We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (183)
Filter reviews
183 results
Traveller rating
148
24
5
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
148
24
5
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor kitchenseven sacred poolspast hanafresh fruitwaimoku fallsburner gas stovenight soundsgracious hostsroad to hanacharcoal bbqgarden of edenscreened windowsless trafficthree nightshighly recommend staying hereown mealsgreen grass
Filter
Updating list...
131 - 136 of 183 reviews
Reviewed June 22, 2010

Our stay was short as we were meeting friends in Kaanapali, but we didn't want to leave as this B & B is wonderfully set on gorgeous grounds with soothing views of the ocean. The birds sing to you and you can't help but relax on the lanai. There is lots to do & see in the area. This gem is hidden away in paradise and run by the wonderful hostesses Sam & Mercury. When we saw our friends after we left, we immediately showed them our pictures & told them they need to go there the next time they come to Maui. We absolutely will go back.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank GrandmainHeaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 12, 2010

After two weeks of being pampered at the west Maui and Big Island resorts it was a small shock to be thrown back into the reality of preparing your own food, not to mention finding a place to buy it. Initially we though that we had chosen to stay too long, but once we started doing some exploring we found plenty of things to do.

We hiked up to take a shower under the nearby falls, went horseback riding with Maui Stables (highly recommended) and visited red, black and white sands beaches. We started most of the days at the hippie fruit stand just down the road.

The location itself is beautiful, and left a great impression. It's not every place you can watch both the sunrise and the sunset from the comfort of your bed. The atmosphere is very relaxed, and you will be greeted by lots of little cute geckos.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank Logge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 26, 2010

This is something we do not normally do ..but Ala'aina Ocean Vista is worthy of comment !.... an outstanding stay on this magnificent piece of real estate... the batteries are now recharged after having spent the last 5 days of a 2 1/2 week visit to Hawaii here at Ala'aina Ocean Vista.The location and the sea views are outstanding ... we arrived at 5.30 pm after a tiring journey from Kahului !!!... we had a light tea that night followed by a 12 hour sleep !!!! The next day we stayed put and enjoyed our accommodation (the bed was huge .. 10 foot x 6 foot wide.. and this is not a joke!!!! I nearly had to order a cab to get me from one side of the bed to the other !!! ) ( Shower was huge as well ) there was an outside shower there as well but it was a liittle wet when we were there) the views , reading and winding down !!!. the next couple of days we went into Hana and generally did the touristy 'thing' ... general store . 7 pools ; red beach etc etc etc . This is unique accommodation and if you are wanting a typical 5 star rating then forget it !!!! It is 5 star rating if you are after the finer yet simple things that are on offer .... Sam is good value ....lovely lady ... I thoroughly researched our options for this part of our Hawaiian visit and I was not disappointed in the least. I guess the only down side is that, if there is one, the fruit could have been replenished daily and cereal and milk could have been provided .. I'm sure if we asked this to be done it would have. We bought our own which was not a problem .... Honestly, our stay was amazing and has a 10 / 10 ... 5 star rating .....

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank Simon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 21, 2010

We visited this Bed and Breakfast in November 2009. We were prepared to spend the nights there and bum around the area during the day time. Once we arrived and unpacked, looked around the grounds, any thoughts of leaving immediately vanished. We spent 3 fabulous days basking in the sun totally removed from the everyday humdrum. No cell phone, Go to sleep when the Sun goes down, and sleep like a baby in a most fascinating bed, and wake with the Sun. We left totally recharged.

If anyone wants to experience a bit of paradise this is the place.
Al Morris

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank oldsophi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 15, 2010

This is a real find. My wife and I were looking for a nice, out of the way place to stay while visiting Hana. It blew away our expectations. Sam and her daughter Mercury have created a beautiful little oasis. The room and attached outdoor kitchen are elegantly simple. The view from the luxurious bed is stunning, with the tropical breezes and birdsongs enveloping you. Honestly, it feels like you could lie there forever. It was a pleasure to cook there as well, with the handy grill to cook steaks on and fresh fruit Sam provided. I must also mention it's just down the road from the best little organic fruit stand I've ever experienced. We went there three times in two days! Also, it's very near Hana's famous seven sacred pools, so it's easy to get there early and beat the crowds. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank DonLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews