We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil, Civilized, Convenient for pilots”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stella Maris Resort Club
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Long Island
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tranquil, Civilized, Convenient for pilots”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

If you're a pilot traveling to "Up-South" Bahamas and need a central location, Stella Maris is the obvious choice. It's next to the airport with fuel and customs, allowing you to fly directly to the hotel from Florida. This German run resort is like a luxury cay, with all the parts working smoothly. Old world charm, friendly service, and great food, let you re-charge while you continue to explore Long Island, and other islands in the area. The grounds feature beautiful gardens, a saltwater natural pool, and beautiful, dramatic ocean vistas, beaches and walks. I have been visiting this resort for over 20 years now, and it always keeps improving.

Room Tip: Most rooms have amazing ocean views, but ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    46
    11
    3
    7
See reviews for
66
98
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Battle Creek, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Wonderful vacation. All staff work hard to fulfill your every need. Every staff seems to be there to brighten your day. The feeling is like they are friends glad to have you visiting, rather than as staff doing there jobs. Food is great and reasonably priced. Grounds are beautiful, and the atmosphere is relaxed.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChipGwillim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Stella Maris was for us the perfect 4 days stop in our week shared between Nassau and Long Island. The view from our room was amazing, the staff was extremely kind and always happy to help, the food just great from breakfast to snacks and dinner, the facilities onsite cannot be beaten : swimming pools, tennis clubs, beaches, snooker, free bikes, car rental, free activities every day.
During our stay, we've seen other travelers coming to Stella Maris to escape other nightmare places in the surrounding, which made us think we definitely made the right choice.
How could it be improved ? I don't know. But what I know is that we've had such a great and relaxing time there that we'll go back.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Celine_F3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
starofthesea, Director of Sales at Stella Maris Resort Club, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
As a long established Out Island hotel, Stella Maris Resort is the perfect counterpoint to the more populated tourism enclaves. We are delighted that you found your time with us relaxing, our staff attentive. And that during your stay you enjoyed our daily free activities.
We look forward to your next visit to 'your island home'!
Sunny regards,
Elizabeth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harleysville
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Stella Maris is a perfect place to relax on the BEAUTIFUL island of Long Island in the Bahamas, NOT NEW YORK! The workers at Stella Maris were so friendly. They really made you feel like family. We would eat at Stella Maris' restaurant(open to the public) every morning and night. Every morning the entire trip I got French Toast. It is VERY HIGHLY recommended! The taste was perfect! Their meals at dinner were great, too. They can make a mean conch. :P They made conch soup, which was great! The also fried it once and put it with dipping sauces. I couldn't get enough of it!
Stella Maris offers attractions for everyone. You can go fishing, snorkeling(highly recommended), SCUBA diving at various locations including Dean's Blue Hole(the largest blue hole in the world), Columbus Monument, and Cape Santa Maria. Stella Maris even has its own natural rock pools! They're really great if you get the chance! The Columbus Monument was located at an absolutely BEAUTIFUL location. You'll definitely want to bring a camera! It's surrounded by beautiful pristine beaches and the ocean water you can only find in the Bahamas! However, the road to the monument when we were there was very, VERY rocky. The monument is also at the top of a steep hill, so wear sneakers. Cape Santa Maria is a must-see! The waters are crystal clear and the calmest you'll ever find. The sand is absolutely perfectly soft, too!
We stayed in The Rainbow House, which was a villa located in the resort. It had 3 bedrooms(two of which had very beautiful bathrooms), a pool, and it's own gazebo. The Rainbow House was pricey, so beware of that when you're booking.
The island of Long Island is an out island, so you will have to take a smaller plane from Nassau to get there. It's totally worth it though! If you get the chance, Stella Maris will welcome you to the resort just as they welcomed us!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luv2Travel2_19438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
starofthesea, Director of Sales at Stella Maris Resort Club, responded to this review, 10 February 2012
Your praise for the staff, dining, and activities at Stella Maris Resort are much appreciated. We are all delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and promise to have a good supply of conch for your next visit!
Long Island, Bahamas abounds in natural beauty. We are most fortunate to have the opportunity to share her amazing beaches, landmarks, and underwater splendor with our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2011

If you simultaneously like privacy and coziness with other guests, this is the place to visit. There are charter flights to Stella Maris from Nassau, but most of the guests when we were there were recreational pilots.

Room Tip: I think all rooms face the ocean. If not, it's an easy walk to get there. Stella Maris Inter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2011

Long Island is generally undeveloped and quiet. The resort is therefore self contained and was almost empty when we were there so didn't have as good an "atmosphere" as it would no doubt have had at a busier time. The resort has all the stuff you need but the main problem is that many of them are not on site. They run daily transport to the marina, for example, to go fishing or snorkelling. The local beach is on the Atlantic side so is not really suitable for swimming so a beach day also involves a journey.
The resort facilities themselves are superb. Very good quality room with free WiFi. Bad points are: No kettle in room so we had to make tea in the coffee machine, no milk in the room for either coffee or tea, the menu was good quality but a bit hit-and-miss as to what was actually available - in our case the breakfast buffet (which is normally excellent) wasn't available most days and sometimes we were offered only a choice of two main courses for dinner. The bed sheets were too small for the bed so kept riding up and disturbing our sleep.
Aside from theses comments the all-inclusive deal is really good and takes away all the silly hassle about taxes and tips etc.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Stephen005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Our stay at the Stella Maris Rainbow House exceeded our expectations! We got married on the island and the experience with the staff in preparation for our wedding was superb. All the little details and extras that were just taken care of for us made our day one we will never forget. Our honeymoon was filled with excursions that were arranged for us and every day the resort club was happy to take us to sailing, beaches, snorkeling, boating, kayaking, a full day private island tour, etc. There were bikes available to us for the entire stay at no charge and we logged miles on them discovering caves, plantation ruins, the Columus Monument, Love Beaches, rock pools, etc.. We had read many reviews about the food prior to picking this as our wedding and honeymoon destination site and the reviews were right on the money, the food was FABULOUS with specials everyday and so many options to chose from. Just delicious meal after delicious meal...........fine dining at its best!! Our accomodations were magnificent and clean with views that were breathtaking. In short, we feel in love with the island and the people and will be returning for sure!! Thank you, Jill Smith and all your staff, for making our fairy tale wedding a day that was just that, a fairy tale!! Thank you for all the little extras around our room over the week & the wedding gifts! Our honeymoon was as enjoyable as we could have ever hoped for, thanks for listening to my stories at the end of each day of our adventures on your island!! Kudos to a job well done!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Annette_Koppenhaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
starofthesea, Director of Sales at Stella Maris Resort Club, responded to this review, 2 August 2011
We are all so touched by your review and so very pleased that Long Island and Stella Maris fulfilled your destination wedding dreams. It was truly our pleasure to have you with us. We are honored to have been witness to your devotion to one another. It is not every day that two people are genuinely so in love with each other and so happy to be in each other’s company. We hope to be welcoming you back again soon, maybe a first anniversary visit! Long Island will always have a special place in her heart for you both.
Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Island
61.5 km away
Winter Haven Inn
Winter Haven Inn
#2 of 2 in Clarence Town
41 reviews
0.0 km away
Love At First Sight Hotel
10.2 km away
Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
63.3 km away
Gems At Paradise Resort
Gems At Paradise Resort
#1 of 2 in Clarence Town
118 reviews
0.0 km away
Nathan's Lodge
Nathan's Lodge
#4 of 23 in Andros
21 reviews
0.0 km away
Harbor Breeze Villas
Harbor Breeze Villas
#1 of 2 in Clarence Town
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stella Maris Resort Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stella Maris Resort Club

Property: Stella Maris Resort Club
Address: 123 Ocean View Drive | Stella Maris, Long Island
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Long Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Long Island
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Long Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Stella Maris Resort Club 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stella Maris Resort Club,is off the beaten path. On a tranquil island, where nature abounds, where the ocean and beaches are at their best, with an unhurried pace of life and with islanders, much known for their old-fashioned hospitality and friendliness.We are an intimate out island style resort, offering a wide range of tropical accommodations, from panoramic ocean view rooms to appealing four bedroom water front villas. Food is great, as is casual evening fun. Many activities are free of charge. We can even fly you here from your international Bahamas airport hub. It's a place for anyone who seeks to get away from every-day's stress, who loves nature, who loves being at and in the water. From singles to couples, from families to small groups. And there is no better place for a romantic island wedding, barefoot or elegant, or for celebrating your anniversary! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Stella Maris Resort Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stella Maris Resort Club Hotel Long Island
Stella Maris Hotel
Stella Maris Resort Club Bahamas/Long Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing