We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning, Relaxing, Artistic Beauty”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kipahulu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ala'aina Ocean Vista
Ranked #1 of 1 Kipahulu B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We absolutely loved Ala'aina Ocean Vista. This property was beautiful in the photos we saw on line, but it was stunning when we saw it in person. We like to eat at restaurants, but after we saw the views from our deck, we cooked at our outdoor kitchen as much as possible. We thought it would be a little restricting having only a stovetop, but we made tacos and spaghetti, and we enjoyed salads with fresh avocado from the tree on the property. We also enjoyed trying varieties of fresh fruit that were waiting for us there in the basket. We found this the perfect retreat after enjoying days sight-seeing in Hana. The drive is about 2 1/2 - 3 hours from the airport, but we enjoyed every minute that the views on the drive afforded us. I read some reviews complaining about the lack of air conditioning, but - with windows wide open, the gentle breezes that drifted through the cottage all day and night provided the perfect climate control. Cool evenings and breezy days made the cottage more than comfortable. It rained one afternoon when we were there, and we enjoyed playing games and watching videos. Sam directed us to some quiet places where we could swim in waterfall pools and enjoy privacy. Mercury lives in the same house as the cottage, but we truly felt like it was a completely separate space. We only saw the owners when we sought them out, and we were given utter privacy 24/7. We were able to enjoy the outdoor shower and bath - a totally unique experience to this B&B, and it was quite possibly the best part of our trip. It is obvious that great care was taken to manicure the gardens and grounds, and that only made the place more of a blessed experience. Mercury is an artist, and you can tell everywhere you look that this place is not just her dwelling - her lovely heart and soul is reflected in it. Because of that, it's obvious that she takes the care of it very seriously and highly values the positive experience and high opinion of her guests. The fact that it is solar powered has been a source of some complaints, but we didn't find it confining in the least. It's paradise - we prefered the moonlight for strolls and romantic encounters, but there is plenty of solar-powered light if desired.

We spent 4 nights in Hana and 3 nights in Lahaina (on the more populace side of Maui), and we found ourselves almost wishing we had scheduled more in Hana. We loved that side of Maui so much. It was a rainforest, beach, and prairie - 3 gorgeous ecosystems all rolled into one.

Suggestions for prospective guests:
1) The propane fridge will not keep your food ice cold, and we did have a gallon of milk spoil by the 3rd day we were there. So... buy smaller amounts of milk and shop at Hasegawa's in Hana if you need more. Keep things that you need colder on the top shelves of the fridge. The freezer does a GREAT job preserving meat and making ice.
2) Take advantage of Sam and Mercury's expertise of the area, and go to the places they suggest you visit. You will NOT be disappointed.
3) Go on the Hana/Maui Kayak/Snorkel adventure tour. Kevin was an AMAZING tour guide, and the tour was very private, and we saw some beautiful things!
4) Try not to plan anything on the other side of the island when you are on the Hana side, as it will be an all-day trip. We accidentally planned a sunrise bike tour of Haleakala on the other side of the island, and we had a long day/night of car trip navigating the tricky "Road to Hana" - even the south road we took was a little scary at night. If you take the south road, it's better to be in an SUV - our convertible made for a very bumpy ride.
5) Have a plate lunch in Hana. YUM!
6) If you're an "indoor" person - who insists on AC, room service, and all the amenities of a hotel, this probably isn't the B&B for you. This place has all the romance and charm that a hotel can't possibly offer. Enjoy it for what it is - don't complain about what it's not.

We enjoyed our stay more than we can express. We were sad to leave Ala'aina, and if we are ever afforded the chance, we will go back there again! We are certain that our memories of Hawaii - most of them at Ala'aina will last us a lifetime.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
32  Thank clamms6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2012

This was our fifth stay at Ala 'Aina Ocean Vista, and for us, the place just keeps getting better. Hosts Sam and Mercury, a sparkling mother/daughter team, provide not only spotless accommodations inside and out, and who greet you with charm and warmth, but also seem to quietly withdraw, leaving guests in virtual solitude with a 180-degree ocean view from a lovely elevated vantage point. However, when we had questions or comments, we could easily find our hosts, who dispensed love, aloha and humor while suggesting places to go and sights to see. (It’s 10 miles from Hana, a stunning scenic drive into the quaint hamlet and to the famous Hasegawa General Store, among other places.) But who wants to go anywhere when you can stay right there and soak up paradise? It’s off the grid and practically off the map, but it’s understated elegance and refinement in the jungles of Kipahulu. The Ala 'Aina grounds, meticulously maintained and groomed, are sumptuous with well-placed sculpture and glass art. The tiny kitchen on the guest room lanai is covered, and you dine outdoors under the eaves, so if rain comes, you can enjoy the sounds of passing showers that keep the landscape so green. And, if you’re lucky, in the evening you’ll hear the frogs in the lily pond, and can watch a nature “reality show” as geckos hunt for their dinner on the outdoor light. All in all, Ala 'Aina Ocean Vista, a unique retreat, is a gem of a place and a lovely home-away-from-home in the jungle.
--J & D, Sacramento CA

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
27  Thank Dickiedean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Let me start by saying the property is lovely. Beautiful. Gorgeous. The home is very well maintained, and the grounds are perfectly manicured. The views are very picturesque. However, when we booked this "Hana B&B" we didn't realize it isn't actually in Hana - If you take the "Road to Hana", you will have to go about 35 minutes past Hana to locate the home. We found the remoteness of the location to be a little more than we had bargained for - Hana is already pretty remote, so to be out past that - well, you definitely have your privacy. :)

We arrived late one afternoon, and by the time we drove back to Hana for dinner (6 pm), everything was pretty much closed except the Hana Ranch, which had such bad reviews that we decided to go back to the house to eat some cheese and crackers we had brought with us. We had a nice evening on the back patio, and you have great views of the stars. The next day started early and we visited the Haleakala park (7 sacred pools), Hamoa Beach, and Venus pool. After that, we decided that rather than spending 3 nights there, we would just go ahead and head to Wailea. For us, we needed a little more civilization, and my husband grumbled about having to wash his own breakfast dishes on his honeymoon. :)

so I rated the property as very good - because if this is what you are looking for, it is a beautiful location. Just be aware that it is VERY secluded and remote.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
26  Thank kitegoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

The peaceful and stunning views sweep over you bringing warmth and aloha to your soul.A place to re connect and create harmony within--the grounds are meticulously groomed with an obvious love and respect of the land.It was an honor to meet Sam and Mercury who make you feel completely at home while maintaining your privacy.I thank them both for their friendship and letting me experience a part of their paradise.I hope to return as soon as time allows .
Aloha Bill Canty

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
27  Thank bill c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We spent two nights enjoying this wonderful retreat with ocean views in two directions set among tropical vegetation and an imaginative garden. The private suite is high quality and has an outdoor kitchen and dining deck that add to the experience. The area is beautiful and full of things to do. Sam and Mercury provide suggestions and directions for local adventures but if you want to stay all day and enjoy the serenity of the location, that's OK, too. Enjoy fruit from the property depending on the season-bananas and cherries for us. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
30  Thank Kay and David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

We enjoyed the quiet beauty of this very private gettaway. We were able to explore the Hana area and enjoy a side of Maui that most people don't experience. Sam and Mercury were the best hostesses--very friendly and welcoming, like we were old friends coming to visit. The B&B was very private, clean, and they supplied everything we needed. We cooked most of our meals in the outdoor kichen, and ate outdoors with a beautiful view of their gardens and the ocean. We were given quite a bit of fruit from their property--bananas, papayas, star fruit, guavas, and more. They gave us a whole list of things to do--and we spent our time doing most of them!! Thank you Sam and Mercury for a wonderful time on the East side of Maui!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
31  Thank grcguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

This is a fantastic retreat! Plan to spend at least 2 nights to explore the Hana area, there is so much to do and see! You have your own open air kitchen and you can enjoy a romantic dinner in privacy with ocean view, surrounded by lush tropical forest. Very clean and friendly host. Excellent place!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
28  Thank Daniela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kipahulu
12.3 km away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
42.1 km away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,172 reviews
41.0 km away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
69.9 km away
The Plantation Inn
The Plantation Inn
#1 of 11 in Lahaina
466 reviews
65.0 km away
Ho'oilo House
Ho'oilo House
#2 of 11 in Lahaina
361 reviews
71.2 km away
Lahaina Ocean's Edge
Lahaina Ocean's Edge
#4 of 11 in Lahaina
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ala'aina Ocean Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ala'aina Ocean Vista

Address: Hc1184a, Kipahulu, Maui, HI 96713
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kipahulu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kipahulu
Price Range: $253 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ala Aina Ocean Vista is proud to be 100% GREEN and an ECO-FRIENDLY accommodation. We offer you a VERY private and unique B&B suite, located on a former banana plantation, nestled in an exotic lush tropical setting. It boasts the peace and quiet and offers guests sweeping ocean vistas. Enjoy lying in bed watching the ocean in your king-sized bed surrounded by windows overlooking tropical trees, flowers and rolling green lawns. Our B&B suite offers a custom -king-size bed. The fully-equipped efficiency kitchen, on the large private deck, is charming and you can cook "under the stars"! There is an inside private bathroom with marble floors and tiled shower (roomy enough for two), as well as an outside bath and shower with lotus pond in your own little garden. We offer a cool selection of retro board games and Direct TV access for those that want television. We also have free WIFI too. The best part is we offer each and every guest a romantic and quiet accommodation experience and SWEEPING OCEAN VISTAS from your room and deck! There are also spectacular sunsets and incredible rainbows that our guests rave about! This is a true Hawaiian getaway and a real slice of paradise! We are just 2 miles from, 7 Sacred Pools, aka The Pools at Ohe'o. Additionally we are 10 miles to the town of Hana, where the famous Hasegawa's General Store and the Hotel Hana Maui are located. We are only 30-40 minutes to Maui's black and red sand beaches. Waioka pond, known as "Venus pools", are a short 20 minutes away and Alele Waterfall is just 5 minutes away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ala`Aina Ocean Vista Hotel Hana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing