We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On our next trip to Maui we will definetly stay here again.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kipahulu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ala'aina Ocean Vista
Ranked #1 of 1 Kipahulu B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 December 2010

This site was a great fit for us - the most beautiful grounds and ocean view, and solitude. Sam and Mercury were friendly and helpful, and not at all intrusive. Very relaxing and quiet.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
23  Thank bodbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2010

This is not a hotel, it is not a spa. It is a hidden paradise in the jungle.

Things you can't expect:
-using hairdryers (on battery/solar power in the jungle)
-getting reliable cell phone reception (again...jungle)
-internet connection
-no air-conditioning (The windows on both sides of the room open and create nice breezes, we were never too hot (though we did visit in November).

Things you can expect:
-Sam and Mercury are excellent hosts. They made us feel very welcome.
-The room consists of a huge bed on a platform, larger than king size. The bathroom consists of a large 2-person walk-in shower with a view of the water. The outdoor shower is on the side of the house with views of the big island. The outdoor bathtub is next to the outdoor shower and is an excellent place to watch the stars and be serenaded by the frogs in the lily pond next to the tub.
-There is satellite TV and plenty of movies to watch.
-Though the room is attached to Mercury's residence, you'd never even know she's there. Her windows on the guest side of the building are closed with the blinds drawn. If we didn't seek her out to peruse her jewelry (very nice btw), we wouldn't have even known she was home.
-Beautiful, lush grounds. We really like to do and see things on vacation but we just didn't want to leave the room and grounds. There are papaya, mango, apple-banana, orange, and many other varieties of fruit trees on the grounds. Lots of delightful statuary and decorations all over the place.
-The outdoor kitchen consists of a two-burner gas stove, a sink, and a refrigerator. Bring bug spray (or leave the lights off) if cooking at night. The hosts provide basic breakfast food, the rest is up to you. We made a couple of trips to Hana to re-provision during our 4-night stay and it was perfect.

If you are the kind of person who likes to stay in large sterile resort hotels, this might not be the place for you. If you like staying in a lush tropical setting, and get joy out of finding a beautiful and relaxing spot to unwind in paradise...this is the place for you.

We'll be coming back every time we go to Maui!

-Rob and Ginger

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank snookerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2010

My wife and I stayed at this lovely B & B in Maui. My mother and father talked about HI when they would stay in Maui or elsewhere in the 60's/70's and this is what they were talking about. Not Honolulu of today. Both Sam and Mercury were excellent hosts and the grounds could not be more beautiful. If as a part of your stay in Maui you plan to be in the Hana area we Highly recommend you staying here.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank Greg0070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2010

SERVICE: Service surpassed my expectations, as I've found B&B experiences to be hit or miss. The owners were readily available to help, welcoming and were very helpful with orienting us towards all of the local attractions. Service was not constantly in our faces either- we got great service but also lots of privacy and alone time.

ROOM & AMENITIES: The room was very cosy and we loved the amenities. The outdoor kitchen is fully equipped and offers beautiful views of the sunset, ocean, and mountains. The outdoor pool and shower were also very fun.

LOCATION: About a 30+ minute drive from Hana and is just a couple miles past the Haleakala Park entrance. Very close to the Seven Sacred Pools, the Bamboo Forest, and some gigantic waterfalls. We wanted to be somewhere that felt remote and very private, which is exactly what we found in this property.

BEST PART OF STAY: The outdoor bath, shower and kitchen/lanai. Beautiful, extremely romantic and calming setting.

"LEAST BEST" PART OF STAY: Lighting in the room was a wee bit dim. This is a minor quibble.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank jesmande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2010

There are great views but the rest was disappointing. It's approximately 12 miles past Hana, takes about 30 minutes due to the winding road. It is very quiet and secluded with nice ocean views. The room is attached to the main house where the owner's daughter lives but we were not bothered by her at all. They do respect your privacy.

They run off solar energy. Because of this, there are a list of "don'ts" printed and left in the room. Don't use a hair dryer or curling/straightening iron, don't leave the lights on, don't turn change the setting of the refrigerator (which is barely even cool. We actually went back to Hana to get ice for our cooler to keep our drinks cold) ect. as it will drain their solar power.

The fridge, propane burner and sink are on the deck. They are stocked with utensils, plates and spices for any cooking you do. We did use the charcoal bbq that is just off the deck. Do don't typically stock charcoal, so you must bring this with you. They also have beach chairs and snorkel gear for your use.

This place is listed as a B&B on tripadvisor and other websites but it is NOT a B&B. They do have some fruit on the deck but that's it. You're on your own for all meals.

Since it's located near Hana which is more of a tropical environment, there are lots of bugs and geckos. There were multiple geckos on the deck and outside of the windows in the evening/nights. There were also a few small geckos inside (the bathroom, near the windows and door).

We had a few issues while there, the main overhead light was did not work and one of the days we arrived back from sightseeing the owner told us there was a problem with the fridge and it had not been working for over four hours. She said she hoped our fish and other food in there had not spoiled. We were never offered any compensation for these problems.

Overall, we enjoyed our trip to Hana but wish we had stayed somewhere closer to town.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smurph07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2010

Ala'aina ocean vista is an extraordinary peaceful place on earth. Samadhi and Mercury run this piece of heaven with so much love and good energy that we didn´t want to leave it ever again. We can highly recommend this place to all people who love nature. It is a very special place. And yes, it is also spiritual place!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank Claudio14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

My husband was returning home from Iraq and I wanted to surprise him with a Hawaiian getaway. After reading several reviews on Trip Advisor, I emailed Sam and requested a six night stay at the Ala'aina Ocean Vista.

After the long, three hour drive, we arrived at dusk. The room is small, off the side of the house, and a bit dated. I was immediately shocked to find that there was NO air conditioning. The home is situated quite a bit from the ocean so please don't expect any type of breeze (there are no fans, either). Leaving the windows open at night in the hopes of getting fresh air will only leave you wide awake as the frogs are never quiet. And sleeping in? Don't expect that either - there is a neighborhood dog and cow who begin their serenade at 5 a.m.

Besides the lack of air conditioning I was informed I was not allowed to use a hair dryer as it would cause their delicate solar power system to crash. Funny how all these little things never seem to make it to my ears until after I'd paid the same amount for one night at the Ala'aina as it would have cost me to stay in a 5 star hotel.

My husband and I stayed four of the six nights before calling it quits. I woke one morning to find a sea of ants in the bed and that's the straw which broke the camel's back. I understand that we were in the jungle and bugs were to be expected, but not in my bed (aka a futon).

Sam and Mercury were very sweet and understanding when we told them we would be leaving early (the whole time which we were trying to look at their faces and not at their topless bodies), but then Sam said something that struck a nerve. She told me, "We did find it quite odd that you booked our place for such a long stay. Most people only stay a night or two to 'get away' and explore." Really?? After we paid you over a thousand non-refundable dollars THEN you decide to tell us you're surprised we tried to stay so long?

The Hana Highway and the south part of Maui is a great place to visit for a day, but the Ala'aina is situated on the wrong side of the island if you are expecting a typical Hawaiian vacation. The beaches are few and rocky and there is little else to do besides looking at waterfalls. However, if you do chose to stay on the southern side, I would recommend you stay someplace other than the Ala'aina Ocean Vista... unless you enjoy gazing upon half-naked old women and not sleeping through hot, frog filled nights.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank arise277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kipahulu
12.3 km away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
74.5 km away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
69.9 km away
The Plantation Inn
The Plantation Inn
#1 of 11 in Lahaina
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
71.2 km away
Lahaina Ocean's Edge
Lahaina Ocean's Edge
#4 of 11 in Lahaina
41 reviews
53.6 km away
Old Wailuku Inn at Ulupono
37.6 km away
Maui Tradewinds
Maui Tradewinds
#1 of 8 in Haiku
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ala'aina Ocean Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ala'aina Ocean Vista

Address: Hc1184a, Kipahulu, Maui, HI 96713
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kipahulu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kipahulu
Price Range: $248 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ala Aina Ocean Vista is proud to be 100% GREEN and an ECO-FRIENDLY accommodation. We offer you a VERY private and unique B&B suite, located on a former banana plantation, nestled in an exotic lush tropical setting. It boasts the peace and quiet and offers guests sweeping ocean vistas. Enjoy lying in bed watching the ocean in your king-sized bed surrounded by windows overlooking tropical trees, flowers and rolling green lawns. Our B&B suite offers a custom -king-size bed. The fully-equipped efficiency kitchen, on the large private deck, is charming and you can cook "under the stars"! There is an inside private bathroom with marble floors and tiled shower (roomy enough for two), as well as an outside bath and shower with lotus pond in your own little garden. We offer a cool selection of retro board games and Direct TV access for those that want television. We also have free WIFI too. The best part is we offer each and every guest a romantic and quiet accommodation experience and SWEEPING OCEAN VISTAS from your room and deck! There are also spectacular sunsets and incredible rainbows that our guests rave about! This is a true Hawaiian getaway and a real slice of paradise! We are just 2 miles from, 7 Sacred Pools, aka The Pools at Ohe'o. Additionally we are 10 miles to the town of Hana, where the famous Hasegawa's General Store and the Hotel Hana Maui are located. We are only 30-40 minutes to Maui's black and red sand beaches. Waioka pond, known as "Venus pools", are a short 20 minutes away and Alele Waterfall is just 5 minutes away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ala`Aina Ocean Vista Hotel Hana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing