We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tropical Perfection”
Review of Sea-U Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sea-U Guest House
Ranked #2 of 3 Bathsheba B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 4 March 2012

This was the best vacation that my wife & I have ever taken. Top top it off, we stayed here at the Sea-U Guest House. The room was huge and quite comfortable. There are no glass windows here because you do not need them! A mosquito net was provided but I only saw one mosquito during our entire stay in Barbados. The sounds of the waves (quite loud day and night) and the smell of the sea-spray was fantastic.

Eating at the Sea-U was a daily treat. Breakfast included eggs & bacon, toast, banana bread, & coffee or tea. We ate dinner here every other day when it included some of the local seafood, yams, & plantains. An "Honesty Bar" was offered that included a variety of beers, wines and spirits including local rum and of course RUM PUNCH! The rum punch at the Sea-U was some of the best offered in Barbados.

The staff was friendly, helpful, and when the week was over we were very sad to say good-bye to them! For getting around beautiful Barbados they helped with bus information, booking taxi's and rental cars, and even suggestions of local hiking and site seeing opportunities.

We are planning on returning to the Sea-U because it was great and there are a number of things we simply didn't have time to do in our first trip including: a guided local hike, yoga instruction, massage, surfing, and more Bajan cuisine.

Room Tip: There are only eight rooms... they are all very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anthony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (372)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 372 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2012

Our suite was spotless and full of the charm most places can only dream of capturing. We think Sea-U is an incredible value. The staff was extremely helpful. We were assisted with everything from travel plans to transportation and there was always someone there to assist our questions. We were greeted at the airport by one of Sea-U's drivers (despite our flight arriving later than expected at 23:30) and traveled easily throughout our stay by foot or in taxi's arranged by reception.

This was a real breath of fresh air for us. The owners quest to leave a small footprint on the environment makes the accomodations - cooked dinners, full baths, kitchen, an honor bar and our jacuzzi that much more rewarding. Sea-U has managed to provide these amenities without damaging the lush surroundings or muting the rich Bajan culture that you want to see. There is a constant warm breeze that moves off the Atlantic up the salt sprayed cliff that Sea-U is perched on. It moves through the coconut palms and into the louvered doors to cut away any heat that the fans haven't sweep away.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor of the main house in owners Suite #9
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HKG959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Sea-U is as charming as their website portrays, with breathtaking views. Remember to confirm air conditioning in your room. The overhead fan didn't quite cut the humidity, and the air conditioned room was taken. The service was wonderful... lovely people and delicious food. Travel date was May-June 2010.

Room Tip: Air conditioning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MT21PDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Exactly what we wanted, gorgeous to relax...if you NEED air conditioning, stay elsewhere, but if you can appreciate natural beauty and relaxation stay here. I loved the family style dinners with the authentic Bajan cooking. Great way to meet others.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PKNSW16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We spent 3 nights at this B&B in Batsheba during our 2 weeks-vacation in Barbados. Batsheba itself is a very characteristic place in Barbados, less turistic than the West and South sides of the island; which is just what we were looking for at the beginning of our holidays. We had a very nice stay at the Sea-U guest house; our room in the main house was very nice with plenty of wood, it was clean, cosy... the view was spectacular and the sound of the waves helped us sleap at night. The food was OK (breakfast and dinner). If we ever go back to Barbados, we'll definetely return there!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mole188666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

If you want to take time out and relax in a casual, understated, lovely, well-maintained place, SeaUGuest House is for you. We stayed 4 nights in Suite 9 (owner's suite) and had a great experience. The suite was immaculate, had a great jacuzzi, wonderful covered porch with great sea views, ample lounge space and kitchen.
The staff at Sea U was delightful and very helpful. Incredibly well-organized and very nice. Most important, the other guests were well-travelled, interesting, polite and a plasure to meet. This is a rare, quiet oasis on the east coast of Barbados - the least developed area of the island. Breakfast time was an excellent time to share tips with fellow travellers. Honor bar system worked well. Small, but good selection of wine and beer. We ate at Atlantis next door several evenings - wonderful outdoor space with good food and wine. Highly recommend Seau- would not have stayed anywehre else.

Room Tip: If you are looking for space, then suite 9 - owner's suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZenaRd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

My husband and I spent 11 days in Barbados and the Sea-U Guest house was by far the most memorable place during our stay. We stayed at the Sea-U for three nights because we wanted to explore what I believe to be the more beautiful part of the island. So, Sea-U is a perfect location for those who really want to getaway and enjoy the real outdoors. It’s a bit of a rugged ride getting to Bathsheba, but it is worth it!

The staff was incredibly friendly, helpful and provided wonderful service. The office managers were both helpful in answering our questions, getting a rental car and giving us advice on where to go/what to do! I must also say we had a great time talking to and hearing stories from Sea Cat as we enjoyed our afternoon coconut water drinks!

After a long day of sight-seeing, hiking, etc it was great to back to Sea-U to just relax & take in the sea views. The room was very clean, spacious and well decorated. We had dinner at the Sea-U on two nights and enjoyed the meals and company! I was pleasantly surprised to meet other couples from different parts of the world there too!

Anyway, thank you Sea-U Guest House team for a memorable experience. We definitely see ourselves coming back for more! Take Care & God Bless

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pvaski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bathsheba
18 km away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 6 in Bridgetown
3,933 reviews
13.5 km away
All Seasons Resort Europa
All Seasons Resort Europa
#1 of 1 in Sunset Crest
295 reviews
14.4 km away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 km away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
405 reviews
17.1 km away
Infinity on the Beach
0.1 km away
The Atlantis Hotel
The Atlantis Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bathsheba
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea-U Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea-U Guest House

Address: Tent Bay | St. Joseph, Bathsheba BB21054, Barbados
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Joseph Parish > Bathsheba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bathsheba
Price Range: C$161 - C$315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea-U Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A chic and affordable bed & breakfast at the lush east coast. Sea-U is tucked within a lush tropical garden along the seaside slopes of the village of Bathsheba on the east coast of Barbados, the most natural side of the island. Here you can enjoy unspoiled beaches, breathtaking views and mingle with locals. Uschi Wetzels, owner and manager and fell in love with Bathsheba and its friendly people, while working on a Barbados travel guide for a German editor. With hammocks strung between coconut palms, the Atlantic Ocean waves breaking against massive limestone boulders. Sea-U is a place for those who are looking for a decidedly significant change of pace from a busy life. The main house and the cottage are built in a traditional island style out of wood with large patios. The 10 rooms and apartments are decorated with mahogany furniture, louver window treatments, rattan chairs, locally handcrafted clay lamps and batik art. Sea-U's welcoming staff provides knowledgeable information. The atmosphere is relaxed, and guests quickly become friends. Green Globe certified, close to Andromeda Botanical Gardens and world class surfing at Soup Bowl. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sea-U Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea-u Guest House Hotel Bathsheba
Sea-U Guest House Barbados/Bathsheba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing