We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NIRVANA!!!!!!!”
Review of Sea-U Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sea-U Guest House
Ranked #2 of 3 Bathsheba B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 5 May 2008

I booked 4 nights at the Sea U Guest house in April 2008. It was around 7pm when I left the airport and started my journey to the Sea U guest house. The only information I had on the guest house were the reviews and photos on trip advisor along with the information on Sea U’s website. The route on the way to the guest house was dark and desolate which had me feeling a little apprehensive about staying there. I started wondering what I had gotten myself into but from the first moment I saw the main house my apprehension vanished and after I got to my room, cottage #7, I absolutely loved the place. The room was simply furnished and very, very clean. Cottage #7 did not have a television, phone, radio, microwave or stove in the room. There was a four poster bed, a small refrigerator, an air conditioner, two wicker chairs with a table, and a coffee pot. The bathroom has a tub with hot and cold water. There were two wraps instead of robes next to the double doors that led to the porch where there was of all things……………………. a hammock. PURE NIRVANA. The room has wooden louvers in the doors and windows which allows the fresh air to constantly circulate throughout the room. There is a small restaurant where complimentary breakfast is served and this consists of toast, butter/margarine and/or jelly, coconut and banana bread, cereal, milk and orange juice, coffee and tea. For the extra items like bacon & eggs or fresh seasonal fruit etc., there is a nominal charge. There is a small bench where you can sit and watch the ocean and not far from the bench there are hammocks between the coconut trees where you can relax and enjoy the unbelievably peacefulness and serenity of the Sea U guest house. A short stroll from the Sea U guest house is the Atlantis hotel that has a delicious lunch buffet that is worth trying. There is a bus stop on the main road a short walk from Sea U where you can get a bus to the store to pick up supplies. The Andromeda Gardens is a 10 minute walk from the Sea U guest house and a 5 minute walk in the opposite direction is a beautiful park by the beach in Bathsheba. It can be very quiet at night at the guest house but in Bathsheba, opposite the park by the beach, you can find food and entertainment. Uschi and the staff at the Sea U are so pleasant and attentive that your stay seems more like a home away from home. BELIEVE…..The photos and the reviews about the Sea U guest house are TRUE. I would highly recommend the Sea U guest house if you want to experience a totally different and pleasant Bajan experience.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suza67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (363)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

244 - 250 of 363 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2008

My husband and I spent Spring break at the Sea-U Guest House in Barbados and had many interesting experiences!

We booked the room directly through the Sea-U website and arranged a taxi ride from the airport through Uschi (the owner of the Guest house) who met us at the B&B even though our flight arrived very late. She carefully explained the ins and outs of the B&B and had prepared sandwiches for us upon our arrival. There is a hospitality bar (where you can get soft drinks, water and rum of course, along with snacks like Pringles), and you just sign out what you take and it is added to your bill at the end of your stay. There are sarongs in the room for you to lounge around in instead of bathrobes (a nice touch!).

We didn't realise just how beautiful the grounds were until morning (we arrived at night) and the views are truly breathtaking - the most gorgeous tropical garden overlooking the Atlantic - stunning. If you look carefully, late afternoon, you may just spot some Green Monkeys jumping through the trees - take a good zoom lense if you wish to photograph them. We spent a couple of days just lazing in the hammocks and reading...it's very relaxing and peaceful! There are some real pros and some cons of staying in Bathsheba and I'll outline what we observed:

Pros:

*Gardens are beautiful - view amazing

*Uschi (owner) is friendly and helpful and has office staff to book excursions for you (we went on the Atlantis Submarine and a Catamaran trip to snorkle over shipwrecks and swim with turtles)

*Rooms are clean and simple, with great views and room 1 has it's own hammock on the porch (so does room 4)

*Bathsheba is beautiful - you can walk for miles and miles on the beach - easy walk to beach

*There are not many tourists in Bathsheba so you can observe the locals and soak in the culture

*The guests are international and the places is vibrant with different languages and accents - French, German, English, Canadian and a few Americans and it is great to exchange stories of the day with your neighbours and get ideas for trips

*The breakfast area is very pleasant - views to Atlantic

*Green Monkeys can be seen in the gardens and trying to break in the houses in Bathsheba!!!!

*Easy (uphill) walk to nearby Andromeda Botanical Gardens

Cons:

*There is no glass in the windows (which is a plus to let the air flow and the sea breeze enter at night..lovely to hear the sound of the waves...but....)...when it rains (and it did a lot at night!)..it's very noisy..also, if neighbours are on the porch talking and you want to sleep..it's also noisy...plus room one is close to the breakfast area and you can hear the noise of the place settings being set for breakfast! You can also hear noise from upstairs. Minor cons unless you are a light sleeper!

*There are very few dinner choices in Bathsheba...especially on a Sunday when most of the town is closed! Dinner is offered at the B&B for $25 per person..but the day we wanted to eat, the dinner got cancelled as it was only the two of us...a shame as the setting is very romantic.

*Bit of an uphill hike to get to the local supermarket to get supplies and the cost of food is VERY expensive for Americans - we were surprised at how much eating out was costing us and hadn't budgeted accordingly!!!!!

*The kitchen is not very well equipped....there is a much needed fridge, and sink..but there is no hot plate or microwave (and there is plently of space for both)..so no way to russle up a quick meal to save some money..there is only a kettle.

*You are quite isolated (GREAT!!!) unless you have a car..it is possible to get around by bus ....our neighbours did and had a great time..we did that last year in St Lucia so decided to hire a car this year.....watch out for the roads...they are TERRIBLE....so many pot holes..we got a flat tyre..if you do hire a car, then I would strongly suggest a jeep if you plan to do lots of travelling! We didn't stay out too late at night as it was such a long drive back to Bathsheba, the roads and road signs are bad and we were lost countless times..all part of the fun...but even after a week it was still very difficult!!! You'll see!!!!

Recommend:

*Hire a jeep
*Drive up North and walk the deserted beaches for miles
*Visit Wildlife Reserve - go for 2pm to see the Green Monkeys being fed
*Animal Flower Cave - not many anenomies - but coastal views are spectacular and the cave is quite interesting - it won't take you long!
*Welchman Hall Gully - fabulous tropical forest, hidden in the middle of Barbados - we went around 3pm and saw loads and loads of monkeys playing!
*Harrison's Cave - a cave with a difference as you go around on a little train! It is quite pretty though! There is no place to eat so we asked the lady selling tickets and she sent us up the hill to a locals joint - a green and pink shack that sells food to locals and us! Brilliant - the best and cheapest meal we had - a true cultural experience.
*Atlantis Submarine trip in Bridgetown - interesting if you have not done this before...I was expecting it to be more colouful though!
*Catamaran trip - 5 hours, snorkle over shipwrecks and swim with turtles - the bar is free flowing on the boat and the lunch is great!
*Bottom Bay - get there early - the most BEAUTIFUL beach - go on a sunny day to see just how turquoise the water is....swaying palms and a guy who will climb a coconut tree and bring you your own coconut - barter for the price!
*Paynes beach - very touristy, but beautiful swimming beach - if you have your won snorkle gear..follow the boats and snorkle with the turtles for free..we did this too..when the boats leave you are there alone with the turtles..very cool!
*Worthing beach...crowded but has some good shade under swaying palms.
*Oistins Fish Fry
*St Lawrence Gap - good choice of restaurants
*Round House restaurant in Bathsheba - gorgeous views
*Crane Beach hotel for lunch - good deal, spectacular views

That'll about do it!!! Feel free to contact me if you have any questions. I'm sure your saty at Sea-U will be wonderful - it's certainly unique and way, way better than your average beach hotel! Enjoy.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank selbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2008

We plan to return again and again! If you are looking for lodging that has the comfort of one's home, service of a fine hotel and camaraderie of meeting guests from all over the world Sea U... is for U.

Lovely rooms, exceedingly helpful staff and exceptional meals!

Example of the care you are provided: our son unfortunately was sunburned on the back of his legs from surfing, I asked if the local grocer would have aloe vera and was told by staff (Stacia) that she would get some for me. Minutes later she returned with a long fresh cut leaf from an aloe vera plant....kept it in the mini fridge, applied regularly and my son was good to go the very next day! :)

This area of the island has some of the most ruggedly beautiful scenery you will not be disappointed. Sitting on my room's front porch provided a gorgeous vista to enjoy! You will not be disappointed .....

Stayed: March 2008
Thank Hikimnjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Sea-U for a few nights as part of our first trip to Barbados. The Sea-U is nestled on top of a hill in Bathsheba and the front lawn is all palm trees with hammocks -- definitely rent a car if staying here! The staff were extremely responsive and helpful and the homecooked dinners very yummy. Rooms are clean and fresh. The walk to the beach is about 10 minutes, but the beach up in Bathsheba is very rocky and swimming is dangerous. However, the Sea--U is a great home base for day trips, which are an easy 30 minute drive to safe beach. We are absolutely going to return to the Sea-U!

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank kkshea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2008

Our third visit to Sea-U and it is still as good and one of our favorite places to stay. The rooms are pleasant with a small kitchen. The views from the garden are lovely, Atlantic waves breaking on the shore. There are at least six hammocks between the palm trees in the garden where we relaxed. We enjoyed breakfast and interesting dinners in the open air dining room. Uschi and her staff are very friendly and helpful. We can recomend the taxi (minibus) tours that she arranged for us.
Bathsheba is a beautiful area, well away from the "tourist areas" of the South and West coasts. We choose Bathsheba because we enjoy walking and lack of noise.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SnapperLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2008

We have just returned from a very relaxing and wonderful week at Sea U Guesthouse. Thanks to so many wonderful reviews on this site, we were happy to find that Sea U was truly a unique place to stay. Uschi, the owner, and her staff made many good suggestions, starting with using a local taxi service to "find" our way to Sea U from the airport. We rented a mini moke (glorified golf cart, but lots of fun!) for the week which was delivered to the guesthouse on the morning following our arrival. We were grateful that we didn't need to navigate the island, driving on the left with stick shift on our first day! We found a wonderful group of fellow guests from the U.K., Belgium and Canada, all eager to share tips on where to go and what to do. Dinners and breakfasts at Sea U were wonderful and tasty. Our room (#3) was clean and practical with small refridgerator, sink and some dishes for preparing simple snacks. The large front porch a favorite hang-out to read or chat with fellow guests.
We hope to return in the near future. Keep up the great work, Uschi and staff!!

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eastcosttraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2008

As frequent visitors to this wonderful island (we just returned), we always start or end every stay at Sea-U Guest House on the east coast of Barbados at Bathsheba. This area of Barbados is less “stamped” with the hustle and bustle of the built up west and south coasts.

What attracts us are the raw power of the Atlantic Ocean, the cooling relief of the trade winds that always blow, and the comfort of the pounding surf that seems to lull you into a sense of contentment. When you stay at Sea-U, you experience the chance to see Barbados as it was, free from the constant reminders of development and the busy pace of the world. Sea-U is a sanctuary where every minute creates a memory whether it is taking leisurely stolls on the sandy beaches, looking into the tide pools to view tiny fish of many colours and hues, or just following the route of the long-gone steam train that brought visitors to Bathsheba.

The Atlantic Ocean current is too strong for normal swimming, but waddling in the warm tide pools or seeing the surfers ply their trade in the Soup Bowl is more than enough to compensate. If you are adventuresome, you can explore the Andromeda Gardens up the road or take a long walk to the Gaggs Hill rum shop to quaff a few with the locals. Other things to explore require a car, and nearby attractions are a must like Chalky Mount potteries or a visit to North Point to feel the ocean spray on your face where the Caribbean Sea and the Atlantic Ocean meet.

With breakfast and dinner facilities available at Sea-U, you experience the real taste of Barbados as a generous meal is prepared by the Sea-U team and served in the company of other visitors from around the world. The atmosphere is relaxed and convivial. The guest house rooms and cottages at Sea-U are comfortable with the basic amenities you need, and we have stayed in both. With no TV, clocks, radio, or internet, Sea-U provides the perfect opportunity to read that special book in the hammock, watch the monkeys play in the palm trees, or catch up on life with that special someone.

It is a perfect get-away for those who seek a more natural and peaceful escape , and Uschi and her team goes out of their way to make it happen and provide a memorable experience of the Islands.

Bonnie and Bill, Airdrie, Alberta, Canada February 2008

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MrBlueV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bathsheba
17.1 km away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
353 reviews
17.1 km away
Infinity on the Beach
17.7 km away
Ocean Spray Beach Apartments
Ocean Spray Beach Apartments
#28 of 50 in Christ Church Parish
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 km away
Rostrevor Hotel
Rostrevor Hotel
#5 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
634 reviews
0.1 km away
The Atlantis Hotel
The Atlantis Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bathsheba
264 reviews
14.0 km away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
2,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea-U Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea-U Guest House

Address: Tent Bay | St. Joseph, Bathsheba BB21054, Barbados
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Joseph Parish > Bathsheba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bathsheba
Price Range: $155 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea-U Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A chic and affordable bed & breakfast at the lush east coast. Sea-U is tucked within a lush tropical garden along the seaside slopes of the village of Bathsheba on the east coast of Barbados, the most natural side of the island. Here you can enjoy unspoiled beaches, breathtaking views and mingle with locals. Uschi Wetzels, owner and manager and fell in love with Bathsheba and its friendly people, while working on a Barbados travel guide for a German editor. With hammocks strung between coconut palms, the Atlantic Ocean waves breaking against massive limestone boulders. Sea-U is a place for those who are looking for a decidedly significant change of pace from a busy life. The main house and the cottage are built in a traditional island style out of wood with large patios. The 10 rooms and apartments are decorated with mahogany furniture, louver window treatments, rattan chairs, locally handcrafted clay lamps and batik art. Sea-U's welcoming staff provides knowledgeable information. The atmosphere is relaxed, and guests quickly become friends. Green Globe certified, close to Andromeda Botanical Gardens and world class surfing at Soup Bowl. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Sea-U Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea-u Guest House Hotel Bathsheba
Sea-U Guest House Barbados/Bathsheba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing