We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely lunch”
Review of Round House

Round House
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Bathsheba
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Located in historic Bathsheba on the rugged east coast of Barbados, Round House has been a popular destination for locals and visitors for 150 years. With a colorful history as a train stop and longtime private residence, Round House today is one of the island's most beloved landmarks. The property offers commanding views of the Atlantic coastline, a panoramic vista of the iconic limestone rocks and thundering waves of Bathsheba, and an undisturbed stretch of beach studded with natural tidal pools just above one of the world's premier surf spots. Our bed-and-breakfast inn offers five architecturally-unique guest rooms, with unparalleled views and historic features intact throughout the completely original building. Our bustling restaurant uses only simple, fresh, locally-sourced ingredients for our menu served daily inside our dining room or outside on our decks overlooking the Atlantic, where you can put up your feet and unwind with one of the best views on the island.
Reviewed August 5, 2018

We returned here and enjoyed their lovely pumpkin fritters and winter salad. A bit pricier than other places but you leave well fed. That winter salad makes a nice change from the relentless caesar salad on offer everywhere too.

The views are lovely and it's very laid back. The staff are professional and friendly.

I saw that there were discounts on offer on Saturdays but didn't see any further detail. This would be of particular interest to those of us suffering Brexit-fuelled exchange rates, but even so it's hardly exorbitant compared with a lot of the silly prices on the west coast.

Our only concern was that the usual 10% service charge (ok, we were sat down rather than there for a takeaway) was then coupled with suggestions to add a "gratuity". I think that you expect one or the other, not both. I'm happy to reward staff but can't bring myself to do so twice.

But overall lovely and well worth a visit.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dolores D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (784)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 784 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2018 via mobile

Nice place me and my husband went to have a nice meal but it was twenty to four and no one was there to serve anything and we were told that we are closing by 4 SAD!!! So we left very disappointed

Thank 67walaae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoundHouseBarbados, Owner at Round House, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2018

Hi Walaa E, so sorry you arrived in late afternoon and we were already preparing to close for the day! In high season (Nov-Apr) we are open all day and evening for both lunch and dinner, but in low season (May-Oct) like many restaurants we do close for the dinner hour, due to lower visitor traffic, particularly on the East Coast. Even still, while many places on the south and west coasts serve only til 3:00, we extend our lunch hour a bit to accommodate people traveling to this side. To make sure you have a table for lunch, the best thing to do is reserve a table and time with us for any day of the week so we know to expect you! I hope we'll be able to make it up to you another time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 26, 2018 via mobile

The Round House in an idyllic setting had been highly recommended to us so we drove especially to visit from the west of the island. We initially only enquired about drinks and were not offered the menu and it appeared that we were then just an inconvenience to the staff and inferior to other bigger party eating there.

Having searched for a menu ourselves and decided to order the local Bajan dish, Macaroni Pie, it arrived rather luke warm and rather bland unlike elsewhere we had tasted on the island.

Table water arrived only just as we were about to leave. When we paid we didn’t even get a thank you ( not surprisingly we didn’t add a tip). Also there was a window shutter behind my wife’s head which almost hit her multiple times. We left very disappointed.

Tip. Every customer should be treated like long lost friends. After all we chose to spend our money there. Sadly not again.

Thank cricketfan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoundHouseBarbados, Owner at Round House, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2018

Hi cricketfan1, we really appreciate our guests' feedback, so thank you or taking the time to leave it here. We prioritize the selection and retention of our staff based on a high standard of genuine character and care, as our customer service is of the utmost importance to us. It's very rare that we see or hear a review like the one you've left, and so I'd like to find out which day and around what time you visited us, so I can consult the roster for the day and try to determine where and how we were at fault. It's of great concern, as we specifically DO approach our customers as not only our "guests", but our "friends".. and many, many of them becomes just that:) If you could provide details of when you were here I can do my best to address the situation you experienced.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 1, 2018 via mobile

We found this restaurant as we drove through Bathsheba. The lady who served us was lovely, very friendly and accommodating, the views were amazing and the menu offered a large choice to suit all tastes. We had the pulled pork sandwich for lunch with mango daiquiris. Both were delicious and reasonably priced. Would definitely recommend this restaurant which also offers accommodation

1  Thank Rich2768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoundHouseBarbados, Owner at Round House, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2018

Hi Rich2768, many thanks for taking the time to review and describe your experience with us! We'll see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 19, 2018

Once you find this hidden gem it’s hard not to be impressed with location and views of Soup Bowl famed for surfers although none when we were there. Had early morning coffee and another day lunch. V Quiet both times but believe evenings popular and has music. Didn’t experience any issues like Corfucarol but everyone can have a bad day...even reviewers. It’s all subjective!

Thank Terriplane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoundHouseBarbados, Owner at Round House, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2018

Hi Terriplane, it definitely is;) We're happy to hear you had a great experience with us and thank you for taking the time to share it here for others! We take our customer service very seriously - and hold each other to the highest standard in this area! Appreciate your review here..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Round House also viewed

Bathsheba, Saint Joseph Parish
Bathsheba, Saint Joseph Parish
 
Holetown, Saint James Parish
New Castle, Saint John Parish
 
Belleplaine, Saint Andrew Parish
Speightstown, Saint Peter Parish
 

Been to Round House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing