We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ala'aina Ocean Vista
Nearby Hotels
US$593
US$575
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$599
US$502
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$609/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Residence Inn by Marriott Maui Wailea(Wailea)(Great Value!)
US$359
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$579
US$562
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
US$623
US$495
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$1,417
US$699
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$816/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$579
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$509
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$219
US$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$349
US$327
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (182)
Filter reviews
182 results
Traveller rating
147
24
5
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
147
24
5
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor kitchenseven sacred poolspast hanafresh fruitbed and breakfastwaimoku fallsburner gas stovestar fruitnight soundsgracious hostsroad to hanacharcoal bbqscreened windowsgarden of edenlovely homeless trafficthree nights
Filter
Updating list...
115 - 120 of 182 reviews
Reviewed January 23, 2011

My new husband and I have travelled a lot, and we have seen nothing to compare to Sam and Mercury's place. There are the grandiose views from the deck of mountains and the wide expanse of the gardens and ocean, but there are also many small touches about the place that give it special healing and reviving energy. Much of it is the loving care its owners. The outdoor bath and shower are positioned so that the warm rays of the setting sun touch you as you wash off the day's salt water. The indoor shower is also really nice. The design of the lovely rooms is such that you relax on the expansive platform bed for both sunrise and sunset views over the ocean. There is a tree swing from a great tree in the yard, and a frog pond with lily pads. Off the lanai is your own private garden with lounge chairs and a view of the mountains.

It is comforting to know that one has a light footprint here. Everything is off the grid, with solar lighting on the deck and in the garden, and a compost bin. The screened-in bedroom allows for fresh breezes all day long. Sleep quality was excellent!!! It was very peaceful, and no one entered the rooms to replace towels and sheets everyday, which we appreciated.

We ended each day with a glass of wine on the lanai, watching the sun set. If it was raining, we still sat on the lanai, under the generous overhang, and watched the rain come and go. The outdoor kitchen was well-stocked with eggs, bread, jam, juices, and fresh fruit, and there was a plentiful supply of fresh drinking water.

Sam provided snorkeling gear and beach towels and great tips on local beaches and waterfalls. The location is really excellent. We had six days and rented a car and drove all the way around the island, with our stop at 'Ala 'Aina in the middle.

There is also something unexplainable imbued in the landscape. Sam says that perhaps it is the fact that 'Ala 'aina is in the womb of the island. It definitely feels good here, and we are busy planning our next trip. Our only complaint is that we couldn't stay longer.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
26  Thank bleuboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 7, 2011

This place was beyond excellent. It is a quaint little room out in the middle of the jungle, which was perfect for us. The outdoor shower, bathtub, and kitchenette were fabulous. You can shower outside watching the sunrise, have a bath with your lover at sunset, and cook to the light of the moon. They run on solar power, which is respectable, as Maui has enough sun to get through most days, but don't expect to waste energy. There is no need to blow dry your hair...you are in the jungle.
If you are looking for a five star hotel with pampering, don't go and then write a bad review. These people are sweethearts who are trying to live consciously, please respect them for that. This place is best suited for the eco-friendly. The owner (Sam) and her daughter (Mercury) are fabulous people. Be sure to stop in to say hi, and look at Mercury's jewelry. I took the most amazing pair of earrings home with me.
They provide bread, eggs, and fruit for breakfast, which is more than sufficient. You should bring your own groceries for other meals, but it is a European size fridge so shop smartly.
As for wildlife, we loved the geckos, they provided hours of entertainment, and the frogs made such a nice lullaby I never slept better.
For the location, Sam left us a list of things to do in the area, some of which were not in our guide book, and we had an amazing time. Everything she suggested should not be missed. We drove the road in and out quite a bit, and it is not for the faint of heart, but it is worth every minute.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
23  Thank alexandria_alx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 3, 2011

Last year while staying in Kihei I wanted to visit the Hana area because of friends' description of its unique qualities and the spirituality of the area. Finally, this year I journeyed to the Hana area and this bed and breakfast created and managed by a mother-daughter team, Sam and Mercury, in Kipahulu on the highway south of Hana. It met all my expectations during my extended visit. I'd recommend it highly.

You have to slow down -- literally -- to drive to Kipahulu from other parts of the island, either using the more well-traveled Hana Highway or the alternate accessible highways 37 and 31. You have to slow down to enjoy the pace of life in the area. If you remain in the area for more than a few days, you will notice fewer tourists than other places on the island, get a taste of life in a more natural almost jungle-like setting and, maybe, experience the sacred power of 'huna' or spirituality still present in some places of Hawaii, like this one.

I found the Ala'aina Ocean Vista to be a very spiritual place with an earthy balance of masculine and feminine energy. Sam and Mercury have created a two acre setting using indigenous lava stones and Balinese, Indian, and Tibetan artifacts that enhance the spiritual qualities inherent in this powerful setting. I relaxed in the solitude and silence of this setting for a good part of each day before visiting others sites in the area.

As others have noted, Sam and Mercury were helpful and friendly. If I wanted lots of quiet time, they supported my wishes. If I wanted to talk with them or learn more about the area, they were readily available to call on their more than two decades of living in the area. And this B&B's facilities facilitated the nature of the experience I hoped to have in this Kipahulu-Hana area.

Hopefully, in the future I'll be able to visit again with these two creative and artistically gifted women and their delightful setting.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
24  Thank URKahuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 28, 2010

We stayed for 2 nights for our honey moon at Ala'aina Ocean Vista. The property is amazing, quiet and the owners are very nice. There are so many windows in the room that you can leave everything open and feel like sleeping outside with the comfort of being inside. The kitchen is outside but covered, you can cook your meals whenever you want. The owner had left tropical fruits for us. It was a great experience!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
24  Thank Izou84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 10, 2010

We spent 3 nights at the Ala'aina vista and this was the most relaxing vacation I've ever been on. We felt extremely close to nature in our room with 2 walls of screened windows and lanai kitchen. We left all the blinds up at night to take advantage of waking up at dawn to amazing sunrises and, yes, we enjoyed the crowing roosters and mooing cow! Every morning I'd run along the stunning coast right from my room.
We brought too much food as Sam had stocked the fridge with eggs, bread, juice and bread...also much fresh fruit from the property.
Sam and Mercury were excellent hosts, always making sure we had everything we needed, and able to give great recomendations on out of the way places to visit.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank modee1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews