We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (183)
Filter reviews
183 results
Traveller rating
148
24
5
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
148
24
5
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor kitchen seven sacred pools fresh fruit bed and breakfast waimoku falls star fruit gracious hosts night sounds garden of eden a fantastic place to stay own meals our honeymoon the big island close proximity beautiful property mercury hana
Filter
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 183 reviews
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Hana is one of the great end of the road places to find the real Hawaii. And if the beauty and magic of Hana had a name it would be Sam and Mercury and their beautiful spot they will share with you. beautiful grounds to wander full of tropical splendor the real Hawaii awaits here. As a resort owner in the Caribbean myself I know how much care both Sam and Mercury make your stay completely private but work behind the scenes to make it carefree. More like having your own Hawaiian Estate then a typical B@B literally your own resort. Great Value and spectacular setting make this THE choice and stay at least 3 nights to soak it all in. Thanks highlight of our Honeymoon . James@ Kelly

Date of stay: March 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
26  Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 18, 2013

My wife and I spent 3 nights here and we loved our time there. Sam and Mercury were gracious hosts and we loved the peace and quiet. The open feeling of the room is fun. With the windows open, we heard the whales near shore one night at 2 AM, even though the place is not right on the ocean. It has sweeping views of the ocean and this beautiful former banana plantation. There is lots to do with the national park on either side of you, and lots of beaches to explore. We hiked into several waterfalls.

Room tip: Only one room available.
Date of stay: March 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
28  Thank Gregory P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Before booking we read all of the reviews, both positive and negative. We can honestly say that in our opinion, the negative reviews are totally unfounded. Ala'aina Ocean vista is as advertised - a tranquil and secluded B&B. The property is beautifully landscaped and Sam & her daughter, Mercury take great pride in it. The extra touches such as the gardens, statues, artistic flower arrangements, outdoor tub & shower are second to none. The outdoor kitchen was our favorite - giving a truly Hawaiian flare to our stay. Everything was provided for a delicious breakfast of toast, fruit, eggs & coffee. As suggested by Mercury when we booked, we bought meat & veggies in Kahului and cooked all of our own meals in the outdoor kitchen, enjoying dinner and wine by candle light under the stars! Sam does live adjacent to the B&B but the rental unit is totally private and she is extremely respectful of your privacy. Staying at Ala'aina was a highlight of our trip and we look forward to another visit. If you want a hotel-like experience, then book one. If you are looking for a unique B&B that is secluded, tranquil and rejuvenating then we highly recommend staying here!

Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
30  Thank Billinda03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 12, 2013

This was a great place to spend the last few days of our trip in Maui. There are so many great things to do and see in the Hana area and we were happy we decided to spend a few days there rather than to the drive up and back in one day. This property is beautiful and secluded. We loved using the outdoor kitchen and enjoying the ocean views all around us! My husband and I are very outdoorsy people and this was the perfect place for us.

Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
28  Thank LK516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Wonderful way to get away from the rest of Maui. Very quiet. Lots to do on foot. I biked there from near Paia. Had a sag with my stuff. Strongly suggest bathing in the outdoor tub. Nirvana. Sam and Mercury are wonderful. Really enjoyed preparing meals in the outdoor kitchen. This is not a place for folks who want all the conveniences of a hotel. A bit of trouble finding the correct spot, however, as not well marked and very isolated so no one around to point it out. Eventually found it.

Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
28  Thank LLRoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews