We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$589
US$575
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$230
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$1,023
US$599
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Book now, pay at stay
US$359
US$309
Residence Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$728
US$579
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
US$632
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$1,273
US$699
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Andaz Maui At Wailea Resort(Wailea)
Book now, pay at stay
US$564
US$549
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Book now, pay at stay
US$699
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$167
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (182)
Filter reviews
182 results
Traveller rating
147
24
5
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
147
24
5
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor kitchenseven sacred poolspast hanafresh fruitbed and breakfastwaimoku fallsburner gas stovestar fruitnight soundsgracious hostsroad to hanacharcoal bbqscreened windowsgarden of edenlovely homeless trafficthree nights
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 182 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2016

My husband and I spent two wonderful nights here in Sept. We were bowled over by the peace and tranquility of this special place. The ocean vistas were incredible, with the Big Island's peaks in view and we even got the requisite Maui rainbow or two during the stay. The cottage is open and airy and we were able to fall asleep each night listening to the sounds of nature. We loved relaxing on the lanai each evening and cooking up the fresh eggs and other goodies left for us each morning - the fridge was well stocked with everything we needed. The room was well appointed and the grounds were especially beautiful when we felt like a stroll. It is about half an hour into Hana, but we truly felt live we were off in our own little piece of paradise here. Would go back in a heartbeat. The big resorts have nothing on this place.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Laura J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 4, 2016 via mobile

My wife and I returned to Sam and Mercury's beautiful home for the third time on July 19-22. We had previously stayed there in June of 2004 and again in June of 2007. Sam and Mercury are very gracious hostesses and will give you all the privacy you want as well as socializing with you if you want. The fruit grown on their property as well as fruit you can buy at the roadside stands nearby go very well with the pan-toasted bagels they provide for breakfast. The grounds are beautifully maintained, as well as the room they provide. We love sitting out on the lanai in the evening and when the sun goes down, we also wind down for the evening. It is a very relaxing environment. During the day, there is plenty to do close by. Beaches, waterfalls, lava tubes, etc. The evening rain and singing wildlife serenade you to sleep. We definitely recommend this property for and couple looking for a little privacy and beautiful environment. Also, Mercury has handmade jewelry that she has previously made for those ladies looking for those one-of-a-kind pieces for sale.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 3, 2016

Starting our week-long Maui trip exploring the Hana side of the island was a great decision. I highly recommend making your base at this B&B, which is within a few minutes from Heleakala National Park, and no more than 30 minutes to several waterfalls and beautiful beaches. Sam and Mercury have a beautiful property, where you can relax after a long day of hiking. The guest room we stayed in was perfect for a private couples' retreat. We made great use of the outdoor kitchen on the deck just outside our room, which has a gas burner and fridge, and enjoys a clear view of the ocean! The garden behind the deck is also very peaceful and well-landscaped. For breakfast, we got to pick our own fruit on the property (starfruit, avocados, mangos!!), which was a great way to start the morning.

Interestingly, this part of the island doesn't have grid electricity, so the property is fully off the grid with solar panels and battery storage for nighttime power. Mercury was kind enough to educate us a little about how they power the property.

Thanks for hosting us! Until next time!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Danny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 27, 2016

We always wanted to explore the Hana side of the island and knew that the best way to do that was to stay a few nights. That's exactly what we did for 3 nights in late June at Sam's place in Kipahulu. She was extremely responsive in working with us to reserve the place and provided excellent directions to find her home. Sam and her daughter were very helpful and respectful of our privacy. You're the only guests on the property. The grounds of their property was beautiful and the ocean views were just as advertised. Taking the Back Road is the only way to go. There's actually about 7 miles of painful bumpiness ... but the shorter journey was worth it. The location was perfect! We were the first ones at the 7 pools and the longest drive we took during our stay was to Hana for lunch ... and to get some milk from the market. Sam provided helpful tips on local waterfalls and hikes/beaches. Wifi was sketchy .. but that was nice also. It was really relaxing. Eating fresh bananas & mangos from trees on the property .. to watching about a dozen egrets walking around on the expansive front grass lawn .. to reading a good book on the deck ... to hearing the rustling of the trees at night ... to getting a peak of the stars ... to just slowing down and relaxing ... it was all incredibly enjoyable. Yes, we would highly recommend this bed & breakfast!

Room Tip: Only 1 room ... large shower ... spent most of time on deck
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 23, 2016

Lovely property with peace and privacy. Views of garden, lawn, mountains and ocean. Wake up early to the sound of birds in this open and airy room. We loved the fresh air and indoor-outdoor feel. The tiny kitchen on the deck was perfect for preparing simple meals. Hosts are friendly and available but give you lots of space. Romantic and nature oriented. Perfect for hikers heading to Waimea Falls and the Seven Sacred Pools. The park is just minutes away.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tfb520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews