We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (386)
Filter reviews
386 results
Traveller rating
254
104
16
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
254
104
16
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest houseother guestshonesty barthe east coastget awaya lovely stayopen airair conditioningexplore the islandceiling fansoup bowlanimal flower cavesound of the wavesatlantis hotelbreakfast and dinnerthe atlantic oceanself catering
Filter
Updating list...
154 - 159 of 386 reviews
Reviewed January 27, 2013

A complete retreat from modern noise and activity, the Sea-U Guest House provides a haven from the technology that interrupts your inner peace and stresses everyone else out too; after a little while Sea-U really does feel like the Garden of Eden.

The setting is secluded but not too remote; it's not far to the beach where you can stroll or sit and watch amazing surfers or sit in one of the rock pools. There are a couple of local bars - nothing fancy but friendly where you can get a beer, etc.

It's quite a steep hill on the way home but no-one is in a hurry, are they? You can always find a shady hammock or a comfy seat on the deck when you get back while the delightful little honesty bar is waiting with cool drinks to refresh you. I never slept so well nor so long as I did here. If you haven't opted for aircon, take anti mosquito stuff and use the bed net, leaving the shutters open to the breeze.

Ushi has brought the best of her German hospitality skills to Bathsheba and successfully married them to Bajan ways. Eating the lovely home cooked food with other guests in the evening is a treat and an opportunity to meet and learn a bit about other cultures (and sometimes a bit about yourself!) the sound of the sea insists that you breathe and move at a different, slower pace. Don't fight it! The rooms are spacious, shady, cool and clean and the staff are so kind and there is always someone around if you need them.

If you want to indulge in restaurant style fine dining, the Atlantis is a 2 minute walk but you need to book ahead.

So, spend a few days here and re-learn the simple pleasure of a holiday like the ones when you were a kid. If you want action, entertainment and hi-tec accessories and competitive fashion, you won't adjust easily to this place, but I urge you to try!

Room Tip: We had Room 4, lower level on a corner so it had windows on 3 sides and is furthest from the reception/bar/restaurant. It also has a bit more porch space and aspect.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frances I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed for a week at the start of December 2012. It is a beautifully bohemian place which is still clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly yet discreet and the information given by the website accurate. We loved the pace of life and privacy. A highlight was the hike with Seacat..not to be undertaken by the unfit or poorly shod. We learnt so much and really enjoyed the whole day.The gentle breezes meant we never even used the air con and we slept for12 hours a night. The ideal place to really relax and recharge. Don't be afraid of using the local bus to speightstown etc. It is reliable and cheap and offers an interesting experience!
Nicky and Tim

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nb1096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 28, 2012

My friend and I visited SeaU Guest house on December 20-22 for a few days on the amazing east coast of the island.

We had a room in the main house - corner unit number 4. The room was gorgeous and looked just like the photos on the site. We even sat out every morning and watched the day go by, including a family of monkeys on the last day! Very cool.

The beds could use a bit more foam, but not bad all around! You can also go down to the Atlantis resort to use the pool provided you purchase lunch or drinks.

Loved sitting out in the hammocks and talking a walk around the soup bowl. Great location and very quiet. Perfect if you're looking to get away from it all and relax.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JT_in_Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Here we are, sitting on our verandah, on the last night of our short, week-long stay at the Sea-U Guesthouse, and I just have to post this while the experience is fresh. We have traveled often in the Caribbean, mostly staying at all-inclusive resorts, but this is our first foray into the land of guesthouses. It's doubtful anything will live up to this. The Sea-U Guesthouse provides an unforgettable, relaxing and peaceful experience. You can tell the owner, Uschi, was a travel writer, because she knows exactly what her guests would need and desire during their stay. Nothing has been neglected, from delicious, local items for breakfast to get your day going--included, to a rental car that comes with your room, to dinners served family-style with new friends from around the world served in the intimate, outdoor, tropical dining hall, to the friendly and very-efficient staff--in the background, hardly noticed, and yet there at your beck and call, to the hammocks--I had no idea they would be as wonderful and tranquil as everyone in the reviews said. We've discovered heaven in Barbados and will be hard-pressed to find anything like this again. Thank you for a very memorable vacation. Rarely, have I left for home feeling this refreshed, renewed and relaxed!

Room Tip: We chose the cottage because it is air-conditioned, but if I had to choose that over a view of the sea, I would go for the main building with the view. All they need to do is some trimming of the foliage and you would have both in the cottage!
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Canadamichellej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UschiW, Owner at ECO Lifestyle & Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2012

Dear Michelle,
thank you for your very positive feedback. The tree trimming is scheduled for next week. We don't own the piece of land and negotiations with the neighbor took some time but now we are allowed to trim. See you again hopefully one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We were actually booked for week at other side of the island but are so glad we went over to check out the east side and we certainly don't think we could have found anywhere nicer to stay (or have breakfast) than the Sea-U. Honesty bar is a bonus - although the 2 bars in walking distance are great too.
Just beware of the mosquitoes lurking in the bathroom waiting to swoop!

Room Tip: All have superb views
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews