We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveling Family
New York City, New York

Amazing Beach & Accommodations but Lacking the Level of Service Expected

Review of Ocean View Club
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Apr 12, 2021
I am so torn with this review. When we went to OVC and TOS this year I was so hoping this would be the beginning of a yearly family tradition but I am not sure based on the experience that we will return to OVC. I am going to focus on OVC for the purpose of this review b/c all in all TOS met/exceeded expectations - especially the waitstaff they were wonderful.

OVC is set on an absolutely gorgeous beach and the hotel/accommodations are wonderful. Where we feel OVC falls short is with the service all around. My husband summed it up perfectly - it just felt like the hotel/staff/etc...needs attention and training from ownership. We know COVID hit the hotel sector extremely hard and we can look past a lightbulb being out or a sheet being less than brand new but what's hard to overlook is a lack of communication, planning and service towards the guests especially when the cost per night is north of $750 and food costing close to another $750 per day if you eat the three meals at the hotel.
Date of stay: March 2021
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
C$253
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$253
  • Lol.travel
0.6 km from Ocean View Club
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
C$244
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
  • Lol.travel
0.5 km from Ocean View Club
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
C$1,506
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
  • Preferred Hotels
    C$1,505
0.4 km from Ocean View Club
Free Wifi
Free parking
Ocean View Exterior
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$787
  • eDreams
0.4 km from Ocean View Club
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • eDreams
  • Lol.travel
  • Vio.com
0.5 km from Ocean View Club
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Vio.com
  • Expedia.com
0.2 km from Ocean View Club
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Pool at the Valentines Resort and Marina
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Algotels
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$718
  • Priceline
0.7 km from Ocean View Club
Free Wifi
Pool
Lol.travel
  • Vio.com
0.5 km from Ocean View Club
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • eDreams
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
0.5 km from Ocean View Club
Free Wifi
Free parking
Romora Bay Marina - looking towards the bay and Eleuthera
eDreams
  • Lol.travel
  • Vio.com
  • ZenHotels.com
1.0 km from Ocean View Club
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Harbour Island
Reviews (52)
Filter reviews
52 results
Traveller rating
33
8
7
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
33
8
7
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews honor system main building hot water pink sand beach ovc ben paradise island lunch privacy
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 52 reviews
Reviewed April 5, 2021

This trip was postponed twice because of Covid travel restrictions. So we were so very excited to finally get back to our favorite island and resort. This was our best visit yet. Familiar faces made it feel like home, and some new friends were made as well. Everything felt safe; we never worried while at the OVC. We were able to Covid test at the resort as well.

What to know about OVC. Its social. Everyone (guests and staff) is friendly. People say hi. Children play together. The lack of TV is so nice! It’s an escape. A wonderful escape.

We stayed in Pip’s Cottage. It was AMAZING! The tub. The views. Simply perfect.

I will be seeing you all again real soon!

Room tip: Tree Trunks or Pip’s Cottage. Amazing.
Date of stay: March 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atompop
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 1, 2021 via mobile

This was one of the coolest places we have ever stayed. Incredible little cottages, we stayed in The Boys Cottage. The view was almost not believable, it looked like a picture. The staff was honestly the best and most friendly we have ever encountered. Great breakfast and such a cool set up. Couldn’t have been better and special thanks to Dee the manager, she was amazing!

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Sean T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 17, 2020 via mobile

The Ocean View Club is more of an experience than a hotel. It is a place where you linger over an extraordinary dinner, fine wine, and engaging conversation with one of the most beautiful sparkling pink sand beaches at your feet. You will arrive at OVC a stranger but most likely leave a friend. In terms of location it simultaneously feels like the edge of the world but also in the center of the action. It’s hard to accomplish both, but OVC pulls it off without breaking a sweat. Another attribute is that you are close to nature but also in the mix for everything Harbour Island.

If you are trying to decide which room to stay in I highly recommend either of the two tents or any of the cottages. Pipps is on my list for next time we visit but I also love the tents. All of the rooms are somewhat glamping but have a refined style. The best part of any room is falling asleep and waking up listening to the ocean.

Location is premier. It’s one of the best in Harbour Island. It’s easy to get to and close to everything you might need. And it’s right in the beach!

Room selection is tricky. I suggest emailing in advance the kind and patient staff will help get you dialed. We stayed in one of the ocean view rooms for a few nights and upgraded to Tree Trunk Tent. Ocean view room was beautifully decorated and had space for our small family to stretch out but Tree Trunk felt bigger because it opens up with a full view of the ocean and had more light. I did not like how you could hear the dining room above in the Ocean View room and it is much less private than the tents or cottages. We loved falling asleep and waking up to the ocean in Tree Trunk as well as sitting on the deck. Full disclosure the actual tree trunk in the room moves in the wind and will creak like you are on a boat. To me that was part of the charm but something to be aware of. You will not regret booking a cottage or tent.

Food. I LOVE the restaurant at Ocean View Club. The meals have incredible depth of flavor and include a nod to real Caribbean soul food. OVC grows a lot of their own produce so it’s fresh and full of flavor. Fresh greens and sweet onions and sweet potatoes taste like the island itself. Order the tart. It’s incredible and not to be missed at any meal. I’m vegetarian and picky but chef had some very clever, healthy, and fun options for me. My husband went with fish or meat at most meals and he said it was perfect. They even had options to keep our kids happy. Some of the meals we had mixed in the fiery flavor of jerk seasoning. Perfect balance of cloves, cinnamon, and allspice mixed with Magog. It’s some of the most memorable meals I’ve ever had. I’ve been dreaming about when we can visit again.

This visit to HI we ate breakfast, lunch, and dinner here and loved them all. Harbour Island is not lacking for good meals. Sip Sip and the Dunmore are right next door. Sip Sip is fun for lunch and make sure to get reservations ahead of time for dinner at the Dunmore sometimes there is love music nights are fun but any night is good. Coral Sands is fun for lunch and also very close.

The crew at Ocean View Club can help you with anything you might need. They are outstanding. It is uncertain times in the world right now but we felt very safe and secure here during Covid. It gave us a respite from the rest of the world to which we will be forever grateful to the whole team at OCV. Thank you for gracefully hosting our little family.

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank misslittleraven
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 14, 2019

My wife, son and I just returned from a six day stay with the Ocean View Club. Honestly five stars cannot even begin to describe the quality of service we experienced during our stay. It was quite frankly one of the nicest holidays we have ever taken. The staff is ten stars! They treated us all, especially our very active little four year old, with a level of kindness and hospitality above and beyond anything we could have hoped for. The food is amazing. The other guests were amazing. Truly an incredible experience we will cherish until next August, when we will be back for another wonderful holiday! Thank you all so much cannot wait to see you all in twelve months!

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank atompop
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
cmoceanview, General Manager at Ocean View Club, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2019

Adam, thank you for the review! We so enjoyed having you and the family! We will pass on your kind words to the entire staff, and we look forward to seeing you again next August!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 28, 2019 via mobile

Show up early and grab a drink at the bar We loved the bartender. He gave us good information on Harbour Island as well as Eleuthera and made great muddled drinks. Perfect punch! If the tart is on the menu order it. I am OBSESSED! I guess it changes based on the season or the whim of chef. The one we had was butternut squash, sweet purple onion, local cheese, and spicy greens. I’ve been DREAMING about it since we left Harbour Island! The main courses were very good but the tart stole the show. The atmosphere and location here are also perfect. Laid back island style. Small and welcoming with beautiful views. If you are planning on going during a visit to Harbour Island I suggest you book ahead of time because if there’s an event the restaurant might be closed. And they do tons of events. Loved this perfect little slice of heaven!

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank misslittleraven
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
cmoceanview, General Manager at Ocean View Club, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2019

Thank you for the review! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your visit, and the tart! We will pass on your compliments to our chef!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews