We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$795
US$575
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$230
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$1,023
US$599
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Book now, pay at stay
US$309
Residence Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$348/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$579
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
US$632
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$1,102
US$699
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Andaz Maui At Wailea Resort(Wailea)
US$564
US$549
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Book now, pay at stay
US$699
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$167
US$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (182)
Filter reviews
182 results
Traveller rating
147
24
5
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
147
24
5
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor kitchenseven sacred poolspast hanafresh fruitbed and breakfastwaimoku fallsburner gas stovestar fruitnight soundsgracious hostsroad to hanacharcoal bbqscreened windowsgarden of edenlovely homeless trafficthree nights
Filter
Updating list...
104 - 109 of 182 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2012

This was our fifth stay at Ala 'Aina Ocean Vista, and for us, the place just keeps getting better. Hosts Sam and Mercury, a sparkling mother/daughter team, provide not only spotless accommodations inside and out, and who greet you with charm and warmth, but also seem to quietly withdraw, leaving guests in virtual solitude with a 180-degree ocean view from a lovely elevated vantage point. However, when we had questions or comments, we could easily find our hosts, who dispensed love, aloha and humor while suggesting places to go and sights to see. (It’s 10 miles from Hana, a stunning scenic drive into the quaint hamlet and to the famous Hasegawa General Store, among other places.) But who wants to go anywhere when you can stay right there and soak up paradise? It’s off the grid and practically off the map, but it’s understated elegance and refinement in the jungles of Kipahulu. The Ala 'Aina grounds, meticulously maintained and groomed, are sumptuous with well-placed sculpture and glass art. The tiny kitchen on the guest room lanai is covered, and you dine outdoors under the eaves, so if rain comes, you can enjoy the sounds of passing showers that keep the landscape so green. And, if you’re lucky, in the evening you’ll hear the frogs in the lily pond, and can watch a nature “reality show” as geckos hunt for their dinner on the outdoor light. All in all, Ala 'Aina Ocean Vista, a unique retreat, is a gem of a place and a lovely home-away-from-home in the jungle.
--J & D, Sacramento CA

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
27  Thank Dickiedean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Let me start by saying the property is lovely. Beautiful. Gorgeous. The home is very well maintained, and the grounds are perfectly manicured. The views are very picturesque. However, when we booked this "Hana B&B" we didn't realize it isn't actually in Hana - If you take the "Road to Hana", you will have to go about 35 minutes past Hana to locate the home. We found the remoteness of the location to be a little more than we had bargained for - Hana is already pretty remote, so to be out past that - well, you definitely have your privacy. :)

We arrived late one afternoon, and by the time we drove back to Hana for dinner (6 pm), everything was pretty much closed except the Hana Ranch, which had such bad reviews that we decided to go back to the house to eat some cheese and crackers we had brought with us. We had a nice evening on the back patio, and you have great views of the stars. The next day started early and we visited the Haleakala park (7 sacred pools), Hamoa Beach, and Venus pool. After that, we decided that rather than spending 3 nights there, we would just go ahead and head to Wailea. For us, we needed a little more civilization, and my husband grumbled about having to wash his own breakfast dishes on his honeymoon. :)

so I rated the property as very good - because if this is what you are looking for, it is a beautiful location. Just be aware that it is VERY secluded and remote.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
26  Thank kitegoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 19, 2012

The peaceful and stunning views sweep over you bringing warmth and aloha to your soul.A place to re connect and create harmony within--the grounds are meticulously groomed with an obvious love and respect of the land.It was an honor to meet Sam and Mercury who make you feel completely at home while maintaining your privacy.I thank them both for their friendship and letting me experience a part of their paradise.I hope to return as soon as time allows .
Aloha Bill Canty

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
27  Thank bill c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 20, 2012

We spent two nights enjoying this wonderful retreat with ocean views in two directions set among tropical vegetation and an imaginative garden. The private suite is high quality and has an outdoor kitchen and dining deck that add to the experience. The area is beautiful and full of things to do. Sam and Mercury provide suggestions and directions for local adventures but if you want to stay all day and enjoy the serenity of the location, that's OK, too. Enjoy fruit from the property depending on the season-bananas and cherries for us. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
30  Thank Kay and David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 22, 2011

We enjoyed the quiet beauty of this very private gettaway. We were able to explore the Hana area and enjoy a side of Maui that most people don't experience. Sam and Mercury were the best hostesses--very friendly and welcoming, like we were old friends coming to visit. The B&B was very private, clean, and they supplied everything we needed. We cooked most of our meals in the outdoor kichen, and ate outdoors with a beautiful view of their gardens and the ocean. We were given quite a bit of fruit from their property--bananas, papayas, star fruit, guavas, and more. They gave us a whole list of things to do--and we spent our time doing most of them!! Thank you Sam and Mercury for a wonderful time on the East side of Maui!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
31  Thank grcguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews