We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
67 results
Traveller rating
54
8
3
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
54
8
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pizza beach front princess margaret beach happy hour every morning beach bar free breakfast huge bed lobster food was amazing day pass the main house perfect location our night stay out of season sun loungers staff attentive
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 67 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2018

The breakfast food was so bad that we skipped the free breakfast and ate someplace else. The watersport equipment that they were nice enough to include in the package was worn out and dirty. The serivce staff was nice

Room tip: Do not get the beach front cottages. They are the oldest and most worn down. They do not have a like the other cottages.
Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank scott9512017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bequia Plantati... H, General Manager at Bequia Plantation Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with the Trip Advisor Community. I am saddened and disappointed to read your review with regards to your stay which you had with us. Our Chefs work hard to deliver quality local seasonal produce to our guests, and it is disappointing that we did not meet your expectations. Our Water sports equipment is always washed down after guest use and is maintained daily – I apologies if this was not the case this time.

I hope you will come back and visit us so we can demonstrate the high quality and standard we have to offer.

Kind Regards,

Lewis Scrimgeour,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 4, 2018

This hotel was one of my favorite hotels during my 2 months of island hopping in the Caribbean. In my opinion it gives really good value, and I can not understand why this is not a 4 star hotel.

We stayed 3 nights in a suite (orchid) with sea view (one of the cabins). Hotel let us check in early (10.30 am) for no extra cost, something we really appreciated.

The cabins are really wonderful and spacious with a huge bed, beautiful bathroom, kitchenette and a cozy porch. Complimentary beach towels were in the rooms, and we got two complimentary bottles of water in the room when we arrived.. Free safety deposit box and free wifi (very good on the porch, but not so good inside the cabin). Small bottles of shampoo, conditioner, shower gel and body lotion in the bathroom, but no hair dryer. Laundry on site, but expensive (as in most other hotels with laundry service). All of the employees were helpful and friendly, and housekeeping impressed with new towel art every day. The property are beautiful with palm trees, pool and hammocks, and I felt so relaxed and safe during the stay. 24 hour security.

Free breakfast was included in our stay, and both the ocean view and food was a delight. Some days we got fresh fruit from the garden. The minor negative things I have to say about this place is that we found the restaurant to be kind of expensive for what we got on our plates for dinner, and water is not included in the free breakfast. My friend ordered a Cæsar Salad for dinner, which was 21 USD! With that said, Bequia in general is an expensive island, and more expensive than many of the other caribbean islands I've been to.

Hotel location is great with walking distance to the harbor, city centre and Princess Margaret Beach. It´s a lot of restaurants on the boardwalk to the harbor and city centre. The hotel has its own beach with free sunbeds under the palm trees, and you can borrow canoes and kayaks for free.

I do not give 5/5 to 3 star hotels (this is a 3,5) often. Then they really have to stand out and be much better than you expect from a 3 star hotel, and not many hotels are. But Bequia Plantation Hotel totally deserves 5/5! Will definitely stay there again if I go to Bequia, and I´ll highly recommend it to others!

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank CarolineC5435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bequia Plantati... H, General Manager at Bequia Plantation Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a wonderful review of Bequia Plantation Hotel, I'm so thrilled to read what a fantastic time you had. I will pass on all your lovely comments.

Please do come back and visit us soon.

Kind Regards,

Lewis Scrimgeour
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 19, 2018

We didn't get off to the best of starts here. We had been warned by the specialist travel company that as it was low season and the hotel was closing the day we left that we might be the only guests; however in fact several of the other attractive bungalows were occupied off and on during our 4 night stay. We decided to continue with our booking on the basis that everything was fully functional so were rather put out on the first night that only ice cream was available for dessert when in fact there should have been 4 other options. However after complaining we had a long conversation the following morning with Colette the assistant manager who explained the problems of supply etc on a small island and promised to rectify things. From then on we were treated as VIP guests and had a wonderful time.
We stayed in one of the bungalows which was probably one of the best hotel rooms we have stayed in anywhere- very spacious, huge bed, great bathroom with monsoon shower and even a kitchenette though this was not stocked with plates and cutlery etc but probably could have been provided if we had asked. There was a large fridge freezer and a microwave. There were 3 sets of patio doors and a lovely decked area with great views across the grounds and coconut palms to the beach and sea beyond.
The restaurant was very good and the staff attentive and friendly. It was a great place to watch the sunset sipping happy hour rum punches.
The location of the hotel could not be better within a short board walk of Port Elizabeth and Princess Margaret beach and onto Lower Beach. Snorkelling off the beach in front of the hotel. Belmont Beach. was good. Easy access to Port Elizabeth also meant it was easy to get to the island of St Vincent on the frequent local ferries for the day.
We would love to come back one day.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BerkshireTigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bequia Plantati... H, General Manager at Bequia Plantation Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for a great review of Bequia Plantation Hotel. It is so good to read your wonderful comments. We are delighted that our team was able to turn your initial disappointment into a VIP experience for you; our staff are some of the best on the Island!

Hopefully you can return to our sunny shores soon.

Kind Regards,

Lewis Scrimgeour
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 10, 2018

We spent 12 nights at The Bequia Plantation Hotel end of June/early July and had a simply wonderful time at a property that has been recently refurbished to high standards and is managed and staffed by those that genuinely want you to have an experience to remember.

The rooms are a delight, cleverly designed and presented to the highest standard. The room cleaners take great care to ensure the rooms are always kept clean with prompt attendance each day, normally with the knack of turning the room whilst we were at breakfast. The towel art left each day something special!

The location of this property suited us to perfection, it’s right on the beach with glorious and peaceful grounds, but turn right along the waterside walkway and you can stroll past various restaurants as you amble towards Port Elizabeth and all it has to offer. Or, turn left along the walkway from the hotel and within 10 minutes you are on Princess Margaret Beach, which has to be up there as the best beach on the island - it’s stunning!

As always those working at any hotel either make or break your holiday experience and in our view those that work at The Bequia Planation Hotel are the best! They were the friendliest group you could hope to meet, always going that extra mile to ensure you enjoyed your stay. The management should be very proud of each and every one of them (and of themselves!)

The management, the reception team, the bar and restaurant team, the room cleaners, the gardeners, the security team - each and every one were pleasant, helpful and enhanced our stay considerably. The chef produced very high quality fare throughout the day and it’s noticable that non hotel guests head to his restaurant each day - it says it all and is not a surprise.

Our drinks at the beach bar each evening were wonderfully prepared and, as we were there during the football World Cup, we enjoyed the daily conversations with the bar team about the progress (or not!) of the various teams.

Whilst we’ve visited the Caribbean several times before, this was our first visit to Bequia, and the island carries our highest recommendation if you’re looking for the ‘original’ laid back Caribbean experience. We’d have no hesitation of returning to Bequia and it’s now officially our No.1 Caribbean destination!

If you’re planning a trip it won’t surprise you that we’d also highly recommend staying at the Bequia Plantation Hotel - you won’t be disappointed.

Date of stay: July 2018
1  Thank AlanBmald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bequia Plantati... H, General Manager at Bequia Plantation Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2018

Dear Guest,

What a fabulous review, thank you so much! Our staff really do try to make every guests experience as wonderful as possible, I am so glad that we were able to give that to you.

Hope to see you again very soon.

Kind Regards,

Lewis Scrimgeour
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 9, 2018

Excellent rooms. First night in upstairs room, got upgraded to a cabin which was super. Very close to the beach. Great food at the restaurant on site. Great breakfast included every day! Great staff!!!

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Youssef Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bequia Plantati... H, General Manager at Bequia Plantation Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to the Bequia Plantation Hotel.

The comments you have made towards the hotel, staff and services are wonderful, ill be sure to pass them on.
Come back and see us soon!

Kind Regards,
Lewis Scrimgeour
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews