 sons and my wife and I. The TradeWinds blew and kept the room at a decent temperature and the mosquito nets are a must. The Gingerbread restaurant/cafe is amazing as the massive almond tree you sit u der and the coastal views are stunning.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 1966Worldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 3, 2018 via mobile

Relaxed waterside bar/restaurant. Good service from helpful and friendly staff. Good views over the harbour and bay. Good selection of drinks and food during the day. As a rendezvous, it was nearly perfect.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank MarvinSteppingley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 1, 2018 via mobile

The staff and he location is great but the mosquitoes are bad. When we checked in we were given a tour/lesson for the mosquitoes. The room has plug in mosquitos deferent, coils to burn, bug spray for when you leave the room, off and mosquito net. Even with all of that we still managed to get bit several times and had tons in the room.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank scott9512017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 15, 2017 via mobile

We stayed 7 nights in Room 5 and had one of the last Suites which is furnished with one queen bed and two singles. My friend was in the Queen bed with a curtain separating the room from my area. The best part was the view from the lovely sitting area on the porch! Picture postcard setting with palm trees and bougainvillea in the foreground, sailboats, water taxis and harbor sunsets in the distance. The Belmont walkway runs right alongside the hotel property, and is great people watching. We had a well equipped kitchenette and large bath with pretty tile and stone surround (note: mirrors in Room 5 seemed old - need replacing). A continental or hot breakfast is not included in the room cost, but the cafe next to the almond tree offers a selection of homemade drinks and goodies. The entry to our suite was secure with two door entry, but we made sure the porch sliding wood doors were locked whenever we left. Unfortunately, my wireless speaker was left out on the porch one evening and was never seen again. Other than that mishap, the Gingerbread Hotel has wonderful staff, pretty wood carved detail all around and a superb location which can’t be beat.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank MTPgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 9, 2017 via mobile

the location is fantastic but at this time of year a place without ac is difficult. We could never get rid of the mosquitos that laid in wait outside our door. When the maid came in she opened the balcony doors wide and let them all in again after spending the night trying to kill them in the room. The cafe is run by nice people but the size of the breakfasts was miserable. a tiny bit of bacon and overcooked eggs. Our toilet door would not shut yet the owner bragged about her construction company. They should be filling in the holes on the mosquito screens as well as fixing a warped door. Clearly the place has seen better days and they need to spend some money on the place. We moved out early costing enough for them to have put ac in at least two rooms. They really did not seem bothered. They were very nice in allowing us to cancel the rest of our stay but we would have moved anyway as it was unbearably hot.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank alan512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews