We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful B&B in the tropics of Maui!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kipahulu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ala'aina Ocean Vista
Ranked #1 of 1 Kipahulu B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 May 2017

A wonderful and private little hideaway just past the Seven Sacred Pools. Beautiful views, peaceful nights, clean and welcoming. Remember you are in the middle of the jungle, with sounds and wildlife, but that only endeared us more. A gorgeous property and really fun to cook in the outdoor kitchen and live "off the grid". Organic eggs,organic butter, fresh grown fruit and bagels provided to make your breakfasts with and all kitchen supplies. We brought things to prepare for dinner, and it helped to have meat ( if you're bringing) cooked and cut up for quick prep as there are two gas burners with cast iron pans to cook and no oven. (There is a charcoal BBQ though.) Worked out great for us! Loved the place and Sam and her daughter are very friendly and helpful. Will go back again anytime we are lucky enough to be in Maui.

Room Tip: one room only
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DawnACalgary_AB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2017 via mobile

It served our purpose of spending the last three nights of our Maui vacation in a secluded location on the Road to Hana. The grounds were beautiful, well-planted, two ocean views, bright green grass (thanks to the rain!)
The accommodation was a little unusual, with no indoor seating, just an area at the top of the bed to sit and read or watch television. The outdoor deck worked well, with simple cooking on a two burner stove, fridge, and supplies for coffee and tea in the mornings.
There was no service during our stay, which meant the garbage containers were overflowing.
Great shower, large enough for two persons.
All in all, it was a suitable location for exploring the area and for our peaceful last days of this visit.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Kevan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2017

We stayed for 2 nights in February 2017, and I really wish we had stayed longer. My Mom and Dad stayed here in 2013 and recommended it to us. The bedroom is large enough to store your gear and still have space and the back of the bed is set up with pillows so you can sit and read leaning back on the pillows. The bathroom was comfortable and we had plenty of hot water when we showered. We had everything we needed to cook breakfast (bagels, PB&J, butter, eggs, Aloha Maid, coffee, sugar, creamer) and simple dinners on the 2 burner gas stove. Since it is probably 30 min past Hana, I would recommend cooking your dinners and not planning on eating out. They also supply olive oil and other cooking oils. The kitchen is outside on the lanai and fully covered by the overhanging roof. In the morning I would sip my coffee while reading on the porch chairs. I have read some of the negative reviews of this place, and it seems that what some people didn't like are the exact reasons that I loved this place. I loved sleeping in the bed surrounded by screened windows on 2 sides. You can see the stars, feel the breeze, and hear the frogs. I found the bed quite comfortable, and it was comfortably cool at night. The grounds are absolutely gorgeous with amazing views of the ocean and the mountains. It was incredibly peaceful. We felt like it was very private and did not mind that the room is attached on 1 side to Mercury's house. To me, it had everything that I want in a vacation: remote, quiet, stars...things I usually only find, say, camping in the middle of Utah...except that we were sleeping in a real bed with a real bathroom and a kitchen. So, be honest with yourself before you stay here, if you are a diva and want to style your hair and say "ew" if you see an animal, then try the Four Seasons :) Geckos are adorable by the way. A little more useful info: We left from Kahului on our B&B arrival day about 11am and managed to see all the sights we wanted up until Wai'anapanapa State Park, and then had to drive straight to make it before dark to the B&B. On our middle day, we backtracked to Wai'anapanapa and worked our way back toward the B&B making it until before the Kipahulu region of Haleakala NP. On our departure day, we backtracked slightly to Haleakala NP and did the hikes there. Finally, we drove around the South side of the island back to Kihei. It is true that this B&B is fairly far around when you are coming clockwise, but there are multiple days worth of sights within 1 hour drive in both directions. I do recommend driving around the South once you leave Ala'aina, and Sam will recommend that you do as well. If you made it to Ala'aina I don't think the rest of the road is much different and there is far less traffic. In short, we loved this place and highly recommend staying here.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank sarahellen_Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2017

I wish that I had read all the 3 star reviews first so I could have been more prepared on what to expect. The picture is of a lovely home but your small room is the lower half where the stair case is. One of the owners lives next door and even though the blinds are closed I felt like I was invading space. I didn't realize that the kitchen and seating area was outdoors on the deck. The dishes and utensils are not covered so we had to wash everything before using when making breakfasts. I will say it was very nice that the owners provides breakfast items and fruity soft drinks for your convenience. We weren't planning to cook our meals and ate our other meals in Hana (40-45 minute drive away).

I knew the home was solar powered but I didn't realized that meant no hair appliances could be used. There wasn't any closet or shelf space so you had to pull things from your suitcase.

The trade winds picked up at night when we were there and the screened window in the bathroom was broken so window came open. There were extra blankets for cooler nights so we were fine. If you need to get up in the middle of the night, be prepared to crawl over your partner, to get out of bed since the bed is flushed against the wall.

This room just wasn't my style. I prefer to stay in Hana next time.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank p0rt0bell0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2017

What a great place to get away from the hustle and bustle for a couple of nights. Great little outdoor kitchen and views of the ocean from everywhere. The fresh fruit provided each day was amazing. You'll love it!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Randy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2017

We chose to take the road to Hana, and Kipahulu, at the end of our Hawaiian experience. What a treat. When you are tired of the resort experience at Lahaina, Wailea, and Kahului, then book a few nights at Ala'Aina Ocean Vista in Kipahulu to rejuvinate, let the soul relax, and enjoy a view that is completely delightful. We watched small rain squalls move across the Pacific, a humpback mother and calf practise breaching, and turned around on the balcony to witness a double rainbow framing the flanks of Haleakala with the end of the rainbow dipping down into the cove just down the road (which cannot be seen). Borderline magical. The accommodations are classic hawaii; we slept with the windows open to let the breeze flow through the room and to listen to the waves break on the coast line below. I could have stayed a couple of more nights. Oh yeah, bring some groceries so you can cook out on the balcony and there are plenty of places to go see to fill the days. That is if you can get yourself off the balcony while taking in that view.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Konacontent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2016

Just returned from spending 4 nights at the lovely Ala'Aina Ocean Vista. This place is just what we were looking for, off-grid, beautiful surroundings and great hosts! Wonderful location for exploring Haleakala National Park, Seven Pools, other waterfalls and, of course, the spectacular black and red sand beaches. Sam & Mercury have furnished the place with everything you could imagine, considering all the needs of their guests. Plenty of eggs, butter, bagels and fresh fruit daily. Gorgeous Balinese decor (inside/out) with fantastic ocean views from the lanai where we cooked several meals and enjoyed cocktails in the fairy rain. We could not have dreamed of a better time in this area with such hard-working, gracious & fun hosts!

Mahalo and blessings Sam & Mercury :)

Room Tip: Stock up on food and drink before driving towards Hana. Few good food trucks, only 2 restaurants, po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Krpdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kipahulu
12.3 km away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
42.1 km away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,176 reviews
41.0 km away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
69.9 km away
The Plantation Inn
The Plantation Inn
#1 of 11 in Lahaina
466 reviews
65.0 km away
Ho'oilo House
Ho'oilo House
#2 of 11 in Lahaina
362 reviews
9.4 km away
Hana Oceanfront Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ala'aina Ocean Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ala'aina Ocean Vista

Address: Hc1184a, Kipahulu, Maui, HI 96713
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kipahulu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kipahulu
Price Range: $252 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ala Aina Ocean Vista is proud to be 100% GREEN and an ECO-FRIENDLY accommodation. We offer you a VERY private and unique B&B suite, located on a former banana plantation, nestled in an exotic lush tropical setting. It boasts the peace and quiet and offers guests sweeping ocean vistas. Enjoy lying in bed watching the ocean in your king-sized bed surrounded by windows overlooking tropical trees, flowers and rolling green lawns. Our B&B suite offers a custom -king-size bed. The fully-equipped efficiency kitchen, on the large private deck, is charming and you can cook "under the stars"! There is an inside private bathroom with marble floors and tiled shower (roomy enough for two), as well as an outside bath and shower with lotus pond in your own little garden. We offer a cool selection of retro board games and Direct TV access for those that want television. We also have free WIFI too. The best part is we offer each and every guest a romantic and quiet accommodation experience and SWEEPING OCEAN VISTAS from your room and deck! There are also spectacular sunsets and incredible rainbows that our guests rave about! This is a true Hawaiian getaway and a real slice of paradise! We are just 2 miles from, 7 Sacred Pools, aka The Pools at Ohe'o. Additionally we are 10 miles to the town of Hana, where the famous Hasegawa's General Store and the Hotel Hana Maui are located. We are only 30-40 minutes to Maui's black and red sand beaches. Waioka pond, known as "Venus pools", are a short 20 minutes away and Alele Waterfall is just 5 minutes away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ala`Aina Ocean Vista Hotel Hana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing