We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Bed & Breakfast-Peace & serenity with adventure!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kipahulu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ala'aina Ocean Vista
Ranked #1 of 1 Kipahulu B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 October 2016

Just returned from spending 4 nights at the lovely Ala'Aina Ocean Vista. This place is just what we were looking for, off-grid, beautiful surroundings and great hosts! Wonderful location for exploring Haleakala National Park, Seven Pools, other waterfalls and, of course, the spectacular black and red sand beaches. Sam & Mercury have furnished the place with everything you could imagine, considering all the needs of their guests. Plenty of eggs, butter, bagels and fresh fruit daily. Gorgeous Balinese decor (inside/out) with fantastic ocean views from the lanai where we cooked several meals and enjoyed cocktails in the fairy rain. We could not have dreamed of a better time in this area with such hard-working, gracious & fun hosts!

Mahalo and blessings Sam & Mercury :)

Room Tip: Stock up on food and drink before driving towards Hana. Few good food trucks, only 2 restaurants, po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Krpdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2016

My husband and I spent two wonderful nights here in Sept. We were bowled over by the peace and tranquility of this special place. The ocean vistas were incredible, with the Big Island's peaks in view and we even got the requisite Maui rainbow or two during the stay. The cottage is open and airy and we were able to fall asleep each night listening to the sounds of nature. We loved relaxing on the lanai each evening and cooking up the fresh eggs and other goodies left for us each morning - the fridge was well stocked with everything we needed. The room was well appointed and the grounds were especially beautiful when we felt like a stroll. It is about half an hour into Hana, but we truly felt live we were off in our own little piece of paradise here. Would go back in a heartbeat. The big resorts have nothing on this place.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Laura J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2016 via mobile

My wife and I returned to Sam and Mercury's beautiful home for the third time on July 19-22. We had previously stayed there in June of 2004 and again in June of 2007. Sam and Mercury are very gracious hostesses and will give you all the privacy you want as well as socializing with you if you want. The fruit grown on their property as well as fruit you can buy at the roadside stands nearby go very well with the pan-toasted bagels they provide for breakfast. The grounds are beautifully maintained, as well as the room they provide. We love sitting out on the lanai in the evening and when the sun goes down, we also wind down for the evening. It is a very relaxing environment. During the day, there is plenty to do close by. Beaches, waterfalls, lava tubes, etc. The evening rain and singing wildlife serenade you to sleep. We definitely recommend this property for and couple looking for a little privacy and beautiful environment. Also, Mercury has handmade jewelry that she has previously made for those ladies looking for those one-of-a-kind pieces for sale.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2016

Starting our week-long Maui trip exploring the Hana side of the island was a great decision. I highly recommend making your base at this B&B, which is within a few minutes from Heleakala National Park, and no more than 30 minutes to several waterfalls and beautiful beaches. Sam and Mercury have a beautiful property, where you can relax after a long day of hiking. The guest room we stayed in was perfect for a private couples' retreat. We made great use of the outdoor kitchen on the deck just outside our room, which has a gas burner and fridge, and enjoys a clear view of the ocean! The garden behind the deck is also very peaceful and well-landscaped. For breakfast, we got to pick our own fruit on the property (starfruit, avocados, mangos!!), which was a great way to start the morning.

Interestingly, this part of the island doesn't have grid electricity, so the property is fully off the grid with solar panels and battery storage for nighttime power. Mercury was kind enough to educate us a little about how they power the property.

Thanks for hosting us! Until next time!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Danny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2016

We always wanted to explore the Hana side of the island and knew that the best way to do that was to stay a few nights. That's exactly what we did for 3 nights in late June at Sam's place in Kipahulu. She was extremely responsive in working with us to reserve the place and provided excellent directions to find her home. Sam and her daughter were very helpful and respectful of our privacy. You're the only guests on the property. The grounds of their property was beautiful and the ocean views were just as advertised. Taking the Back Road is the only way to go. There's actually about 7 miles of painful bumpiness ... but the shorter journey was worth it. The location was perfect! We were the first ones at the 7 pools and the longest drive we took during our stay was to Hana for lunch ... and to get some milk from the market. Sam provided helpful tips on local waterfalls and hikes/beaches. Wifi was sketchy .. but that was nice also. It was really relaxing. Eating fresh bananas & mangos from trees on the property .. to watching about a dozen egrets walking around on the expansive front grass lawn .. to reading a good book on the deck ... to hearing the rustling of the trees at night ... to getting a peak of the stars ... to just slowing down and relaxing ... it was all incredibly enjoyable. Yes, we would highly recommend this bed & breakfast!

Room Tip: Only 1 room ... large shower ... spent most of time on deck
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2016

Lovely property with peace and privacy. Views of garden, lawn, mountains and ocean. Wake up early to the sound of birds in this open and airy room. We loved the fresh air and indoor-outdoor feel. The tiny kitchen on the deck was perfect for preparing simple meals. Hosts are friendly and available but give you lots of space. Romantic and nature oriented. Perfect for hikers heading to Waimea Falls and the Seven Sacred Pools. The park is just minutes away.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tfb520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2016

My wife and I rented a car, and drove here and stayed two nights during our honeymoon. It was an unforgettable experience. Hawaii as you always pictured it. Absolutely beautiful grounds, great views, clean rooms, and delicious fresh fruit. We would return in a heartbeat if we ever get the chance to visit Hawaii again.

Stayed: April 2015
2  Thank Bobby P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kipahulu
12.3 km away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
42.1 km away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,171 reviews
41.0 km away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
69.9 km away
The Plantation Inn
The Plantation Inn
#1 of 11 in Lahaina
466 reviews
65.0 km away
Ho'oilo House
Ho'oilo House
#2 of 11 in Lahaina
361 reviews
71.2 km away
Lahaina Ocean's Edge
Lahaina Ocean's Edge
#4 of 11 in Lahaina
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ala'aina Ocean Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ala'aina Ocean Vista

Address: Hc1184a, Kipahulu, Maui, HI 96713
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kipahulu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kipahulu
Price Range: $253 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ala Aina Ocean Vista is proud to be 100% GREEN and an ECO-FRIENDLY accommodation. We offer you a VERY private and unique B&B suite, located on a former banana plantation, nestled in an exotic lush tropical setting. It boasts the peace and quiet and offers guests sweeping ocean vistas. Enjoy lying in bed watching the ocean in your king-sized bed surrounded by windows overlooking tropical trees, flowers and rolling green lawns. Our B&B suite offers a custom -king-size bed. The fully-equipped efficiency kitchen, on the large private deck, is charming and you can cook "under the stars"! There is an inside private bathroom with marble floors and tiled shower (roomy enough for two), as well as an outside bath and shower with lotus pond in your own little garden. We offer a cool selection of retro board games and Direct TV access for those that want television. We also have free WIFI too. The best part is we offer each and every guest a romantic and quiet accommodation experience and SWEEPING OCEAN VISTAS from your room and deck! There are also spectacular sunsets and incredible rainbows that our guests rave about! This is a true Hawaiian getaway and a real slice of paradise! We are just 2 miles from, 7 Sacred Pools, aka The Pools at Ohe'o. Additionally we are 10 miles to the town of Hana, where the famous Hasegawa's General Store and the Hotel Hana Maui are located. We are only 30-40 minutes to Maui's black and red sand beaches. Waioka pond, known as "Venus pools", are a short 20 minutes away and Alele Waterfall is just 5 minutes away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ala`Aina Ocean Vista Hotel Hana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing