We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (183)
Filter reviews
183 results
Traveller rating
148
24
5
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
148
24
5
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor kitchenseven sacred poolsfresh fruitwaimoku fallstwo burner stovenight soundsgracious hostsroad to hanacharcoal bbqgarden of edenthree nightsown mealsgreen grassthe big islandclose proximitybeautiful propertymaui vacation
Filter
Updating list...
121 - 126 of 183 reviews
Reviewed November 29, 2010

This is not a hotel, it is not a spa. It is a hidden paradise in the jungle.

Things you can't expect:
-using hairdryers (on battery/solar power in the jungle)
-getting reliable cell phone reception (again...jungle)
-internet connection
-no air-conditioning (The windows on both sides of the room open and create nice breezes, we were never too hot (though we did visit in November).

Things you can expect:
-Sam and Mercury are excellent hosts. They made us feel very welcome.
-The room consists of a huge bed on a platform, larger than king size. The bathroom consists of a large 2-person walk-in shower with a view of the water. The outdoor shower is on the side of the house with views of the big island. The outdoor bathtub is next to the outdoor shower and is an excellent place to watch the stars and be serenaded by the frogs in the lily pond next to the tub.
-There is satellite TV and plenty of movies to watch.
-Though the room is attached to Mercury's residence, you'd never even know she's there. Her windows on the guest side of the building are closed with the blinds drawn. If we didn't seek her out to peruse her jewelry (very nice btw), we wouldn't have even known she was home.
-Beautiful, lush grounds. We really like to do and see things on vacation but we just didn't want to leave the room and grounds. There are papaya, mango, apple-banana, orange, and many other varieties of fruit trees on the grounds. Lots of delightful statuary and decorations all over the place.
-The outdoor kitchen consists of a two-burner gas stove, a sink, and a refrigerator. Bring bug spray (or leave the lights off) if cooking at night. The hosts provide basic breakfast food, the rest is up to you. We made a couple of trips to Hana to re-provision during our 4-night stay and it was perfect.

If you are the kind of person who likes to stay in large sterile resort hotels, this might not be the place for you. If you like staying in a lush tropical setting, and get joy out of finding a beautiful and relaxing spot to unwind in paradise...this is the place for you.

We'll be coming back every time we go to Maui!

-Rob and Ginger

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank snookerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 23, 2010

My wife and I stayed at this lovely B & B in Maui. My mother and father talked about HI when they would stay in Maui or elsewhere in the 60's/70's and this is what they were talking about. Not Honolulu of today. Both Sam and Mercury were excellent hosts and the grounds could not be more beautiful. If as a part of your stay in Maui you plan to be in the Hana area we Highly recommend you staying here.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank Greg0070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 9, 2010

SERVICE: Service surpassed my expectations, as I've found B&B experiences to be hit or miss. The owners were readily available to help, welcoming and were very helpful with orienting us towards all of the local attractions. Service was not constantly in our faces either- we got great service but also lots of privacy and alone time.

ROOM & AMENITIES: The room was very cosy and we loved the amenities. The outdoor kitchen is fully equipped and offers beautiful views of the sunset, ocean, and mountains. The outdoor pool and shower were also very fun.

LOCATION: About a 30+ minute drive from Hana and is just a couple miles past the Haleakala Park entrance. Very close to the Seven Sacred Pools, the Bamboo Forest, and some gigantic waterfalls. We wanted to be somewhere that felt remote and very private, which is exactly what we found in this property.

BEST PART OF STAY: The outdoor bath, shower and kitchen/lanai. Beautiful, extremely romantic and calming setting.

"LEAST BEST" PART OF STAY: Lighting in the room was a wee bit dim. This is a minor quibble.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank jesmande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 27, 2010

There are great views but the rest was disappointing. It's approximately 12 miles past Hana, takes about 30 minutes due to the winding road. It is very quiet and secluded with nice ocean views. The room is attached to the main house where the owner's daughter lives but we were not bothered by her at all. They do respect your privacy.

They run off solar energy. Because of this, there are a list of "don'ts" printed and left in the room. Don't use a hair dryer or curling/straightening iron, don't leave the lights on, don't turn change the setting of the refrigerator (which is barely even cool. We actually went back to Hana to get ice for our cooler to keep our drinks cold) ect. as it will drain their solar power.

The fridge, propane burner and sink are on the deck. They are stocked with utensils, plates and spices for any cooking you do. We did use the charcoal bbq that is just off the deck. Do don't typically stock charcoal, so you must bring this with you. They also have beach chairs and snorkel gear for your use.

This place is listed as a B&B on tripadvisor and other websites but it is NOT a B&B. They do have some fruit on the deck but that's it. You're on your own for all meals.

Since it's located near Hana which is more of a tropical environment, there are lots of bugs and geckos. There were multiple geckos on the deck and outside of the windows in the evening/nights. There were also a few small geckos inside (the bathroom, near the windows and door).

We had a few issues while there, the main overhead light was did not work and one of the days we arrived back from sightseeing the owner told us there was a problem with the fridge and it had not been working for over four hours. She said she hoped our fish and other food in there had not spoiled. We were never offered any compensation for these problems.

Overall, we enjoyed our trip to Hana but wish we had stayed somewhere closer to town.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smurph07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 27, 2010

Ala'aina ocean vista is an extraordinary peaceful place on earth. Samadhi and Mercury run this piece of heaven with so much love and good energy that we didn´t want to leave it ever again. We can highly recommend this place to all people who love nature. It is a very special place. And yes, it is also spiritual place!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank Claudio14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews