We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (183)
Filter reviews
183 results
Traveller rating
148
24
5
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
148
24
5
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor kitchen seven sacred pools fresh fruit waimoku falls two burner stove night sounds gracious hosts road to hana charcoal bbq garden of eden three nights own meals green grass the big island close proximity beautiful property maui vacation
Filter
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 183 reviews
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We had an amazing time in Hana! The owners gave us some great recommendations for activities and the property itself is beautiful. The outdoor kitchen and BBQ are a lot of fun! Great location b/c its close to a lot of the major Hana "attractions" and a short drive from downtown. Bring food with you, the fridge is small so bring a cooler too.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
24  Thank hiker2345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 31, 2013

This B&B was the perfect place to spend our last few days (of 24), on Maui. It's gardens, status, outdoor tub and shower (there's one inside, too), the floral arrangements, the outdoor cooking facilities and the view, was like Heaven. But, heaven doesn't have a grocery store, so if your going to spend more than an evening here, and they tell you, buy your food in Kahului or Hana before you do this drive. This quaint little hide-away is all one needs, enabling you to visit the many beaches and attractions. Sam and Mercury are gracious hosts and have a list of things to do in the area, 2 of which we had not been to in past visits, Venus Pool and Alelele Falls. We also went on a horseback trek to the towering Waimoku Falls, with Maui Stables near Charles Lindbergh's grave. On our way to Kahului we found the ancient Hawaii ruins of Pi'ilanihale Heiau. We will go back, there's still more to see. Mahalo and Aloha, Sam and Mercury.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
27  Thank lindalee1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Hana is one of the great end of the road places to find the real Hawaii. And if the beauty and magic of Hana had a name it would be Sam and Mercury and their beautiful spot they will share with you. beautiful grounds to wander full of tropical splendor the real Hawaii awaits here. As a resort owner in the Caribbean myself I know how much care both Sam and Mercury make your stay completely private but work behind the scenes to make it carefree. More like having your own Hawaiian Estate then a typical B@B literally your own resort. Great Value and spectacular setting make this THE choice and stay at least 3 nights to soak it all in. Thanks highlight of our Honeymoon . James@ Kelly

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
26  Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 18, 2013

My wife and I spent 3 nights here and we loved our time there. Sam and Mercury were gracious hosts and we loved the peace and quiet. The open feeling of the room is fun. With the windows open, we heard the whales near shore one night at 2 AM, even though the place is not right on the ocean. It has sweeping views of the ocean and this beautiful former banana plantation. There is lots to do with the national park on either side of you, and lots of beaches to explore. We hiked into several waterfalls.

Room Tip: Only one room available.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
28  Thank Gregory P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Before booking we read all of the reviews, both positive and negative. We can honestly say that in our opinion, the negative reviews are totally unfounded. Ala'aina Ocean vista is as advertised - a tranquil and secluded B&B. The property is beautifully landscaped and Sam & her daughter, Mercury take great pride in it. The extra touches such as the gardens, statues, artistic flower arrangements, outdoor tub & shower are second to none. The outdoor kitchen was our favorite - giving a truly Hawaiian flare to our stay. Everything was provided for a delicious breakfast of toast, fruit, eggs & coffee. As suggested by Mercury when we booked, we bought meat & veggies in Kahului and cooked all of our own meals in the outdoor kitchen, enjoying dinner and wine by candle light under the stars! Sam does live adjacent to the B&B but the rental unit is totally private and she is extremely respectful of your privacy. Staying at Ala'aina was a highlight of our trip and we look forward to another visit. If you want a hotel-like experience, then book one. If you are looking for a unique B&B that is secluded, tranquil and rejuvenating then we highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
30  Thank Billinda03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews