We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable stay with warm and friendly hosts”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
bedroom 2 hall
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
17 reviews
bedroom 2
hall
hall
kerosene fan
drawing room
driveway
verandah
verandah
silver cup of coffee
south indian dosa
bathroom 2
bedroom 2
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Kushalnagar, Kodagu (Coorg), Karnataka

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mithun H
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay with warm and friendly hosts”
Reviewed May 27, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

The estate was easy enough to locate with Google maps. Of course, the hosts, Mr. Jayaprakash and his family were always available and willing to help with anything at all that we needed. We, a family of 5 adults and 3 kids aged between 1 year and 6 years, spent 2 nights at their home in December, right around the Christmas time in 2017. The kids had fun, we were comfortable and able to visit a couple of local spots in Coorg, prior to our onward journey. I thought the hosts were polite and professional.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 May 2018
Thank you so much for your review! We hope you are all well and will visit us again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George_Ai...
Indore, India
1 review
“Souland estates - Welcome to the Jayprakash family.”
Reviewed April 28, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

A short 150m driveway down from the Sidapur - Kushalanagara road leads you to a house seeped in an old world charm. Flowers of various shades adorn the outsides and a wide variety of ornamental plants adorn the inside periphery of the sit out. The flowers and the plants add a dash of elegance to this charming little house in the midst of a coffee estate. This is the first look of the house and you instantly know - this is the house in the woods you are looking for.

But there is something even more impressive about Souland homestay. It is one of the very few places in India which has been true to the concept of a homestay. Most homestays are just a house on rent for a few days. Homestays aren't supposed to be that. Homestays are places where you go in as family and experience and share warmth. It is a place where the hosts and guests share their experiences, figure out the similarities and differences of their varied experiences and come out richer from these interactions.

And one couldn't ask for better hosts than Jayprakash & Prabha to be running this place. They are extremely helpful and exude a warmth that makes you instantly comfortable. This warmth is contagious across the family. Their daughters (Jyotsana & Jyoti) who are around sometimes are an extension to the sane warmth and hospitality. Jayprakash can feed you with very interesting anecdotes about life in Coorg through stories and Prabha will actually feed you delicious cuisine from Coorg and around. Jyoti is pursuing a PhD and had just submitted a doctoral thesis on the ‘Politics of cultural identity in Coorg’ as part of her coursework. A conversation with her can be very informative for a more detailed understanding of Coorgi culture.

Souland Homestay is perfectly located for your Coorg vacation. Kushalanagara is 25 minutes, Sidapura is 20 minutes and Madikeri is a 40 minute drive away. A lot of other places of tourist interest are around an hours drive away. Dubare elephant camp is just 5 minutes away. If you are feeling lazy and you are extremely lucky, you don't even have to go 5 minutes to pay the elephants a visit. The elephants have on very rare occasions paid a visit to the estate. They chomp on the banana trees planted near the boundaries of the estate and leave. Thankfully they are unaware of the hospitality and warmth of the Jayprakash family and the delicious food Prabha serves.

I spent three days here and had a wonderful time. There is however one sore point. Jayprakash and Prabha’s granddaughter Tejas. She is 4 to 5 years old (her words, not mine) and lures you into playing games that she has conceptualised. I was winning most of the games but at the last minute she changes the system of awarding points and declares herself the winner. This is something you need to be prepared for.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Apr 2018
Thank you so much for your kind words george! We would love to host you again! And we promise to supervise Tejas' make believe games the next time and make sure the contest is fair ;)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ramanand5...
Hyderabad, India
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Warmly Welcomed into the Jayaprakash home”
Reviewed October 13, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I came across the Souland estates home stay two years ago and was impressed by the reviews and prompt responses from the host Jyothi Jayaprakash . Two years down the line we made it to their home in Coorg . After a comfortable four hour drive from Mangalore we had to be rescued by Mr Jayaprakash , the former engineer and owner of the lovely estate Bungalow as our GPS was not responding
We were privileged to share their estate home over three days in Sep 2017 .The large bungalow set amidst 20 acre coffee and pepper plantation is just the right place to unwind from the bustle of the city life A walk around the estate is soothing and an escorted trip by both Jyothi and her father added to the nature walk
One need not necessarily have a packed touristy agenda ,though there is enough things to do nearby or Just sit in the spacious veranda and read a book or stare at the calmness and the beauty around .Have a drink maybe in the evening -Mr Jayaprakash offered us some lemonade flavoured local brew which I would highly recommend
As the hosts themselves mention this is a home and not a hotel or a resort, comparisons with hotels would not be apt . Rooms are very large comfortable and functionally furnished with attached modern bathrooms . Guests have a free run of the house including the large lounge stacked with family memorablia and of course the spacious veranda. The meals were delicious and wholesome and we had no reason to make any special requests though the hosts very kindly offered. Mrs Jayaprakash the gracious hostess turned out a varied menu each day and i particularly loved the local dishes . My vegetarian wife also did full justice to the vegetarian delights
This was my first time at a home stay and we were without doubt overwhelmed by the warmth and company of the host family and of course the overall ambience Wishing Mr and Mrs Jayaprakash , Jyothi and their lively little grand daughter Tejas all the very best and hope to see them again soon

.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nano1521
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome Stay !!”
Reviewed May 23, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Souland Estates is beautiful place nestled in the woods of Coorg. It takes you back in time. You can experience the old world charm like antique wooden furniture and a beautiful verandah which is Neat and clean. Sitting in the verandah n Sipping hot cup of homemade filter coffee by Mrs. Jaiprakash is nothing less than any pleasure. Mr Jaiprakash and Ms. Jyothi (host) are always there for you. You name the thing and they have it for you and also they have very good knowledge about the place. They can guide you for anything & everything in and around Coorg. Adding to it Mrs. Jaiprakash is awesome cook n host. She is a fantastic cook n cooks lip smacking food. Overall a fantastic place with wonderful host. Thanks a ton for a wonderful stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 May 2017
Thank you so much for the wonderful review Nayana mam! We really enjoyed hosting you and we hope you will visit us again soon!
Love to everyone!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrettyDub...
Dubai
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed March 18, 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This review is long pending... we went in as tourists and felt like we left a part of our family behind by the end of our stay. This is an extremely well maintained property with a personal touch. It feels like visiting your family home for annual holidays. Jayaprakash uncle and aunty made our stay extremely comfortable and the food was yummilicious. The property has lovely coffee plantations for long walks as well as a great vegy garden with lots of fruit and vegetable plants. Great place to introduce kids to nature. We also celebrated my lil ones 4th birthday there which was arranged by jyoti and uncle. Every little detail was taken care off and the day was made extra special with their entire family joining us. We've had bonfires and lovely conversations with uncle, jyoti and faez. Magical one week that felt like just 2 days... we look forward to visiting again! Thank you for the wonderful stay and magical memories!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Mar 2017
Aww!! Thanks a lot darling! We loved making you a part of our family! And of course we would love to host you over and over again! Lots of love to Sai and Yuvan!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preeti D
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Remedy for the soul”
Reviewed August 30, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Our stay at Souland was amazing. Being the only guest on the property, we felt humbled by the hospitality. The bungalow is beautiful, especially verandah area. The hosts were very helpful and arranged local transport for us and even suggested good places to visit!

JP uncle and his wife are soft spoken and very friendly. The good aunty made was homely and hearty. JP uncle's enthusiasm during our walk through the estate was unmatched.

I would highly recommend staying here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2016
Thank you so much!
We hope you will visit us again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sumedha G
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Amazing, Amazing and Just Amazing”
Reviewed August 23, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Came across this place by chance while browsing for lodging options on tripadvisor. Since it was a long weekend 12-15th August most of the hotels were sold out. After reading few reviews and looking at the pictures, we zeroed in on this property and I am glad we did. We were two couples.This is a home away from home and if given a chance (I would say leaves from Office :) I can even stay here for a month. The place is very near to Dubare Elephant camp. The rooms are big (huge, apt for 3-4 people) and have a rustic touch to them. They have a lovely porch where you can just sit and laze around in the evening or during the day. The USP of this place is the hospitality of the owners and undoubtedly the FOOD. Aunty cooks amazing Coorgi cuisine and we ended up overeating on all 3 nights of our stay. Since during the day we were out sightseeing we only had dinner and breakfast here. Breakfast is basic but delicious and ample quantity, dinner of course is a feast. 3-4 Veg curries, Dal, Rice/Biryani, Friend papad/appalams, Roti/Akki Roti, Chicken/Pork/Mutton in single or combination. I am writing about Pork Curry on special request from my Husband (:)). He devoured every bit of it and had to be reminded that there are others as well who need to eat..lol...They even fulfilled my friends request about having mutton by preparing Mutton Biryani. One the day we were checking out they went out of the way to offer pork curry to my husband to go along with Rice balls and chickpea curry for breakfast. Honestly speaking, they didn't have to, but they did and that talks volume about hospitality.I can go on and on writing about the food. How we so wished if they could serve snacks as well in the evening, however we understand that its not easy to lay a feast for dinner every night almost single handedly and then entertain snacks request. A few tips- the place is available on GPS and easy to locate. Inform them in advance if you want to have food (lunch/dinner) at the homestay.Please carry cash to settle your food bills since there are no ATMs near by (although they were kind enough to even tell us we could transfer our small remaining balance through net banking or give it through cheque). Overall an amazing and de-stressing stay and would come back again. HIGHLY recommended to all who want to have a home away from home vacation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Hospitality of the owners and the FOOD
Liked least: nothing to mention.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2016
Thank you so much Sumedha!!
We are truly overwhelmed by your wonderful words!
Do visit us again soon!
Love.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing