We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Getaway”
Review of Sea-U Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sea-U Guest House
Ranked #2 of 3 Bathsheba B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 10 February 2012

If you want to take time out and relax in a casual, understated, lovely, well-maintained place, SeaUGuest House is for you. We stayed 4 nights in Suite 9 (owner's suite) and had a great experience. The suite was immaculate, had a great jacuzzi, wonderful covered porch with great sea views, ample lounge space and kitchen.
The staff at Sea U was delightful and very helpful. Incredibly well-organized and very nice. Most important, the other guests were well-travelled, interesting, polite and a plasure to meet. This is a rare, quiet oasis on the east coast of Barbados - the least developed area of the island. Breakfast time was an excellent time to share tips with fellow travellers. Honor bar system worked well. Small, but good selection of wine and beer. We ate at Atlantis next door several evenings - wonderful outdoor space with good food and wine. Highly recommend Seau- would not have stayed anywehre else.

Room Tip: If you are looking for space, then suite 9 - owner's suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZenaRd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (364)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 363 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2012

My husband and I spent 11 days in Barbados and the Sea-U Guest house was by far the most memorable place during our stay. We stayed at the Sea-U for three nights because we wanted to explore what I believe to be the more beautiful part of the island. So, Sea-U is a perfect location for those who really want to getaway and enjoy the real outdoors. It’s a bit of a rugged ride getting to Bathsheba, but it is worth it!

The staff was incredibly friendly, helpful and provided wonderful service. The office managers were both helpful in answering our questions, getting a rental car and giving us advice on where to go/what to do! I must also say we had a great time talking to and hearing stories from Sea Cat as we enjoyed our afternoon coconut water drinks!

After a long day of sight-seeing, hiking, etc it was great to back to Sea-U to just relax & take in the sea views. The room was very clean, spacious and well decorated. We had dinner at the Sea-U on two nights and enjoyed the meals and company! I was pleasantly surprised to meet other couples from different parts of the world there too!

Anyway, thank you Sea-U Guest House team for a memorable experience. We definitely see ourselves coming back for more! Take Care & God Bless

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pvaski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

My boyfriend and I just spent 4 nights at Sea-U on a quick trip to Barbados. We were so glad we decided to stay on the quieter Atlantic side of the island. Sea-U was great - nothing fancy but a perfect spot for a few days of R&R. The rooms were basic but clean. We stayed in the cottage which is a little down the hill from the main house, offering a little bit more privacy, not that there's a ton of activity anywhere on the property, but it was nice. The porches overlooking the lush landscaping leading down the ocean were perfect. My boyfriend found it nearly impossible to lay in the hammock without falling asleep. It was so peaceful to drift off to the sounds of the ocean. The staff was totally helpful and friendly. Breakfast is ok, nothing special. Dinners were great. We ate 3 of the 4 nights at Sea-U and enjoyed every one. It's really nice not to have to drive anywhere for dinner after a day of navigating the island's mostly unmarked roads. The initial drive from the airport was pretty stressful due to lack of street signs and driving on the opposite side of the road. I would suggest maybe a cab to Sea-U and having the rental company drop a car off there. Mosquitos were a bit of an issue, but the netting around the bed solved that problem for sleeping. I would absolutely recommend a stay at Sea-U.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jgodic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

If you're looking to stay at the Sea-U you're probably interested in a calm and relaxing place, closer to nature and away from the "touristy" side of Barbados. Well, I think it's safe to say that's what you´ll find here, and in Bathsheba in general.

Less than 15 min walking to the surf beaches, the Sea-U is perfect to go with your wife or girlfriend. You'll be surfing Soupbowl or Parlor's while she is getting sun-tanned during the day. Then in the evening you'll have a few but good options to have a romantic dinner: the Sea-U itself, the Atlantis Hotel right next door (probably the best dinner in town), Dina's (she decides what days to open, so check before you go), the Round House...

Breakfast at the Sea-U can sometimes become boring (everyday is the same) but nothing to complain about. The place is clean (actually the whole island is much cleaner than what we expected), and the staff is friendly and helpful, like the rest of the people of Barbados.

Lovely trip, good waves, we'll be back soon!!!

Room Tip: If you don't mind paying a bit more, choose the cottage. It's a separate house next to the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dani_Cera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2011

We stayed for one night on our way to the Grenadines. We were initially going to book into the Hilton but decided we wanted something with a bit more character. We booked the taxi and dinner at the same time and Mrs Thompson was there to greet us. She gave us a little tour on our way to the hotel and took a different route back the following day to show us a little more. Our room was basic but comfortable, dinner was just for the two of us and was very tasty. We would consider returning here in preference to the high tech resorts on the West coast. In fact, on our return we booked a 4 hour tour which covered much of the west coast and I must admit that we have no urge return to that part of the island.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brent141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Very relaxed and chilled out place, we stayed for 4 nights in the cottage and the room was fantastic. The staff are very friendly and helpful in sorting out trips, car hire etc.

The communal evening meals are a great way to meet other guests, but we felt they were slightly overpriced (although the quality of the food was good).

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ELRiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We spent 5 nights at Sea-U during our stay in Barbados. Our room was very nice, the restaurant is lovely, with a sea view and the staff are very friendly. The grounds are beautiful, with plenty of spots to relax in.

We ate here 3 nights out of 5, and was probably the best food we had at any of the accommodations we stayed at. Dinner is served to all guests at the same time, which was nice as we got to meet other people staying there.

The surrounding area is lovely, and you can get to Bridgetown easily by bus, but we hired a car for a couple of days so we could get to see more of the island.

We'd definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lexi09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bathsheba
17.1 km away
Infinity on the Beach
17.7 km away
Ocean Spray Beach Apartments
Ocean Spray Beach Apartments
#28 of 50 in Christ Church Parish
222 reviews
17.1 km away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 km away
Rostrevor Hotel
Rostrevor Hotel
#5 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
634 reviews
17.1 km away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,122 reviews
0.1 km away
The Atlantis Hotel
The Atlantis Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bathsheba
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea-U Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea-U Guest House

Address: Tent Bay | St. Joseph, Bathsheba BB21054, Barbados
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Joseph Parish > Bathsheba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bathsheba
Price Range: $163 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea-U Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A chic and affordable bed & breakfast at the lush east coast. Sea-U is tucked within a lush tropical garden along the seaside slopes of the village of Bathsheba on the east coast of Barbados, the most natural side of the island. Here you can enjoy unspoiled beaches, breathtaking views and mingle with locals. Uschi Wetzels, owner and manager and fell in love with Bathsheba and its friendly people, while working on a Barbados travel guide for a German editor. With hammocks strung between coconut palms, the Atlantic Ocean waves breaking against massive limestone boulders. Sea-U is a place for those who are looking for a decidedly significant change of pace from a busy life. The main house and the cottage are built in a traditional island style out of wood with large patios. The 10 rooms and apartments are decorated with mahogany furniture, louver window treatments, rattan chairs, locally handcrafted clay lamps and batik art. Sea-U's welcoming staff provides knowledgeable information. The atmosphere is relaxed, and guests quickly become friends. Green Globe certified, close to Andromeda Botanical Gardens and world class surfing at Soup Bowl. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Sea-U Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea-u Guest House Hotel Bathsheba
Sea-U Guest House Barbados/Bathsheba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing