We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely amazing!”
Review of The Atlantis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Atlantis Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Bathsheba B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing!”
Reviewed 13 March 2012

My wife and i stayed at atlantis last year and had an amazing time. The staff was friendly and the food was delightful. We are currently planning to go again as they have a special running right now.

There is a Groupon type of company in Barbados that has a pretty awesome deal on for a 3 day stay. For $600 bds ($300 USD) you get a three night stay inclusive of continental breakfast. The deal expires in 2 days.

The link is www.demandthedeal.com

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fistikal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    52
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
40
172
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

I was relieved to finally arrive at this historic great house. My run up to this holiday was stressful and to add to the mix, i had just started a course of antibiotics so wasnt feeling very sharp. We hadn't had time to prepare so had just bungled a few old summer clothes into a suitcase, grabbed some suncream at the airport and that was it.
Immediately stepping in, we were greeted by the lovely Claire who's genuine smile could lift the spirits of the most weary traveller. She offered us a rum or fruit punch and showed us to the bar area to wait. The view from here was spectacular and as I sat there watching the waves crashing on the beach/pebbles below, I felt I had left my stress at the airport. Andrew, the owner came out to say hello. Any fans of Rutger Hauer back in the day, will be delighted to see his younger Australian cousin running the place. Andrew has his female fans and they can be seen most lunchtimes, trying to get his attention. He has that cool, Aussie style that makes him so approachable. He is always charming and polite. He clearly cares deeply about the welfare of his guests.

Moaners and nit pickers stay away. This place is strictly for the laid back.
There are faults to find if you want to see them but this old house is steeped in charm and character. The wooden floorboards upstairs are a case in point. They are stunningly beautiful. The bedrooms are decorated to perfection. New England meets Chic Carribean. We were in Glenbernie and loved it.The bed was enormous and so unbelievably comfortable. We slept like logs(2 fat ones). From the bed, as you look out, all you can see are the waves banging against the beach and the noise is dominating but fills you with such a feeling of bliss. I don't think there's anything better. It's a tonic for the beleaguered soul. I believe this hotel, in this location to be my perfect holiday destination. Wild, uncomplicated and very romantic.
 We booked a table for the famous Sunday Buffet lunch and was advised to book a later time of 3pm so that we could take some leftovers to our room for later if we wanted. There is no food available in the restaurant on Sunday nights so we looked forward to the buffet and all it promised to be. It was very busy and we watched from our poolside loungers, the hungry gatherers piling their plates high with Bajan delights. By the time we came to get ours, there wasn't as an attractive selection but we settled on a plate of baked fish, rubbed pork and brown gravy which was my favourite, rice and beans and some other local veg sides. All in all it was very nice but probably would have been better 2 hours earlier. The desserts were all but annihilated by 4 and there was nothing left of the buffet to take to our room if we had wanted to. Diane told us we could order a salad for later which we did. It was delivered immediately to the fridge in our room. The service at the Atantis is impressive. The staff are wonderful. All smiles. Nothing  is too much trouble. Diane reminds me of the very lovely Mrs Obama. She has that air of relaxed professionalism that immediately gives you confidence that if you were mid flight and the announcement came over the tannoy" Can anyone on board fly this plane?", you just know Diane would be the one to get up. We were particularly impressed by the way she frequently did a walk by of all areas checking that all guests needs were being attended to. 
The food in the main is good but we preferred the salads and the catch of the day. The lunchtime menu is more extensive than the evening and the restaurant gets busy during the day so you might need to book. Breakfasts are Bajan style but they will make something not on the menu if they can. Look out for lookalikes; Laurence Fishburne serving drinks, Whoopie Goldberg and Miss Jay(America's Next Top Model)serving breakfasts. 
Swimming in the sea along this coast is dangerous and not recommended. People were swimming when the tide had gone out in the afternoon when it wasn't as rough. We opted for a walk along the coastal path. If you face the sea, walking right takes you on a varied rough path ( good shoes and a good level of fitness required) and can be a bit hazardous in places but is wild and unspoiled and worth a look. Walking left takes you towards the surfers paradise known as Soup Bowl. You'll pass by popular picnics spots for the locals, lovely beaches and some impressive crashing waves. It really is stunning on this coast. Watch out for the buses! They drive like racing drivers who just need another 12 points to win the Championship. 
Out of the 2 hotels, the other one being Little Good Harbour on the West coast,The Atlantis is our favourite (see other review) and we will be staying here when we return to Barbados. Top tip-silicone earplugs. We used them and couldn't hear a thing( including Mr. Fat log's über loud snoring)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank villarospo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
72 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

This is a perfect high quality spot to spend your time on barbados. On the beautifull and more rough part of barbados this beautifull and luxury hotel with good restaurant has an amazing view.
Just around the corner (100 meters) the beach for surfing and perfect spot to do day trips around the island without the hassle of traffic like in the main city or hotel strip.
Good quality rooms with good beds and amazing views to the ocean. Only problem could be that you hear the waves very good ;-) Ocean is a bit rough so if you like waves it's perfect. Be aware beach is 100 meters walking but swimming pool is included at the hotel.
Staff is not only proffesional but also friendly. Also when the boss is not around ;-)

Room Tip: Ocean rooms are perfect. Just 5 meters from the ocean. walking
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bingtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

If you like the idea of lying in bed, watching the Atlantic rollers crashing in, then the Atlantis Hotel is for you - the location is truly spectacular!

Added to this, the bedrooms are very clean, spacious and well equipped, the food is delicious and all the staff are exceptionally helpful and friendly. We have just enjoyed 10 wonderful days in the Soup Bowl room.

Although the hotel is on the quieter East Coast, travelling around is quite easy. We rode on the bus to the Kensington Oval in Bridgetown, to watch Barbados play Trinidad and Tobago at cricket. After that, we rented a car, and enjoyed very much exploring the beautiful and unspoilt Eastern and Northern areas, driving past old chattel houses and sugar plantations and experiencing the "real Barbados". Of particular interest were the old Morgan Lewis windmill, St Nicholas Abbey plantation house, and the stunning seascapes at Little Bay, and North Point. We also, on one occasion, had lunch at the Atlantis's sister restaurant, the Fish Pot near Speightstown. This had a very different, but equally beautiful, location and the food was equally excellent.

Other reviewers have mentioned that the Atlantis is very busy at lunchtimes. The restaurant is deservedly popular with day trippers, but this in no way spoilt it for us. The pool area is for the use of the residential guests only, so remained quiet, with just the distant sound of people chatting, and the clink of glasses. If we ourselves wished to eat lunch, there was no problem getting a table, although we did take the precaution of making a booking for Sunday buffet day.

On our last day, the staff kindly let us have the use of another room after we had vacated the Soup Bowl at noon to make room for incoming guests, as our airport taxi wasn't picking us up until 6 pm.

We would strongly recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to experience true Bajan hospitality, outstanding service and food quality, and to see the most beautiful parts of the island.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front have the best view, but the rooms at the side are extremely spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheshiretravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We loved our stay here and would definitely return. The staff was always attentive and friendly. The rooms are beautiful, they have a simple clean look. We ate at the buffet one of the days and the variety and quality of food was superb. We took some gorgeous quiet walks along the beach which is not crowded. The coast is beautiful and it was amazing to wake up to the view every morning.

One of the days there was a wedding lunch in the restaurant, but it wasn't an issue, we still got the service we needed from the front desk.

I would stay again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: You must stay on the ocean side, it has breathtaking views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Em B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

So, a return to our favourite Barbados hideaway and again we were not disappointed. The Atlantis is a beautiful, relaxing and stunning break from the West coast and gives us a sense of the real Barbados every time we visit. This time we arrived halfway through our three week holiday for a two night break. We arrived at lunchtime with our parents and were greeted by the lovely Diane. Diane is an absolute star...she always greets us like long lost friends. We were offered a cold drink whilst we waited for our room and offered a bite to eat from the buffet. A number of the staff recognised us and came over to say hello and welcome back. A wonderful start to our break.

On our last trip we stayed in the Soup Bowl room, however as we had our parents with us on this trip we booked the Upper Capernum cottage which is adjacent to the main part of the hotel. It has wonderful views of the ocean, a verandah with rocking chairs, two double bedrooms; one of which has stunning views, a large bathroom and dressing area, huge kitchen, dining and sitting room. A really excellent choice. We all loved it. The cottage had access to the pool area and was a stones throw from the restaurant. Perfect. We all commented on how comfortable the beds were and how lovely it was sitting on the porch listening to the Atlantic crashing below.

The first evening we opted to eat at the restaurant and booked a table by the rail overlooking the sea. That evening was very windy however it did not distract us too much. My parents had a small issue with their meal which came out a little cold. This was immediately rectified by the staff without question and with many apologies. Food is generally excellent at the hotel, the staff are attentive, friendly and service is good. In particular Adrian at breakfast and Manny who is the Restaurant Manager. Manny proved why this restaurant is so good. He seriously knows how to look after his guests. Customer service is second to none here and we cannot fault it. On the second day we opted to have lunch so in the evening arranged to have room service in the cottage. My husband mentioned this to Manny and he arranged for us to have some sandwiches delivered rather than a full meal. Again another example of good customer service. Sandwiches were not on the evening menu, however arrangements were made to fulfill our request and everyone was happy.

We are always surprised by some of the unsavoury reviews on here when they question quality of service. I just think that some people have such high and often unrealistic expectations and thus they will never ever be satisfied, I remember the owner, Andrew Worden stating in one such review that some people want everything for nothing......so please please do not take these negative reviews as fact...they are completely in the minority. One thing that cannot be called into question at the Atlantis is the quality of service and the friendliness of the staff. It is exemplary and Andrew should be proud of this.

As always a wonderful stay and an absolute must when travelling to Barbados. I cannot recommend it highly enough. If you have time we would also recommend a visit to the Little Good Harbour hotel, located north of the island (see my other reviews). We have stayed there a number of times and absolutely love it. A different experience to the Atlantis and one that we would highly recommend. LGH is a quiet haven in a beautiful location and serves excellent food at the Fish Pot restaurant. We visited twice for lunch on this trip and I even managed a visit to the Spa for a pedicure. A special mention to Graham Dear, the Manager at LGH. Another jewel in the hotel's crown. A gentleman and an absolute pleasure to meet on our visits every year.

Thank you again Atlantis staff for another wonderful stay....we will be returning again in December, this time bringing some friends who have never been to Barbados before. We plan to show them the beauty of the island and all it has to offer - both the Atlantis and Little Good Harbour are most definitely on the itinerary.

Room Tip: Soup Bowl is our favourite room with stunning views, however the Upper Capernum Cottage would be goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moondance2010, Owner at The Atlantis Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
So nice to read your review - Treat those how you would expect to be treated and all should be good.

We look forward to seeing you all in December.

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We had eaten at the Atlantis before and enjoyed very good lunches but we stayed for the first time for two nights in January. It was a very good way to start a holiday in Barbados. First of all the staff could not be more welcoming; Diane is a charming and thoroughly helpful manager who quickly makes you feel at home.
The food is excellent and the rooms spacious.
The setting makes the hotel special. Where else in Barbados can you stroll out of the hotel and wander around quiet roads with hardly any traffic or take a walk along the coastal footpath; it's a kind of tropical Cornwall with stunning views.
Besides good food at the hotel, you can lunch at The Cove, not far away and run by a well-known bajan chef and cookery writer.
The Andromeda Garden is fine but a little further away Hunte's garden is even more magnificent.
Go for a refreshing change from the crowded west coast.

Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bathsheba
14.5 km away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,035 reviews
13.6 km away
All Seasons Resort Europa
All Seasons Resort Europa
#1 of 1 in Sunset Crest
271 reviews
16.7 km away
Butterfly Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 km away
Blue Orchids Beach Hotel
Blue Orchids Beach Hotel
#23 of 51 in Christ Church Parish
340 reviews
13.9 km away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
2,463 reviews
16.9 km away
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
#10 of 51 in Christ Church Parish
1,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Atlantis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Atlantis Hotel

Property: The Atlantis Hotel
Address: Tent Bay | St. Joseph, Bathsheba BB21054, Barbados
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Joseph Parish > Bathsheba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bathsheba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Atlantis Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Views to die for, located on the rugged east coast of Barbados - ideal for those who wish to get away from it all - a good book - good company - small and friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Atlantis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantis Hotel Bathsheba
The Atlantis Hotel Barbados/Bathsheba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing