We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and relaxing resort, recommend highly for quiet vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort & Villas
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Long Island
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Beautiful and relaxing resort, recommend highly for quiet vacation”
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Had a great 5 night stay here last November. What a beautiful setting. One of the most beautiful stretches of beach I've seen. Sand like white flour and beautiful turquoise blue water. It faces west also, so great sunset opportunities. The accommodations are spread across the length of beach with villas on far end. It is on the smaller side as far as number of accommodations so that makes it nice. Aside from villas, rooms are one story so no noise above and only one room next too you but we never heard anything. The main building where everything is located is centrally located. The resort has somewhat of a club feel. Our room was adequate, bed very comfortable.. There is plenty of closet and storage space, bathroom was fine but alittle odd set up. The big bonus is the huge screened in porch/living space. That is just a great place to hang out and has beautiful view. We spent most of our time here when not dining or at beach. It was great when there were occasional showers as you could still be outside. All rooms are literally steps from beach. The beach is very long so great walking and there is a huge lagoon to walk to at one end which is just beautiful at high tide, definitely not to miss. You can snorkel there at high tide also. At low tide it is fun to walk all the way across to other side.
They have good daily drink specials and happy hour prices each day.. Food was good and there is enough variety. Staff is very nice and owner's were very visible and approachable. We did have issues in scheduling excursions. Most require at least 4 people and no one ever signed up so we couldn't go. But water got rough then also so boats were not going out. We decided to rent a car for a day which I recommend, just to see the island. It was so easy to navigate. We drove to Blue Hole to snorkel/swim. Not much to see but just neat to experience Blue Hole. There was free diving training going on so that was neat to see. We stopped at Max's Conch Bar for lunch. That was great! - food was excellent and staff was so friendly. Highly recommend Max's.
All in all just a wonderful relaxing place to go. If you want to just relax and like a quiet, idyllic spot – this is a great one!

Room Tip: They are all good as all beachfront, so just depends if you want the larger villa with kitchen or re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nanorran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    504
    102
    17
    6
    4
See reviews for
185
321
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Avon, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2012

In the past few years we have been lucky enough to make annual trips to Long Island and the Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort. Our experience has been consistently excellent. Some specifics follow.

Location: (location, location) This is a beautiful spot. The resort is situated right on the most spectacular white sand beach you can imagine. The waves lull you to sleep every night. The beach has a very gradual slope and is perfect for small children. There is virtually no surf unless it’s really stormy. There is relatively little boat traffic. The Cape has kayaks which you can take surfing on the sandbar or to poke around into the bay behind the resort. The water is exquisite and you can see rays glide by from the beach. Long Island is pretty poor without much of an economy beyond tourism and subsistence farming. The resort management seems to have done an excellent job of integrating with the local community and in general there isn’t any of the uncomfortable walled-off us and them feeling. We know some islanders and really value our relationships with them.

Activities: This is one of the all time best places to do nothing and I highly recommend that you spend a good part of your visit doing nothing. If you must do something, the fishing, snorkeling, and shelling are superb. I like to swim across the cut and meander along the beach in the bay behind the resort. The fishing is very good, the guides are knowledgeable and fun and the boats and equipment are top-notch. This past year we took a trip out to Sandy Cay (site of filming for one of the Pirates of the Caribbean movies). Wow! It was the perfect place to imagine oneself a castaway and it had rare rock iguanas, too. Quiet, peaceful, beautiful!

Birding: We’ve mostly been there in January and March. My birding has mostly been casual. The more I look the more I find. Seabirds are remarkably few. There is a colony of terns in the bay behind the resort and I’ve seen singleton Brown Pelican and Magnificent Frigatebird, Oystercatcher are sparse but reliable, so to Turnstones. Osprey seem to be getting more common. Bahamas Mockingbirds are everywhere, Bananaquit are common and I reliably see hummingbirds (but not yet with binos and book in hand). Walking the beach along the back bay I’ve seen a number of warbler species. There is a colony of Whistling Ducks you can see by boat. I think there are Flamingos somewhere on the island. I saw an Antillean Bullfinch (was it greater or lesser?) last year. The habitat is mostly low scrub on limestone.

Staff: The staff are very kind and genuinely interested in the quality of your stay. We have become friendly with many of the staff (not much turn over in 4 years) and look forward to seeing them again each year. Brook and Ewa are lovely people and skilled hoteliers. I particularly appreciate Brook’s low-key style and honesty. If you ask him a question he gives you a straight answer, no excuses or telling you what you want to hear.

Food: The food is quite good, especially given the remoteness of the place. I particularly like the breakfast. You’re cheating yourself if you don’t try the boiled fish with grits. Service can be slow. We buy the meal plan because it makes things simple for our family. Others cook. The villas have beautiful kitchens, but groceries on the island are limited.

Getting there: It isn’t easy, but that’s part of the adventure. If you have a group of five, consider a charter from Ft. Lauderdale. It is very convenient and not subject to the vagaries of the other local carriers.

Summary: I was looking over pictures from out last trip recently and really missing Long Island. It is a wonderful place. Maybe we’ll stay a year sometime. We like the Oak Bay experience so much we’re going to try April Point in British Columbia this year.

Room Tip: Splurge on a Villa. I prefer the layout of the older (closest to the bungalows) downstairs units be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Genevieve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deale, Maryland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We recently sailed in to the north end of long Island called Cape Santa Maria and anchored for the night. We decided to take a dinghy ride into this resort and check it out.
Although we did not stay at the resort we did stop at the bar and had a very pleasant time.
The resort is immaculate with a beach of fine white powdery sand and lovely white painted chalets. The staff were amazingly attentive and helpful. I would certainly return here for an extended stay.

Room Tip: Check their web site All of the chalets face the beach and have there own porches
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brit022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

It had been several years (too many) since we had last visited Cape Santa Maria. On this visit, we found it to be better than our fondest memories! We flew our Baron to Stella Maris (MYSL) on 27 December, with just enough time to completely unwind in preparation for New Year's Eve. The resort was "JAMMED" - about 80 people for 4 MILES of Pure Sugar White Beach. This has to be Heaven's definition of PERFECT! What a contrast to Everywhere Else! The Staff are tremendous, the food consistently delicious and the prices within reason. The weather was spectacular, the fishing was great and the diving delightful in that amazingly clear water. In fact, our experience was So Good that we considered sending our Passports back and just staying! Without a doubt, we will return "Soon & Often". Don't miss this spectacular Jem! One of the World's Best Experiences! Jim & Darlene L

Room Tip: Treat yourself to one of the privately owned Villas! They are spectacular by any standard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesLara7007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrookCSM, General Manager at Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort & Villas, responded to this review, 4 February 2012
Dear JamesLara7007,

Thanks you very much for the review. It was a pleasure meeting you and your wife and I really enjoyed chatting with you. Considering your experience in the hospitality industry, we really appreciate the feedback. Did you see that Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort received a Tripadvisor Traveller's Choice Award as one of the Top 5 resorts in the Caribbean and the best resort in all the Bahamas? Our staff are very excited about this prestigous award.

We hope to see you soon.

Best regards,
Brook Castelsky
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Jordan, Utah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

This was by far our best, most memorable vacation EVER!!! Even our teenage sons were utterly impressed! The food was absolutely amazing. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. The beach -- out of this world - eye-popping beautiful, just heavenly! The water -- perfect temperature, incredible color, so relaxing! We could not say enough to express how truly wonderful our visit was. Cape Santa Maria is on the top of our list for suggesting family and friends to visit! No phone or TV in the room was an added bonus! We had complete family time and it was amazing! We would love to visit again and again and again!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort McMurray, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

I've only been twice but our first time was our honeymoon and couldn't have asked for a better place. The beach, the local staff are amazing! Then we came back with our 2 kids and had even more fun this time. There is never a time that the beach feels busy and the water is beautiful and calm. You walk out your front door to white powder sand and pure bliss. My kids were 3 1/2 & 1 !/2 when we went and I loved that when they went for naps I could grab my baby monitor and stay on the beach and relax you can't do that any other destinations! The restaurant food is amazing and we never really get sick of it! They are willing to make you anything too so don't be afraid to ask! I can't wait till we go again, and maybe someday we will be Villa owners!

Room Tip: We stayed in the bungalows our first time and we liked being on the Villas side cause the beach is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clarissadv7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beech Grove, Indiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2011

We went there for our honeymoon, and it was great! The only problems we had were with getting to the island itself (there are very few flights to long island each day), but once we were there it was excellent. The staff is very nice and helpful, the villas are extremely nice, and the beach is beautiful, of course.

We were there near the beginning of November, and the weather was mostly cloudy and it was very windy that week. The weather made the water kind of choppy, so we never got a chance to use the kayaks available to guests, but it was still nice enough to be on the beach each day. The staff told us that the weather is almost never like that, however, so we will make a point to go back so we can experience more things.

We didn't do a meal plan, opting to pack our own food to save a little money. The kitchen was fully stocked with cooking utensils and you can have groceries delivered to you if you need anything more.

If you want seclusion and a beach with very few people, this is the place for you. If you want lots of restaurants and clubs, then go somewhere else. But we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Island
71.5 km away
Winter Haven Inn
Winter Haven Inn
#2 of 2 in Clarence Town
41 reviews
0.0 km away
Love At First Sight Hotel
10.4 km away
Stella Maris Resort Club
Stella Maris Resort Club
#2 of 5 in Long Island
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
73.3 km away
Gems At Paradise Resort
Gems At Paradise Resort
#1 of 2 in Clarence Town
117 reviews
0.0 km away
Harbor Breeze Villas
Harbor Breeze Villas
#1 of 2 in Clarence Town
18 reviews
0.0 km away
Nathan's Lodge
Nathan's Lodge
#4 of 23 in Andros
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort & Villas

Property: Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort & Villas
Address: Galliot Cay, Long Island
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Long Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Long Island
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Long Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort & Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Untouched... Undiscovered... Barefoot elegance in a Caribbean paradise. Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort is unlike any place you have ever experienced. Mile after mile of silky-fine sandy beach melts into the warm turquoise water. With twenty bungalows and a handful of villas steps from the most beautiful beach in the Bahamas, an escape to Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort is an experience you will never forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort & Villas Hotel Long Island
Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort And Villas
Cape Santa Maria Beach Hotel
Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort & Villas Bahamas/Long Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing