We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Truly fantastic holiday!”
other travellers have booked this property
Coopers Knowe House with the hills and the loch in the background
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Coopers Knowe House with the hills and the loch in the background
The lounge with wood-burning stove and double height ceiling The lounge also boasts fabulous views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
65 reviews
Coopers Knowe House with the hills and the loch in the background
The lounge with wood-burning stove and double height ceiling
The lounge also boasts fabulous views
Looking back from the loch
Deer are regular visitors to the garden
The kitchen with central island and up to the minute appliances
The dining room - the table extends to seat 10
The games room - pool table, table tennis top, TV, PlayStation 3, darts
Soaking up the stunning views
The house in winter with snow capped hills in the background
The master suite with views of the loch and the hills
Ready for breakfast on the balcony
Time for tea in the snug
Wonderful Scottish light
The private sandy beach on the estate
The ground floor bedroom with its own terrace
The west facing bedroom with ensuite shower room
The en-suite to bedroom 4 with Japanese-style square bath
The twin-bedded room
The first floor landing
Fabulous scenery all around
Take a sea-kayakking excursion on the loch
Enjoy the perfect day out for steam railway & Harry Potter fans: a trip on the Jacobite steam tr
Nearby Traigh golf course: one of the most scenic in the UK
A golden eagle - regularly sighted nearby
Hoping for a bite from the rocks close to the house
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Glenuig, Lochaber, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 65 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
GillGood
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Truly fantastic holiday!”
Reviewed April 14, 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We have just enjoyed a lovely holiday in this beautiful house. The location is spectacular and the house is fantastic. Coopers Knowe House is very well appointed and equipped. We were very comfortable and slept well in the gorgeous big beds. The nearby beach was great to have a stroll on. The bird watchers in the party spotted loads of birds in the locale and were delighted with this!!! I saw a woodcock and was lucky enough to see a herd of deeras they traversed the grounds.Another member of the party saw otters in the loch. We visited the Ardnamurchan peninsula, Arisaig, Mallaig, Oban, Loch Ness, Fort Augustus and Drumnadrochit, all of which were stunning. Many photos were taken. We ate in Nadurra, Arisaig House ,the Arisaig Hotel, Ee-usk in Oban and the FishMarket in Mallaig and the Holly Tree in Kentallen. All are recommended and worth a visit. We bought fresh seafood at Andy Race's in Mallaig and made a delicious Paella with this. Some of our party did the iconic train journey from Mallaig to Fort William too. This was an excellent trip with great views.
Pat,the owner surprised me by phoning me after our stay to see if everything was ok for us. I have never had this courtesy after many years of renting holiday properties. Thank you Pat and Bob or a truly great hol!!!Gx

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great house, great location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Aug 2013
We are so pleased you all enjoyed such a good time. I'm sure others will find your suggestions for outings and eateries really helpful.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie C
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Idyllic hideaway”
Reviewed November 13, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

This was my first visit to the Highlands and I will definitely be returning. Coopers Knowe House provides stunning accomodation in beautiful surroundings. The property is set on a sea loch in a mountain landscape and is a paradise for walkers. We visited in October and I would definitely reccomend visiting at this time of year as the autuminal colours were amazing, and it was so relaxing cosying up in front of the fire. There is a beach a few minutes walk away and I would like to visit in the summer as the crystal clear water looked very inviting. Further up the hillside from the beach there is an impressive view of the Islands of Rum and Eigg. This is a fantastic location for wild life enthusiasts, a young stag came right up to the house and there is lots of sea life to spot so make sure you take your binoculars. The owners of Cooper Knowe really have thought of everything to ensure that their guests are as comfortable as possible and although there is a very good pub / restaraunt nearby it was hard to prise ourselves away from our sumptuous surroundings. This is a perfect place to visit if you are looking for a peaceful holiday where you can be as active or as inactive as you choose.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfortable accomodation
Liked least: I liked everything
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert P
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Words cannot do justice to the beauty of the house and surroundings.”
Reviewed November 6, 2012 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

My partner & I have just returned with a couple of friends from a few days spent at the stunning Coopers' Knowe House on Loch Ailort, and all we can say is wow! Having never been to the Highlands of Scotland before we were just blown away by the landscape, and the house itself is luxurious perfection. The views from the grounds are really quite something; we were greeted each morning by a fresh dusting of snow on the peaks of nearby Roshven and An Stac! We can all really recommend visiting at this time of year, where the scenery becomes flushed with multiple shades of orange and red in the autumnal sunshine. The house has been decorated in the most beautiful fashion, and fitted with every conceivable mod-con. We especially loved relaxing in the principle sitting room with it's fantastic log burner! Also we've got to mention the supremely comfortable beds - we can't remember having such a run of good sleep :).

As for things to do, we could've done with at least a couple of weeks to fill our boots. As well as some fantastic local walks the house was ideally located for a crack at both Ben Nevis and the Cuillin on Skye, although some inclement weather meant a retreat to the Talisker distillery was somewhat inevitable on the latter trip! There's also loads to do around the house, with ample literature, films, games, wifi etc. to keep all and sundry entertained on less intensive days.

This was certainly one of the most memorable holidays we've ever had, and we really can't give Coopers' Knowe House enough praise. Thank you so much!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It would be unfair to pick one thing over another, we just had a really great time.
Liked least: Coming home :(
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Aug 2013
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay - particularly as a first-timer to the Highlands of Scotland. Many thanks for taking the time to post a few photos which show the house from a couple of different perspectives.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 10, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
17 Aug 2013
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Many thanks for adding to our list of suggested places to visit - the Talisker distillery is definitely a good tip for if it's wet!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 14, 2012 for a stay in May 2012

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
17 Aug 2013
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at the house and that we were able to introduce you to the delights of the Highlands of Scotland.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
coudeluc
Pau, France
1 review
Reviewed August 26, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: la localisation et la vue.
Liked least: sans reponse
Travelling group: En famille élargie
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Oct 2013
Je suis tout a fait ravie que votre sejour a ete si bien passe. Nous attendons le plaisir de vous acceuiller a Coopers Knowe House encore une fois dans un proche avenir.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing