We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to get away from it all”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kipahulu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ala'aina Ocean Vista
Ranked #1 of 1 Kipahulu B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 January 2011

This place was beyond excellent. It is a quaint little room out in the middle of the jungle, which was perfect for us. The outdoor shower, bathtub, and kitchenette were fabulous. You can shower outside watching the sunrise, have a bath with your lover at sunset, and cook to the light of the moon. They run on solar power, which is respectable, as Maui has enough sun to get through most days, but don't expect to waste energy. There is no need to blow dry your hair...you are in the jungle.
If you are looking for a five star hotel with pampering, don't go and then write a bad review. These people are sweethearts who are trying to live consciously, please respect them for that. This place is best suited for the eco-friendly. The owner (Sam) and her daughter (Mercury) are fabulous people. Be sure to stop in to say hi, and look at Mercury's jewelry. I took the most amazing pair of earrings home with me.
They provide bread, eggs, and fruit for breakfast, which is more than sufficient. You should bring your own groceries for other meals, but it is a European size fridge so shop smartly.
As for wildlife, we loved the geckos, they provided hours of entertainment, and the frogs made such a nice lullaby I never slept better.
For the location, Sam left us a list of things to do in the area, some of which were not in our guide book, and we had an amazing time. Everything she suggested should not be missed. We drove the road in and out quite a bit, and it is not for the faint of heart, but it is worth every minute.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
23  Thank alexandria_alx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2011

Last year while staying in Kihei I wanted to visit the Hana area because of friends' description of its unique qualities and the spirituality of the area. Finally, this year I journeyed to the Hana area and this bed and breakfast created and managed by a mother-daughter team, Sam and Mercury, in Kipahulu on the highway south of Hana. It met all my expectations during my extended visit. I'd recommend it highly.

You have to slow down -- literally -- to drive to Kipahulu from other parts of the island, either using the more well-traveled Hana Highway or the alternate accessible highways 37 and 31. You have to slow down to enjoy the pace of life in the area. If you remain in the area for more than a few days, you will notice fewer tourists than other places on the island, get a taste of life in a more natural almost jungle-like setting and, maybe, experience the sacred power of 'huna' or spirituality still present in some places of Hawaii, like this one.

I found the Ala'aina Ocean Vista to be a very spiritual place with an earthy balance of masculine and feminine energy. Sam and Mercury have created a two acre setting using indigenous lava stones and Balinese, Indian, and Tibetan artifacts that enhance the spiritual qualities inherent in this powerful setting. I relaxed in the solitude and silence of this setting for a good part of each day before visiting others sites in the area.

As others have noted, Sam and Mercury were helpful and friendly. If I wanted lots of quiet time, they supported my wishes. If I wanted to talk with them or learn more about the area, they were readily available to call on their more than two decades of living in the area. And this B&B's facilities facilitated the nature of the experience I hoped to have in this Kipahulu-Hana area.

Hopefully, in the future I'll be able to visit again with these two creative and artistically gifted women and their delightful setting.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
24  Thank URKahuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2010

We stayed for 2 nights for our honey moon at Ala'aina Ocean Vista. The property is amazing, quiet and the owners are very nice. There are so many windows in the room that you can leave everything open and feel like sleeping outside with the comfort of being inside. The kitchen is outside but covered, you can cook your meals whenever you want. The owner had left tropical fruits for us. It was a great experience!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
24  Thank Izou84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2010

We spent 3 nights at the Ala'aina vista and this was the most relaxing vacation I've ever been on. We felt extremely close to nature in our room with 2 walls of screened windows and lanai kitchen. We left all the blinds up at night to take advantage of waking up at dawn to amazing sunrises and, yes, we enjoyed the crowing roosters and mooing cow! Every morning I'd run along the stunning coast right from my room.
We brought too much food as Sam had stocked the fridge with eggs, bread, juice and bread...also much fresh fruit from the property.
Sam and Mercury were excellent hosts, always making sure we had everything we needed, and able to give great recomendations on out of the way places to visit.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank modee1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2010

This site was a great fit for us - the most beautiful grounds and ocean view, and solitude. Sam and Mercury were friendly and helpful, and not at all intrusive. Very relaxing and quiet.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
23  Thank bodbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2010

This is not a hotel, it is not a spa. It is a hidden paradise in the jungle.

Things you can't expect:
-using hairdryers (on battery/solar power in the jungle)
-getting reliable cell phone reception (again...jungle)
-internet connection
-no air-conditioning (The windows on both sides of the room open and create nice breezes, we were never too hot (though we did visit in November).

Things you can expect:
-Sam and Mercury are excellent hosts. They made us feel very welcome.
-The room consists of a huge bed on a platform, larger than king size. The bathroom consists of a large 2-person walk-in shower with a view of the water. The outdoor shower is on the side of the house with views of the big island. The outdoor bathtub is next to the outdoor shower and is an excellent place to watch the stars and be serenaded by the frogs in the lily pond next to the tub.
-There is satellite TV and plenty of movies to watch.
-Though the room is attached to Mercury's residence, you'd never even know she's there. Her windows on the guest side of the building are closed with the blinds drawn. If we didn't seek her out to peruse her jewelry (very nice btw), we wouldn't have even known she was home.
-Beautiful, lush grounds. We really like to do and see things on vacation but we just didn't want to leave the room and grounds. There are papaya, mango, apple-banana, orange, and many other varieties of fruit trees on the grounds. Lots of delightful statuary and decorations all over the place.
-The outdoor kitchen consists of a two-burner gas stove, a sink, and a refrigerator. Bring bug spray (or leave the lights off) if cooking at night. The hosts provide basic breakfast food, the rest is up to you. We made a couple of trips to Hana to re-provision during our 4-night stay and it was perfect.

If you are the kind of person who likes to stay in large sterile resort hotels, this might not be the place for you. If you like staying in a lush tropical setting, and get joy out of finding a beautiful and relaxing spot to unwind in paradise...this is the place for you.

We'll be coming back every time we go to Maui!

-Rob and Ginger

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank snookerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2010

My wife and I stayed at this lovely B & B in Maui. My mother and father talked about HI when they would stay in Maui or elsewhere in the 60's/70's and this is what they were talking about. Not Honolulu of today. Both Sam and Mercury were excellent hosts and the grounds could not be more beautiful. If as a part of your stay in Maui you plan to be in the Hana area we Highly recommend you staying here.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank Greg0070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kipahulu
12.3 km away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
42.1 km away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,176 reviews
41.0 km away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
69.9 km away
The Plantation Inn
The Plantation Inn
#1 of 11 in Lahaina
466 reviews
65.0 km away
Ho'oilo House
Ho'oilo House
#2 of 11 in Lahaina
362 reviews
9.4 km away
Hana Oceanfront Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ala'aina Ocean Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ala'aina Ocean Vista

Address: Hc1184a, Kipahulu, Maui, HI 96713
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kipahulu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kipahulu
Price Range: $252 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ala Aina Ocean Vista is proud to be 100% GREEN and an ECO-FRIENDLY accommodation. We offer you a VERY private and unique B&B suite, located on a former banana plantation, nestled in an exotic lush tropical setting. It boasts the peace and quiet and offers guests sweeping ocean vistas. Enjoy lying in bed watching the ocean in your king-sized bed surrounded by windows overlooking tropical trees, flowers and rolling green lawns. Our B&B suite offers a custom -king-size bed. The fully-equipped efficiency kitchen, on the large private deck, is charming and you can cook "under the stars"! There is an inside private bathroom with marble floors and tiled shower (roomy enough for two), as well as an outside bath and shower with lotus pond in your own little garden. We offer a cool selection of retro board games and Direct TV access for those that want television. We also have free WIFI too. The best part is we offer each and every guest a romantic and quiet accommodation experience and SWEEPING OCEAN VISTAS from your room and deck! There are also spectacular sunsets and incredible rainbows that our guests rave about! This is a true Hawaiian getaway and a real slice of paradise! We are just 2 miles from, 7 Sacred Pools, aka The Pools at Ohe'o. Additionally we are 10 miles to the town of Hana, where the famous Hasegawa's General Store and the Hotel Hana Maui are located. We are only 30-40 minutes to Maui's black and red sand beaches. Waioka pond, known as "Venus pools", are a short 20 minutes away and Alele Waterfall is just 5 minutes away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ala`Aina Ocean Vista Hotel Hana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing