We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Country Cove Inn(Deadman's Cay)
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Greenwich Creek Lodge(Long Island)(Great Value!)
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$255
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Winter Haven Inn(Clarence Town)(Great Value!)
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbor Breeze Villas(Clarence Town)(Great Value!)
US$134
US$101
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Club Peace & Plenty(George Town)(Great Value!)
US$184
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yacht Club(George Town)
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Gems At Paradise Resort(Clarence Town)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (255)
Filter reviews
255 results
Traveller rating
181
51
11
4
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
181
51
11
4
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmoonshine barnatural poolrum punchfishcape santa mariacolumbus monumentscuba divingbar loungethe north endblue holemeal planrock poolshotel rooms aredaily activitiesother islandslaid backrental car
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 255 reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2018

We understand that a lot of people really seem to enjoy this place. It is certainly close to the airport, which is in outstanding condition, and the airport staff are very accommodating to private pilots. Some of the resort buildings are exceedingly nice; the bar/restaurant area for example, and our 1BR cottage were very nicely built and furnished. The front desk personnel are excellent, very helpful, and efficient. The various drivers they arranged to take us places were also friendly, helpful, and punctual. The friday evening Rum party was a hoot, with their "Rake and Scrape" band and free-flowing rum punch. So, with all that, what's not to like?

Minus 1 star - location. Simply put, this place is nowhere near a nice beach. The aforementioned drivers are available to take you to some of the exquisite beaches on Long Island, but those beaches are at least 20 min away, and you have to pre-arrange a time to be picked up. They had a Hobie Cat and small Sunfish sailboat available for guest use, but they are really beat-up and poorly rigged. There is something of a beach 400 yds north of the main resort area, but it's rough and not very attractive. The 'natural' pool is empty at low tide. Anything in their photos or videos resembling a beach with swimming access on their property is misleading.

Minus 1/2 star - the pools. There are 3 very basic rectangular pools for general use, but they are like small versions of a '60s community pool, with rust stains on the bottoms, crumbling masonry, and deteriorating ladder hardware to enter/exit. One of the publicity photos suggests that one of the pools has an "infinity" edge - it does not, and that photo is very misleading. A slightly more interesting pool appears in their video, but that may be restricted for use by guests in one particular cottage.

Minus 1/2 star - plumbing and fixtures. Rather extensively corroded, and the sink took forever to drain. The drinking water access for guests is a spigot just outside the main building that was alright on the first day we tried it, but on the second day the water was distinctly yellow in color. Drinking water really should be handled and presented better.

Minus 1/2 star - bedding. The room was clean, and towels were nice. But the fitted sheets were very thin and didn't quite 'fit', while the mattress pad was far too small for the bed. We woke up every morning half-on the bare mattress and on top of the elastic bands that should hold the corners down.

Minus 1/2 star - food service personnel generally operated in grumpy walrus mode (in stark contrast to the front desk). The food itself was mixed - it may be better to get all your meals in the main restaurant and avoid the Moonshine bar.

Overall, our priorities were to spend as much time on the beach and in the water as possible. This is just not place for someone with those priorities.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 21, 2018

My wife and I had the absolute pleasure of enjoying a vacation in Long Island at the Rainbow House. Everything about the trip was amazing. This was the best of both worlds when it comes to a private home with resort amenities. And the Rainbow House itself is spectacular from the floor layout, to the most awesome private pool in the Caribbean, to the endless time spent appreciating the endless ocean view. Long Island as a whole is unmarred by over commercialization with everything from fine dining to the coolest little conch shacks and freshest seafood. There is so much to do, but will be just as happy doing nothing. I thank the Ritchie's and the Stella Maris resort team were both very accessible and wonderful in helping with any requests and questions that came up along the way. I thank them for making this a flawless wonderful and unforgettable week. We hope to return in the near future.

Room Tip: Do a scavenger hunt,recommend finding Max,Kenny,Robert,Smacky,Locksley,Pinkie,Dean.If you do it means you had a unique & amazing time!
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jasonkunicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 21, 2018

The Stella Maris Resort Club is the best resort we've ever stayed at. From the owners down to every worker, the staff went above and beyond to make our experience memorable. We did not want to leave! Beautiful beaches, sunrises, sunsets, and views of the milky way galaxy for star gazers. The food was great too! Bring your money to Stella Maris, Long Island. It's worth every penny!!

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 3, 2018

I usually plan trips around new places but if I had to repeat a place, this would be it. The beauty of the Island, the resort it self, and the people!!!!! The people were fantastic. The diving was great. If you don't want scuba, snorkle around in the shallows and enjoy the abundant marine life. There is an airport with a 6000 foot runway so take your plane if you have one.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Oranutan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 22, 2018

This resort is located on Long Island, Bahamas which doesn't have many places to stay and is an extremely long island with one of the only forms of transport to rent a car. The resort is on one end of the island quite the distance from the marinas and airport and quite isolated with little to do. It is spectacularly beautiful set on the waterfront with numerous pools including a pool that fills from the ocean. That was my favorite thing at the resort. The other thing is that the food is very good and which is not always the case in the Bahamas you can get healthy options. But there is little to do and you need a car to go to Dean's Blue Hole (a must see) which is on the completely other end of the very long island. The resort is quite dated having been built in the 1960s and really needs an upgrade in terms of decor and bedding. The bed and pillows were definitely sub par in the unit we stayed in (#20) Plus the resort is VERY expensive with lots of added charges for this and that and some we have never seen before like an electricity charge and room cleaning charge (there goes the tip to the cleaners). All in all we ended up paying what we would for a hotel room in New York City with subpar facilities and NO wifi in the room. All this made it disappointing but the bar and pools were amazing. I would only recommend it for a group who can entertain themselves or a couple looking for a very private getaway.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stellamarisres0rt, Manager at Stella Maris Resort Club, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2018

Dear Mary,
Our sincere thanks for the complimentary comments about the waterfront, the pools, the food and our decor. And we do not disagree: Long Island is still rather old-fashioned, peaceful, with little 'hype' and few overly touristic 'trappings'. And every year we do modernize, uplift, and add something, here or there but indeed gently so. The separation of charge definitions of tax, service, energy do all abide by Bahamas and nowadays world-wide applicable standards and are not hidden by clearly identified in our website and on booking confirmations. We do not apply "leisure fees' ... our sailing, kayaks, bikes, and morning and afternoon snorkel and beach exploration trips are really free! Again, thank you for your visit, it was a pleasure having you here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews